Customer Reviews for VAN DYKE'S Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit

VAN DYKE'S Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit

This professional tan kit is easy to use at home. Premium immersion tan for rugs, furs, hides and hair-on skins for mounts. This complete kit contains enough material to tan one large deerskin. It tans a deer hide in 24 to 36 hours.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
42 out of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Review 21 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

worked great

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
this product work exactly as it says it does this was my first time tanning and i am very pleased with the results kit included everything you need except for salt
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

First time results were excellent

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
First of all, it is a time consuming process to tan a deer hide. If you don't have time to spend, have your taxidermist do the job.
That being said, I have been wanting to do this for a long time. I followed the directions to the letter. I followed the recommended times. I got excellent results and would recommend this kit.
The instructions recommend soaking your hide in a rubbermaid tub and putting a gallon jug of water on your hide to weight it down in the pickel.
I used a second rubbermaid tub filled with lead weights placed on top of the first tub to keep my hide submerged. Worked great.
Give it a try, you'll be happy you did.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2012

Easy to use, good results.

By
Location: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I just used this to tan my first hair on deer hide, and I was very pleased with my results. Aside from the plastic tub and the 10lbs of pickling salt needed to complete the process it came with everything I needed, and fairly legible instructions. As an added bonus it never really smelled bad, which was important as I was working in my garage.
One thing to note is that the pickle is pretty acidic (ph1-1.5), so you may want to have some sort of idea of how you want to dispose of it, and may want to wear gloves/goggles when working with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 17, 2012

1st time

By
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Never tried a tanning kit before and was pleased with the results. Follow the instructions to the letter and time restrictions. Also break the hide immediately out of the last solution. I used a sawhorse and ran it over by hand for three days and the deer hide is as as soft as a leather jacket. If you have the time this was a fun job that I'll be doing from now on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 23, 2011

Great Tan Kit

By
Location: Clayton, NC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I got this kit for a small deer hide from last years season. It worked great! more ph testers would be good. other than the sodium bicarbonate, there's enough ingredients left over for another hide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Good Home Tanning Product

By
Location: Iowa City, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I would recommend this product to a first time tanner. Tanning is not an easy process, especially if you are doing it for the first time at home, but this product provides easy to follow instructions.
Make sure you plan ahead because there are time frames you have to follow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

good stuff

By
Location: Northern Oregon coast.
tanned a coyote with this and have leftovers to do more hides. You have to do your part to flesh and clean the hide up. I did and it turned out really good. Would buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2011

Coyote Hide

By
Location: Saint John New Brunswick Canada
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
We bought this kit for our 13 yr son for Christmas...Luck would have it..lol..A coyote got hit by a car on Christmas day...Brought it home skinned it out himself and used this tanning kit...Turned out perfect...Now he's anciously waiting for his next road kill...lol..Great little kit!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

Great Tanning Supplies

By
Location: Lebanon, Va
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is the first time using this kit and it worked great. The instructions are easy to follow if you do exactly what they say. Depending on the hide you will need lots of non-iodized salt. I tanned one coyote and one fox with the same kit. Both pelts turned out really well with a soft leather feel. The more you break the hide the softer it will be. Also it is very time consuming. I have another coyote and fox to tan. I will use this product again. Another great product from Cabelas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2011

Great Product

By
Location: San Diego
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I ws somewhat nervous about using this product but the instructions and process were very easy to use and resulted in a great final product. I have done @6 rabbit pelts and 4 raccoon and still have enough chemicals to several more racoon hides. Thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2011

Worked very well.

By
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought 4 complete kits and tanned 4 deer hides with my 15 yr old son Dec 2010. Kits worked well and there is enought material left to do at least 1 more or maybe 2 more hides. Instructions were good. Only complaint is 2 of the 4 kits came without instruction sheets in boxes. We did hair on and they tuned out soft. It takes some effort but this was our first try and they all turned out well. It took about 10 man hours per hide and about 9 days from start to finish. Hides are great for the recliner or as a nap blanket with a hunting story to tell. No special tools required but a cheap belt sander speeds things up. Will do more hides next year. Do the scrape and salting process as soon as you skin it for best results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2011

Quality Results from a first time user

By
This product gave me a great tanned elk hide with the hair on. The directions are thorough enough, but planning on timing is recommended to avoid late night work. Salt is not included but relatively cheap. The kit will give you a white leather and soft fur. Expect to spend about 10 hours over several days to a couple weeks to break the hide as it dries. Just 20-30 minutes a day of stretching and rolling the hide over sawhorses produced great results for an elk hide, so less time should work well for smaller animals. I will be using this kit on several other pelts I have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2010

tanning hides

By
Location: minnesota
simple to use almost fool proof
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010

Great

By
Never taned a deer hide before instruction easy to follow and kit does one deer hide.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2009

great tan

By
Location: selah WA
Well for my first time tanning anything this was pretty easy to use. I tanned a black bear hide with it and it turned out pretty well for the first thing I have tanned. U will need salt but everything else is in the kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2008

tanning

By
Location: okie
this was our first attempt at tanning a hide. we read all the reviews and decided we could do this. the directions were clear enough, ph tabs were included, had to buy 5# of canning salt , cheap though, . we tanned a grey fox , cased, didnt do a real effort at thinning it down, and it came out great. I might recomend better planning than us, we had to get up at 3 am to wash the hide after soaking in the lotan solution for the alloted time. our bad for not thinking ahead. we enjoyed our first tanning project together and have enough product left over for another fox sized animal. we highly recomend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2008

Nice tan

By
Location: OR
Works as advertised. Easy to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

tan kit

By
Location: warren mi
first timetanning hide, came out real good using this kit, hope to do more next year,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2007

Lutan-F Tanning kit

By
Location: South Carolina
I recently used the Vandykes lutan-F tanning kit to tan a deer skin (hair-on). The directions were clear and easy to follow. I wish I had been doing this all along as it's enjoyable and an easy project to do in spare time, not to mention the fact that it's one more use for something that would otherwise go wasted.
This was the first hide I've ever tanned, so like any other project that's somewhat involved I went to the library and checked out some books on tanning and also did some internet searching. I highly recommend anyone who's green like me to do this first. It's such an ancient practice that there are literally dozens of different ways to tan and preserve a hide and make into a garment. The history and methods used make for interesting reading too. This will also enable you to recognize the variations can be done in each step of the process (for instance, I salted and drained my hide twice). There are also some simple tools that you will need to have handy that the instructions don't detail. In fact, I consulted the book from the library as much as the instructions included in the kit.
The instruction sheets included in the Vandykes kit give an "overview" of the tanning process in general, and then on the last page specific instructions for the lutan-f kit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Van Dykes Lutan-F Tanning Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2007

WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE?!

By
Location: DURAND, IL
I FIRST USED THIS LUTAN-F FORMULA 3 YEARS AGO. THE HIDE IS STILL IN PERFECT SHAPE! I HAVE A LARGER DEER HIDE TO FINISH THIS YEAR AND THE LUTAN-F FORMULA IS THE FIRST PRODUCT I LOOK FOR TO ACCOMPLISH THE TASK.
THE HAIR DOESN'T SLIP, THE PRODUCT IS COMPLETE, AND THE FINISHED HIDE LOOKS GREAT! ORDER YOURS NOW!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 44