Customer Reviews for HYDROSORBENT Hydrosorbent Silica Gel

HYDROSORBENT Hydrosorbent Silica Gel

Drinks up dampness from within gun safes and other enclosed storage areas, protecting firearms and other valuables from condensation, rust and mildew. Requires no electricity and remains dry to the touch even when saturated. Built-in indicator turns from blue to pink to signal when it's time to reactivate, which is done simply by placing in oven and drying out. Available: Protects 3 cu. ft., Protects 33 cu. ft., Protects 57 cu. ft.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
141
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
180 out of 183(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Review 21 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2010

Good Product.

By
Location: Loja, Ecuador
I need to buy another one because of my safe size.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2009

Silica Gel.

By
Location: CT.
I like it and so far it works.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009

Silica Gel Hydrosorb Can

By
Haven't used them long enough for them to become saturated, nor done a refresh on them yet. Benefits of this type over others is the longevity of the product. Other types you have to plug into AC and have a more limited life expectancy. Some small desicant particles loose in the packaging, but no big deal.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2009

silica gel

By
works great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2009

Requires Frequent Recharging - Good Enough

By
Location: Central Texas
I live in central Texas where it can be somewhat humid part of the year. These have worked so far. Recharging them is easy. (Just stick them in the oven for 3 hours.) But they do need to be recharged more frequently than I thought (Maybe every 1 to 2 months.) I've bought all three sizes. I like the largest and the smallest the best. They are in metal containers. The middle-sized one is in a box. It might work just as well but it just seems cheap to me. But I've only had that one for less than a month now.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2009

Hydrosorbent Silica gel

By
Location: arkansas
For anyone that has a safe that has full shelves up top and long guns underneath this works great. I have a golden rod up top but was getting mositure down below, the silica gel took care of my problem.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2009

HYDROSORBENT SILLICA GEL

By
Location: TENN
Works well so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 28, 2009

Hydrosorbent gel 3 cu ft. pack

By
Location: Portage,IN
Works great and turns color like it should, only have one problem with the metal case, it pops open easily and spills out contents, case needs a latch of some kind easy to fix though with a simple rubber band or 2 small sheet metal screw.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2009

Very compact and easy to use.

By
I'm very satisfied with this product. It's reasonably priced and comes in a convenient size. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I'm not sure if it works because it hasn't turned pink yet (which I wouldn't expect because it's very dry this time of year with the heat on high). In any case, if it works as advertised, it will be very convenient to pop the unit in the oven to dry it out and re-use. I also own several of the Remington dehumidifiers that work by the same principle, but you plug them into an electrical outlet instead. Obviously, that is a lot for convenient, but they're significantly more expensive than these units.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2009

Good product-works well

By
Product works well in my gun safe. I did need to order more than one though for my 17 gun safe. I would have to recharge them too often otherwise.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

works well for small spaces

By
I bought this product because I had mold growing in my wardrobe on all my shoes. It seems to have dried out the area for the most part, but I may need to buy a couple more (I think the bottom of the wardrobe is bigger than 3 cubic feet).
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

Hydrosorbent Silica Gel for camera travel

By
Location: Hilltown, PA
Purchased 2 of these units for use on a recent trip to Borneo. Needed to protect Nikon DSL from excessive humidity when not being used. Placed camera in waterproof bag with the silica gel pack inside and sealed the unit. Worked great. Would have given it a 5 star rating except no way to plug in unit to electric outlet for regeneration on the go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2008

silica gel

By
Location: N.E. Ohio
If you don't mind keeping an eye on it and baking it every couple of months,this product will work just fine.Make sure you buy the right size.Bigger is better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2007

Gel packs for gun safes

By
Location: Yukon Territory Canada
Good product so far. Keeps the moisture down in the gun safes, dries well in the oven and lasts for over a month. We are fairly dry here, so it might be good to see a review from someone who lives in a humid area. You can't beat the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2007

great for the gun cabinet

By
Location: New Jersey
my cellar is dry, but to be safe this gel will make sure my collection stays moisture free
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2007

absorbent

By
Location: morganfield,ky
seems to be working the dots are turning pink. so it must be sucking up moisture.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 27, 2007

It works!!!!!!

By
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
When purchasing this product I was doubtful that it would work. However, once placing it into my gun safe I found it worked and it was small enough that it did not take up any valuable space. Would recommend this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2006

Excelent Rust Preventative.

By
Location: Pocatello, ID
If you are looking for a product to keep your guns rust free in storage and your gun cabinet moisture free then look no further. Can't Beat the price. Consider the alternative of having rusty guns.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

Basic....but it works!

By
Location: Chesterfield, MO
I have used these now for more than 15 years and bought some more for friends. You don;'t have to worry about if electric dehumidifiers are still working with these....when they turn pink, bake them in the oven until they turn blue and you are ready to go. Your guns will like it, whether they are in a safe, a cabinet, or a closet...since the oven is already hot, throw in a pan of cookies for the kids!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 21, 2006

Simple Product

By
Very easy to use, and fits perfectly in my new 14 gun safe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 183