Customer Reviews for HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks

HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks

Hogue's OverMolded&#8482 rifle stocks for Mini-14/Mini-30's are constructed by chemically and mechanically bonding a durable, comfortable rubber compound over a rigid fiberglass-reinforced stock precisely matched to the rifle's action. The same technique is used to craft Hogue's famous pistol grips. They are precisely matched to the rifles action, delivering a perfect drop-in fit.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Review 1 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Coast, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent stock

Date:October 7, 2009
I replaced a wood stock on a 580 series blue ranch rifle with this. It was simple to do and the fit was perfect. I find this synthetic stock preferable to wood in wet weather.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Modesto, Calif
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mini 14 580 series-.223

Date:August 3, 2009
This stock is a very nicel fitting addition to any mini- Im not sure if the stock is stiffer but i now shoot 2 inch MOA @ 100 with it. It has a nice (wont slip) rubberized feel. It seems to snug down tightly which is good when the trigger gaurd is snapped shut. Im going to get one for my 10/22 next. When putting the aluminum slide guide for action back into new stock make sure the tab on end nearest to bolt is over that lip, otherwise the saftey seems to stick as well as the bolt when charged.Youll see its easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Bay, AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogue OverMolded Mini-14 Stock

Date:May 19, 2009
fast shipment of the product and also very pleased with this Hogue OverMolded Stock for my Mini-14. Easy application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nor Cal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Stock

Date:February 10, 2009
nice drop in fit nice feel great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogue Stock Looks Great

Date:January 27, 2009
Fits like a glove
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Portland Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pinky

Date:December 23, 2008
This stock I would rec. to anyone, it went togeather with no proublem at all, it is so much better than wood.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HogueStocks

Date:May 31, 2008
I bought this for my mini-14 and have this installed on it for over 2 years now. I love the durability of it and how comfortable it is when i shoot. The grips are great and i like the material the stock its made out of. Great buy, worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota & Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superior Product

Date:March 10, 2008
This product delivered everything I could have hoped for. You can see and feel the quality as you take it out of it's package. It fits like a glove, feels far better than the "stock" stock, looks great, and installation is a snap. I would recommend this product to anyone without any hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only way to go!

Date:January 14, 2008
This stock is many times better than the original stock that comes with the stainless Mini 14. It is about 1 inch longer, which makes it easier to handle. It is made of an improved material which makes it less slippery. Throw away your old stock and improve the performance of your mini 14 with this one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogue Overmolded Stock for Ruger Mini-30

Date:November 8, 2007
The instructions included with the stock were clear, simple, and easy to follow. Making the switch from the factory stock to the replacement stock was trouble free. The fit is as good as if it came from Ruger itself.
I never liked the plain looking birch stock on my stainless Mini-30. Length-of-pull was too short, and the stock comb was rather square in cross-section. In contrast, the Hogue stock has adequate length-of-pull, the comb has a nice rounded cross-section like you would see on a good bolt action stock, and the black rubber surface contrasts nicely with the stainless steel metal finish. The somewhat "tacky" suface of the rubber also adds a nice feel. The stock functioned perfectly when the rifle was fired at the range.
Overall, a great enhancement to any Ruger Mini-30 or Mini-14.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St Louis area
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent drop in stock

Date:October 25, 2007
I bought this stock after much research, I even called the Hogue company to make sure it would fit with my guns serial number. After installing it I couldn't be more pleased ! You can get a great grip on the stock with no slipping like the wood stock. I highly recommend this stock to anyone looking to upgrade their mini-14.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogue OverMolded

Date:January 20, 2007
This stock is easy to install, feels great, and is very light. It adds approx 3/4" to the stock length and shoulders very nice. I can't wait to get one for my Mini 30 now. I highly recommend this product for anyone how loves there Ruger Mini 14/30.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE MOUNTAINS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MINI 14 STOCK

Date:November 20, 2006
A GREAT IMPROVEMENT OVER THE FACTORY BIRCH STOCK.SUPER DURABLE AND EASY TO HOLD WHEN YOUR HANDS ARE COLD OR WET. BETTER THAN THE SYNTHETIC STOCKS ON THE NEW RUGERS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mini 14 Stock

Date:November 20, 2006
Outstanding product. Have better control using this stock over the orginal stock. I injuried my arm working in law enforcement and this stock is much easier to hold and control.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Port Byron, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect fit

Date:March 30, 2011
It was installed in no time at all. Nice snug fit. Surface is very grippy. Better than the wood stock. I know people say it gives you a longer length of pull, but, it was no different on mine. I was kind of hoping it were true. Maybe the newer Mini 14's were longer to begin with. I'll have to take it to the range and see how it handles there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cypress, Ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality stock

Date:January 23, 2011
The stock has a nice feel and provides a good grip. The only issue I had and continue to have is the small retainer pin for the heat shield broke off so it doesn't hold the shield in place while assembling and disassembling for cleaning. Not a big problem but for a quality stock maker like Hogue I'm surprised they would engineer a nice product and not pay closer attention to the details.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hatch, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hogue Mini 14 stock

Date:October 9, 2007
Easy drop in fit. Increases length of pull approx. 1". Much better than original Ruger wood stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent stock

Date:October 20, 2007
Good solid stock, certainly wont break or slip, lightweight (this surprised me a bit, it's very very light). Only thing that keeps me from giving it 4 out of 5 stars is it's a tiny bit sloppy, a bit more movement of the barreled action at the fore end than I'd like to see. For a plinker or hunter, it's nearly ideal, but I'm putting it on my Mini-14 Target and would like a little less play.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unlucky, I guess

Date:July 31, 2009
My experience with this product was not good. Considering how much others rave over it I guess I just got a bad stock.
It would not come close to fitting. Myself and 2 others spent nearly 4 hours trying to get the stock onto the mini14. It simply would not fit due to bad molding on the interior and rubber overmolding on the top rails that was so thick nothing would fit.
After using a dremel tool to remove material on the inside and a belt sander to take down the rubber on the rails, we finally got it to mount to the mini14. Even then it was still extremely tight and required 2 people to force things together. I didn't like that tight of a fit or having to bend/force the stock to get it on.
I did call Hogue and they acted like they didn't believe me. Ended up tossing the stock in the trash. Like I said, this may not be indicative of their stocks, I may have simply gotten a bad one and may try another at a later date.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.