Customer Reviews for HOGUE Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding

HOGUE Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding

The Hogue Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding is one of the revolutionary OverMolding™ series stocks that provides genuine pillar-bedded accuracy with unsurpassed strength, outstanding recoil control and pure shooting comfort. The O.M. process bonds a special rubber compound to a super-strong and rigid fiberglass reinforced stock that precisely fits specific rifle actions. This precision molding means that you get a perfect drop-in fit every time. It is also extremely quiet, great for still-hunting in nasty cover. Recoil pads are constructed from a blend of shock-absorbing materials for maximum energy absorption and greater shooting accuracy and enjoyment. Approximate weight: 2.75 lbs. Length of pull: 13-3/4".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
26 out of 30(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Review 1 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

Hogue Rifle stock

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Best rifle stock on the market. I removed the Ruger wood stock from my M77 Hawkeye and installed the Hogue stock with no problems and the rifle has the feel of a totally different rifle. It just fits better now. Very comfortable to handle. I plan on replacing some of my other stocks soon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2012

Bad Fitting

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The mag well for my Ruger M77 MK II was so small the trap door would not close. Thought this product would be on of the best and turned out to be the worst.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2012

Bought 2

By
Location: Southern Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased two of these stocks, one for my Ruger Mk II,second one for my 700 BDL. I had to work on both of them ,some small sanding,and custom fitting but all total I spent 1 1/2 hours on two stocks and slapped the guns into place and went out to the range! Within 5 shots from my 7mm mag ,I was back on the dot at 100 yrds! With my 280 Ruger Mk II, I was back on in 7 shots,but I had alot more tweeking on the ruger stock than the 700 BDL! Other than that I am happy with these stocks! Comfortable and really like the rubberized coating!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2012

Rifle Stock

By
Location: South Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this stock for my G98 Mauser action rifle in 2506. The original wood stock on the Mauser seems to transmit a lot of recoil to my shoulder and made the rifle unpleasant to shoot. This Hogue rifle stock reduced the felt recoil quite a bit and had a good fit. It did require a minor amount of inletting to fit the action perfectly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great fit

By
Location: Missouri
Had no trouble with the installation. The fit was perfect. My only complaint is the rubber coating seems to stick on my clothing when shouldering the gun. Other than that I like the stock and would recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2011

Great Stock

By
Location: Eagle, Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was a little worried about a stock ordered through the mail but this stock fit my Winchester Model 70 perfectly.This is the best feeling stock I have ever had in my hands. I would and probably will buy another couple for my other guns. Thanks, great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2011

Good stock for the money

By
Location: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It's not exactly a drop in, for my ruger MKII I had to do some fitting on the barrel channel and action I also added some bedding under the recoil lug but it's worth the extra work. It shoots much better than I do most of the time 3/4" easly 3/8" if I do my part, overall very happy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2011

Depends on what you want...

By
Location: Olathe, KS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
If you are looking for a stock to improve accuracy this one has problems.
There are aluminum bedding pillars in a generically molded plastic bedding. For an off the shelf stock the bedding, itself, is not bad at all.
The problem is the engineering work that went into making a fairly nice factory bedding is completely defeated by the flimsy plastic-ribbed and rubber forearm which flexes and causes the barrel to touch the stock. When a bipod is attached, the weight of the barrel defeats the free-floating design by causing the forearm to flex and touch the barrel. Additionally, unlike a wood or polymer, the rubber causes the barrel-whip to bounce so you can't even really compensate for it since it is not repeatable. (of course I didn't have any kind of high-speed camera to record this, so it's only a hypothesis that it's the rubber is causing the unrepeatable results.)
I folded up my bipod and relieved the pressure on the forearm, and shot from a sandbag placed right under the action. Under this circumstance my groups drew up about 0.5 - 1 MOA.
Now, is it good enough? Yes.
IF:
- You don't mind an accuracy of around 2+/- MOA when using a bipod or in some other way propping the rifle up towards the end of forearm.
- You just need a cheap-ish replacement stock and aren't shopping for a stock in an effort to help with fine-tuning your accuracy.
- You want to have light field stock to replace a nice walnut stock that will stand up to moisture and getting bounced off rocks and trees.
I can't personally recommend this as a replacement stock, since--in my opinion--there are better choices out there for the money.
My rifle came stock with this and I'm selling it and replacing it with a Bell & Carlson for just over a hundred-dollars more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Good Stock Great Value

