Customer Reviews for DUCK COMMANDER Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call

DUCK COMMANDER Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call

The Original Duck Commander Call has been redesigned with an improved look and better sound. This classic wooden call perfectly suits every calling situation, from small ponds and marshes to the open expanses of big-water lakes. Beautiful lacquered birch finish.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 62 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
0
59 out of 62(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Review 1 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Duck Call.... Period

Date:November 5, 2013
Accolades to Phil Robertson on a Great Design on his original Duck Commander Call. Works great, sounds great and is very easy to use. Can't wait for duck season to open here on LI, NY.
kfs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

feeding call not to good

Date:September 18, 2013
When you feed call it doesn't make crisp noise but it is a hand built wood call so they are all different.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great call

Date:May 11, 2013
This is a great call, my first call actually. Ive called many ducks with this call. You need to sort of "master" this call (depending on the tone since they each are different). It took a while for me to get used to it. One time I was walking with my dad and two uncles and called at a mallard at the pond across the street. Next thing you know the mallard drake flies over and lands behind us and starts to walk behind us. This call is sweet!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Go for the Camo

Date:January 22, 2013
If you want to go with Duck Commander - go for the Camo Max call -- sound is much better in my opinion!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Can't Take the Cold

Date:December 18, 2012
This is my 3rd call from DC. Great sound out of the box. Freezes up with any cold weather, even if I put
the call inside my coat!!!! Wish there was some way
of preventing the freeze up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic Duck commander

Date:December 12, 2012
Great call. Easy to use and learn on. Ol' faithfull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Original Commander Call

Date:December 11, 2012
Double reed. Reasonably priced. Sound is off. Not very crisp. Maybe I got a lemon because when I hear other people on the internet blow this call, it sounds like a good call. When I blow it or have seasoned callers blow it, they don't know what to think. I have an Echo call I purchased in store and it sounds great. This original commander is extremely deep and extremely raspy and not very crisp. Difficult to feeder call with. Easy to feeder call when you take the reeds out and turn them upside down. You cannot do a greeting call this way though--it will squeal on you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great sound

Date:December 11, 2012
Ducks respond very well to this call compared to my acrylic hen call from another manufacturer. Down side is, doesn't take much moisture to put it out of business. So I switch to the acrylic when this one clogs. Then I switch back as soon as I can, because it really does make a difference in the birds' response.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Call That Doesn't Kill the Pocket!

Date:November 27, 2012
If you want a mallard call that you can always count on for realism, no stick, and turnin ducks this is it! I've even coerced some ringnecks and teal around with this ole call. It feels natural to blow this call and its the only mallard call i keep on my lanyard! Getcha a set of Final Approach decoys, an Edge Expedite motion mallard, and this call and watch the game hanger fill up with greenheads!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

genius

Date:November 19, 2012
this call works and sounds great even on late season ducks they will turn around to check things out i have had no problems with it sticking in wet weather but is a bit difficult to do a feeding chuckle on this call.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Call

Date:November 19, 2012
Authentic sound, great rasp. Quality call.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great call

Date:March 20, 2012
i got this call for X-mas a few years back and it work well in. Yes to start learing how to call with and looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Statesboro, Ga.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great starter call

Date:January 25, 2012
Being new to duck hunting, I really wanted to learn to call them in. The first morning with this call I was getting good response for the end of the season when the birds are reluctant. The handicraft is unique only to the Robertsons and is very simple to master. I wish I had ordered it earlier in the season. I would definately purchase it if you want to learn to call quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great call

Date:January 1, 2012
Great call has good tone to it easy to use,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: US california gilroy
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Duckest duck call ever

Date:December 9, 2011
You will never buy a more ducky sounding call ever. This call sounded great right out of the box and is great for begginers and advanced callers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great call

Date:November 1, 2011
Great sounding call that is real easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice sound

Date:August 29, 2011
I took this call out of the package and started blowing on it right away. I love the sound, it is more natural than other calls with much higher price tags. I got what I desired, a call that sounds like a duck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ogden, Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

"Blow that good call again"

Date:March 5, 2011
I purchased my first Origional Commander three years ago and had it on the opener in Utah. We had set up for geese and after the flocks had came in we were standing outside of our blinds in full sight with our guns still in the blinds. My brother looked at my lanyard and asked if the shiny wood call was new, I told him on a whim I had bought it and thought it was one of the best sounding calls I had ever owned. A few minutes later a Gadwall came over our decoys high and one of the group said let's see that call work that you have been bragging about. I grabbed the call (while the group was laughing) and gave it a short burst, the Gaddy turned straight around and came right at us. Needless to say we almost let him get away. Since then it has happened many more times, my son is now also using it. While out hunting people will ask about my calls. With all the hype about "Custom Calls" which I still have some of them hanging on my lanyard, I always show them what others refer to as a beginner call. For me I have been duck hunting since I was 12 and am now 50 plus and I take it very serious. I have gotten past the shiny and price of other calls, this is a great call. I wish he also made goose calls, you cannot beat a mfg. that uses what they build. Since then if it looks like the ducks wont turn I hear "Blow that good call again".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Circleville,OH
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy camper

Date:February 12, 2011
Very pleased with the call. I used the call the last 3 weeks of the season and it never frooze up one time. For the price you can not beat the call.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Duck Commander™ Original Commander Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good call for price

Date:January 16, 2011
This is a pretty decent call for the price. It calls in ducks fine. However if this call gets wet it does not work well at all until it dries back out. I am in pretty rugged terrain when duck hunting so its pretty easy for me to get my calls when. I need to get a more waterproof call. I also do not like the fact that you cannot take it apart without ruining it according to other reviewers. It is a good beginner call but I will be upgrading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 62