Customer Reviews for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

North Sonic II Hearing Protectors

Block out damaging noise and still hear conversations with shooting partners with these ear protectors. Unique sensing diaphragm and sound baffles allow normal conversation to be heard, yet the protectors absorb and reduce high-level impulse noises. One size fits all. Available: Per Each (1 set of ear plugs) Per Pair (2 sets of ear plugs)
Overall Customer Rating:
3.932 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
5
46 out of 59(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Review 21 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2007

north sonic II

By
Location: ohio
use them all the time when shooting rifle shotgun or handgun. work great use them when shooting s&w 500
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2007

North Sonic II Hearing Protectors

By
Location: Illinois
These worked better than I could have thought.
My ears typically ring right away on any kind of hunt. With these protectors, I could hear the other hunters and the game, yet when I shot, it did not get that blast that makes my ears ring.
I have tried one electronic solution, and I thought this worked much better with absolutely no hassle!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

Won't go wrong with theese

By
Location: East Hampton, NY
Not the most comfortable or best hearning protectors ever, but solid, and cheap enough that you can keep a pair just about everywear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

Sonic II-Great hearing protection,little sacrifice

By
Location: New York
These Sonic II earplugs are the best hearing protection for me,hands down.I used to use them about fifteen years ago when I played in bands.I first heard about them in an article with Jason Newsted,the bass player for Metallica at that time.He said they filtered out all of the dangerous high frequencies but still allowed him to hear and "feel" what he was playing.I found that to definately be true in a musical situation.Nowadays I use these for work.I work for the Department of Sanitation in New York and any time I did recycling collection(metal,glass,plastic)my fragile musician's ears were taking a beating over the past few years.I ordered two pairs from Cabela's and have used them consistently on these routes.They absolutely filter out all of high-pitched clangs and dings that go right through your ears and cause excruciating pains and jolts to your hearing.I can use them and not feel like I am shut out from the rest of my surroundings.I can carry on normal conversation and have no problem hearing at all.They just simply do what they are supposed to do.The Sonic II's are the best investment in work gear that I have made.Just a great product and a blessing to your ears.I HIGHLY reccomend these to anyone with loud,noisy jobs and to anyone who wants to protect their hearing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2007

Save your hearing

By
Location: KS
Save your hearing, but you can still hear normal conversation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 18, 2007

North Sonic

By
I shoot sporting clay and got tired of taking my ear plugs out after every stand and didnt want to spend a lot of money on them. These are the ticket to that they worked perfect for that. the only reason i gave them a 4 stars is because after a while they start hurting my ears.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

what happened?

By
Location: charleston, sc
Worked just like regular earplugs to me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2007

Overall, A Good Product

By
Location: Camp Striker, Iraq
I use these here in Iraq. They work well allowing most normal ambient sounds get through and are also effective in blocking out louder sudden noises. After extended wear, they get quite uncomfortable. Also, when the baffle wears out, it does so quite unexpectedly and alarmingly. These wore our while I was on the trigger of a .50 cal. I new the exact moment I needed new ones. They lasted a couple of years and I'll definitely get another pair.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2007

Don't buy

By
Location: Wherever the Marines send me
These are junk, and do not do what they advertise. I used them on the Marine Corps rifle range today. They are uncomfortable, and don't really muffle the rifle blast at all. I had to put them away, and use the cheapy foam ear plugs, and they worked much better. The way that you can still hear conversations when you are wearing these is that they do not muffle anything. My ears still hurt from wearing these for an hour this morning.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2007

excellent

By
Location: CA
Great Product. I will buy more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 27, 2007

The Best Ear Protectors for Hunting

By
Location: Fort Mill, South Carolina
I have used these ear protectors that allow you to hear normal sounds but block out high DB noise for years. Cabela's is the only place that I have found the Sonic II Hearing Protectors available. I would highly recommend them for deer, turkey, doves and duck hunting where you need to hear everything but the gun shot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2007

Great plugs

By
Location: Indiana
I have had several pairs of these and they work great everywhere EXCEPT a concrete enclosed shooting range where the echo is way too much for the plugs to handle. Anywhere else and these are great, twice as good and much, much more comfortable than the same by Radians.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2007

Hearing Protection

By
Location: Huntington Beach, CA.
I have had a set of these Sonic 2's since 1985. They work great. On my last shootong trip to the desert, I lost one. I am glad that Cabelas had replacements available. You can hear conversations, but not the loud gunshots. 22 years and they never let me down.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2007

Sonic II without the blues

By
Location: Southern Colorado
I got the North Sonic II's as a gift for my husband and a friend of ours who likes to hunt. My husband is a Police Detective and in charge of the firing range and SWAT team. The ear protection was used in the field during hunting and during firearms traning. Both my husband and our friend loved the way the the plugs fit and were satisfied with the hearing protection. I would recommend these plugs for law enforcement and hunters alike.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2007

Boom-boom gone-gone!

By
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
If you value your hearing, these ear plugs (while used in conjunction with ear muffs) will give you the best protection. Most conversation can still be heard until the North Sonic II is needed. I have used 'Sonics' for years, and believe they are #1!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2007

Eh

By
Location: Lansing, MI
As far as providing protection the product works. If your ear canal is not big enough this ear plug will hurt your ears. If you are using this product in a windy place the wind will go into the small holes at the ends of the plug and cause noise. I used them for duck hunting and could not hear much but a noise that sounded like a static TV channel. Maybe in the woods deer or turkey hunting they may work but I would not recommend them to a friend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2007

These things really work!

By
Location: Conway, AR
Highly reccomend these to anyone! If you do alot of shooting you should really try these.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2007

Sonic II Hearing Protectors

By
Location: Ngatea, New Zealand
I used these on the opening day of Duck Shooting this year.
I found that they did the job required.
I found that they hurt my ears after a while so I ending up taking them out and putting them in, which comes a bit disconcerting when your meant to be concentrating on other things.
I would carry them around with me. I think they would be fine for putting in before jump shooting a pond or similar type situation.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2007

Not bad

By
Location: Merced, Ca
I have used these for shooting dove and ducks now for about three years. They perform well with shotguns, but lack significant noise reduction for pistols and rifles. The one size fits most option is their main downfall, as they become very uncomfortable after a few hours in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for North Sonic II Hearing Protectors
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 1, 2007

Great hearing protection

By
Location: San Diego, Ca
I have bought North Sonic II for many years now, I could pay more for a fancier option but dont need to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 59