Customer Reviews for LYMAN Butch's Bore Shine

LYMAN Butch's Bore Shine

Designed by well known bench rest competitor Butch Fisher, this product is a must for serious shooters who are tired of packing around numerous cans, bottles and brushes in order to clean firearms. Since its introduction to the market in 1999, this product has received nothing but high praise from competitive shooting circles across the country. This non-abrasive solvent removes all forms of fouling, including copper. Sizes: 4 oz. or 16 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.841 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
67 out of 69(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Butch's Bore Shine
Review 21 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lehi, Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:June 27, 2011
It really does its job. Definitely has a strong smell to it though. My girlfriend doesn't like it much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Powerful Cleaner

Date:June 1, 2011
Have used this product for years. None better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: WV
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Ever

Date:April 7, 2011
This works better then any other bore cleaner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peoples Republic of California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butches best.

Date:April 7, 2011
As always Butches products are quality made and do what they are made to do, quickly.
Changing to an Aluminum container instead of glass is a step better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan, USA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smells a Bunch

Date:April 7, 2011
The cleaner works great but I wish it wouldn't smell so bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St Peters, MO
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

does the job

Date:March 1, 2011
as good a product as I've ever used
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent carbon remover

Date:February 16, 2011
This stuff will remove the burnt powder and carbon, but you need a copper remover for the copper. Great product and excellent customer service from Lyman.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: billings,mt
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awsome

Date:February 12, 2011
i use hoppes#9 to clean and then used this stuff and got abunch more gunk out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:February 12, 2011
works great with minimum amount of labor. really cleans the bore
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VG Product

Date:January 31, 2011
Used Shooters Choice for 8-10 years, switched to Butch's Bore Shine 2 years ago. Appears to remove more copper fouling quicker than Shooters Choice. I'm staying with Butch's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denton, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:January 24, 2011
It has a strong smell but really works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It Workes

Date:October 15, 2010
A friend suggested I try Butch's on my Savage Model 12 "22-250" I thought my gun was clean. The first patch through the barrel using Butch's was a pretty Navy Blue. What a shock. I threw away the other stuff i had used for years and kept Butch's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:May 17, 2010
Excellent choice for plastic fouling in shotguns,as well as powder fouling in rifles and handguns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:April 13, 2010
I had reas about this product in the Lyman reloading manual. I had been somewhat lax in cleaning previously. Since I shoot a lot of copper-jacketed bullets in my rifle, I needed something to clean out the copper. Many copper solvents are quite harsh. This one can be as well. and you definitely want to protect your stock, but it is safe on barrel steel and really aggressively gets out the copper. It is now pretty much all I use, other than some oil in the bore as a last step.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: HARTFORD CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

JOHN C

Date:April 5, 2010
works well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rapid City, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:March 15, 2010
Great overall cleaner. Removes all powder and does a good job on copper to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: saint louis, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:March 2, 2010
I have used this product for several years and have always found it to be the best product on the market for removing brass and powder residue from firearm barrels. High recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butches Bore Shine

Date:February 1, 2010
Excellent product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Butch's Bore Shine

Date:January 18, 2010
I began using Butch's years ago after learning Dan Lilja of Lilja rifle barrels recommeded it for use in his barrels. It removes carbon deposits extremely well, while also having good copper removal qualities, although not as aggressively as one of the high ammonia copper removers. If you clean to first get the carbon out, it will progressively remove the copper, particularly if you let it sit in the barrel a few minutes . I have tried the newer, non-aromatic agents, and they are not as effective in carbon and copper removal as Butch's. If you can tolerate the "fragrance," you will be pleased with the cleaning properties.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Butch's Bore Shine
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: canton georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

butch's bore shine

Date:January 11, 2010
Used it for the first time and was impressed of how good it cleaned the barrell
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 69