Customer Reviews for SECURE-IT Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

SECURE-IT Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe

The Hands-Free Buck & Doe Call is a 5-in-1 call that has an adjustable reed assembly from grunts to bleats. It is compact enough for bowhunters, yet loud enough for gun hunters. Designed for totally hands-free operation, the compact design produces realistic, nasal grunts.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.133 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
7 out of 15(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Review 1 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos buck and doe

Date:November 13, 2011
very good call!! just called in a 170lb buck with it yesterday and smoked it!! very cold and the call still performed, easy 2 use and very effective!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, CT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buck and Doe call

Date:November 24, 2009
This is an excellant all around buck and doe call. You just slide a rubber o-ring up or down to change the sound. I have called 2 bucks in with the call so far this season. Easy to use and carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Schuylkill Haven, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little gadget

Date:November 21, 2009
This hands free call is one one of the best if not the best. I used it during archery season and called in a monster 6 pointer. I didn't get a shot on him but this is my first season bowhunting so it was really exciting that this call actually worked. I highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Call, user friendly.

Date:October 14, 2009
Despite the negative feedback in the other reviews, this is a GREAT call. I use it mostly for the doe bleat and grunt, and have had good success with it. It brings bucks and does into the open and, from a dead sprint, stops them in their tracks. Just last night, I used this call to stop a doe--that my neighbors chased off her bed--from running past my stand and spooking the other deer in the area. When she left my stand, she was troting slowly away without the waving white flag. Don't be fooled, though: bleats and grunts are not always as effective as we believe and hope they should be; no call works all the time, on every deer.
This call works well on real, Michigan deer when used by an experienced caller. It is more valuable to me than The Can.
Zo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greenville PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hands Free Buck and Doe

Date:December 31, 2006
I had really good luck with this call in the 2006 Youth Doe season here in PA. Well not really good luck but...
It brought in a really nice eight point buck, and a small four point with the Doe and Young Buck settings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos Buck & Doe Call

Date:January 13, 2011
I used the call on a deer hunt in Oregon last October. Once I figured out the variable adjustments, the call worked quite well. Overall, I was pleased with the simplicity of the call and the economy of size of the call. Great stuff!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Omaha, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Call...

Date:October 8, 2009
I really like the hands free operation of this unit. The sounds are pretty good and can be slightly adjusted with the movable barrel. The only thing I really don't like about the unit is changing from one call to another which requires removal of the reed structure. I would recomend this product to other hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: southern new jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

hands free buck and doe call

Date:November 27, 2006
i used this call one time when iwas walking to my stand and a group of 20 turkeys was under mystand they flew off and roosted i saw 2 does run out of the woods and out into the field as they were running i grunted and they slowed but kept walking away so about 5 minutes later i grunted again and a 5 point buck and 8 does got up from where they were bedded and walked around at the edge of the field i grunted again but could not get them in bow range let alone 50 or 60 yards this all will get them up but not bring them in
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ok call

Date:October 30, 2006
the reed comes out so you can get a different soun. well thhe reed bent and now it makes a trohey buck souns like a doe
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nebraska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mmmm.

Date:September 11, 2008
It would be an o.k. call if it had a deeper tone. It is Rattly and High pitched, even in Trophy Buck Setting. I love Primos, and will always trust them, but this one isn't that good. Mabey if Primos redesigned it....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

mmm... Not to good of a call

Date:August 24, 2007
I've seen several different calls like this one, i have the mule and blacktail grunter also, it looks exactly the same on the inside and out, i almost think they just took some calls that were the same and put different names on them. I have never had any luck with this. I have even scared away deer, and they always seem to ignore the call if not frightened away.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rapid City, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Good

Date:December 3, 2008
Product is OK at best. Never brought in a deer with it. Hasn't chased them away, but very unrealistic. Also for hands free you cannot grunt with the product with a bow drawn, it gets in the way of your string when your drawn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thumbs Down!

Date:October 27, 2008
I bought this call in spite of bad reviews. Yeah, it's that bad. Sounds like a kazoo/bad gas and a very plastic sound! It is cheap and sounds cheap. I would pay more $ for a better sounding hands free call. But, it is hands free (as advertised). I have always had great results with some of the Primos gear that I have. I guess this was tested on enclosed deer that were used to people hand feeding them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Reading, Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not a good call

Date:September 11, 2007
this call sounds really bad. I do not recomend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Hands-Free™ Buck & Doe
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: londonderry,nh
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

sorry i forgot mine

Date:November 8, 2006
went out hunting and forgot my call so i stopped at local shop picked up one of these hands free buck and doe model717 what mistake that was this sounds like a little kids kazoo as a matter of fact i gave mine to my nephew that what he uses it as no matter how you set the o-ring it sounds like a kazoo worst product i ever bought definitely buy any other call but this one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.