Customer Reviews for DESERT CAPITAL Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each

DESERT CAPITAL Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each

Create your own hides and furs with this professional pre-mixed formula. It works on all fur skins and hides, even with the hair on, and produces a soft, supple tan in just 4-7 days. One 8-oz. bottle will tan one deer hide or two fur skins.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Review 1 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Broken Bow, Ne
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Self tan formula

Date:April 17, 2012
Product worked great. It was easy to use, just follow the directions!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pagosa Springs, CO
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 11, 2012
The hide tanning solution worked great on a rattle snake skin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product...but..

Date:December 17, 2011
The instructions for tanning a deer hide with hair off is way wrong. If you follow the instructions, soak hide in fresh water daily for 4 to 6 days until hair falls off the hide, the hide will rot. I have tanned other small animal hides with this product, and it works pretty well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: bristol ri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

saved some grief

Date:February 14, 2011
ive tanned several hides over the years. this was the easuest so far
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NH
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product!

Date:November 8, 2010
this is the first product that ive used to tan a hide and it works great! it is simple to use with good instructions and it does come out with a nice leather if you give it a little time to sit and if you remove most of the membrane. ive used it to tan three squirrel pelts and a deer hide, all have come out well and i still have enough in the bottle for at least a few more squirrels.I would definitly recomend this product for anyone who is interested in tanning a hide whether youve never done it before or your more experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Silver Spring, MD.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what it says

Date:February 15, 2010
It works exactly as it is explained. The edges of the deer skin are still hard since I did not spend enough time to clean the meat and fat properly prior to treating it with the Tanning formula but I am working it out at the edge of a table to soften it. The product is amazing. Wish the print out was larger but with the space available that is all that could be done. Good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: tipton,in
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good stuff

Date:December 29, 2009
good product. the only problem was me getting lazy and not getting enough membrane off. the middle of the hide which i scraped good turned out great. the edges which i didn't do so well were stiff when done
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: south carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

beginner friendly

Date:July 25, 2009
after the taxidermist left me up a creek i had to tan my bear skin myself. it was my first kill, i had skinned it myself, and used this stuff because i didn't know what else to do. i followed the directions the best i could and now i have a beautiful bear rug to show off. it says it comes out soft but mine is a pretty stiff and will need to be flattened over time. maybe it was user error. if you have a garage you can do this job easily. it takes a while for the solution to dry, but it smells like apple juice which is easy to deal with. i'm gonna continue to use this product in the future for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bonne Terre, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent!!

Date:January 30, 2009
This tanning formula works great!!! Just follow the instructions and you will have an excellent hide! Easy to use and only takes a few days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Hunters Tanning Formula

Date:January 8, 2009
This is the first time I have ever attempted to tan a deer hide and it turned out to be an easier project than I had thought it might be. The hard part is just being diligent to scrape the flesh and fat off (in the beginning). The rest was simply following the directions on the bottle and applying the formula (as directed). Once the hide has dried a little (again, follow the directions), the stretching and breaking process consisted of the remainder of the work. I found I could do this a little at a time in the evenings. The hide is now a nice white leather piece with hair on the other side. A little stiff on the edges but I think a little more formula on those parts and some more elbow grease will soften it up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hide Tan Formula

Date:October 14, 2008
This formula worked very well on my son's pronghorn antelope hide, but did not fair too well on his squirrels. Crispy, crackling squirrel formula! The directions are very clear and precise, which helped out a bunch. I haven't yet tried it on any other game, but I would stick to medium sized animals if I use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula

Date:May 9, 2008
I used this formula with great results. it does turn the hide an organge at first but it does fade along with the smell. after a few weeks the skin is smelling more like it should. the directions are on the small side but i was able to discern them with relative ease. overall this product worked great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: MT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula

Date:August 8, 2007
I bought this and the insturintions where to small it said fore larger printed instructioms to whright to them and they dident send larger instructions. When I finaly figurged it out I put it on my rabbit skin and beside from makeing it smell it changed the color from tan to bright orenge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deer Hunters Hide Tanning Formula - Per Each
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good stuff

Date:June 21, 2007
This did a great job on a fox hide, the process is a little long, but any stuff probley would.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.