Customer Reviews for CROSMAN Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle

CROSMAN Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle

A proven favorite for more than 40 years with more than 12 million sold, this versatile pump-action air rifle shoots both .177-caliber pellets and BBs. Functions as a single-shot gun when using pellets and a repeater with BBs. It’s outfitted with a front fixed sight and a rear sight that is adjustable for elevation. Steel barrel. Cross-bolt safety. Overall length: 33.5". Wt: 2.75 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Review 1 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2016

Barely Worth the Cheap Price

By
Country: United States
State: Ficronesia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
We bought this rifle at a local ACE Hardware as Cabela's recent policy is not to ship to our location although we are part of USPS domestic service.
The rifle shoots reasonably well, moderate punch and 4 inch groups at 10 yards, nothing impressive but acceptable for near distance practice. I am not sure if the barrel is rifled or smooth bore, it's impossible to sight it with the bolt drawn back. The rifle was for my 8 year old son, unfortunately he barely has the strength for 3 strokes on the pump and can only cock the bolt with the aid of a crosspiece, like a screwdriver. No big deal there, the boy will grow stronger, by and by.
Other issues are more annoying and can be easily remedied if Crosman is paying attention.
- It is almost impossible to aim with the iron sights unless you are prepared to put up with a bad crick in the neck. The butt plate and cheek piece should be about 2-1/2 inches lower.
- The magnetic bolt does not always catch a BB even with the rifle pointing down.
- If a scope is mounted the rear clamp squeezes the plastic body which blocks BB's in the magazine from sliding forward.
- The 5 pellet clip which is a great innovation is too hard to slide sideways between shots.
One more comment in closing: It is amusing that the spellcheck will red flag words like Cabela's and Crosman on a Cabela's website.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 23, 2015

Terrible

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I had this gun for about four months and only shot it a couple times a month, but one day I could not pull the trigger, I searched for a solution but could not find one so I threw it away.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 3, 2014

Shot it twice before it broke.

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Got two BB's through it, on the third one I heard the sound of air escaping as I pumped. The sad part is I was only pumping it four times, thought I'd go easy at first..
Might work for you, but I'm sending it back and getting something different.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2013

Great airgun for plunking squirrels.

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I love this air gun. It does a great job of keeping squirrels and blackbirds out of my birdfeeder. Very accurate up to 100'.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013

Just about like ole days

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Works well. Only using BBs in it. If you lack muscle to pump rifle this isn't for you. Straight shooter. Gave it a 4 because its all plastic. Mechanics are good though and for the money...you get plastic! ha
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

Great AIr Rifle

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this for y 12 yr old and he has worn it out! BB's are cheap compared to .22LR these days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2013

best gun ever

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought the gun for my son and I probably use it more!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2013

Great Little Gun

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This gun is awesome one shown above is not the same color as the one you get.:[ Works great even in the snow. would reccomend to many people
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013

Great learning gun

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Just as I recalled from my childhood. Perfect!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2012

Great Fun!

By
Purchased this for our grandson for Christmas. He enjoyed it and it is a great first gun and introduction in to safe use and orientation into shooting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

Wrong Item

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Cabelas sent a totally different gun than pictured and explained the model was changed. They still didn't change the website picture??
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012

good rifle. for a start BB rifle and a Pellet

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I think it's a fair review is right on the mark
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2012

Good Value

By
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very pleased with the 760, its accurate, well made and reasonably priced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 18, 2012

Great First Air Rifle

By
Location: Tolland, CT
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this for my son as his first air rifle. He loves shooting it and I am surprised at its great accuracy. It is a bit "plasticy", but seems to be holding up well. Time will tell with how it holds up to repeated use, but for the price seems to be a great air rifle. I like the versatility of being able to shoot pellets or BB's and able to adjust the power with the number of pumps you use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 16, 2012

Great for Grandson

By
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this BB/Pellet gun for my eight year old grandson. I like it because it is a pump and is too hard for him to currently pump up. This is his first gun and he needs more training. So, he cannot take it out and shoot it on his on unsupervised. By the time he is strong enough to operate the pump he will be well trained on firearm safety and will be able to fire it without much supervision. The gun is very accurate and well made. I would definately recommend purchasing it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012

Good quality for the money

By
Location: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I got one of these as a kid about 30 years ago, and if that gun hadn't fallen from a four wheeler and had the barrel bent it would still be plinking today. With speeds approaching 700 fps and quality pellets this gun will make quick work of varmints and even provide a little something for the stew pot. I can see where they were going with the whole pellet clip idea, but honestly I wish they had kept the original bolt design. Now with the clip feature it's a real pain to load pellets single shot. That's the only reason for the 4 stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2011

Good Gun

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
A friend was going to Billings so I had him pick up this gun for me. I like the fact that it shoots BBs and pellets. I specifically bought it to shoot pigeons inside my barn, did not want to us 22 or shotgun inside building. It works great. Don't necessarily like the plastic and it is cheaper other places but all in all it does the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2011

CHRONY NUMBERS

By
Location: N.C.
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
3 pumps 380
4 pumps 410
5 pumps 450
6 pumps 502
7 pumps 555
8 pumps 602
9 pumps 625
10 pumps 656 all were with daisy BBs
averages Great can popper at 4 pumps accurate within 1/8 th of an inch havent tried pellets got it for a bb gun Wll worth the money good for cold climates unlike co2 LOL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2011

Not your Daddy's BB gun

By
Location: Flemington, NJ
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this for my son, because my friend had this gun when I was growing up and I was envious of it. My friend's 760 was sturdy and made of metal, and was built for a lifetime. The current version is not. Considering that the price is still <$40, I guess one can't complain. However, I'd rather spend a few more bucks and have the quality return. The plastic pellet feeder...you've got to be kidding. bring back the bolt.
The accuracy of this gun is more dependent on the type of pellet used than any other pellet gun I have owned. BBs...forget it.
With that said, I took one star off for quality and one starr of for variability.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Crosman 760 Pumpmaster Air Rifle
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2011

Best Pellet Gun

By
Location: Winchester, TN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Personally, I love this gun! I have had it since i was six or seven. I am now 16. I have 4 of these, but i know which one is my first one because it has a scope while the others 3 don't. I now keep one in my truck, on my four wheeler, and carry around our farm along with another few guns (Remington 770 and glock 17). Within my first year of owning this gun, i shot at least 8 containers of 6,000 B.B. containers. That's around 14,000 shots! And even after getting other guns, I still mostly shoot this gun, and i live on 1,700 acres so I can pretty well shoot anything I want. This is by far the best pellet gun I have shot in my life and i have shot many others, from the most expensive one on this website, to the red riders. I love this gun! I have killed many, many squirrels using this gun. I have never had to clean it. I usually clean the other model pellet guns I own. This gun, even after tens of thousands of shots still holds up like brand new! Do not let the price make you think it is junk! It has held up after all those shots and I pump 4-12 times every shot. That will tell you how great of a gun it is! Buy this gun!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 21