By
Location: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I recently put one of these stocks on my 45 year-old Remington 700 BDL 30-06. It went right on without any problem. It appears to fit perfectly and looks and feels great. I've only shot the rifle at the range once since adding the new stock and the recoil seemed less sharp. I can't say that it improved accuracy yet; I was trying some new bullets and they weren't grouping as well as I'm used to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2011

Hogue Overmolded M98 Stock

By
Location: Garfield, NJ
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Minor adjustments to allow after market trigger to actuate safety, otherwise fit and finish was excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2010

GREAT PRODUCT

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Just purchased & installed the Hogue rubber armored over molded pillar bedded stock on my Ruger M77-MKII Allweather in 30.06.Installation was a snap-about 5 minutes or less.The fit & feel of the stock is outstanding.When I bought the Ruger new in '92 it came with the syn/plastic boat paddle stock which I disliked from the git-go.It made shooting so uncomfortable that I rarely shot the gun and about ready to sell it.Then I came across the Hogue stock in the Cabela's catalog and decided to give it a try.Boy,am I glad I did.It's like getting a new gun for Christmas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2010

Very Poor fit

By
Location: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This stock came no where close to fitting my rem 700 LA rifle. even after a considerable amount of shaving and sanding the rifle didn't bed right.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010

hogue overmolded stock ruger mark II

By
Location: eugene or.
bought the ruger alaskan. was so impressed with the hogue overmolded i bought one for my mark II. the original one with the light plastic boat paddle stock. the action and barrel dropped in with a perfect fit. the barrel is free floated and when i shot it this weekend no change in poi..recoil is minimal from this rifle as it is a 260 rem. however it just disappered completly with this stock. like 223 type recoil. ordered another for my beat up seventies era model 70..cant wait to shoot that as it is a 7mm rem. and can sting a bit depending on load
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010

Hogue Customer Service = does not exist!

By
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
- This is a comment on Hogue Inc. Customer Service, or rather the lack of it.
- I recently purchased a Hogue rifle stock. There were two areas of concern that quickly became apparent. On a conventional stock, both would be easily corrected simply by replacing the butt pad. Not on this one! (1/ the recoil pad material is ‘sticky’ and grabs on clothing, interfering with mounting; 2/ the length of pull is marginally too long for me by about ½ inch).
- Three attempts to contact Hogue ‘Customer Service’ for assistance or suggestions (2 e-mail and 1 fax) over the past three months have yet to promote a response. Too busy???
- Based on my experience, if you buy a Hogue rifle stock and need the manufacturer's assistance, be warned, you are on your own!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2009

Fit not quite right

By
Location: Lakewood, CO
A very nice stock, easy to install, but did not fit as well as I would like. It fits like a glove above the trigger, and around the bottom door, but is off a bit at the barrel end. This should not affect the performance, but it is noticable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009

Hogue Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding

By
Location: idaho
Hard to beat for the money- needed a little time with a dremel and razor and needs to be bedded but a nice stock - I would purchase another one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2009

Nice stock

By
Location: Oklahoma
I ordered a stock for my Model 98 Mauser,,,
It fit very nicely right out of the carton.
The rubber stock feels a bit funny at first,,,
but I got used to it in just a few rounds at the range.
Now my venerable 8-mil is much nicer to carry and looks a whole lot nicer as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2009

RIfle Stock

By
Location: Live in South Dakota, but work in Alaska as Guide.
This stock is excellent for use in wet conditions (non-slip surface & stable); and areas where I need a "quiet" stock surface when Guiding Brown Bear hunters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2009

hogue stocks

By
Location: Noblesville, IN
I purchased this stock so I could remove the beautiful Remington BDL stock and have a more durable stock for elk and deer hunting. I really like the feel of the hogue overmoulding and I also like the wider forend and the slight palm swell. well made stock for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hogue® Rifle Stock with Pillar Bedding
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Houge gun stock

By
Location: Northern Minnesota
I have replaced the gun stock on my Ruger M77 in 243 cal. The new stock was an easy fit and the feel is far superior to the original. If you own a rifle throw the original stock away and buy one of these!!!! You will love it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 30