Customer Reviews for Green Mountain Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Green Mountain Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels

Machined and contoured to fit the 10/22 receiver (barrel channel on factory stock will need to be widened to accomodate the replacement barrel). Will fit Ruger 10/22 Heavy Barrel Stock. All barrels are 20" long with .920" diameters and feature six-groove button rifling and recessed target crown for accuracy. Fluted barrels have six precision-machined grooves. Available: Stainless Steel.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Review 1 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rock Creek Township, Indiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tack Driver

Date:August 7, 2009
With decent ammo and this barrel my 10/22 can hold 1/2" groups at 50 yards with ease. I will recommend this barrel to friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The Red Desert, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green Mountain 10/22 20in Barrel is accurate!

Date:August 4, 2009
I fitted the Green Mountain 10/22 20in non-fluted barrel with a houge floating stock and I have noticed quite an improvement in my shooting. My ruger is way heavier, but it cool because it dosn't wobble around as much with that extra weight. So if you want a good workout and some sweet shots I'd strongly recommend this barrel. Oh yea, instalation is a piece of cake.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: durand,michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

blued non fluted barrel is great

Date:July 14, 2009
this barrel is the best it fits into the reciever very nicly and it is very accurate if you include a blackhawk axiom r/f stock i can shoot almost 200 yards and hit bullseye 4 out of 5 times
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mnt

Date:May 4, 2009
easy to install and driving nails with it now!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mountain 10/22 bull barrel with laminated th

Date:May 4, 2009
Awesome!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago,IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mountain barrel

Date:December 24, 2008
This barrel looks great. Its a little tight when you try to put it in the receiver. I had to use a rubber mallet to pound it in but it wasn't very hard with the mallet. It went in after that but I havent shot it yet but I am hoping it will be good from all I here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice barrel

Date:December 23, 2008
Nice tight groups 1/2 moa from rest.
looks good also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Somerset, KY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mighty Fine!

Date:December 17, 2008
I bought the fluted/SS barrel and it fit perfectly. In fact it has much tighter tolerances than the factory barrel that became evident when fitting to the receiver. Fit and finish are excellent. 5 Stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: shelter cove, ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing accuracy

Date:November 5, 2008
I love this barrel. I can enlarge my bullet holes at 30 yards using cci sub sonic green tag ammo. I hunt quail with this and they don't stand a chance. A+ quality product. Just make sure you clean it often to retain accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Addition to the 10/22

Date:October 14, 2008
Wow - I am very impressed. My 10/22 is at least 24 years old and was collecting dust for the past 10 years at least. I purchased the Fluted Bull Barrell by Green Mountain and the Houge Stock. The barrell went on without a hitch. All I needed was a screw driver and an Allen wrench. It literally only took 4 minutes to take off the old barrell and install the new. The stock took all of a minute to clamp on - perfect fit!!
I matched up the ensemble with Leupold sight rails and rings and a Bushnell 3-9x40 - all purchased through Cabelas. Not only does this little beauty look TOTALLY awesome, it is a total Tack Driver!!! I just sighted it in this afternoon and all I can say is that I will knock the eye out of a squirrell at 50 yards with no problem at all. I was shooting dime-sized groupings off the hood of my truck at 50+ yards.
I would HIGHLY recommend this barrell. I forgot how fun (and cheap) it is to shoot a .22. I feel like a 16 year old again! Thanks Cabela's!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy with this Barrel

Date:October 7, 2008
Awesome product, Great workmanship, easy to install, shoots like a dream.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: way north, california
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

vey good barrel

Date:September 29, 2008
it's no lilja, but niether is the price. after break-in i have shot an average 1/2 inch groups solid with federal auto match ammo. with a few in the 1/4 inch range. i bought this barrel to turn the 10/22 into a benchrest comp. gun. It does compete very well now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Peachtree City, Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mtn. 10/22 rifle barrel

Date:September 1, 2008
the barrel was a little tight going into the receiver, which is a good thing. It will shoot 10 shots inside a dime at 50 yards. I was amazed. I was using match ammo. I have barrel's that cost 3 times as much, and won't shoot any better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SoMD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Doubting Thomas

