Customer Reviews for Advanced Technology K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Advanced Technology K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set

Constructed from lightweight, super-tough, US-made polymer, these stocks are virtually identical to the ones used by the ARSENAL Co. in Bulgaria. The ergonomic design is 1-1/4" longer than comparable stocks. Butt stocks come complete with sling swivels and original-style ribbed butt plate. Lower hand guard includes steel heat shield and reinforcement. Available for stamped and milled receivers. The stamped version sports a trap door-covered compartment to accommodate a cleaning kit. Made in USA. Available: Stamped Stock Set OD Green, Milled Stock Set, Stamped Stock Set.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Review 1 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2008

AK polymer set

By
Location: Florida
With minor fitting I installed this set the same day it arrived,rifle looks great now and the extra lenght buttstock feels very comfortable,the price is very low compared to others I had checked before,and others didn't offer anything different,so this was my choice,couldn't have made a better one!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2008

Nice stock set

By
Location: Northern, CA.
This stock set worked out good. I had a little fitting to do to make it fit my rifle, but all in all it was one of the better things I have bought for my AK.
The one thing I would probebly change if I could would be the length of the stock it self, unfortionatly It's short like the original...but it works!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set

By
Location: Ware Place, SC
I am very pleased with my new polymer stock. I put it on an Arsenal SA-93. The hand guards fit perfectly, but the stock required a little shaving on the bottom of the insert portion. If you want to replace your wood furniture on a SA-93, you may need to order a new gas tube from K-Var in order to put the new polymer top hand guard on. The original wood top hand guard has metal "wings" that will not allow the gas tube to rotate out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2008

Looks great, but...

By
Location: Boise
..be prepared to do some fitting. I have a Norinco AK and spent about 2 hours with a couple of coarse files removing enough material from the stock and lower hand guard to make them fit. Take your time. If you have to force the stock on stop and do more filing. You will also have to drill the holes for the screws that hold the stock in place. Once you get it right it all looks good.
Also there are no instructions with this kit and I was stumped on how to remove the upper hand guard and get the new one on. After some research on the internet I figured it out. Grab the gas tube with one hand and twist the hand guard 180 degrees with the other, just like a motor cycle throttle. If it's really tight you can hold the gas tube with a crescent wrench and use a leather gloved hand to twist the wooden piece off. Reassemble the opposite way. It's simple once you figure it out.
All in all I'm glad i bought it. The whole rig looks great with the all-black polymer stock set. Much better than the Clinton-era keyhole stock that it came with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2008

couldnt be more pleased.

By
Location: N.W. Arkansas.
I found this to be a very well finished, well made and good-looking product. Some minor fitting was required on the butt stock, but this wasn't much of a problem. I purchase this to replace the silly-looking AR-style stock set that the former owner of the gun in question had put on it, and I can confidently say that even though both are in a similar price range, this is a much better product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2008

K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set

By
This is a very nice ‘light weight but rugged’ replacement set, the stock is an inch longer than the wood stock and has the hole for the cleaning kit, it went on a stamped receiver Romanian AK47 without any alterations needed, I’d definitely recommend it...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2007

ak 47 polymer stock

By
STOCK & FOREARM REQUIRED QUITE A BIT OF MODIFICATION FOR IT TO BE FITTED.THE ONLY THING NOT TO BE MODIFIED WAS THE PISTOL GRIP.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2007

K-VAR AK-47 Polymer Stock Set

By
Location: north central penna.
I liked the fit and feel, as well as the looks of this after-market stock set. I'm anxious to get out and see how it performs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2007

good product

By
Good fit and light. Mine is an Arsenal milled reciever.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2007

K-VAR AK-47 STOCK SETS

By
Location: BIRMINGHAM, ALABAMA-GUN DEALER
I HAVE BEEN IN THE GUN BUSINESS FOR 44 YEARS. THE K-VAR SOCK SETS THAT CABELA'S SELL ARE THE BEST. YOU ARE DEALING WITH AN U.S. MADE STOCK SET THAT MUST BE ALTERED TO FIT A CHINESE NORINCO AK-47 THAT IS NO LONGER IMPORTED. SMALL ALTERATIONS TO THE LOWER HAND GUARD IS NEEDED IN THE LOWER BACK OF THE PIECE WHERE IT FITS INTO THE FRONT OF THE WEAPONS RECEIVER. NO PROBLEM. THE OTHER ALTERATION IS A SMALL AMOUNT OF GRINDING OR FILING TO THE FRONT AND SIDES OF THE BUTT STOCK WHERE IT GOES INTO THE REAR OF THE WEAPONS RECEIVER. IT WILL FIT PERFECT AND HAS LOOKED GREAT ON THE LAST SIX (6) AK'S THAT I HAVE SOLD. THIS IS NOT A "DROP IN" TYPE STOCK SET. IT WILL FIT ALMOST ALL VARIATIONS OF AK-47 WEAPONS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for K-Var AK-47 Polymer Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2007

AK Stock set

By
Location: Tulsa, Ok.
This kit will not fit the Norinko Mak 90 that I have. The Upper Hand guard fit ok but the stock, lower grip and pistol grip will not fit the Norinco receiver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.