Customer Reviews for Stump Feeder Stumpfeeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Stump Feeder Stumpfeeder

The easy way to feed and attract turkeys, deer, waterfowl and songbirds or squirrels. Plus, it's simple to use; no batteries, timers, hanging systems or tripods are required, and it blends realistically into any wooded landscape. Simply remove the lid, fill the Stumpfeeder with your favorite feed and replace the lid. A patented baffle system ensures all the feed will drop down, and the tight-fitting, secure lid keeps the feed dry and free of mildew. The high-density urethane construction does not absorb water and will not get hot during warm weather. Uses a central anchor point to hold it firmly in place. Capacity: 55 lbs. Empty weight: 11 lbs. Note: Check Local Game Laws regarding the use of feeders for hunting.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
15 out of 19(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stumpfeeder
Review 1 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northeast Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great concept. Poor Material

Date:July 2, 2007
This is a great concept. It attracts all types of wildlife that eat corn or what ever else you put inside. The only problem and its a big one is that the material is a type of foam. After a few days, chipmonks started to eat away at the two openings where the corn comes out and made the hole larger. This caused the corn to pour out continously. Fixed it with a chicken wire. This product must be made with a hard plastic or these types of problems will persist.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

squirrels are ruining it quickly!

Date:May 7, 2007
Love the concept but the product is made out of a type of
foam and we live in the woods. The squirrels are ruining it
quickly and Its a bummer as the deer LOVE IT! Great
Product Idea but needs to be make of plastic not foam....
so if your free from squirrels and racoons this is the product
for you.....it looks just like a tree stump and the deer
found it RIGHT AWAY we had 22 the other night at it and
around it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Heltonville, In
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wandr

Date:May 1, 2007
it was make of cheaper matiral that i was expecting. it is working wonderfully, however i am concerned that it may decay or get damaged easly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stumpfeeder

Date:April 30, 2007
The Stumpfeeder is a good alternative to electronic feeders. It is however not a replacement for such. Well designed and sturdy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stumb feeder

Date:April 30, 2007
I;m very pleased with product and the service I recieved, thank you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Geff, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stumpfeeder

Date:April 26, 2007
Works great and hides into the backgroud great. Out in the woods you never know its there. Clever idea. great product when there are other hunters in your area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Northern, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

average at best

Date:April 13, 2007
Does not work well on uneven ground. Nails are not long enough and material is not durable enough. The foam like material breaks easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North East PA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Bears please

Date:March 9, 2007
I bought this product figuring that it would be an easy no fuss way to attract wildlife. I have used the electronic broadcast feeders in the past and they worked well but have had 3 totaly destroyed. One of them a tree fell on the other 2 were from animals. I bought the stumop feeder filled it with corn and it was empty in a week which was great. After the first week the squirrels started eating the foam then the bears found it, not sure how much of it they ate or just busted up in small peices but needless to say I am out $80.00 but had well fed bears for about 2 days The product works well for small animals upto and including turkeys. The deer and bear tear them up real good so as long as you dont mind spending $80.00 every couple of months to replace them I guess they work. For me I am going back to the sturdy metal hanging feeders, the bears may nock them around when they can reach them but at least I get the season out of them. The idea for this feeder is good just needs to be made out of stronger material or a warning saying they dont stand upto bear and deer abuse and they squirrels will most likely destroy them to in time. I know the chewed mine up pretty good before the bears got to it that is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Overpriced junk.

Date:March 4, 2007
This product may look good in picture, but it is nothing but thin, light styrofoam that has been molded and painted.
The cover does not fit or stay on.
A squirrel could chew through it in minutes. A bear would destory it in seconds.
It is way overpriced for what it is.
If I could give it a zero star or negative star rating I would.
Normally Cabela's quality is good to excellent. But this ain't it. Sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not very tough

Date:January 2, 2007
I bought two of the stumpfeeders for my new 100 acres this fall. They lasted about a month. I think the concept is great as I was looking for a mid term feeding solution vs. putting a spread feeder.
Now granted I had a few bears that were very attacted to the feed. The deer did seem to use them, but it was very hard to tell.
The only way I would recommend them, and I personally cant speak for them like others here can, is if nothing more aggressive than deer feed from them. Each week when I would check them and fill them up, I had to find them and put them back to where they were and found that each week they were more and more tore up by constant pawing.
Good luck if you use them, I may try one when the bears take a nap this year and hope to have better luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Galena, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dinner Time

Date:December 7, 2006
The stumpfeeder blends in well to the environment and is easy to use. No batteries or electronics to fail. It keeps the conents dry and I have found that deer and other wildlife become accustomed to the stump within a day. Fill it and watch the game come in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

stump feeder

Date:November 22, 2006
This is easy to use and durable. One problem is that the pins that hold the top on can be easily misplaced while you are feeding and it is a bit difficult to realign the holes of the top and bottom to insert the pins.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

STUMPFEEDER

Date:November 21, 2006
THE STUMPFEEDER DOES WORK.
CORN IS DISTRIBUTED VERY WELL.
DEER HAVE BEEN EATING 50 LBS OF CORN A WEEK.
THE BAD THING IS THEY CLAWED HOLES ALMOST THREW TO THE INSIDE CHAMBER. I HAVE WATCHED DEER TRY TO STOMP THE STUMP. THIS PRODUCT WILL NOT HOLDUP UNLESS IT IS MADE OF A HARDER PLASTIC.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TENNESSEE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT

Date:November 21, 2006
THE FEEDER IS EASY TO USE. NO HASTLE TO FILL UP, NO LADDERS, NO BATTERY. JUST TAKE OFF THE TOP , FILL IT UP AND GO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Manassas, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stumpfeeder

Date:November 21, 2006
The Stumpfeeder works well, drawing various types of wild game in to feed. The unit easily holds about forty-five pounds of corn or other feed product. The feeder is best located on level ground so that the gravity fed system dispenses evenly through both openings. The only criticism that I have is that the feed openings should be reinforced with wire mesh or a resin compound so that the squirrels do not chew on the foam as much. Overall a good product and a good overall value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Demand Feeder

Date:November 21, 2006
This uniquiely designed feeder offers the best in on-ground demand systems. The ineterior design of the stump feeder allows for no waste of feed and with the two outlet feeding holes provides ample opportunity for game and non-game animals alike to find the feed fast and keep coming back. The stumpfeeders' camoflage exterior is a special bonus while the full size lid offers easy filling and re-filling of feed. This stumpfeeder is a great choice if you are looking for a durable, long lasting, efficient and discrete feeder system.
I highly recommend the stumpfeeder for anyone serious about feeding game and/or non-game with some form of wildlife supplements.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wildlife Watcher

Date:November 21, 2006
A excellent choice in feeders as it blends in perfectly with the scenery.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: bluffton IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works ok

Date:November 20, 2006
I spotted just about every type of animal at this feeder thought out the season deer, rabbit, coon, squirrel, turkey, and even a few ducks. This product works great for about one season then it is time to get another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Stumpfeeder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: I am an avid deer hunter in SE Kansas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stumpfeeder disfigures while in storage

Date:October 31, 2006
The 1st year, the stumpfeeder worked great. It was used out in the field for about 1 month before being placed in storage.
When I went to put it out again this season, the lid had warped and changed shape even though it was in its proper place on the feeder during storage.
To prevent moisture from entering the feeder, I had to tape over the areas that were no longer covered by the lid.
Very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.