Customer Reviews for XS Sight Systems Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

XS Sight Systems Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount

Now you can easily mount a long eye relief scope on your Marlin or Winchester Lever gun. And, this unique mount positions a Scout Scope or Red Dot System lower than comparable mounts for comfortable, accurate shooting. The 8" long Weaver-style rail sports cross slots on 1/2" centers for precise positioning of any scope. Drop-in installation for angle eject models attaches using existing rear dovetail and forward screw holes on receiver. Gunsmithing is required for installation on non-angle models. Permits use of Ghost ring sights when scope is removed. Recoil tested for the heaviest .45/70 Govt. and .450 Marlin loads..Available: Marlin 1894, Marlin 1895, Marlin 336, Winchester Model 94.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Review 1 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent scope mount

Date:April 16, 2012
Very easy to install, perfect fit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western MA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product!

Date:April 10, 2012
I purchased the XS Express Lever Scout Mount because I already had XS Ghost Ring sights on my rifle and wanted the ability to add a red dot sight in removable rings. The overall appearance of the Lever Scout Mount is neat and appealing. The mount is well made and the installation kit includes all necessary components including blue thread locker. Installation was easy and I was done in about 20 minutes. I would prefer to see allen or torx head screws along with a torque specification instead of the slotted ones provided, but otherwise I am quite pleased with the mount and have no problem recommending it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Garfield, NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great mount for any lever gun

Date:January 11, 2012
Easy to install, provides a solid platform for forward mounted scout type optics or red dot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Red House, WV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

no gunsmithing required...ha

Date:January 5, 2012
The mount would be great if the fit was proper from the box. The mount met the the reciever on my marlin 336 with the mount holes 1/8" in front of the tapped holes in the reciever. I had to dremel out a lot of metal from the mount to get the holes to line up. Now, the mount contacts the barrel somewhere in the middle of the mount, so I still have grinding to do before I can get zeroed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: green country OK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid mount

Date:November 2, 2011
Looks great on my Marlin 1894, works great too. Installed it, slapped a scout scope on, took it to the range and had no problems after a dozen rounds or so. Only drawback is the installation was a little tough on my own but I made it work, it fits TIGHT, which is what you'd want it to do I guess, I kept worrying I was going to damage something getting it on. Overall very pleased with the product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NSB Fl.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

just what I needed

Date:October 21, 2011
Bought this mount to put scout scope on marlin 336 30-30. Instructions stated might need to file off some metal from dovetail mounting hole, not the case here fit perfect, tightened down no problem. If you want to make your lever gun a fast handling scoped rifle, this is the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for 94 AE

Date:July 15, 2011
This might be good for Marlin but don't ruin your win 94 it requires the epoxy due to barrel contour,
I value my 94's too much to use this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I Like It

Date:September 2, 2010
The express sight went on pretty easy for a guy like me, Im not much with tools. This went on my 336 now Im gonna put one on my 1895 marlin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marquette, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XS Sight Scout mount

Date:August 2, 2010
Solid fit on my Marlin 1895G. Easy installation only had to sand the edges a bit with emory cloth. Took about 15 min. total time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Anaheim, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Mount

Date:June 1, 2010
I bought this mount for a combat levergun project, together with a Bushnell TRS-25 mini red dot.
The full-blown test is still pending, but as far as the mount is concerned, I am well pleased with the results.
The only suggestion I have for the manual is some more detailed information on how to drift out the original rear sight, but that aside, the full conversion took me less than 30 minutes.
I mounted the unit on a 2000 Winchester 94 AE in .357. The mount fit perfectly without ever using the expoxy compound. As stated in the description, the dovetail insert needed a few strokes with a file to fit. I managed to get it nice and snug, tapped it into place and tightened all screws - done!
The TRS-25 is a perfect addition - with this rail it does not add any bulk and the rifle handles just as planned.
I'm very happy with the result of this conversion and the ease to install the scope mount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XS Lever Scout Mount

Date:April 5, 2010
Fits like a glove on my 1895G. Solid. Fantastic product and service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hammond, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked as advertised.

Date:February 15, 2010
I bought 2 of these for a Marlin 336 .35 Rem and a Marlin 1894 .357 Mag. respectively. Both worked great and went right on without a hitch. The only problem is that you must rermove the rear sights to install it. Even my gunsmith was impressed with how easy they went on!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good mounting solution

Date:February 10, 2010
I was looking for a scope mounting solution to put an electronic dot site on my old .357 Winchester 94 AE. It's a perfect rifle for my daughter, but she has vision problems, and the electronic dot site offers her a tremendous improvement in accuracy. This mounting system did the trick- allowing a solid mount just where she needed this site to be. Follow the instructions to the letter- especially the dry fit section- and you will be able to install this mount securely. It is permanent due to the epoxy, but if you have an iron tang site like this rifle has it's not a problem. Besides, the epoxy really made the mount incredibly strong, and that's what you want if you're mounting optics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not well presented in the catalog

Date:December 7, 2009
This doesn't fit a Winchester Model 94 without drilling and tapping. It also requires epoxy to fill the gap between the device and the barrell. The finish does not match a blued rifle. After seeing it and reading the directions, including how to epoxy it on, I sent it back. I ordered a tang peep sight instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Asheville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

XS Lever Scout Mount

Date:November 17, 2009
I placed this mount on my Marlin 1895GS last year and it has performed wonderfully. It is extremely easy to install. I installed a Leopold Scout Scope on it with Warne Quick Release mounts, which allow me to take off my scope with ease and use my XS Ghost Ring Sights to go into heavy, heavy brush. But when I come out of the heavy brush, then I put my scope right back on and it is still zeroed. This is all possible due to the good quality of the XS Lever Scout. It fits great. It looks great. And most importantly it works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dacono, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lever Scout Mount

Date:July 28, 2009
The mount was easy to to install and fit like a champ on my Marlin 1895.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Clarion, Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Express sight

Date:December 23, 2008
I do not like side mount scopes on 94 Winchesters. I have 1 with Factory open sights, and 1 with a Tang Sight and wanted something different. The Express Sight made a great base for a Red Dot Scope.
It did require me having some smithing (tapped a couple screws in the receiver) to get it right but I feel that is was well worth it.
I would definitely consider the Ghost Ring as a future purchase to give me a back up if the Red Dot batteries went dead or had other problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NW Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Mount

Date:October 13, 2008
Fit like a glove. Went on real easy as per the manufacturer's directions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Marlin Scop Mount

Date:September 29, 2008
Went on fairly easily. Had to sand down the insert to make it fit. The plastic drift was essentially useless. The screws don't sit flush, but they are all raised to the same level, so I can only assume that it was intentional.
Very sturdy, looks great. Good build quality. All in all, very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Express Sight Systems Lever Scout Mount
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not quite as advertised

Date:September 5, 2008
The sight system mount takes a bit more work than is advertised. My comments refer to a Winchester 94 installation.
The existing rear sight must be removed from the dove tail, which isn't always simple.
Two tapped holes are required in the top of the receiver. My rifle didn't have them.
The fore stock has to be removed to epoxy (yes, epoxy) the sight system to the top of the barrel and receiver.
Once in place, the XS system is a nice solid mount for a scout scope or red-dot sight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41