Customer Reviews for HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks

HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks

Hogue's OverMolded&#8482 rifle stocks for Mini-14/Mini-30's are constructed by chemically and mechanically bonding a durable, comfortable rubber compound over a rigid fiberglass-reinforced stock precisely matched to the rifle's action. The same technique is used to craft Hogue's famous pistol grips. They are precisely matched to the rifles action, delivering a perfect drop-in fit.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.526 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Review 1 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

Excellent stock

By
Location: Central Coast, CA
I replaced a wood stock on a 580 series blue ranch rifle with this. It was simple to do and the fit was perfect. I find this synthetic stock preferable to wood in wet weather.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 3, 2009

Mini 14 580 series-.223

By
Location: Modesto, Calif
This stock is a very nicel fitting addition to any mini- Im not sure if the stock is stiffer but i now shoot 2 inch MOA @ 100 with it. It has a nice (wont slip) rubberized feel. It seems to snug down tightly which is good when the trigger gaurd is snapped shut. Im going to get one for my 10/22 next. When putting the aluminum slide guide for action back into new stock make sure the tab on end nearest to bolt is over that lip, otherwise the saftey seems to stick as well as the bolt when charged.Youll see its easy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2009

Hogue OverMolded Mini-14 Stock

By
Location: Grand Bay, AL
fast shipment of the product and also very pleased with this Hogue OverMolded Stock for my Mini-14. Easy application.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2009

Great Stock

By
Location: Nor Cal
nice drop in fit nice feel great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2009

Hogue Stock Looks Great

By
Fits like a glove
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

pinky

By
Location: Portland Oregon
This stock I would rec. to anyone, it went togeather with no proublem at all, it is so much better than wood.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2008

HogueStocks

By
I bought this for my mini-14 and have this installed on it for over 2 years now. I love the durability of it and how comfortable it is when i shoot. The grips are great and i like the material the stock its made out of. Great buy, worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2008

Superior Product

By
Location: Minnesota & Vermont
This product delivered everything I could have hoped for. You can see and feel the quality as you take it out of it's package. It fits like a glove, feels far better than the "stock" stock, looks great, and installation is a snap. I would recommend this product to anyone without any hesitation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2008

The only way to go!

By
Location: Utah
This stock is many times better than the original stock that comes with the stainless Mini 14. It is about 1 inch longer, which makes it easier to handle. It is made of an improved material which makes it less slippery. Throw away your old stock and improve the performance of your mini 14 with this one!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 8, 2007

Hogue Overmolded Stock for Ruger Mini-30

By
Location: Castle Rock, CO
The instructions included with the stock were clear, simple, and easy to follow. Making the switch from the factory stock to the replacement stock was trouble free. The fit is as good as if it came from Ruger itself.
I never liked the plain looking birch stock on my stainless Mini-30. Length-of-pull was too short, and the stock comb was rather square in cross-section. In contrast, the Hogue stock has adequate length-of-pull, the comb has a nice rounded cross-section like you would see on a good bolt action stock, and the black rubber surface contrasts nicely with the stainless steel metal finish. The somewhat "tacky" suface of the rubber also adds a nice feel. The stock functioned perfectly when the rifle was fired at the range.
Overall, a great enhancement to any Ruger Mini-30 or Mini-14.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2007

Excellent drop in stock

By
Location: St Louis area
I bought this stock after much research, I even called the Hogue company to make sure it would fit with my guns serial number. After installing it I couldn't be more pleased ! You can get a great grip on the stock with no slipping like the wood stock. I highly recommend this stock to anyone looking to upgrade their mini-14.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2007

Hogue OverMolded

By
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
This stock is easy to install, feels great, and is very light. It adds approx 3/4" to the stock length and shoulders very nice. I can't wait to get one for my Mini 30 now. I highly recommend this product for anyone how loves there Ruger Mini 14/30.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

MINI 14 STOCK

By
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE MOUNTAINS
A GREAT IMPROVEMENT OVER THE FACTORY BIRCH STOCK.SUPER DURABLE AND EASY TO HOLD WHEN YOUR HANDS ARE COLD OR WET. BETTER THAN THE SYNTHETIC STOCKS ON THE NEW RUGERS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Mini 14 Stock

By
Location: Arizona
Outstanding product. Have better control using this stock over the orginal stock. I injuried my arm working in law enforcement and this stock is much easier to hold and control.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2011

Perfect fit

By
Location: Port Byron, NY
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It was installed in no time at all. Nice snug fit. Surface is very grippy. Better than the wood stock. I know people say it gives you a longer length of pull, but, it was no different on mine. I was kind of hoping it were true. Maybe the newer Mini 14's were longer to begin with. I'll have to take it to the range and see how it handles there.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2011

Quality stock

By
Location: Cypress, Ca
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The stock has a nice feel and provides a good grip. The only issue I had and continue to have is the small retainer pin for the heat shield broke off so it doesn't hold the shield in place while assembling and disassembling for cleaning. Not a big problem but for a quality stock maker like Hogue I'm surprised they would engineer a nice product and not pay closer attention to the details.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2007

Hogue Mini 14 stock

By
Location: Hatch, Utah
Easy drop in fit. Increases length of pull approx. 1". Much better than original Ruger wood stock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 20, 2007

Decent stock

By
Good solid stock, certainly wont break or slip, lightweight (this surprised me a bit, it's very very light). Only thing that keeps me from giving it 4 out of 5 stars is it's a tiny bit sloppy, a bit more movement of the barreled action at the fore end than I'd like to see. For a plinker or hunter, it's nearly ideal, but I'm putting it on my Mini-14 Target and would like a little less play.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hogue® OverMolded Mini-14/Mini-30 Stocks
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 31, 2009

Unlucky, I guess

By
Location: North Carolina
My experience with this product was not good. Considering how much others rave over it I guess I just got a bad stock.
It would not come close to fitting. Myself and 2 others spent nearly 4 hours trying to get the stock onto the mini14. It simply would not fit due to bad molding on the interior and rubber overmolding on the top rails that was so thick nothing would fit.
After using a dremel tool to remove material on the inside and a belt sander to take down the rubber on the rails, we finally got it to mount to the mini14. Even then it was still extremely tight and required 2 people to force things together. I didn't like that tight of a fit or having to bend/force the stock to get it on.
I did call Hogue and they acted like they didn't believe me. Ended up tossing the stock in the trash. Like I said, this may not be indicative of their stocks, I may have simply gotten a bad one and may try another at a later date.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.