Customer Reviews for PROCHRONO Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph

PROCHRONO Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph

Measure the velocities for your rifle/pistol bullets, arrows, shotguns and pellet guns – at a price anyone can afford. ProChrono Digital Plus features an expanded shooting area that's nearly two times the size of comparably priced models. Measures velocities from 22 to 7,000 feet per second and runs on a single 9-volt battery. Shoot in all weather. This chronograph operates in temperatures as low as 32° and as high as 100° Fahrenheit. Has all of the features you'd expect in a chronograph costing much more. Allows you to review 50 shots with power-down memory (review at home), high and low velocity settings, standard deviation, number of shots, average velocity, and deletes current velocity. Shows metric or FPS scales and features durable plastic diffusers. Measures just 16" x 3-1/4". Mounting hole thread measures 1/4" x 20".
Overall Customer Rating:
4.691 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
95 out of 97(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Review 21 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Africa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great quality at a great price

Date:September 5, 2011
I purchased this item after checking my reloads' performance on a borrowed Chronometer. It looked like there was serious problems... After purchasing this product I spent a day on the shooting range, it was clear from the first shot that the borrowed Chrony was faulty. Works like a charm, easy to operate and very accurate. Thanks Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works flawless every shot.

Date:August 9, 2011
Great product out of the box. I was going to buy another brand of chrono but saw this competition electronics prochrono at a local archery shop. I went home and purchased from cabelas. I am very satisfied. I have shot bows and rifles thru it as soon as it arrived.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great device

Date:July 5, 2011
Only used inside with arrows and it works great. Placed unit under recessed lighting with regular 100 watt bulb and had a couple of miss reads out of about 25 shots. very happy with unit. Did not give 5 because didn't try outside yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple and Easy to use.

Date:June 8, 2011
This product gets the job done for a reasonable price. Easy to set up and Easy to use. I was able to take from the box to the frield within minutes and have so far been satisfied with the consistancy of the readings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Gilbertsville, PA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money

Date:April 9, 2011
It works very well and is easy to read from 15 feet. The only problem I had was that it was a windy day and the plastic cover on the front over the push buttons blew off. Luckily some saw it going towards the parking lot and picked it up. Not sure why it came off, I re-installed it at home and it fits in a groove securely. Maybe it wasn't fully installed in the groove when I received it. Tested out on the back deck since then on a very windy day and it stayed put.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Reno, Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Needs indoor lighting kit

Date:March 12, 2011
The ProChrono Digital Chronograph works great for checking my arrow velocity outside. I mounted it on a camera tripod. However, it didn't work inside under the florescent lights of my garage (an expected result per the manual). Therefore, make sure to purchase the optional indoor lighting kit if you plan to use it indoors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono Digital Chronograph

Date:February 23, 2011
Great piece of equipment for any reloader. It is accurate and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spruce, Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PERFECT

Date:January 24, 2011
It did what it is supposed to do. It was easy to set up and to use. Told me what I wanted to know, but I have only used it one time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Girard, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono Chronograph

Date:January 24, 2011
This is simply the best chronograph i have purchased. It has worked perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Maria,CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono Graph Review

Date:January 18, 2011
I purchase this Chronograph do to the great reviews from other reloaders. This is my first Chronograph and its very easy to setup and use. I like the idea of accessories it has to offer as well. If your looking at a chronograph that priced right, works well, and easy to use this is it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Priced right

Date:January 12, 2011
Functional and conventional, this unit works the way it was designed. The only gripe is the unit's internal resistence to temperature...cannot use this thing until the Spring and our Winter is so long...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Cambridge, Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Enough

Date:September 16, 2010
I like this product because it is self contained and doesn't need to be folded up or out for use. I place it on a table 12 feet from my bench rest and fire away. I like the capacity of the shots in a shot string as it allows me to get a good average and standard diviation on my reloads. This device has taken a lot of the guess work out of reloading and has tightened up my reloading procedures. I was surprised to actually see what my rounds were doing. I'm tempted to fire a box of factory ammo to see what the standard diviation is. I think a Chronograph is a must for shooters opting to reload and utilize scopes with Bullet Drop Compensators. This device is easy to set up, use, and store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: east tenn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good chronograph

Date:September 4, 2010
recieved this chrony as a gift, set it up on a tri pod and used it for archery speeds, works good and is accurate, works best with lighting kit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono Digital works well

Date:August 16, 2010
I have used the ProChrono Digital with 9mm, 44 Magnum, and 45 ACP pistol loads. It gives good readings on almost every round. On rare occassion , it will miss a shot, most likely because the "nut behind the gun" was out of alignment. :-)
The ProChrono 9mm results were cross checked with another manufacturer's chronograph. The velocities were nearly identical for identical loads.
I like the multiple string and statisics provided by the ProChrono. I will probably buy the cable and software to attach it to my laptop so that I can keep a better record of the strings.
It is easy to use and produces reliable results. I recommend the ProChrono to anyone that wants to confidently reload ammunition with verifiable performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Mechanicsburg, Pa.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono Digital Chronograph

Date:August 11, 2010
The chronograph is an essential tool for a reloader. The ProChrono performs as advertised. I would like the softwear that came with the USB attachment (extra) to have a few more options, but overall I'm very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Chronograph

Date:July 26, 2010
I used this type of Chronograph many years ago, that is why I bought this new one. I sat it up on a tripod 12' from muzzle of 1911 45 acp it work great. Also tested other calibers and it worked fine with all of them.
This is the best way to confirm your reloading data to work up a load. It also worked fine on my .223 and .308, with the muzzle approx 18' from the Chrono.
While it may not have all the features of more expensive models, it does what I want and at a good price.
If you want to know what your loads are doing and not spend a lot of money I would get this Chronograph.
Sam
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TEXAS
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No errors

Date:July 26, 2010
I am extremely pleased with my Prochrono Digital Chronograph. all the good reviews are true. DE93
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono digital

Date:July 19, 2010
Ease of use was a primary consideration for me and this machine has it. I did not need to read much to start. I like the fast and easy high, low and average readouts. I did not buy the remote because I just shoot arrows and walking 2 steps to the machine is cheaper. But for firearms, the remote might be useful due to muzzle blast and bench set-ups. I used it only with the infrared indoor light attachment. The results were mostly consistent. Once in awhile an arrow would produce an incorrect result, for example instead of an expected 173 fps it would read 290. This would ruin the average for the string and I would have to restart. My guess is that I did not have the arrow centered enough over the sensors. Another issue is with compact florescent lamps. We have replaced all of our incandescents with CFLs. The unit won't work with them directly overhead so I had to turn the lights out and point a flashlight at the screen to see the results. The CFL over the target just 3 yards away was not a problem. These tics did not diminish my satisfaction with the machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: HORSEHEAD TROPHY HUNTS, Saskatchewan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Idiot Proof

Date:June 18, 2010
Takes 2 minutes to set up and worked great out of the box. Used for comparing our bear hunters bows so far-accurate! Next is reloading 6mm and 270 loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Competition Electronics ProChrono Digital Chronograph
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington State
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ProChrono digital Chronograph

Date:June 2, 2010
Easy to follow instructions. Good value for price. Good online support. Everything I needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 97