Customer Reviews for RWS RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RWS RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope

These rifles have a hardwood Monte Carlo stock with raised cheekpiece and checkering. The side-cocking action produces 1,100 feet-per-second with .177-caliber pellet. Includes two-piece scope base and 4x32 scope with adjustable objective. Length: 43". Size: 17" barrel. Calibers: .177, .22. Weight: 8 lbs., 15 oz. RWS airguns carry a limited lifetime warranty by returning products to manufacturer. Return of RWS airguns to Cabela's for refund or exhange is limited to 30 days from date of purchase, with proof of purchase from Cabela's.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Review 1 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

RWS 52

Date:February 9, 2010
After reading a lot of positive reviews I decided to add this rifle to my collection. When I received the RWS 52 the first thing I noticed was this is a very heavy rifle. In fact it's heavier than any of my hunting rifles including my muzzleloaders. While giving the rifle a good inspection I found that the inside of the breech was gunked up with a rusty orange substance. After spending quite a while cleaning it up I assembled the scope mount and mounted the scope. I fired a few rounds through it and began to sight it in. What a nightmare! By adjusting the mount I got it shooting near the bullseye then adjusted the scope to zero it in. All was well until I shot the rifle a few days later. It was all over the place due to the adjustable scope mount. Even with thread locker it kept coming loose. I then purchased a one piece RWS mount and things only got worse. The point of impact was off by more that 3 feet a 10 yards. A closer inspection revealed a bad misalignment in the dovetail in relation to the barrel. Without the troublesome adjustable mount there was no way to zero the rifle so I decided to use only the iron sights. WRONG! The rear sight has too much side to side play to ever shoot the same place twice. I own several tack driving rifles but this is not one of them. I'm very disappointed with my RWS 52 and have no plans to take it out of the gun cabinet again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New York , NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:January 20, 2010
Only 3 words to describe this rifle, OH MY GOD the gun is an animal i shot everything from coons to woodchucks from 35-40 yards away great buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS model 52 w/ scope

Date:February 8, 2008
Received my package in a timely manner, it actually got delivered early !
The rifle itself is great, excellant detailing on the stock checkering and metal finish. Well worth the little extra in price.
I purchased a 22 cal. and it has been excellant on paper and on rodents / varmit, I like the variable focus on the scope, all you have to do is dial in the distance and your ready to go, typical hits on doves ranging anywhere between 10 - 70 yards, lots of energy with some to spare, paired up with RWS field point pellets and and this bad boy is serious.
The total package is on the heavy side, but thats ok for trigger time on the bench, I will be using this rifle to practice my off hand shooting along with prone and kneeing, so alitlle more weight will only tone the muscles more.
Only draw back is the scope mount that comes with it, poor instructions along with bad sketch only complicates installation.
I plan on purchasing / changing out the mount for two single scope ring type mounts.
"Freedom Forever"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GUADALAJARA MEXICO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS 52 MODEL AIR RIFLE

Date:November 5, 2007
I HAVE BOUGTH AIR RIFLES SINCE 1976, BUT THIS IS THE BEST I HAVE OWNED. IT FEELS LIKE AND IS A HIGH POWER RIFLE.VERY GOOD ACCURANCY. YOU CAN HUNT COONS AT 30 YARDS EASILY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Impressed

Date:April 13, 2007
I recently celebrated my 10 year anniversary at my job and my employer surprised me with a Cabela's gift card and catalog as one of my service awards. Of course the company I work for knows that I love Cabela's so it was an easy gift for them to buy and a wonderful surprise for me.
So what to buy...?
I have owned several BB/pellet guns as a kid and loved plinking this and that. So 30 some years later I decided to use my gift card to relive some boyhood fun. I settled on the RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with a scope based on my research of the Cabela's catalog and reading review after review online. When I opened the box I was surprised. "This is quality" I thought to myself. I mounted the scope per the instructions and went out back to sight it in...I squeezed off the first round and I was amazed at the power but even more impressed with the accuracy. If you are looking for a very nice pellet gun buy this one. RWS and Cabela's represent high quality and an excellent buying experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Durable and Accurate

Date:February 25, 2007
Even though it seemed a little steep on the price, I bought this along with the RWS pellets. After mounting the scope and sighting it in, it would hit a penny sized bullseye EVERY TIME at 20+ yds. I don't for a minute regret paying the price for this rifle. The quality is excellent and this is a rifle that you can pass on for generations. With one cock, the penetration was unbelievable for a .22 cal. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quality air rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pricey but worth it

Date:December 2, 2006
I was looking for a powerful airgun to rehabilitate my rusty marksmanship skills before jumping into a true firearm. Wanted power, accuracy, and importantly I wanted it to "feel" like an actual rifle - not a toy. After much searching and comparing I sprung for the Model 52 with 4x32 scope and although it was a little more than I wanted in terms of price it is definitely "enough gun" in terms of function.
This rifle looks, feels and handles like the real thing. The instant you pick it up (and at nearly 9lbs with the scope, younger/smaller shooters might want to look elsewhere) you realize that it is no toy. The only even remotely "chintzy" aspect of the gun is the polymer muzzle break, but the rest of the rifle has a heft and balance that instantly bring back memories if you've shot similarly-sized guns before. Just what I wanted. The scope is a little finicky to set up -- lots of screws. Take your time and do it right, and you will be rewarded. This rifle can place shots inside of shots time after time at 50 feet shooting from a benchrest. I bought it in .22 caliber and it has plenty of power (and a healthy but not savage kick.) At 100 feet with RWS match pellets it will shoot completely through a 5" diameter (underripe, stiff) pomegranite, cracking the rind impressively with a healthy thwack. The two-stage trigger is adjustable and was fairly crisp right out of the box (although it is also polymer -- couldn't they spend an extra buck and put a metal trigger on it?) I also prefer the side-lever cocking action, which will make it easier to mount a sling. Cocking the gun is stiff but not arm-wrestling tiring. After 10 rounds you get it down to a science. Also I trust it more in terms of long-term accuracy over a break barrel, but that's just me.
At over $400 with a scope this rifle is not cheap, but it is worth the money. With the lifetime warranty and overall rock-solid construction I think it will give me years of fun and I'm already getting back my shooting technique after only 100 rounds.
Cabela's shipping and customer-service were top-notch. The gun arrived before the due date. HOWEVER: I would phone your order in if you want to require a signature at delivery because the website does not give you that option. It's a good idea.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RWS Model 52 Air Rifle

Date:November 10, 2006
this is one of the best pellet guns for small game hunting. It is very accurate with or with out a scope. Its side-cocking makes it fast at shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RWS Model 52 Air Rifle with Scope
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Air Rifle

Date:November 7, 2006
Nice Pellet Gun, well worth the money. Don't be afraid to spend your money on this gem. Not much recoil at all. Very accurate. Buy yourself a sling for this beast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.