Customer Reviews for HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set

HOGUE Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set

Constructed by molding a super strong, rigid fiberglass that is OverMolded with the same rubber compound Hogue's famous pistol grips are made of. The fiberglass skeleton adheres chemically as well as mechanically to the rubber, resulting in a permanent bond. This innovative construction process provides the ultimate in a comfortable, non-slip super-smooth attractive finish that is durable, weatherproof and extremely quiet. A great addition to your waterfowl gun, turkey gun or any shotgun you use during cold, wet weather. Available: Remington 870.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Review 1 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

hogue stock

By
Location: Rockland county, NY
very satisfied with the look and feel. Although the forearm went on easy the stock itself was a little bit of a pain. It never fit exctly flush to my 870. But it appears to be on tight.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2010

Outstanding Upgrade

By
Location: WI
I purchased this as an upgrade to the standard wood stock that came with my 870 Express. The fit of the product was perfect and the finish is outstanding, it looks great with the parkerized Express finish or the metal components. The butt has a very generous and comfortable recoil pad. The overmoulded rubber is great: it is overmoulded only on the grip portion of the butt, not the whole thing so that your clothes/face/mask/etc doesnt get stuck to the stock, only your hand (brilliant!). The forearm is slightly shorter and smaller than the stock wood forearm, but I found it to be very well shaped and comfotable in hand. The entire outside of the forearm is rubberized.
Installation was simple, a long nut driver or socket extension (~8 inches) is required to get down into the stock. The stock bolt is different than the one supplied,. so you need a long flat blade screwdriver to get the stock bolt out, and then the kex socket to put the new one in. (They are not interchangable)
Great product at a great price, $10 cheaper than the Remington synthetic stock.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2010

Great upgrade

By
Location: Nashville, NC
This stock is durable, helps reduce recoil from original, and is more easy to handle than original in wet conditions. A great cheap upgrade for a faithful 870.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Excellent set for the 870

By
Location: Sauvie Island, Oregon
I would have paid this for the forend alone, which is excellent; great feel & design. But I was pleasantly surprised by the stock which notably fit better than the original wood. Anyhow, a great addition to my 870 Super Mag. This is a great product for a duck gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2008

Great Value

By
Location: Kane, PA
I put this stock on my Remington 870 Express Super Magnum. The installation was relatively easy. You will either have to buy the tool to get the forend retaining nut off or use a large pair of needle nose pliers, which worked fine for me and I did not damage the shotgun. This stock helps tame the recoil of 3 1/2 inch turkey loads and points much better than the factory synthetic stock that came with my shotgun. The soft recoil pad is a big plus and as with all Hogue products you could not hope for a better grip and overall feel. The best part about this stock is that it costs so little and fulfills the needs of any serious shotgunner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2008

hogue overmolded shotgun stock

By
Location: new york
Cabela's had the best price. The stock (rear) shouldered better than factory stock and the forend is hogue's nice rubbery material. Excellent grip. But I ended up going back to wood stocks because the all black stocks and all black metal made it look tactical, and I dont like tactical looking guns for hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2007

Great but you will need a tool...

By
Location: OK
The product, is great. My only complaint is that it requires a fore-end wrench for the remington 870. Most people probably know this but i didn't. It cost me another 15.00 dollars to order the tool. but I'm very happy with the quality of the product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2007

Worth every penny

By
The Hogue stock were easy to install and of high quality. A great bargan and worked well in the wet climate of the Adironacks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2007

great improvement over standard stocks

By
Location: Florida
Love these Houge stocks.
Bought them for my Rem 870 and they have a much better feel than the standard synthetic stocks.
They also seem to point better for quick shots at fast-moving sporting clays.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2006

hogue 870 stock set

By
Location: Goodyear AZ
Not sure why Cabella's listed the 870 set as not fitting the 870 SUPER MAGNUM but it does. Called Hogue directly and was told there is no differance in the stocks mounting ability between the 2. I bought this set from Cabella's for my 870 SUPER MAGNUM and fit great. The but stock could be a bit better but none the less this stock set is worth the money. Cabella's is also the cheapest i found to buy it from.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

where does the blame lie?

By
Location: Westminster,MD
Not sure if it's the shotgun or the forend. the buttstock fit fine, but the forend fit neither of my 835's or my 500. I used their adaptor but to no avail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

grip city

By
Location: cleveland, oh
Nice stock set. Good grip. Easy to install. Highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hogue® OverMolded Stock Set
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Easy grip even when wet

By
Location: IN
With the hogue stock set you get comfortable stock and grip even in damp conditions
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.