Customer Reviews for FOILES Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls

FOILES Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls

Since its introduction in 1999, the Strait Meat Honker has outperformed every other short-reed on the market. Unique design requires no back-pressure and creates true-to-life, throaty sounds. Hand-turned and polished for exceptional sound and looks. Available: Bourbon/Water, Smoke, Smoke/Cocobolo, Black/Silver Band, Cocobolo, Clear/Blue, Chartreuse, Realtree MAX-4™ , Smoke/ Realtree MAX-4™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.854 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
78 out of 82(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Review 1 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Goose Heaven

By
Once you learn how to use these type of calls there awesome.
They are loud, crisp and the quality of material can not be beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Foiles Strait Meat Honker

By
Location: I am from North Platte, Ne.
One of my hunting buddies has used the Stait Meat calls for several years and he finally convinced me to give the Foiles Strait Meat Honker a try. I recently purchased and began working with the Foiles Stait Meat Honker. I was pleasantly surprised by the ease with which I was able to blow this call. The tones are crisp and easily produced.
I have tried other calls that promise ease of use only to discover that it took a good deal of practice to produce sounds that resemble the Canada goose. I would not support their claims that these calls are easy to blow and simple to use. They have all been difficult. The Strait Meat Honker is by far the easiest to learn and produces the sound that I want to hear.
I am very pleased with the call and I am looking forward to using the call during the upcoming season.
Thank You Foiles!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Foiles Strait Meat

By
Location: Boise, Idaho
I recently purchased my 3rd Foiles Strait Meat Short Reed Goose call from Cabelas. I was impressed with the first two, however I have had a difficult time with the latest from a tuning perspective. The first two are easier to blow and tune, with very consistent sounds. I can not get the last one dialed in and have relagated the call to back up in my open water set up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2006

Top short reed

By
Location: MN
Jeff Foiles' calls routinely are mentioned as the best in the biz. Jeff has established quite a crew and aggressively promotes his line-up of product. It isn't all just hype, his calls are great! The Straight Meat Honker requires little to no back pressure to create great goose sounds. I've found that other calls are louder and other calls that are more mellow, but in terms of overall sound and versatility, I would say that the Foiles Migrator Straight Meat Honker is the best call on the market (price aside). If I was just learning to blow a short reed call or if my kid was just beginning to learn how to call geese - this is what I'd buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2006

Take 'Em!

By
Location: South Central Virginia
Foiles� Migrators series Strait Meat Honker
The Foiles� Migrators series Strait Meat Honker is one of the hottest goose calls on the market today. These calls started the short reed craze and have earned their reputation in both the field and calling contests alike.
The call is made from high quality materials and is an easy call to blow. They require very little back pressure to make all the sounds of the Canada goose; from the sweet pleading mellow lows to the high pitched clucks and cracks needed to pull down those late season high flyers.
With a little practice, Foiles� Strait Meat Honker calls can be easily mastered and create a range of true-to-life goose sounds. Try one of these calls next time your in the goose pit or blind and you�ll understand why the Foil�s Straight Meat Honker has won a place on many a goose hunter�s lanyard!
I personally carry three!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2006

great call

By
Location: evansville IN
This was my first short reed call. I opened the package and could break the call over. It does take alot of air. This call is worth the money if your looking to learn on a short reed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2007

this call is awsome

By
Location: Hockessin Delaware
My dad got me this for my birthday and the by the very next day I was calling away! I recomend this call to every goose hunter out there. This call is very easy to blow and dose not take long to learn how to use it. What out migrators!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2007

Meat Honker

By
Location: Maysville KY
BEST GOOSE CALL I HAVE EVER OWNED.
Very goosey and very easy to blow. In no time you will sound like a flock of geese. The volume is great and the sounds are true to life. The birds just cant resist
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2007

Foiles Migrators Strait Meat Honker

By
Location: Michigan
With over 15yrs experiance Waterfowling and countless days in the field under some of the harshest weather conditions from extreem heat to sub zero temps, freezing rain, snow, sleet this call has yet to let me down. Jeff Foiles has continued to keep the quailty of this product second to none not mention the world class customer service. i would recommend this call to anyone from the beginner to the advanced caller, from field to stage this call will do it all. From the ease of blowing with little or no back pressure, this call produces that high end crack to the softest feeding growl that most people desire. also the ease of tuning makes this call an A+. next time you get a chance to try one of these, i'm sure you will love it from the word go !!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

Foiles Migrators "Strait Meat Honker"

By
Location: Central Ohio
This is an excellent call that is easy to blow even for someone who isn't a talented caller like me. I used this call September 1, 2007, and limited on three Canada geese. It is expensive but is worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2007

goose calls

By
Location: Green Bay, Wi
This is the best goose calls i ever used. It was every is to learn how to use it. Got the goose to come in close with this calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2007

Foiles Goose Killers

By
Location: Fayetteville, NC
The Foiles Strait Meat Honker call is absolutely awesome. I've always been one to tend to liking flutes and i wanted to find a short reed that wasn't too high pitched. So i got a cocobola Strait Meat Honker and its the perfect loudness and yet high enough to immitate some of those young geese. I think its a fantastic choice. Foiles duck calls are awesome too, i enjoy the fact that they are "meat" calling style call, the plainly bring the birds in and fill the bag limit. I can't wait to try the cackle call.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2007

Strait meat honker

By
awesome call. Easily one of the best calls on the market.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2007

straight meat honker

By
Location: Ny
AWESOME! I couldn't make a goose sound on my flute and i said darn it im gunna learn to use a call, i bought one and the geese have been falling every since. WOW
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2007

Easy easy easy!

By
Location: Havre, Montana
I have been blowing a flute for a few years now, reluctant to switch over to a short reed. This call requires no back pressure, making it very easy to produce the clucks and moans needed to kill geese on a regular basis. This call sounds great, and I would never blow a flute again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2007

Great!

By
This call is very crisp and loud ,as a champion goose caller i would recomend this call to anyone .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 25, 2007

Foiles Strait Meat Honker

By
Location: Spearville, Ks
I have this call and it has killed many many geese. It is an easy call to blow. Don't let the price scare you any from this call it is well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2007

awsome call

By
Location: Tonica IL
I recently purchased the Foiles strait meat honker and love it. the cheaper calls cant compete. the price is a little high but trust me its worth it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 4, 2007

great call

By
This is my first Foiles goose call and it wont be my last. I wont buy anything else from now on. This call sounds better than any call I have owned or blown. It produces perfect true-to-life clucks, feed growls, honks, and does not stick on hard comebacks. It does take a little more air than other Foiles calls like the showtime,which is very easy to blow but higher pitch. Dont get me wrong this call is easy to blow also. If you are in the market for a new high-end goose call, this is the one for you! p.s. my next will be a showtime.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Foiles Strait Meat Honker Goose Calls
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2007

The BEST there is!!!!

By
Location: Moberly, Mo
I currently am using a Zink power clucker and I was in the store the other day and I blew a Zink Money Maker then I blew a strait meat call and Im hooked on Foiles calls. I am planning on buying one and will never look back on Zink calls again. They are not bad calls but Foiles makes a better one. It blows easy and sound like real geese. If you are lookin for a good easy blowin short reed, look no further cuz this should be the one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 82