Customer Reviews for Little Skeeters Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Little Skeeters Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair

Convert your .12 gauge into a 20, 28, or .410 gauge or your .20 gauge into a 28 or .410 instantly. New 16-gauge models let you downsize to a 20, 28 or .410. These shell reducers produce exceptional patterns, and they can be used for target shooting or hunting. Includes two 20-, 28- or .410-gauge tubes. Tubes fit any 12-20 gauge shotgun. Per pair. Available: 12-gauge to 20-gauge 12-gauge to 28-gauge 12-gauge to .410-gauge 20-gauge to 28-gauge 20-gauge to .410-gauge 16-gauge to 20-gauge 16-gauge to 28- gauge 16-gauge to .410-gauge
Overall Customer Rating:
3.56 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
18 out of 25(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Review 1 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Spring, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad skeeter

Date:January 11, 2010
Used the 16ga to 20ga skeeters in my SxS for the first time 1/11/10. Put in a basic 20 ga 7/8 ounce lead #8 and the first Skeeter tube - split the skeeter the whole length down! The second tube was ok. Had to use a cleaning rod to remove the first casing and tube. Poor product, will be returning for refund!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: London, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LITTLE SKEETERS

Date:December 18, 2009
THESE WORK FINE! NO PROBLEM WITH FIT OR PERFORMANCE...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Browning Little Skeeters

Date:October 13, 2009
These little tubes do able the shooter to shoot smaller gage shot shells in a 12GA, but the spent hulls are very difficult to remove from the Skeeter Tubes once fired.
I have to use a black powder short starter to force the spent hulls from the tubes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bismarck, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good product. Great customer service.

Date:September 30, 2009
I was able to replace my old singles shot 12GA with a new pump and I was reluctant to use the single shot to teach the grandkids how to shoot and was about to sell it. A relative showed me his set of Little Skeeters. I'd never heard of anything like it. I ordered a set of 12/20 GA and they arrived as advertised. Looked into the packaging and saw what looked like rust in the package. Called Cabela's Customer Service and was instructed to remove the product from the package and determine if it was indead rust. It was. They called Little Skeeters Customer Service while I was still on the line and we had a nice 3 way conversation (no shouting, no attitude, YEAH). Outstanding people to work with, both Cabela's and Little Skeeters! Long story short, I'm very happy with the product, it does exactly what they say it will do and I'll be ordering the 410 set shortly. Can't wait to get my granddaughter out for her first shooting experience this fall. Price through Cabela's on line was better than any other on line or walk-in store. Cabela's you rock!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Calif>
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Little skeeters

Date:September 10, 2009
The little skeeters are OK but one does not let the fired shell come out without tapping it out with a wooden dowel. Maybe they should check quality a little closer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bristol Bay AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

saved me buying another gun for now.

Date:September 1, 2009
Wanted to see if my 11 yr old was ready for a 20 ga but don't have one. These are much cheaper than a new gun. We tried them in an old Ithaca single shot 12 and an old Stevens 311 sxs 12. They worked very well. Tho you do need to have a rod to poke out the case. It seems that there is less recoil when the 20's are shot in a 12 - maybe an exaggerated back bore effect? I was concerned that extraction of the empties would be hard on one tube as its inner walls were very rough while the other was smooth. Both extracted easily using basic discount Rem shells.
Patterns were fine for grouse and rabbit shooting. Guess I will need to get the boy a gun but for this year, the single 12 will be just fine. I may try the 12 to 28 or 20 to 28 tubes just for myself. A very fun option at reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wrentham, MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

12-20 guage reducer/adapter

Date:May 5, 2009
They work perfectly and are reasonable priced. Other shooters at my club are equally as satisfied.
The mating fits are good-no problems were encountered with firing or extraction.
A dowel pin is useful to remove the spent shell from the adapter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Grafton, Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

16-20 Reducers

Date:January 19, 2009
Got the 16-20g reducers for my old Stevens 311A 16 Gauge Side By Side with extractors (not ejectors).
I got them to use occasionally (10-15 shots per round). Just for the ease of finding 20g ammo.
The quality, fit & finish of the Lil Skeeters was very good.
They are of an aluminum alloy and mine were very thin because of the close 16g to reduced 20g size. (So thin at this gauge you can easily flex them with slight finger pressure)
I followed the directions on the littleskeeters product web site exactly. I used new compression formed factory Premium Remington STS Target shells (7/8 oz -#9). The Skeeter reducer w/hull fit A-OK on loading into both the barrels and the gun closed fine.
When I fired the rounds they worked perfect on patterning the shot BUT the soft aluminum skeeters had slightly swelled up and would not let the spent shell out!
This was not the total fault of the product because these are made to be a "universal fit" in any chamber. It appears that my shell chamber on the old 1960's Stevens 311A was a bit "over sized", and thus the thin wall of the Skeeter swelled to fit the chamber when fired.
IF I had used a 16-28 gauge , or even a 16-.410 I maybe would NOT have had the problem; because the Skeeters shell is thicker when the gauge size is further apart (big outside, smaller inside = thicker walls).
In conclusion, these are NOT for heavy fast use shooting: and you MUST use hi-grade of ammo per manufacturer so the shells can be easily removed; and IF you have a gun of tighter chamber tolerance the thinner Skeeters likely will work OK and won't swell.
I returned the 16-20 reducer but would likely try a 16-28 or 16-.410 as they are thicker walled and may avoid my chamber size problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Texhoma, Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

