Customer Reviews for Comp-N-Choke Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Comp-N-Choke Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

These screw-in choke tubes let gases vent through slots, creating a braking system that reduces recoil. It also keeps gases from moving faster than the wad or shot. Plus the slots momentarily grab the wad to separate it from the shot before exiting the barrel to improve shot pattern consistency.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
58 out of 64(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Review 1 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Helena, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

Date:January 18, 2010
I was very disappointed. I tried a modified version in my wife's shotgun and in my shotgun. When we patterned our shotguns the Comp-N-Choke threw the shot pattern five inches to the left in both shotgunds. When we put in the regular factory chokes back in, the pattern was right on. The Coimp-N-Choke was a real waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

won't fit supernova

Date:April 20, 2007
i ordered the beretta/benelli xxx full choke for my benelli supernova and it stops turning around the 3rd or so thread. i dont want to get a screw driver and force it in, in fear of messing my barrel threads up.
gonna send it back. will update when i get a new one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nevada, Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not sure its worth the money

Date:April 20, 2009
For the money spent I think I could have done as well with a standard improved cylinder choke. Not an appreciable difference in muzzle jump or recoil reduction. The product does appear to be well made and well finished however.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stick with the x-factor

Date:May 15, 2007
I purchased these chokes to replace the x-factor chokes in my mossberg 535 grandslam and mossberg 500 grandslam. The grandslam x-factor chokes shot substanially tighter patters at all ranges, with all brands of ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

choke

Date:December 15, 2009
choke wasn't same true rounded in the in side
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Mckenzie, tnn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

comp-n-choke

Date:September 23, 2008
The price was right. I ordered a mod. & the pattern was not any better then my stock mod. choke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As advertised

Date:August 7, 2012
I bought this to help with recoil management for my 12 year old son. Not only did it help with recoil, his scores improved also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Erido, FL
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.695 for buckshot

Date:December 13, 2010
I recently got a mossberg 535 the factory full choke was ok with 00 buckshot out 45 yards, but it left a hole in the middle of the pattern. I purchesed a comp-n-choke in the .695 full after the first shot i was discuraged alittle bit due to the fact that my favorite shell (Federal premium 3in. mag.)had barlley put 9 pellets on a piece of 35x35 cardboard at 54 yards. So i shot the next shells on the list winchester super-x 2 3/4in. 00 9 pellets only put 6 on the paper. The last shells i had were winchester super-x 3 1/2in. 00 18 pellets. it put 7 pellets in a 6 inch circle and the rest were in a 20 inch circle at 54 yards. i was then convinced that it was a pretty good choke tube considering that the factory choke tubes would not shoot a 3 1/2in. shell at all at any distance. I have not shot any bird shot yet but cant wait to try it , i also will find some other brands of buck shot to see if there are any beter than the win. super-x 3 1/2inch. with the right shells this choke produced a even pattern with no holes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Noxen ,Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comp-n-choke

Date:May 6, 2009
Patterned well on paper unfortunately didn't get to use it on snow geese.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: buffalo,ny.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comp and choke

Date:March 24, 2009
excellent patterns with full choke. but they are tighter than a regular rem choke. improved mod also the same, did not shoot improved cyl.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ut
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works good

Date:December 30, 2008
It seems to work great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ely, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compromise

Date:September 17, 2008
First the positive: I have purchased a number of Comp-N-Chokes for Remington, Mossberg, and Winchester shotguns. I have patterned and shot trap with one of them (lead shot only so far). The pattern was excellent. I believe the "slots" do result in some recoil reduction, but the tighter chokes will have more surface area for the propellant gasses to react against. In other words, more recoil reduction will be noticed from an extra full than from an improved cylinder. The trade-off for the recoil reduction is the fact that more of the propellant gasses are directed radially, and this tends to obscure your view of your target. At the trap range, I often couldn't tell if I had missed a target or smoked it. Anyone looking for an excellent pattern AND recoil reduction should consider this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best 1

Date:January 7, 2008
I use many different types of tubes and nothing compairs to these when it comes to a consistant pattern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

bird hunting

Date:October 16, 2007
I have purchased two of these choke tubes over the past couple of years. They really put out a good dense pattern and have increased my success using steel shot and other no toxic loads i.e. hevi-shot. They are durable and as i said the pattern is great for both upland hunting and duck hunting. I have taken birds with the modified choke out to 50 yards pheasant hunting and had clean kills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TAMPA FL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PLEASED USER

Date:October 6, 2007
QUICK AND EAST INSTALLATION, WORKS WELL, REDUCED RECOIL. WILL BUY MORE FOR OTHER SHOTGUNS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Barrington, IL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

COMP-N-CHOKE FOR DOVES

Date:January 25, 2007
ON MY ANNUAL ARGENTINA DOVE HUNTS I NORMALLY USE THE IMPROVED CYLINDER AND LIGHT MODIFIED COMBINATION AND NEVER CHANGE. I HAVE SHOT LITERALLY THOUSANDS OF BIRDS AT VARIOUS RANGES BUT MOSTLY PASS SHOOTING. I WOULD RATE THEM A FIVE STAR IF THE CHOKE TUBES WHERE SLOTTED FOR A SPEED WRENCH THOUGH THAT IS THEIR ONLY FAULT. I APPRECIATE THE NON-GLARE FINISH. THESE CHOKES ARE DURABLE AND PATTERN WELL.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Modified for BPS 10 ga.

Date:November 21, 2006
A Full choke, stock tube was not cutting it on duck opener. I went straight to Cabela's online when I got home, checked out some Mod. choke options, ordered and received before the next weekend of the season. A definite improvement in pattern diameter and something else, it does hold the shot cup back, improving my passing shot w/o distractions. Now I have a tool for steel shot and ducks! FYI, you might need a longer gun case
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comp-n-choke IM 12 gauge

Date:November 4, 2010
this is the go-to tube for all of our gooseblastin' shotguns. 3'' beretta 390's, browning gold 3'' and 3 1/2''. winchester SX-2's, benelli super black eagles, benelli M-1's and M-2's, remington 1100's. they last year after year. they hold true to constriction. EZ to clean. hundreds of rounds a year of BBB and T's. as in the title, we use the Improved Mod, .025'' constriction. we do not shoot Federal Black cloud shells but, run a steady diet of drylock's and hevi-shot. we even use these tubes (IM) in a pair of beretta 3901's in 20 gauge shooting hevi-shot and steel 2's. still, not a glitch. highly recommended. i don't give many 5 stars, trust me on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

comp-n-choke

Date:June 21, 2010
Deadly on turkeys at 50 plus yards
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SW Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:June 2, 2010
I have more clean kills and fixed some patterning problems with their chokes. Can't beat their mod with hevishot it rains geese.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 64