Customer Reviews for H&R H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns

H&R H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns

Thanks to new projectile technology and a new breed of slug guns, today’s shotgun hunter can reach way out with impressive accuracy and striking power. Harrington & Richardson offers tack-driving single-shot slug guns that cost less than an accessory slug barrel for your repeater. At the top of the line is the H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe in 12- or 20-gauge with a heavy-rifled 24" barrel and 3" chamber. It’s capable of shooting tight groups at 100 yards using sabot slugs. Comes complete with a Monte Carlo checkered laminate stock and forend, ventilated recoil pad, scope rail, sling swivels and a nylon sling.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 24(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Review 1 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun!

Date:December 6, 2014
I bought this gun at the end of last deer season because I was dis-satisfied with H&R's Ultra Light Slug Hunter. This gun is as accurate a slug gun as you could ask for. My third day out I saw my first deer at 75 yards. Using Lightfield's it hit exactly where I aimed it and dropped it like a stone. Virtually no felt recoil because of the heavy barrel, even when sighting in the scope. I look forward to many years of use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:November 20, 2014
Got this in the 20 gauge, with Cabelas slugger scope, holds great groups at 100 yards with Remington Accutips 2 3/4. Killed the biggest buck in my life and the first deer I shot at with this gun, went through the body hitting both lungs and lodged under the skin on the far side. I used a rangefinder and the distance was 140 yards. Great value !
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CANT GO WRONG

Date:December 4, 2013
My cheapest and best gun yet. Got the 20 gauge for deer hunting. Accurates is unbeatable. Dead on from 25-100 yards with lightfields.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this gun

Date:December 4, 2012
Excellent slug gun. For a long time I hunted with a smoothbore slug barrel and rifled slugs. Three seasons ago I stepped up to the H&R and haven't looked back. The accuracy is amazing once you find the type of slug your gun likes. I've easily shot 3 inch groups at 100 yards from a rest. There are really only two drawbacks. The first is that it's a single shot, but if you do your job and pick your shot carefully you won't need a second shot. The other drawback is the weight. It can get heavy on the shoulder after a long day of hunting. Aside from those, I have no complaints. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:October 24, 2012
well built and accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slug Gun

Date:June 7, 2012
Buy this gun if you live in a state where you have to use a shotgun to hunt deer!!!
This is a great slug gun. Some people say that they would not want to use a single shot to hunt deer, but trust me: if you use this gun you will not need a follow up shot!
This gun is as accurate as the shooter!
This is as close to a rifle as I can get to hunt deer in Illinois...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: whiteford, Ny
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome firearm

Date:January 14, 2012
I purchased this firearm in 11/2009 ive used it for the past seven hunts ive been on throughout the north east between bear hunts moose and whitetail the shotgun isnt heavy at all it weights about the same as a normal wood stock shotgun fully loaded, the gun shoots like a dream the heavy barrel really reduces the kick of a 12 ga bullet and the accuracy is about 2 inch groups at about 100 yards 2.5 inch groups at 150 yards and about the same at 200 yards my buddy has a remington 700 .30-06 and at 200 yards i had a better grouping then he did and he is a trained marine 10 years but listen if you want a great gun and you want a one shot kill gun get this gun its the most accuarate and most economic gun i ever bought and the hardest hittng
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tekonsha, MI
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Boomity Boom....AGAIN!!!

Date:November 16, 2011
This is my second season with my best gun ever...and I have some "high-end" firearms! Just last night I dropped another 200+ pound whitetail like a box of rocks!!! In one year, I've fired 3 rounds at whitetails and dropped all three in their tracks. Of all the slugs that I've tested, the Remington Buckhammer's are da bomb!!! I kid you not, this slug gun hits like a sledge and kicks like a kitten probably due to the "bull barrel"! Get an H & R and you will not regret it!!! Gotta go, I have two more tags to fill......later!!! By the way, I got the 20 guage and all three shots went clear through at roughly 100 yards......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tekonsha, Mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the "BEST"!!!

Date:January 4, 2011
I grew up hunting in Northern Michigan where you are allowed to use center-fire rifles of any caliber. Last summer I was transferred to Southern Michigan where you are restricted to the use of Slug/Shotguns for the Whitetail Deer Season. Having never needed a Slug Gun, I didn't own one, so after discussing the issue with several new but very seasoned hunters from the area I settled on the H & R Ultra Slug Gun in 20 guage...WOW...DID I EVER GET SOME GREAT ADVICE!!! THIS THING IS AN ABSOLUTE TACK DRIVER, EASY AND COMFORTABLE TO SHOOT WITH VERY LITTLE RECOIL, AND NOT TO MENTION....A TON OF FUN!!! Having been a hunter/shooter all my life, I own approximately 15 rifles, several handguns, AND ONE SLUG GUN!!! My new H & R is my new best friend and I have named her "THE HAMMER"!!! Through my ammo testing phase, I found that the "Remington Buck-Hammers" worked "head and shoulders" above all others...not too mention that they are a lot less expensive than many of the other pricier "sabots" out there. I have her sighted in for 75 yards which is perfect for me and where I hunt. On December 30, 2010 at 5 PM, I shot 2 huge does (205 & 187lbs respectively) from my Ameristep Doghouse blind in a Calhoun County Michigan swamp. Both of these deer were traveling together and they were shot 10 minutes apart. The deer were shot at 103 yards according to my Nikon laser rangefinder. I have my new "HAMMER" paired with a Cabelas "Pine Ridge" scope in 2.5 - 7 variable power...."perfect combination"!!! I took out the first doe with a "double-lung" shot and the deer dropped within 5 yards...the second doe dropped in her tracks when I took out her aorta (heart)...2 deer in 2 shots within 10 minutes layed within 5 yards of each other..."what else can I say"??? In both cases the "buckhammer slugs" went clean through the deer so do not hesitate in getting a 20 guage...it has power to spare. This firearm has simply amazed me and YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED IN PURCHASING YOUR OWN "HAMMER"!!!! Finally, I was a little hesitant in purchasing a firearm that had such a reasonable price as I'm one who has usually opted for the "higher-end" brands of firearms. I don't know what else to say, except that the "bull-barrel" makes this gun "rock-steady", it settles nicely on your target due to its weight and the recoil is unbelievably low due to the guns heavier weight. Go ahead, GET YOUR H & R...YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accuracy that could compete with a rifle.

