Customer Reviews for Deer Sleigh'r Deer Sleigh'r Sled

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Deer Sleigh'r Deer Sleigh'r Sled

Haul your next trophy buck over the river, through the woods and all the way to your vehicle with the Deer Sleigh'r. Constructed of slick, durable plastic, this game sled slides easily over snow, dry ground and tough terrain with even the heaviest payload in tow. Just lash the deer to the sled by threading the ropes through the grommets, grab the 6-foot drag rope and skid right along. A great way to protect your trophy's meat and hide from dirt and damage caused by rough, jagged ground. Rolls up compactly for storage and transport. Use the Standard size to carry most deer and antelope. The Magnum size is ideal for large deer, bear, sheep and elk. Standard: 2' x 6'. Weight: 2.5lbs. Magnum: 3' x 6'. Weight: 5lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.93 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
36 out of 43(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Review 1 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cheyenne WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sleigh'r

Date:October 15, 2009
I'm on my second one because I wore the first one out after dragging 13 deer and antelope and 1 cow elk across dry ground. I strap mine onto my pack to ensure it goes in with me. I connect a web strap around my waist and just walk out with my animal in tow.
Getting animals out in dry, wet or snowy conditions is much easier and faster with the Deer Sleigh'r.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Broomfield, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Drug two elk out over a lot of dead fall

Date:September 18, 2009
Last hunting season we had to drag two elk out over alot of dead fall. One was a large cow that 3 others in our party were trying to drag out. I walked to the truck and took out my new deer sleigh'r and walked in to where they were. Made it to the truck with very little problem. The second cow elk was a little farther in the woods. By the time we made it back to the truck we had punctured the deer sleigh'r in a few places from dragging over all the dead fall. Should make it another season even with the holes in it.
Well worth the price. I might have to buy a second one as a backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent tool for whitetail in Iowa.

Date:December 26, 2008
I have used the Standard model for 4 years now and I am ordering 2 more today for my boys. It can't be beat on snow up or down hills. I suggest you purchase a roll of parachute cord and about 30 feet of red climbers strap to go with it. Cut enough cord to sew the animal into the sled including its legs. Use the 1" red climbers strap, which will go through the center gromet, to tie around the neck. The climbers strap rolls up nicely and stores in your vest. The cord wraps around the sled to secure it on your back during the hunt. It will not interfere with your gun at the small of your back. The straping is long enough to assist tree to tree going down hill and weighs less than rope. Good hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fresno, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't hunt without it

Date:December 15, 2008
This is a must have if have to drag an animal any distance. I have drug two two-hundred pound deer and a whole elk out with the sled. As long as the ground isn't muddy they slide so easily a couple of times it almost knocked me over going down hill. I hunt with my father who is 62. He is in excellent shape for his age and with the sled I foresee the two of us hunting together for years to come without having to worry about how to get an animal out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TN Bear Hunter

Date:December 10, 2008
I had purchased this product for deer hunting, but it was used on a recent bear hunt, worked very well. This is 100 percent better than dragging the animal its self. Helps preserve the hide as well as the meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ok but replace string

Date:December 2, 2008
String isn't strong enough. Broke the first time used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Central Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good item if you plan to sit in one place

Date:November 25, 2008
This item is useful if you sit one place, but not if you walk-n-stalk. The area to rest the gun forestock is hard, and needs some additional padding. It rattles in or attached to a backpack, and is difficult to set up without using both hands, especially when wearing gloves. If you have a stand, or a spot to set up and wait, this thing is the best deal out there, and does improve accuracy. It is lightweight, which is good or bad, depending on your needs. The last telescoping leg is pretty flimsy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product!

Date:October 28, 2008
I usually hunt areas far from the truck (3/4 - 1 mile) and had never used anything like this before until I purchased one just before this season. I was hunting some rough hill country here in Oklahoma this year and decided to try one. I have already filled my buck tags with two large bucks and this product was a real lifesaver. It makes dragging so much easier. Of course, dragging is still dragging, but the decrease in the amount of friction and resistance is phenomenal. Uphill is exceptionally easier, flat ground a breeze (don't even have to take a breather), and downhill, the horns will keep poking you in the legs as it tries to pass you! Product is excellent, could be a pain to pack in and out, but I just hid mine between a couple of old logs in my hunting area for a few days until I was finished hunting. I followed the instructions, which tell you not to use the large front eyelet to drag with, but rather to tie the rope around the horns and then thread through the eyelet (keeps you from pulling the eyelet out this way). I also used one of the cheap harness type drags which clip around the chest and waist with a ring in back that your drag rope ties to. It takes a little time to to strap the deer onto the sled, but it is well worth it. I bought the magnum size, I just couldn't see that the smaller one would be big enough for whitetails and I'm glad I did. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington state
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Sleigh'r

