Customer Reviews for COMP-N-CHOKE Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

COMP-N-CHOKE Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

These screw-in choke tubes let gases vent through slots, creating a braking system that reduces recoil. It also keeps gases from moving faster than the wad or shot. Plus the slots momentarily grab the wad to separate it from the shot before exiting the barrel to improve shot pattern consistency.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
58 out of 64(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Review 1 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes

By
Location: Helena, Montana
I was very disappointed. I tried a modified version in my wife's shotgun and in my shotgun. When we patterned our shotguns the Comp-N-Choke threw the shot pattern five inches to the left in both shotgunds. When we put in the regular factory chokes back in, the pattern was right on. The Coimp-N-Choke was a real waste of money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2007

won't fit supernova

By
i ordered the beretta/benelli xxx full choke for my benelli supernova and it stops turning around the 3rd or so thread. i dont want to get a screw driver and force it in, in fear of messing my barrel threads up.
gonna send it back. will update when i get a new one
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 20, 2009

not sure its worth the money

By
Location: Nevada, Missouri
For the money spent I think I could have done as well with a standard improved cylinder choke. Not an appreciable difference in muzzle jump or recoil reduction. The product does appear to be well made and well finished however.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

Stick with the x-factor

By
Location: vermont
I purchased these chokes to replace the x-factor chokes in my mossberg 535 grandslam and mossberg 500 grandslam. The grandslam x-factor chokes shot substanially tighter patters at all ranges, with all brands of ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009

choke

By
choke wasn't same true rounded in the in side
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

comp-n-choke

By
Location: Mckenzie, tnn.
The price was right. I ordered a mod. & the pattern was not any better then my stock mod. choke.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2012

As advertised

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this to help with recoil management for my 12 year old son. Not only did it help with recoil, his scores improved also.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2010

.695 for buckshot

By
Location: Erido, FL
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I recently got a mossberg 535 the factory full choke was ok with 00 buckshot out 45 yards, but it left a hole in the middle of the pattern. I purchesed a comp-n-choke in the .695 full after the first shot i was discuraged alittle bit due to the fact that my favorite shell (Federal premium 3in. mag.)had barlley put 9 pellets on a piece of 35x35 cardboard at 54 yards. So i shot the next shells on the list winchester super-x 2 3/4in. 00 9 pellets only put 6 on the paper. The last shells i had were winchester super-x 3 1/2in. 00 18 pellets. it put 7 pellets in a 6 inch circle and the rest were in a 20 inch circle at 54 yards. i was then convinced that it was a pretty good choke tube considering that the factory choke tubes would not shoot a 3 1/2in. shell at all at any distance. I have not shot any bird shot yet but cant wait to try it , i also will find some other brands of buck shot to see if there are any beter than the win. super-x 3 1/2inch. with the right shells this choke produced a even pattern with no holes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2009

Comp-n-choke

By
Location: Noxen ,Pa
Patterned well on paper unfortunately didn't get to use it on snow geese.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2009

comp and choke

By
Location: buffalo,ny.
excellent patterns with full choke. but they are tighter than a regular rem choke. improved mod also the same, did not shoot improved cyl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

works good

By
Location: Ut
It seems to work great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2008

Compromise

By
Location: Ely, MN
First the positive: I have purchased a number of Comp-N-Chokes for Remington, Mossberg, and Winchester shotguns. I have patterned and shot trap with one of them (lead shot only so far). The pattern was excellent. I believe the "slots" do result in some recoil reduction, but the tighter chokes will have more surface area for the propellant gasses to react against. In other words, more recoil reduction will be noticed from an extra full than from an improved cylinder. The trade-off for the recoil reduction is the fact that more of the propellant gasses are directed radially, and this tends to obscure your view of your target. At the trap range, I often couldn't tell if I had missed a target or smoked it. Anyone looking for an excellent pattern AND recoil reduction should consider this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2008

Best 1

By
I use many different types of tubes and nothing compairs to these when it comes to a consistant pattern.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

bird hunting

By
Location: Oregon
I have purchased two of these choke tubes over the past couple of years. They really put out a good dense pattern and have increased my success using steel shot and other no toxic loads i.e. hevi-shot. They are durable and as i said the pattern is great for both upland hunting and duck hunting. I have taken birds with the modified choke out to 50 yards pheasant hunting and had clean kills.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2007

PLEASED USER

By
Location: TAMPA FL.
QUICK AND EAST INSTALLATION, WORKS WELL, REDUCED RECOIL. WILL BUY MORE FOR OTHER SHOTGUNS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2007

COMP-N-CHOKE FOR DOVES

By
Location: Barrington, IL
ON MY ANNUAL ARGENTINA DOVE HUNTS I NORMALLY USE THE IMPROVED CYLINDER AND LIGHT MODIFIED COMBINATION AND NEVER CHANGE. I HAVE SHOT LITERALLY THOUSANDS OF BIRDS AT VARIOUS RANGES BUT MOSTLY PASS SHOOTING. I WOULD RATE THEM A FIVE STAR IF THE CHOKE TUBES WHERE SLOTTED FOR A SPEED WRENCH THOUGH THAT IS THEIR ONLY FAULT. I APPRECIATE THE NON-GLARE FINISH. THESE CHOKES ARE DURABLE AND PATTERN WELL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Modified for BPS 10 ga.

By
A Full choke, stock tube was not cutting it on duck opener. I went straight to Cabela's online when I got home, checked out some Mod. choke options, ordered and received before the next weekend of the season. A definite improvement in pattern diameter and something else, it does hold the shot cup back, improving my passing shot w/o distractions. Now I have a tool for steel shot and ducks! FYI, you might need a longer gun case
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2010

comp-n-choke IM 12 gauge

By
Location: northern lower michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is the go-to tube for all of our gooseblastin' shotguns. 3'' beretta 390's, browning gold 3'' and 3 1/2''. winchester SX-2's, benelli super black eagles, benelli M-1's and M-2's, remington 1100's. they last year after year. they hold true to constriction. EZ to clean. hundreds of rounds a year of BBB and T's. as in the title, we use the Improved Mod, .025'' constriction. we do not shoot Federal Black cloud shells but, run a steady diet of drylock's and hevi-shot. we even use these tubes (IM) in a pair of beretta 3901's in 20 gauge shooting hevi-shot and steel 2's. still, not a glitch. highly recommended. i don't give many 5 stars, trust me on this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2010

comp-n-choke

By
Location: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Deadly on turkeys at 50 plus yards
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Comp-N-Choke™ Screw-In Choke Tubes
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2010

Great Product

By
Location: SW Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I have more clean kills and fixed some patterning problems with their chokes. Can't beat their mod with hevishot it rains geese.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 64