Customer Reviews for PLASTICOLOR Hydrosorbent Silica Gel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PLASTICOLOR Hydrosorbent Silica Gel

Drinks up dampness from within gun safes and other enclosed storage areas, protecting firearms and other valuables from condensation, rust and mildew. Requires no electricity and remains dry to the touch even when saturated. Built-in indicator turns from blue to pink to signal when it's time to reactivate, which is done simply by placing in oven and drying out. Available: Protects 3 cu. ft., Protects 33 cu. ft., Protects 57 cu. ft.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.721 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 183 reviews
5 Stars
141
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
180 out of 183(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Review 21 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Loja, Ecuador
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product.

Date:March 29, 2010
I need to buy another one because of my safe size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Silica Gel.

Date:December 15, 2009
I like it and so far it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Silica Gel Hydrosorb Can

Date:November 18, 2009
Haven't used them long enough for them to become saturated, nor done a refresh on them yet. Benefits of this type over others is the longevity of the product. Other types you have to plug into AC and have a more limited life expectancy. Some small desicant particles loose in the packaging, but no big deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

silica gel

Date:October 7, 2009
works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Central Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Requires Frequent Recharging - Good Enough

Date:October 1, 2009
I live in central Texas where it can be somewhat humid part of the year. These have worked so far. Recharging them is easy. (Just stick them in the oven for 3 hours.) But they do need to be recharged more frequently than I thought (Maybe every 1 to 2 months.) I've bought all three sizes. I like the largest and the smallest the best. They are in metal containers. The middle-sized one is in a box. It might work just as well but it just seems cheap to me. But I've only had that one for less than a month now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hydrosorbent Silica gel

Date:September 9, 2009
For anyone that has a safe that has full shelves up top and long guns underneath this works great. I have a golden rod up top but was getting mositure down below, the silica gel took care of my problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: TENN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HYDROSORBENT SILLICA GEL

Date:August 21, 2009
Works well so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portage,IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hydrosorbent gel 3 cu ft. pack

Date:March 28, 2009
Works great and turns color like it should, only have one problem with the metal case, it pops open easily and spills out contents, case needs a latch of some kind easy to fix though with a simple rubber band or 2 small sheet metal screw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very compact and easy to use.

Date:March 23, 2009
I'm very satisfied with this product. It's reasonably priced and comes in a convenient size. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that I'm not sure if it works because it hasn't turned pink yet (which I wouldn't expect because it's very dry this time of year with the heat on high). In any case, if it works as advertised, it will be very convenient to pop the unit in the oven to dry it out and re-use. I also own several of the Remington dehumidifiers that work by the same principle, but you plug them into an electrical outlet instead. Obviously, that is a lot for convenient, but they're significantly more expensive than these units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product-works well

Date:February 4, 2009
Product works well in my gun safe. I did need to order more than one though for my 17 gun safe. I would have to recharge them too often otherwise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works well for small spaces

Date:November 18, 2008
I bought this product because I had mold growing in my wardrobe on all my shoes. It seems to have dried out the area for the most part, but I may need to buy a couple more (I think the bottom of the wardrobe is bigger than 3 cubic feet).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hilltown, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hydrosorbent Silica Gel for camera travel

Date:September 23, 2008
Purchased 2 of these units for use on a recent trip to Borneo. Needed to protect Nikon DSL from excessive humidity when not being used. Placed camera in waterproof bag with the silica gel pack inside and sealed the unit. Worked great. Would have given it a 5 star rating except no way to plug in unit to electric outlet for regeneration on the go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: N.E. Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

silica gel

Date:January 29, 2008
If you don't mind keeping an eye on it and baking it every couple of months,this product will work just fine.Make sure you buy the right size.Bigger is better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yukon Territory Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Gel packs for gun safes

Date:December 8, 2007
Good product so far. Keeps the moisture down in the gun safes, dries well in the oven and lasts for over a month. We are fairly dry here, so it might be good to see a review from someone who lives in a humid area. You can't beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great for the gun cabinet

Date:October 22, 2007
my cellar is dry, but to be safe this gel will make sure my collection stays moisture free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: morganfield,ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

absorbent

Date:August 21, 2007
seems to be working the dots are turning pink. so it must be sucking up moisture.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Roanoke, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It works!!!!!!

Date:March 27, 2007
When purchasing this product I was doubtful that it would work. However, once placing it into my gun safe I found it worked and it was small enough that it did not take up any valuable space. Would recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pocatello, ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excelent Rust Preventative.

Date:November 24, 2006
If you are looking for a product to keep your guns rust free in storage and your gun cabinet moisture free then look no further. Can't Beat the price. Consider the alternative of having rusty guns.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Basic....but it works!

Date:November 22, 2006
I have used these now for more than 15 years and bought some more for friends. You don;'t have to worry about if electric dehumidifiers are still working with these....when they turn pink, bake them in the oven until they turn blue and you are ready to go. Your guns will like it, whether they are in a safe, a cabinet, or a closet...since the oven is already hot, throw in a pan of cookies for the kids!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Hydrosorbent Silica Gel
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple Product

Date:November 21, 2006
Very easy to use, and fits perfectly in my new 14 gun safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 183