Customer Reviews for BROWNELLS Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

BROWNELLS Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

Oxpho-Blue&#8482 may be the easiest and finest cold blue on the market. The chemical works directly through the oil on a gun, removes any thin rust and then blues the steel underneath. No after-rust. Great rust preventative. Applied easily with a cotton cloth. Extremely durable.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.453 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 95 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
89 out of 95(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Review 41 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Piney woods of North Louisiana.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

Date:March 18, 2009
Product is great, price is good,and shipping fast. Highest recommendation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tenn
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best cold blue

Date:February 23, 2009
This stuff really works well for what it is. It works nicely for touch up work. it is not necessary to get all the grease off the area you want to blue in this fashion. You just clean up a little and then wipe on the oxphoblue with a qtip or some fine steel wool. I have never had rust come through oxphoblue. I have blued entire guns with this product and have been generally pleased with the results. The color varies with the number or coats and the type of metal used. If you are bluing a really nice gun, obviously, don't use this. If you are touching up or need an attractive metal covering for a sporter , it works well. soaking steel wool in it and then wiping on the metal works good--for a cold blue, this stuff is the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: lansdale, pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good deal

Date:February 3, 2009
I got this blue stuff to re-blue a great Christmas gift. I got a hand carved side by side and didn't what to heat up the barrel and ruin the joints. This stuff cut through the surface rust and made the barrel look like new. No prep to speak of, no mess and no fuss. It took 10 minutes to complete a deep blue finish.
I took the remainder and re-blued a barrel I took down to the bare metal and removed some stamping on. Not done but good result so far. A little splotchy but a few more passes should do the trick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Got the Blues

Date:January 6, 2009
Good stuff, Works great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Willis,TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho-Blue

Date:October 27, 2008
I have used this before works well if you want to cold blue a gun or just do a spot on the barrel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho on Mosin and Sig

Date:June 16, 2008
I used a single 4 oz bottle on a Mosin Nagant M44 carbine and a Sig P6/225 slide. I heated the metal to 200 degrees first, cleaned the steel according to directions, then wiped on the liquid bluing solution with cotton balls.
The Mosin began with very little blue remaining. Now, it looks far, far better, even great in some spots, after 3 applications. I am going to try to give it a once over with some Oxpho paste soon.
The Sig slide showed a lot of holster wear, it is a 1982 police carried piece. I cleaned and heated it, then put an ounce of Oxpho in a plastic plate, immersing the slide angle by angle. It turned out incredibly well after two applications. The slide might even pass as new.
Overall, a great product that is quick and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cold Blue

Date:April 7, 2008
As far as cold blues go this stuff is great. Goes on easy, just follow the directions. Leaves a nice dark even color.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho-blue

Date:March 28, 2008
Have used this bluing for a few years to touch up several firearms and even used it to completely restore the finish of a well worn antique savage model 720 with excellent results. To acheive the best results rub out any rust with fine steel wool and penetrating oil, clean all oil from the metal then rub the bluing in. Don't leave it on for more than about a minute, then wipe clean and polish with 000 steel wool, repeat until you get the desired results. Finish by rubbing down with a penetrating oil and then coat with gun oil to preserve. I would definitely recommend to a friend. Nothing replaces hot bluing but this is the best cold bluing I have found. I'm buying more today!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stunning Results

Date:March 22, 2008
Used Oxpho on my H&R Topper that had seen better days. It was nothing short of a miracle. It actually looks better than when it was new. My Brother-in-law was totally amazed that it was the same gun. Nice deep rich color even on the reciever. Definitely recommend to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brownells Oxpho blue

Date:January 15, 2008
Product worked much better than the one I was using. Much deeper blue and easier to work with.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Garden Valley, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast working

Date:January 7, 2008
I purchased this product to dye some ornamental iron hooks for the cabin. This stuff is very fast acting a rich black if you leave it set a biy longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very happy with this cold blue

Date:October 16, 2007
I was very impressed with this cold blue product. Went on and worked just as advertised. Nice even blue color. I would buy it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Amite,LA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho Blue

Date:August 14, 2007
This is a great, easy to use product. It also has a great price. It is a must for anyone that wants to renew or touch-up an old gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:August 7, 2007
Used this product to re-blue the receiver of a SW380 sigma, which is a semiauto that has a revceiver made of an alloy that supposedly can't be reblued. This worked on it, altho it took quite a bit of effort, which was not the products fault. I also used it to touch up several other handguns and they look great now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Maria, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brownells 4oz Oxpho-Blue

Date:July 19, 2007
I was very impressed with the product. I've used others but they don't
compare to Brownells Oxpho-Blue. I experimented on a pellet gun and
also heated it and applied the Blue. Took right away. Did the same to
my rifle and same results. I removed blueing, from a different company
on another of my guns and applied Brownells. Worked great also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Melbourne, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho-Blue, first try

Date:April 3, 2007
New
to refinishing firearms, read all I could about the home process and
different products. Brownells Oxpho-Blue was recommended by many. My
Ruger carbine 44 mag had some light surface rust in different sections
and alloys. I took it down to the bare metal with 000 steel wool.
Heated the metal with a heat gun to very warm to touch temp. Filled a
separate shallow container with the product (so as not to cross
contaminate) and applied with the same steel wool. After several
coats/heat treat to darken to my preference the weapon looks awesome in
my view, and others. It is NOT "blue" it is very dark grey. Very
durable rust preventive as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gun blue

Date:November 28, 2006
This is a great cold blue. It is quick and easy to use with a uniform finish. I threw out my old bluing products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Oxpho Blue is good stuff!

Date:November 21, 2006
I've had an old Mauser sporter conversion for 20 years with an unfinished steel barrel. It was always a pain to keep it blemish free. I never bothered with cold blue thinking I's never get a uniform finish. Boy was I wrong. The oxpho blue gave a beautiful polished deep blue finish, and very uniform too. It's been super durable and I know I can always touch it up if I need to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Benkelman, Ne.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Brownells Oxpho-Blue

Date:November 21, 2006
If your looking for a fast and easy way to refinish a barrel, use Brownells Oxpho-Blue. Quick action and simple to use, also affordable, I have not found a product that works as good. Thanks Brownell for a great product to make an old gun look new again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Take your Time!

Date:November 20, 2014
Contrary to the directions if you want a really good result (which begins with a good start) remove the rust and oil from the material to be blued first. Polish out any stains with Flitz or other metal polish and then degrease the whole thing. Check out a couple of youtubes on the use. Most recommend heating the metal first before applying. This stuff has a temperature range that it works best. Too hot and it comes out mottled. (do not get the metal so hot as to cause the oxpho to evaporate upon application). Polish between applications with 0000 steel wool and degrease again. Patience and multiple coats can get you a very nice finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 95