Customer Reviews for LYMAN Butch's Bore Shine

LYMAN Butch's Bore Shine

Designed by well known bench rest competitor Butch Fisher, this product is a must for serious shooters who are tired of packing around numerous cans, bottles and brushes in order to clean firearms. Since its introduction to the market in 1999, this product has received nothing but high praise from competitive shooting circles across the country. This non-abrasive solvent removes all forms of fouling, including copper. Sizes: 4 oz. or 16 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.849 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
66
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
71 out of 73(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Butch's Bore Shine
Review 21 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2011

Butch's Bore Shine

By
Location: Buford, Georgia
Probably the best bore cleaner I have used.
Butch's gets most of everything. You might need to alternate with a more aggressive copper cleaner of you have a lot of copper fouling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 10, 2011

gun cleaner

By
Location: minot ,nd
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
great copper remover with little smell
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 14, 2011

Magic

By
Location: Puyallup Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Butch's Bore Shine should be the only copper solvent you use. I previously used Hoppe's solvent until I tried this. You will be amazed at the ease it disolved the copper deposits in your barrel that you don't think is is there. This is the only copper solvent for me. I highly recommend using it if you want to keep your bore clean and accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 12, 2011

The best

By
Location: IA
one of the best i have found to clean a rifle barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 27, 2011

works great

By
Location: Lehi, Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
It really does its job. Definitely has a strong smell to it though. My girlfriend doesn't like it much.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2011

Powerful Cleaner

By
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Have used this product for years. None better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

Best Purchase Ever

By
Location: WV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This works better then any other bore cleaner
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

Butches best.

By
Location: Peoples Republic of California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
As always Butches products are quality made and do what they are made to do, quickly.
Changing to an Aluminum container instead of glass is a step better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2011

Smells a Bunch

By
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The cleaner works great but I wish it wouldn't smell so bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

does the job

By
Location: St Peters, MO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
as good a product as I've ever used
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2011

Excellent carbon remover

By
Location: Virginia
This stuff will remove the burnt powder and carbon, but you need a copper remover for the copper. Great product and excellent customer service from Lyman.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

awsome

By
Location: billings,mt
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
i use hoppes#9 to clean and then used this stuff and got abunch more gunk out
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

good stuff

By
works great with minimum amount of labor. really cleans the bore
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2011

VG Product

By
Gender: Male
Used Shooters Choice for 8-10 years, switched to Butch's Bore Shine 2 years ago. Appears to remove more copper fouling quicker than Shooters Choice. I'm staying with Butch's.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2011

Butch's Bore Shine

By
Location: Denton, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
It has a strong smell but really works well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2010

It Workes

By
Location: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A friend suggested I try Butch's on my Savage Model 12 "22-250" I thought my gun was clean. The first patch through the barrel using Butch's was a pretty Navy Blue. What a shock. I threw away the other stuff i had used for years and kept Butch's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010

Butch's Bore Shine

By
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Excellent choice for plastic fouling in shotguns,as well as powder fouling in rifles and handguns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

Butch's Bore Shine

By
Location: NY
I had reas about this product in the Lyman reloading manual. I had been somewhat lax in cleaning previously. Since I shoot a lot of copper-jacketed bullets in my rifle, I needed something to clean out the copper. Many copper solvents are quite harsh. This one can be as well. and you definitely want to protect your stock, but it is safe on barrel steel and really aggressively gets out the copper. It is now pretty much all I use, other than some oil in the bore as a last step.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2010

JOHN C

By
Location: HARTFORD CT
works well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2010

Butch's Bore Shine

By
Location: Rapid City, SD
Great overall cleaner. Removes all powder and does a good job on copper to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 73