Customer Reviews for BOONIE PACKER PRODUCTS Safari Rifle Sling

BOONIE PACKER PRODUCTS Safari Rifle Sling

You'll tire less and hunt better when you carry your rifle with a Safari Sling. The 2"-wide strap enhances comfort and hands-free carry. No elastic to bounce around and wear you out. This proven design is used by military units worldwide. Allows you to shoot directly fromthe carry position. Just raise your rifle and fire. Strong 100% synthetic webbing won't rot. Sling adjusts easily with one hand. Swivels not included. Available: Black, Realtree®.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(242 Reviews) 242
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 242 reviews
5 Stars
167
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
8
1 Star
7
222 out of 242(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Safari Rifle Sling
Review 1 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Not what was advertised.

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I ordered a black safari sling. Turned out to be black with gray stripes. Rather gay looking. I returned it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Read the whole description.

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this item and did not read the final sentence. It DOES NOT come with the swivels. When I buy something like this, you figure you are getting the product. Now I have to go buy the swivels somewhere in order to use it. It would have been better to advertise it stating up front that the picture is with the sling but not the swivels(not included).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2012

Not with recoil pad or camo wrap.

By
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
.... just want to let you know that my recoil pad (fitted over the stock) and the sling did not get along ... hung up and got annoying. Years ago I wrapped my gun with camo wrap. The sling got caught on the wrap. I removed the wrap, it helped a lot, but still hung up on the recoil pad.
I'm so use to the fit and feel of the pad that I am not willing to remove the pad. If you don't have a pad or camo wrap on your stock, I'm sure it will be fine.
I put it on an old rifle I don't use, it worked fine. Good product but did not work out for me that is why a graded it low.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

not for me

By
Location: northern new york
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
well made and did do all it was ment to do but was not very practical when sitting in tree stand. Was nice when walking in and still hunting by not having to carry gun in arms and always ready for that quick shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2010

Not Worth The Hype

By
Location: auburn hills, michigan
This thing is useless. The original Safari Sling came out in either the 1970's or 1980's. It was made out of a neoprene type material, and would give when you shouldered your rifle. They were great. In contrast, this thing is made out of seat belt material, and you have to be an engineer to figure out how to attach it to your rifle.
Do yourself a favor, and buy a simple Uncle Mike's Mountain sling; if they still make it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2009

Directions anyone?

By
Location: PA
This sling looks great on the three picture add but we've tried every possible way to put this sling on, at least we think we have, and so far this sling is worthless. There is no way that this sling can stay out of the way when you raise the gun to shoot; it actually hinders your shot if you can even get the gun into an aiming position with the sling on. I would like to have at least some kind of directions but there is nothing to look at whatsoever accept what is on the internet.
The only way I can see using this sling is to have it around your neck with the gun at your waist and then quickly slip one end of the sling off and let it hit the ground as you raise the rifle to shoot; that won't be too bad but can't be the design they intended on.
If I figure out how it is supposed to work someday I will revise this review.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 11, 2008

Take a good look before you buy

By
Location: Texas
Good thought. But if you have a heavy enough gun to need this sling it probably will not fit. Loops are to small for butt of gun and if you have any lenght of scope and target barrel it will not fit over the scope. I had to send it back no way would it work with my savage FT/R model 12 and nightforce 8-32 br.
If there was any adjustment for loops it might work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2013

Safari Sling

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Rubs on front of scope. Check how close your swivels are to the front of your scope to know if it will rub or be too close when installed. Once installed the sling has no padding or slip resistant grip. It is not comfortable and slides around to easily.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011

Not for me

By
Location: Portland Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
It felt comfortable to carry, however, the front scope cover was in the way when open and the sling did not fall out of the way when I raised it to my should, I had to readjust it which could have cost valuable time in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2010

safari sling

By
Location: ny,ny
Sling is well made, but sling has fallen off twice now. I dont have much faith in the attachment system. Even if system did work flawlessly, the mounting hardware consists of plastic components that I would not trust long term.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2010

safari rifle sling

By
I bought 3 of these slings for my rifles , if you hunt in a short sleeve shirt it might work. with a heavey hunting jacket on you can barley fit them around your shoulder,plus if you don't buy the swivels the sling straps are almost impossible to get through the standered swivels on your rifle. I am going to try to return the slings to cabelas.......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2009

