Customer Reviews for Versa-Pod Versa-Pod® Bipod

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Versa-Pod Versa-Pod® Bipod

The Versa-Pod® modular bipod system offers quick and easy adjustments using just one hand. Unique handrest with spigot-type mounting attachment fits over any standard QD sling swivel and allows for instant mounting/removal, so you never have to carry the Versa-Pod® on your rifle until you're ready to shoot. Limited two-year warranty on all Versa-Pod® products. Available:Model II 9"-13" bipod is for prone shooting.Model III 15"-23" bipod is for shooting in a sitting position.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
16 out of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Review 1 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: evanston,wy
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

versa pod

Date:January 20, 2009
i do not like this bipod at all due to all of the range of adjustment it becomes unstable you tilt
front to back and side to side rotation on top of this it has poor build quality and very loose fitting parts and i know that this
is not due to the design i own a parker hale that is the original
version and that is the crown jewel of bipods
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

versapod(sitting position bipod)

Date:July 21, 2008
Purchased the model 3 sitting bipod primarily for my varmint rifle(varmint model AR 15), which is used for yote hunting. The bipod fully extended is a bit too short to comfortably shoot with from a sitting position. When the versapod arrived, only one mount was with it, there was supposed to be two according to the listing. The hole in the mount was filled with paint, had to use a drill bit by hand to clean it out to even get the pin to fit through, but made it work.
I called cabelas customer service and talked with a product specialist about only getting the single mount and about the issue on the mount itself and troubles with it. As usual the cabelas rep was nice and helpful and did get in contact with versapod to get the additional mount out to me; however the rep informed me in that conversation when discussing the fit to my rifle that the versapod was not intended to be used with AR style rifles. That was a kind of interesting conversation.
The fit is really a bit sloppy, not as much pan adjustment as I would have thought there would be, and it does not pan without rubbing against the handguard on my rifle. Overall a bit disappointed and really probably should have sent the bipod back and opted for something different.
Like to give good reviews when applicable and have given several here since cabelas made this feature available, unfortunately with all fairness just cannot do so with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Dayton, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not steady, don't shoot!

Date:April 6, 2008
Great concept, but poorly executed. Fitment on rifle is poor without minor modifications. Design in bi-pod head allows for too much flop. The main bolt goes through a hole that is much larger. This allows for movement side to side and up and down. This causes too much slop in the bi-pod. My good shooting sticks are as stable or more than this bi-pod.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Orange, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Versa-Pod Bipod Review

Date:July 17, 2007
I purchased the long leg version which is not long enough for
me to use comfortably in the sitting position. I am 5'11" tall
so that surprised me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Versa Pod Performance

Date:May 1, 2007
I've used a Versa Pod on my AR-10 for over five years with no problems.
The Universal Adapter for standard sling swivel studs doesn't seem to work on my guns. On top of which one of my adapters came minus a roll pin, which required me to see a gunsmith after Versa Pod ignored my request to send me a replacement.
Of course, as with anything, this could have been an isolated case. Every shooter will have their own experiences.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: western kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

versa pod

Date:November 24, 2006
The only problem with this bi-pod is the attachment stud is too long and I had to put several washers under the lock down nut to get it tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good predator bipod

Date:March 5, 2010
I found that the sitting version of the verspod was i little short. So I made a modification to it by cutting it and welding in extensions to each leg. this allows me to set up a predator stand on a hillside and still use the bipod.
I really like being able to detatch the unit. This allows me to put my gun in the skybar in my truck and not have the bipod hitting me in the head. It also allows me to share the pod between guns (saves money).
Being able to have a bipod and not use shooting sticks makes it easier to walk to and from a coyote stand. Just one less thing to carry!
I do wish that they made them a little longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Excello, Mo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

killing time

Date:December 3, 2009
i use them deer and Predator hunting had them for 7years still working great. on the bad side I'm 5' 8" and they are a little sort. on the good side I have 4 guns setup and getting one more setup. Very sturdy and very easy to put on. "the best one you can buy". Model III 15"-23" needs to be 15"-25" .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: nv
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

versa pod bipod

Date:September 8, 2008
i like it the only problem i had with it was adapting it to the stock, i had to use black tape and some leather so it would not be loose on the stock, after that i took a antelope at appx 350 yards, the pod was quick to set to the right hight and had very good range of motion with out moving much, although if you are over 6 foot tall get the longer one for sitting or kneeling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Southeast, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for Prone Position Only