Date:November 24, 2010
Went to upstate new york and used a 12 gauge H&R ultra slug with Remington accutip slugs. I had an 8pt step out to my left and walked quartering away towards a thick pine cover, he got to about 8 yards when i realized he wasn't coming back and so i pulled the trigger. first thing i noticed was that because of the heavy barrel and overall weight, it was much quieter and with much less recoil than a lighter 12ga. once i found the deer not 30 feet away i realized i had hit him right were i was aiming. the gun is a nail driver. i shot a doe through thick cover as well and knocked it down in its tracks. great gun but only downfall is that it is heavy and if you are wearing gloves you must be careful pulling back the hammer or else you'll slip off it and set of the round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Prior Lake, MN
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Too Shabby

Date:November 13, 2010
Grabbed the 12 ga a few weeks back. Next day, off to the range. After two full boxes of SST's and not hitting the paper even once at 25 yards, something was wrong. Realized the pre-mounted scope rail was lose. Tried tightening it, but one screw was stripped out. Back to Cabela's I went. They exchanged it (after 2 hours of waiting around....but I cannot hold that against this gun). Plus, Cabela's gave me two more boxes of the SST's for the inconvenience. Back to the range the next day. Started at 25 yards again, first three grouped low left. Made some adjustments and the next two spot on the bullseye. Moved to the 50 yard range. First two, a tad low, but dead center. Adusted again and moved to 100 yards. Last three all within 1 in spread touching the bullseye. Using the Pine Ridge Cabela's scope - awesome deal by the way...
For accuracy and consistency, I have never seen better. The thick bore barrel eliminates barrel whip, but also results in a bigger kick.
Took it out last weekend for firearm opener in MN, took 2 doe about 60 yards out - both heart shots. I cannot wait until next year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northfield, MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most Accurate Shotgun I've Ever Shot...

Date:October 30, 2010
Bought this in 20 gauge and could not be happier. It only took five shots to zero at 50 yards. The first three shots were five inches to the right of the bulls eye and all were touching. Did the math, made the adjustments and fired twice more. Dead center and touching. Topped with a Redfield scope and shooting the Hornady SST Slug this thing is unstoppable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:October 17, 2010
Bought one of these in 20 gauge. Target holes from five Lightfield Sabot EXP's shot at 75 yards all touch. At 100 yards bench rest with the same sabots I'm getting about a 2 1/2" group.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cobden, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

20 gauge bull barrel h&r shotgun

Date:May 20, 2010
This is my first shotgun. It was kinda of heavy im used to it now. its definately something Id recommend. Pus Ive learned its very accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:April 2, 2010
I was always happy with my 12 gauge for power but my sister got one and once i shot it once it was over. Every time she shot out I would take hers out. Now I bought one for my self. It's really accurate and I always hit where I aim. No need for a second shot and even if you do it does not take long. Have bagged every deer I have shot at with this gun and it has been over 10. Won't deer hunt without another gun. There is a reason why they are hard to buy right now
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H and R Ultra Slug Gun

Date:March 14, 2010
Awesome firearm! Mine will shoot 1.5 groups at 100yds using Hornady SST's. Drops whitetails in there tracks. It is definately capable of shooting 250-300 yds by a trained shooter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cant beat it

Date:March 11, 2010
I bought one of these guns back in the late 90s and have purchased a second one since. These r hands down one of the best slug guns ever made. They shoot many slugs very well and switching from one brand to another is usually not that big of a deal. Bine shooting the hornadys for a couple of years now and killed a buck at 147yds on a rainy day. Dropped him like a suitcase. I love my HandR.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: BATTLE CREEK, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOST ACCURATE SLUG GUN I HAVE

Date:December 27, 2009
BYE BYE 11-87, HELLO H&R ULTRA SLUG. BOUGHT THE 20 GAUGE WITH THUMBHOLE STOCK AND I PROBLY WILL NEVER SHOOT THAT 11-87 AGAIN. VERY ACCURATE AND A LOT OF FUN TO SHOOT. FAST AND SLOWER SABOTS PATTERN WELL. HOWEVER, DON'T GET TOO EXCITED, VERY HARD TO FIND SO WHEN YOU COME ACROSS ONE YOU BETTER BUY IT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baltimore MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HR Ultra Slug

Date:December 20, 2009
This is an awsome firearm. It is deadly with Remington Buckhammers and works well with a Leupold Muzzleloader, shotgun scope. The 20ga. is enough and has plenty enough nockdownpower for any deer. I was torn between this and an 870 but for the price and quality you can not ask for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Deluxe Shotguns
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temperance, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

H&R Ultra Slug 20 Ga.

Date:December 15, 2009
This gun is nice. Heavy barrel, straight shooting. Real good groups at 200 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 24