Alternative Sling has some safety issues

By
Location: Montana
I was generally pleased with the sling but my hunting partners hate it. This is because the sling naturally positions the rifle to point out in front of you. Good for game, bad for humans in the vicinity.
A conventional sling points the rifle barrel in a safe direction (up!) during normal carry, but with the safari sling the user must make the effort to ensure that the rifle is always aimed in a safe direction. As soon as your hands are doing something other than positioning the barrel, it swings back to the front.
I bought this to double as a bow-sling and I'm sure it will serve that purpose well, but my experiment using it as a rifle sling is over.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2009

OK - but same company makes a better hunting sling

By
Location: Northern Illinois
This sling is OK but it wants to slide off the back of the stock. Also, like others said, the gun tends to rotate away from the wearer.
The manufacturer of the safari sling also makes the Safari-Tac sling. That sling is FAR better. Cabela's should carry it!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2009

Rifle turns over

By
Location: Moravia, NY
The sling is well made but my Remington 700 turns upside down if I let go of it because of the weight of the Nikkon Pro Hunter scope. I have to use it as a conventional sling. Maybe it would work with an AR-15 or a rifle with open sights. Probably why the guy in the photo is holding the rifle by the scope.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2007

Not User friendly

By
Location: Leesburg,GA
The concept is great, especially for a still hunter.
The fact is , if you pull it up to look through your scope, it pulls the loop off the butt end, and you have to manually loop it back over before going on or your rifle will flop upside down.
Not very easy to do every time you pick up your rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

could be better

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I liked this sling but it needs a little better design the butt stock end slips off the stock when you bring the gun up to site ,that is fine but if you forget to slip back over the stock when you lower the rifle it will want to spin upside down . other than that it carried comfortable. I will try to modify or find a similar carry sling . also the plastic at the adjustment strap seems a little cheap didn't break on 10 days of carry but it worried me a little
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012

Good gear but needs slight modification

By
Country: New Zealand
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Good piece of gear.Makes it really easy to comfortably carry your rifle even in bush. One problem the material is too thin.Sure its strong but thin enough so the edge is sharp on bare skin around your neck. Padded and thicker and it would be awesome.
I'm gonna try to modify this to make it more comfortable to use for those longer walks. Its gets uncomfortable quite quickly when walking up hill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 23, 2011

Cabela's doesn't tell you everything

By
I ordered this sling for my shotgun, which has a soft butt cushion. When I received the sling the directions clearing stated that this sling cannot be used with such butt plate cushions.
So, be wearing of what weapons you intend to use this sling with.
Otherwise works great on my rifle with a hard butt plate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2011

Just depends

By
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
It really depends on the hunter. I prefer to carry the rifle sling over the shoulder, in a pack or in my arms. I didn't find the sling to suit my purpose. The sling is well contructed, however the three point version of it would seem to be a much more useful sling if you want to sling your rifle and still have it accessible. Another drawback is that it requires large sling loops.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Safari Rifle Sling
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 4, 2010

SAFARI SLING

By
Location: NORTHERN QUEBEC
IS OF GOOD QUALITY BUT IS NOT AS STABLE AS I TOUGHT IT WOULD BE. THIS TYPE OF SLING IS FOR THE HUNTER WHO DOES NOT MIND SOME POSSIBLE SCRATCHES ON THE METAL OF THE RIFFLE HE WILL USE WHIT IT BECAUSE THE METAL PART OF THE RIFFLE WILL BE ON CONTACT WITH THE WAIST OF THE HUNTER AS THE PHOTO SHOWS. ( POSSIBLE BELT, OR OTHER METAL CONTACT). IS OK FOR THE FREE HANDS ADVANTAGE BUT THE SLING DOESN'T ALWAYS POSITION ITSELF CORRECTLY. THE DIRECTION OF THE POINTING FIREARM CAN BE A PROBLEM WHEN HUNTING WITH OTHERS. I HAVE ONE NOW BUT WILL PROBABLY STAY WITH THE STANDARD MODELS 9 OUT OF 10 TIMES.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 242