Customer Reviews for VAN DYKE'S Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

VAN DYKE'S Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit

This professional tan kit is easy to use at home. Premium immersion tan for rugs, furs, hides and hair-on skins for mounts. This complete kit contains enough material to tan one large deerskin. It tans a deer hide in 24 to 36 hours.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
42 out of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Review 1 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pleased

Date:February 19, 2013
i done a coon and a grey fox and still have enough to do two more hides. takes a little time but nice results if the hide is fleshed properly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worked great

Date:January 15, 2013
this product work exactly as it says it does this was my first time tanning and i am very pleased with the results kit included everything you need except for salt
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First time results were excellent

Date:December 11, 2012
First of all, it is a time consuming process to tan a deer hide. If you don't have time to spend, have your taxidermist do the job.
That being said, I have been wanting to do this for a long time. I followed the directions to the letter. I followed the recommended times. I got excellent results and would recommend this kit.
The instructions recommend soaking your hide in a rubbermaid tub and putting a gallon jug of water on your hide to weight it down in the pickel.
I used a second rubbermaid tub filled with lead weights placed on top of the first tub to keep my hide submerged. Worked great.
Give it a try, you'll be happy you did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use, good results.

Date:January 24, 2012
I just used this to tan my first hair on deer hide, and I was very pleased with my results. Aside from the plastic tub and the 10lbs of pickling salt needed to complete the process it came with everything I needed, and fairly legible instructions. As an added bonus it never really smelled bad, which was important as I was working in my garage.
One thing to note is that the pickle is pretty acidic (ph1-1.5), so you may want to have some sort of idea of how you want to dispose of it, and may want to wear gloves/goggles when working with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st time

Date:January 17, 2012
Never tried a tanning kit before and was pleased with the results. Follow the instructions to the letter and time restrictions. Also break the hide immediately out of the last solution. I used a sawhorse and ran it over by hand for three days and the deer hide is as as soft as a leather jacket. If you have the time this was a fun job that I'll be doing from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clayton, NC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tan Kit

Date:May 23, 2011
I got this kit for a small deer hide from last years season. It worked great! more ph testers would be good. other than the sodium bicarbonate, there's enough ingredients left over for another hide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa City, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Home Tanning Product

Date:March 2, 2011
I would recommend this product to a first time tanner. Tanning is not an easy process, especially if you are doing it for the first time at home, but this product provides easy to follow instructions.
Make sure you plan ahead because there are time frames you have to follow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Oregon coast.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:March 2, 2011
tanned a coyote with this and have leftovers to do more hides. You have to do your part to flesh and clean the hide up. I did and it turned out really good. Would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint John New Brunswick Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Coyote Hide

Date:February 14, 2011
We bought this kit for our 13 yr son for Christmas...Luck would have it..lol..A coyote got hit by a car on Christmas day...Brought it home skinned it out himself and used this tanning kit...Turned out perfect...Now he's anciously waiting for his next road kill...lol..Great little kit!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lebanon, Va
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tanning Supplies

Date:February 12, 2011
This is the first time using this kit and it worked great. The instructions are easy to follow if you do exactly what they say. Depending on the hide you will need lots of non-iodized salt. I tanned one coyote and one fox with the same kit. Both pelts turned out really well with a soft leather feel. The more you break the hide the softer it will be. Also it is very time consuming. I have another coyote and fox to tan. I will use this product again. Another great product from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Diego
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:February 4, 2011
I ws somewhat nervous about using this product but the instructions and process were very easy to use and resulted in a great final product. I have done @6 rabbit pelts and 4 raccoon and still have enough chemicals to several more racoon hides. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked very well.

Date:February 3, 2011
Bought 4 complete kits and tanned 4 deer hides with my 15 yr old son Dec 2010. Kits worked well and there is enought material left to do at least 1 more or maybe 2 more hides. Instructions were good. Only complaint is 2 of the 4 kits came without instruction sheets in boxes. We did hair on and they tuned out soft. It takes some effort but this was our first try and they all turned out well. It took about 10 man hours per hide and about 9 days from start to finish. Hides are great for the recliner or as a nap blanket with a hunting story to tell. No special tools required but a cheap belt sander speeds things up. Will do more hides next year. Do the scrape and salting process as soon as you skin it for best results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Results from a first time user

Date:January 3, 2011
This product gave me a great tanned elk hide with the hair on. The directions are thorough enough, but planning on timing is recommended to avoid late night work. Salt is not included but relatively cheap. The kit will give you a white leather and soft fur. Expect to spend about 10 hours over several days to a couple weeks to break the hide as it dries. Just 20-30 minutes a day of stretching and rolling the hide over sawhorses produced great results for an elk hide, so less time should work well for smaller animals. I will be using this kit on several other pelts I have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tanning hides

Date:February 15, 2010
simple to use almost fool proof
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:February 1, 2010
Never taned a deer hide before instruction easy to follow and kit does one deer hide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: selah WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great tan

Date:September 30, 2009
Well for my first time tanning anything this was pretty easy to use. I tanned a black bear hide with it and it turned out pretty well for the first thing I have tanned. U will need salt but everything else is in the kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: okie
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tanning

Date:March 18, 2008
this was our first attempt at tanning a hide. we read all the reviews and decided we could do this. the directions were clear enough, ph tabs were included, had to buy 5# of canning salt , cheap though, . we tanned a grey fox , cased, didnt do a real effort at thinning it down, and it came out great. I might recomend better planning than us, we had to get up at 3 am to wash the hide after soaking in the lotan solution for the alloted time. our bad for not thinking ahead. we enjoyed our first tanning project together and have enough product left over for another fox sized animal. we highly recomend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice tan

Date:January 9, 2008
Works as advertised. Easy to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: warren mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

tan kit

Date:January 7, 2008
first timetanning hide, came out real good using this kit, hope to do more next year,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lutan-F Tanning kit

Date:November 30, 2007
I recently used the Vandykes lutan-F tanning kit to tan a deer skin (hair-on). The directions were clear and easy to follow. I wish I had been doing this all along as it's enjoyable and an easy project to do in spare time, not to mention the fact that it's one more use for something that would otherwise go wasted.
This was the first hide I've ever tanned, so like any other project that's somewhat involved I went to the library and checked out some books on tanning and also did some internet searching. I highly recommend anyone who's green like me to do this first. It's such an ancient practice that there are literally dozens of different ways to tan and preserve a hide and make into a garment. The history and methods used make for interesting reading too. This will also enable you to recognize the variations can be done in each step of the process (for instance, I salted and drained my hide twice). There are also some simple tools that you will need to have handy that the instructions don't detail. In fact, I consulted the book from the library as much as the instructions included in the kit.
The instruction sheets included in the Vandykes kit give an "overview" of the tanning process in general, and then on the last page specific instructions for the lutan-f kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 44