fix for lil skeeters

Date:December 23, 2008
I have heard a lot of complaints on several websites about this product so I wanted to offer a fix. I received mine today and actually had 2 that were sized just a little differently on the inside diameter in the same pack. I bought the 12 to 20 gauge reducer. On one the unfired 20 gauge shell would slide in and out just like it should by simply dropping the shell in and then turning it over to drop it out and on the other you had to pop the shell in and it was hard to get out even with it unfired and using a pen to push in the end and pop it out so I took my dremmel tool with a sanding drum and set it at the lowest setting and just sanded some of the id out of it around where the brass part of the shell sits and then I took a polishing drum and polished over the same area after rinsing it out with some water then the shell would slide in and out just like it should. If you want to get real technical then you could use a micrometer to get exact measurements but I just eyed it and it worked real well. Hope this helps some of the guys who have been having bad luck with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Little Skeeters

Date:October 27, 2008
Great for my 10 year old son to shoot .410 in his 20 ga. Less kick, less intimidation, happier son. Worth the money even if it means less shot in the air. I have to keep him interested, and this does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

"Little Skeeters"

Date:April 22, 2008
I had considerable trouble getting the fired cases out of one of the tubes. They also didn't seal well and I had considerable burned powder residue in the action of the shotgun. I used them in a SKB 485 SxS. The SKB has a inertia trigger and it wouldn't reliably re-set for the second shot. I would recommend a full length tube set instead of this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LIttle Skeeters Minni tube gauge

Date:March 10, 2008
They provide me an excellent way to shot 20 guage in my 12 on occasion when I am practising and let my wife be able to shoot the 12 with the lessened kick of the 20 gauge shells.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

guage reducer

Date:February 24, 2008
It does what it does - it lets you shoot a smaller guage shell from a larger guage shotgun. The drawback is that the auto ejector ejects the guage reducer (skeeter) also. You can't just pluck the shell out with your fingers either because the shell swells after being fired and lodges in the skeeter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Henryetta, OK.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning LIttle Skeeters

Date:February 21, 2008
These preformed just like I would have hoped, great pattern when fired from my Fox SXS 12 ga, with the 410 reducers. They held approx a 18 inch fairly tight pattern, at 35yds. The only draw-back would be the fact you must have some type of dowel or rod to remove the spent hulls from the reducer itself. It does not require any great amount of force to remove spent hulls, but the only way I found to remove them was to push them out from the muzzle end of the reducers themselves. Since my Fox SXS does not throw the spent hulls, only raises them for individual extraction, this works well, except if you were wanting rapid reloading as in trap/skeet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

NOT BAD

Date:February 20, 2008
These things work pretty well...my wife used 28 and 410 in the state skeet shoot and shot well. Only problem I see is that they are extremely dirty. Gas blows back around them and totally scums out the action. Cleaning the gun was a real job afterward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product to use

Date:January 8, 2008
I ordered the 20 gauge reducers, and they work great,
in my side by side stage coach 12 gauge.
Now I can use 20 gauge shells when out small bird
hunting, and still have the 12 gauge should I run upon
wild turkey..
Just wish I had also ordered the 410 gauge reducers, and
that would have made a complete hunting machine with
just one weapon..
Try it guys ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Geneva, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gauge reducers

Date:May 20, 2007
Make sure you buy an extra pair. The shells tend to stick and with 4 tubes you're not pressed for time when skeet shooting with a group. They sparked a lot of interest with the other shooters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Howell NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Little skeeters guage adapters

Date:May 15, 2007
I purchased a shotgun guage adapter (20 gauge to a 410 guage). The products works fine and allows my son to alternate between 20 guage and 410 as he pleases.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Little Skeeters Gauge Reducers

Date:April 10, 2007
Purchased these to shoot 28 gauge in my 16 gauge over/under when I shoot skeet. They work as advertised, but removing the spent shells to replace with loaded ones is annoying. This is because the mini-tubes eject with the spent shells in them - not a flaw, just a characteristic of the product. This would not be a problem if you use the tubes for hunting but on the skeet field, it causes delays and interupts your concentration. I bought a 28 gauge shotgun but the tubes may be for you if you only occaisionally use them to shoot skeet. They are much less expensive than the cost of another gun, but what shooter does not want more guns?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Browning® Little Skeeters Mini-Tube Gauge Reducers - Per Pair
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: mukwonago,wi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

browning .410 little skeeters

Date:April 9, 2007
i puchased the 20ga to .410 reducers for use in my eight yr old sons 20ga single shot. he can enjoy shooting with less kick. i used along screwdriver the push the spent casing out of the reducer. they may not work well under rapid fire hunting conditions but are an exellent way to train young shooters gun handling and opertion of their firearm.
they come in a pair which is nice, and i will use them on my sons firat squirrel hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 25