Date:August 17, 2008
I bought both models for a South Dakota deer hunt thinking I could use the small set for prone position shots and the larger set for sitting position shots. Well the larger set is a bit too short to pull off sitting shots comfortably. It's hard to get rock steady when your stretching to line up.
I love the quick disconnect allowing you to remove the bipod when not in use. I also like the mounting system to your existing sling mounts. They worked great on my Remington 700 rifles.
All in all a great product but I do not recommend either for sitting shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Nevada, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa Pod Series 3

Date:March 18, 2008
When predator calling, I was using shooting sticks. Then I purchased a Versa Pod. It has good range of motion through pan and tilt. It stores and deploys nicely. Unlike sticks, you can rest the rifle on it's butt and it won't fall off. Also the bipod moves with the rifle when repositioning. I am 5'8" and it is border line tall enough for me. Height is fine on level ground but may position the rifle too low when on a hill side. Overall good quality product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sydney Australia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa-Pod Bipod

Date:July 30, 2007
On the good side, this thing attaches to the rifle so fast, so easily, you could get the dog to do it in the dark. With the additional (second) mounting handstop, which was provided by Cabela's as an integral part of the purchase, it swaps between rifles in seconds...I mean literally, seconds. It looks, feels & operates SOOOO much better than other makes I've seen & tried out, and provides a sure, firm grounding on whatever surface you happen to have at your disposal when that split-second shot finally presents itself. Which is probably just as well, as it's not often I take my bench rest & bags with me when hunting.
On the down side though, the second mounting handstop arrived in a torn bag, and the pin to attach it to the sling swivel on the rifle was missing. Cabela's couldn't mail me another pin, so I had to go get one fumbled-up for me at a hardware store. Not expensive or anything, just a bit frustrating & time wasting.
On the whole I'd rate this bipod as the best I have ever seen or tried. It's far, far ahead of anything else, tactical or otherwise, on the market today. Good hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Silver City , NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa Pod

Date:November 25, 2006
This bipod works well in any hunt, it is slightly heavy on long hunts with lots of hiking, but not enough to cause alot of fatigue, I have the adapter so I can change guns easily in case I want to use it on my boys rifle or mine, that is very handy. It is also quick to deploy and is not super loud. The only area where I was not 100% happy is it does not seem as stable on the gun with the quick connect mounts as a normal mount is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Peoples Republic of NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:November 21, 2006
This is my second Versa-Pod. I like having the ability to remove it when I don't need the extra weight on long stalking hunts. Having three mounts on different rifles, I only need to keep one bipod in my range bag. Less is more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:August 11, 2009
This is a much better bi-pod then the spring leg style if you are doing real world shooting which may require panning or tilting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

bipod

Date:May 18, 2009
excellent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Slave Lake, Alberta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa-pod

Date:September 30, 2008
I have had bad experiences with spring loaded bipods in the past, and for that reason I will never buy a spring loaded bipod again.
When searching for a bipod, my buddy told me whoever designed the versa-pod must of been a hunter, and he was right. I like the molded base that stays on your gun. It gives you a natural way to hold the gun in any position (with or without the bipod attached). The bipod is quickly put on, or taken off if you wish to hunt without it, or carry your gun over your shoulder. And when your shooting on uneven ground there is a great amount of mobility to where you can aim to without moving the legs.
It is a simple system, and to me that is better than anything too mechanical.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Versa-Pod® Bipod

Date:March 18, 2008
Great product, especially for varmint rifles. Attaches to rifles in seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.E. PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

versa pod

Date:February 4, 2008
Got this because It easily removes, And it works great. I got the bonus mount, And now use It with 2 rifles. Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Versa-Pod® Bipod
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spring Creek, Nevada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awsome

Date:July 12, 2007
Great bipod. I have this on my Ruger Target 25-06 and my Ruger 10-22 bull barrel. Its great because you can switch the pod from one gun to the next in a matter of seconds. Its also made of very good materials and the craftsmanship is super. I would reccomend this to anyone. The pricing is perfect. Dont be fooled as this wont let you down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22