Customer Reviews for BROWNELLS Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

BROWNELLS Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

Oxpho-Blue&#8482 may be the easiest and finest cold blue on the market. The chemical works directly through the oil on a gun, removes any thin rust and then blues the steel underneath. No after-rust. Great rust preventative. Applied easily with a cotton cloth. Extremely durable.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 106 reviews
5 Stars
69
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
100 out of 106(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Review 41 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2011

Oxpho-Blue Great Cold Blue

By
Location: Tulsa, OK
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have found Oxpho-Blue is the best COLD blue product on the market. It is great for "touch-ups" and can also blue entire firearms. It is easy to apply, more forgiven on metal prep, and establishes a good, slightly grayish, blue coat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2011

Another excellent purchase

By
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this item to repair a friend's blued revolver which was rusted shut and lost all of the blueing on one side. Except for the pitting, he got back a blued revolver that works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

Big plus

By
Location: Nampa Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This IS GOOD stuff! (Use a little heat)
Andy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2010

Oxpho-Blue

By
Location: Loretto, TN
I used several coats to get the finish I washappy with on an old 22 rifle. This product is as good as cold blue gets, it was easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2010

Brownell's Oxpho-Blue: Good stuff!

By
Location: Mason City, IA
Of the various cold blue solutions on the market, I have had the best luck, by far, with Brownell's Oxpho Blue. It is easy to use and effective. Like all cold blue compounds, it works best on softer tempers of carbon steel, typically used on gun barrels and frames. Harder tempers, as found on springs, pins, and hammers, will not blue as well and will have a 'straw' hue, usually mottled in appearance. Oxpho Blue is a very good finish for homemade tools fabricated from mild steel or carbon steel tempered to 'knife hard' or less. A little bit goes a long ways, be sure to keep the bottle well sealed and don't let it spill!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2009

High Quality Blue Touch Up's

By
Location: WI
This is a quality product from Brownells. I was really pleased to find it in my local Cabela's so that I didn't have to pay shipping charges from Brownells that were as much as this product costs.
I use Oxpho-Blue with a Q-Tip to reapply blueing to screws that get shortened to proper length for scope mounting. It does a great job at preventing rust from starting on these bare metal surfaces. It's quite durable and I believe that it's better than many of the other cold application liquid blue products. Being a Brownell's product, it can be trusted.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2009

Oxpho-Blue

By
Location: Oregon
This is the best cold blue out there. Take your time and reapply as needed for the results you want.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

Oxpho-Blue

By
Location: Alabama
The best cold blue available by far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009

Good product

By
Location: NC
Good product. Works as advertised. Medium to dark blue after a few coats. It probable would get darker if I apply a few more coats. I got it where I wanted it then stopped. I sure hope it lasts like this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2009

believe in this one

By
Location: Amherst, OH
does what it is said to do. terrific
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2009

Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue

By
Location: Piney woods of North Louisiana.
Product is great, price is good,and shipping fast. Highest recommendation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2009

best cold blue

By
Location: tenn
This stuff really works well for what it is. It works nicely for touch up work. it is not necessary to get all the grease off the area you want to blue in this fashion. You just clean up a little and then wipe on the oxphoblue with a qtip or some fine steel wool. I have never had rust come through oxphoblue. I have blued entire guns with this product and have been generally pleased with the results. The color varies with the number or coats and the type of metal used. If you are bluing a really nice gun, obviously, don't use this. If you are touching up or need an attractive metal covering for a sporter , it works well. soaking steel wool in it and then wiping on the metal works good--for a cold blue, this stuff is the best!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

good deal

By
Location: lansdale, pa
I got this blue stuff to re-blue a great Christmas gift. I got a hand carved side by side and didn't what to heat up the barrel and ruin the joints. This stuff cut through the surface rust and made the barrel look like new. No prep to speak of, no mess and no fuss. It took 10 minutes to complete a deep blue finish.
I took the remainder and re-blued a barrel I took down to the bare metal and removed some stamping on. Not done but good result so far. A little splotchy but a few more passes should do the trick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2009

Got the Blues

By
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Good stuff, Works great!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

Oxpho-Blue

By
Location: Willis,TX
I have used this before works well if you want to cold blue a gun or just do a spot on the barrel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2008

Oxpho on Mosin and Sig

By
Location: San Diego, CA
I used a single 4 oz bottle on a Mosin Nagant M44 carbine and a Sig P6/225 slide. I heated the metal to 200 degrees first, cleaned the steel according to directions, then wiped on the liquid bluing solution with cotton balls.
The Mosin began with very little blue remaining. Now, it looks far, far better, even great in some spots, after 3 applications. I am going to try to give it a once over with some Oxpho paste soon.
The Sig slide showed a lot of holster wear, it is a 1982 police carried piece. I cleaned and heated it, then put an ounce of Oxpho in a plastic plate, immersing the slide angle by angle. It turned out incredibly well after two applications. The slide might even pass as new.
Overall, a great product that is quick and easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

Great Cold Blue

By
As far as cold blues go this stuff is great. Goes on easy, just follow the directions. Leaves a nice dark even color.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2008

Oxpho-blue

By
Location: West Virginia
Have used this bluing for a few years to touch up several firearms and even used it to completely restore the finish of a well worn antique savage model 720 with excellent results. To acheive the best results rub out any rust with fine steel wool and penetrating oil, clean all oil from the metal then rub the bluing in. Don't leave it on for more than about a minute, then wipe clean and polish with 000 steel wool, repeat until you get the desired results. Finish by rubbing down with a penetrating oil and then coat with gun oil to preserve. I would definitely recommend to a friend. Nothing replaces hot bluing but this is the best cold bluing I have found. I'm buying more today!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2008

Stunning Results

By
Location: IL
Used Oxpho on my H&R Topper that had seen better days. It was nothing short of a miracle. It actually looks better than when it was new. My Brother-in-law was totally amazed that it was the same gun. Nice deep rich color even on the reciever. Definitely recommend to anybody.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Brownells 4 oz. Oxpho-Blue
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2008

Brownells Oxpho blue

By
Location: GA
Product worked much better than the one I was using. Much deeper blue and easier to work with.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 106