Date:August 26, 2008
I read the reviews and saw the same old "I shoot one hole groups with this product." nonsense, but when I put mine together, BAM!!!, I was shooting one ragged 1/2" hole groups!!!
Now, before I go any further, this is at 50 yds, 10 shot groups with Federal Auto Match with no wind and just resting on a post (not benched).
I haven't had a chance to get out to any distance yet, but it seems this 20' SS non-fluted barrel can deliver the goods. My factory configuration was putting out 3"-4" groups at 100 yds and I had little hope to get it too much better than that. I was pleasantly shocked with this basic upgrade. (Also, to be fair, I added the Hogue rubber OM stock, which fits excellent.)
The installation went okay. The old barrel was a bear to break free for some reason, and the GM barrell was VERY tight trying to get it into the reciever, but with some persuading, it matched up perfectly.
The only thing I can see that could be construed as a problem is that an unfired round will not eject all of the time (this drawback is a known problem and is actually written-engraved on the side of the barrel). I imagine this is from the tight tolerances of the target chamber. Cycling the action has so far been enough to extract the unspent round.
That being said, I could not deduct any points from this product, for it works as advertised, and the smile factor is worth an extra point anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blued normal non fluted green mountain barrel

Date:August 16, 2008
I bought one of these and when it came it was very dirty and had blueing spots and dried puddles on it. Also my old barrel would not come out so i had to take this to a gunsmith to get it re blued and cleaned as well as installed. That costed me an extra 60 dollars. But when it was all done it looked so good i had to give it 4 stars and it seems pretty accurate to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stainless Steel fluted barrel

Date:May 5, 2008
This barrel is very well balanced. It was easy to install and is very appealing to the eye. The accuracy is consistent with the Green Mountain Barrel name.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't even hesitate !!!

Date:April 16, 2008
This barrel is amazing period. My ruger 10-22 was bought new in 98 and i shot the devil out of it. Now after months of research on a great tack driver here i am and wow is all i can say. No sanding no nothing bought an aftermarket stock and a trigger and with this barrel if its in my sights up too 100 yards its dead im using factory federal ammunition and i love it and so does my gun!!! So here's the bottom line u wanna shoot groups u thought were impossible do it buy this barrel and shoot away my friends i give Green Mountain 10 stars for this awesome barrel !!!!!!!!! and u ask why 10 stars it only goes to 5 stars because 5 stars just isnt high enough for this Barrel thanks Green mountain !!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: evansville, in.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

green mountain 10-22 barrel

Date:January 7, 2008
excellent quality,easy to install,very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Victoria, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Green mountain 10/22 barrel

Date:November 28, 2007
I purchased one of these barrels from here and love it. It took an old 10/22 and with the trigger kit, bipod, stabalizing module, scope and Hogue stock, it made a real tack driver and everything is availible from cabelas. With match ammo I could cover the group with a quarter at 100 yards and one ragged hole at 50. With my CCI Velocitors that I hunt with, the group only opened up slightly. Installation was simple. The only problem was the way they cut the groove for the extractor, the stock extractor wouldn't pull the unspent cases out. This is due to the shape of the slot in the barrel. The stock being a round cut and the GM has a straight. I filed down just a touch from the back of the extractor (the round side making it flat like the new barrel) and that fixed the problem. It is such an easy thing to fix since I was doing complete cleaning that I didn't subtract points for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Green Mountain 10/22 Barrels
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Green Mountain SS smooth barrel

Date:October 22, 2007
I purchased the stainless steel smooth heavy barrel by Green Mountain from Cabelas about a month ago. I installed it onto my Ruger 10/22 with no problem. The accuracy of this barrel was pretty impressive. At 100 yards I was able to keep a grouping about the size of a quarter (if not a little tigher). The only thing I found with this barrel that I did not like was the fact that it would not allow the receiver to eject unfired rounds due to the fact that the barrel is short chambered. In order to unload the rifle, the clip had to be removed and the chambered round had to be fired or pushed out with a cleaning rod. If you don’t mind doing so, then you will be pleased with every other aspect of this barrel. As for me, I returned it and decided to try something else. Hope this helps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 28