Customer Reviews for MCKENZIE Antler Taxidermy Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MCKENZIE Antler Taxidermy Kit

Now you can mount your deer or elk antlers with professional results at a fraction of the cost. These simple-to-use mounting kits include everything you need to complete a handsome wall mount of a small or large deer. Also includes a coupon to receive a 1" x 3" brass trophy plate, with up to three lines of lettering for $3.50 postage paid. Kit includes: Antler form, top-grain leather, template, sodium bicarbonate, paper mache, glue, screws, hanger and walnut panel. Available: Small Deer - 10" x 13" Large Deer - 12" x 16"
Overall Customer Rating:
4.345 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Review 1 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase

Date:February 8, 2012
I go to Montana every year for hunt and get the Taxidermy done by the professionals. This time I wanted to get one of the trophy mounted European style .I researched all the available Taxidermy kits in the market . I picked Taxidermy Kit and mounted the Antlers by myself. The results is like done by a professional . I am very pleased to get it at a fraction of the professional charge. I am proud of it and will recommend to any one who want to try to do by him/herself .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just Right

Date:February 19, 2013
Bought this for my son's first buck, a nice 4 pointer that we wanted to remember. He was able to do most of the work himself, he's 14, and its now on the wall in his bedroom. Looks great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked Great!

Date:January 11, 2012
Thought this would be a good project for my buddy
who is a taxidermist. This time of year, he is usually busy, but with the kit and blacktail antlers in hand, he turned the job around in a day.
Great ad to my display room!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Moro, Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use Antler Taxidermy Kit

Date:January 10, 2012
This kit provides professional results with few tools needed. Can be a little tricky applying the leather around the antler bases. The skull cap prep work was easy! I've done 2 of these mounts now and am 100% pleased with the results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: dallas tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

show off your trophy

Date:August 29, 2011
i used to mount a fallow deers horns
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Maryville, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall good product

Date:February 17, 2011
The outcome of the mount was very nice in the end. The only major problem I had was that the supplied buckskin leather had significant scuff marks on the outer surface and I had to contact the manufacturer to get a replacement piece of leather. The screws provided were also not quite long enough to put through the skull but that was an easy fix. Overall I am satisfied with the outcome of the mount and it is fairly easy and straight forward to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Stafford, VA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antler Taxidermy Kit (Small Deer)

Date:January 22, 2010
The mount came out great! A few recommendations... make sure the papier-mâché is completely dry before roughing surface and applying adhesive. Like others have recommended, used adhesive AND a staple gun to attach leather--it works great. Also, consider using leather shoe laces to wrap around base of antlers for a clean look. Work from the bottom of the mount then up each side when attaching leather. Once you get to each base of the antler, work down from the top on each side. Curl the leather downward under the base of the antler like the directions say. Make the folds in line behind each antler the same angle for a consistent look. Try not to have more than two layers of leather on the back side, as it prevents a tight weld when attaching mount to the plaque. On the backside, you may want to trim creased leather with scissors to keep the profile low… again for a tight weld to the plaque. Some of these tips may not make sense without actually doing it, so consider re-reading after you get going. No need to rush it either—have fun and good luck!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Bang for the Buck

Date:December 10, 2009
I purchased this antler kit for a whitetail I shot in Idaho. Being my first attempt doing an antler mount I thought I would try a kit. I did a lot of research on other kits but decided to try this one because I liked the look. When it came I read the directions which were very vague. The horns were difficult to get to fit just right into the mount. The paper mache that was included was lumpy and hard to use. The adhesive was so thick you couldn't spread it over the paper mache without it coming off. I would recommend staples for securing the leather to the back. The worst part was the leather....which had a large stain through the front of it. I ended up having to purchase a different piece of leather for the mount. The end product turned out looking pretty good, but this kit is not worth the amout of effort and money you have to spend.....Keep looking.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

davepennsyl

Date:November 24, 2009
i have used these for my last 5 bucks. the create a very professional looking mount. better than any cheaper felt looking things that i dont like very much. you'll be plesed with the results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antler Mounting

Date:October 27, 2009
Two draw backs: Template used to cut leather. The template sent was to big. The template includes guide lines (for horn slits) that should wrap around horns in a seamless manner. Not the case. It was time consuming to get leather to fit correctly.
Second draw back: Glue used to secure leather to top of mount mold worked fine, but I recommend stapling leather to the back instead of glue. Staples provided secure base to stretch leather to top of mold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South West Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Rack!

Date:March 4, 2009
This was my first attempt mounting a set of my whitetail antlers. The kit was easy to follow with step by step instructions. It took a little more time than expected, but turned out great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Marshall Mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

antler kit

Date:March 3, 2009
if you take your time with the kit the results are very impressive. I have done 3 sets of antlers this year and they all turned out very nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brighton, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taxidermy Kit

Date:January 4, 2009
The kit is easy to use, all inclusive and gives professional results in little time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

antler taxidermy kit

Date:December 16, 2008
I would like to say great job on taxidermy kit i have used 3 of them so far......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roswell, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antler Kit

Date:December 15, 2008
This is an excellent kit for anyone. Kit contain everything you need to mount antlers in a professional manor. I have used this kit on numerous sets of antlers and have produced a professional looking mount each and everytime. Easy to use even for the beginer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antler Kit

Date:December 8, 2008
Take your time with this kit. The skull has to be cut fairly precisely in order to fit the mold. Also, you can staple the leather to the back of the mold and leave the glue out of the process. The entire project went well and the end result is a nice looking wall mount.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Modesto, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Kit

Date:October 21, 2008
I purchased the small kit for mounting a set of blacktail antlers. I can not stop looking at this mount it turned out amazing. Take your time, it took me about 4 hours to complete the project but the results are worth it. The paste that they send in the kit is low quality so you might want to use so white caulking. I also use hot glue for the finish wrap to fasten the hide to back of the mount. I would purchase this product again without any hesitation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Belton, MO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Taxidermy mount

Date:March 11, 2008
If you can follow simple directions and are handy with simple tools this kit is great. Mine turned out awesome and this will probably be my standerd mount for years to come. It is definitly a great looking product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

van dyck's "large deer skull kit"

Date:February 20, 2008
BE CAREFUL with the screw mounts of the skull to the form. These don't go into wood unless I'm doing it wrong....and when I torque'd the antlers later these screws dislodged. Had to remove the wet-glued leather off, re-attach the screws, then do the leather again (out of glue, used a different kind which left some stains).
Otherwise a good system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Antler Taxidermy Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Trumansburg, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Antler Taxidermy Kit

Date:February 20, 2008
This is my third Antler Taxidermy Kit. Quality components, like real leather for the covering and real walnut for he plaque.
If you are at all handy you should have no problem with placing the leather covering over the skull mold and around the antler bases.
If you are not handy with your hands try a different antler kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29