Date:October 22, 2008
Great product, I wore out my first one that I bought 10 years ago dragging out a whole cow elk!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Sleigh'r Sled

Date:October 22, 2008
I have had a few of these and they work great. Easy to pack in to your stand. They do wear out when used on dirt and stones, but are great in the woods. Slide easily on leaves and snow and over downed tree limbs. I have a cart, but it is much easier and quiter to carry the sled. Wish they were a bit cheaper since they do wear out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:October 21, 2008
The Sleigh'r worked great, I've been carrying it around for about 10 years when I started hunting. We shoot our deer in high areas and drag them down to our vehicle over rocks, brush, logs, and gravel. This usually means our deer make it to the bottom missing a lot of hair. Finally got to use it this year, get the deer centered as best you can and bind it tight with parachute cord and your good to go. We put it through its paces and got the deer out with ease. This product is not indestructible, if your going over some rough terrain expect some tears and holes to be made. Great product, will be purchasing another. The 2 x 6 model handled our 135 lb dressed mule deer with ease.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vermont
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a handy tool

Date:October 8, 2008
It's just like having snow on the ground when you drag a deer with a deer sleigh'r sled. It just makes it so much easier. I don't go in the woods without one anymore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Memphis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sled

Date:October 6, 2008
Works well. I just it to drag a deer out of thick woods to get to my cart. Needs wider straps, but I would still recommend it strongly if you hunt by yourself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best back saver I've ever owned

Date:August 3, 2008
I have one of these that's over 10 years old. Thru it in my truck every year but didn't need it until last year. Got to use it for the first time last year on a big mulie buck in NM. Glad I bought it long ago. Got my deer 1.25 miles back up in the mountains in a little canyon. Biggest buck of my life and easiest long distance drag ever due to this sled. I was the only one that far back in the woods during that trip and I wouldn't have shot that buck if I didn't know that sled was back in the truck just waiting for me. The old timers that stopped by my camp said it probably weighed 275 lbs dressed out. It was big. It had fat an inch and a half thick on it's rump. I'm ordering the bigger one for elk this year. Take lots of cord to secure the load and bigger rope for the drag. You could use a piece of pvc pipe for a drag handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hicksville, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Sled

Date:January 20, 2008
This is our third one. The first one lasted about 5 years and this one is its replacement. They never leave the woods all year . We bury them at different locations where they can be retrieved by any member of our party. They are great making a hard task easier. It also saves the hide from taking a beating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deer Sleigh'r

Date:January 16, 2008
It looks useful, but I wasn't fortunate enought to get a deer
this past season. My job didn't allow for enough time. Will
let you know how it works when I get another deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bought for Elk Hunt

Date:January 12, 2008
I purchased the sleigh for an elk hunt knowing it was for deer and probably too small, but I wanted something to carry on the atv in case I needed to drag the elk out. Got lucky and had snow, so I did not use the sleigh, it was compact and may not have worked, but I have it for my next deer hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Laguna, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Purchased 3 so far

Date:January 10, 2008
I think the deer sleigher sled is a good product, I've purchased 3 so far! I typically hunt remote areas in southern New Mexico and target locations that restrict motor vehicle traffic, ATV's included. I have hauled both deer and elk on the sleigh'r and as long as you've balanced the load it works great. If you're lucky enough to have snow on the ground it works like a dream. A couple of concers - 1) take more rope to secure the load, small diameter parachute cord works good to bind the load and a larger dia. to make pulling easier. 2) I've had to pull a couple deer over lava rock terrain, each one several miles. By the time we got back to camp the sled was sliced in multiple locations making it impossible to use again. All things considered, price, ease of use, lightweight and compact. I'll continue to make sure I have a Deer Sleigh'r Sled packed in my gear each time I hit the field for a remote deer or elk hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Worthville PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deer sleigh

Date:January 8, 2008
I love my deer sleigh. It lets you drag your deer out of the woods weather there is snow on the ground or leaves it does't matter, just lace it up and go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Deer Sleigh'r Sled
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ROUNDUP, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DEER SLEIGHR REVIEW

Date:January 8, 2008
AWESOME PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY. MY LAST ONE LASTED 6 YEARS DRAGGING ANTELOPE, ELK, AND DEER EACH YEAR. GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 43