Customer Reviews for Walker's Game Ear Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Walker's Game Ear Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer

Have you ever wondered what you're missing? Walker's Game Ear I is a miniature sound amplification device that is equipped with a high-frequency response microphone to detect and magnify sounds that would otherwise go unnoticed. Game Ear I amplifies sounds by 47 decibels with a maximum output of 110 decibels. One-piece unit fits comfortably behind either ear; no special fitting required. Weighs only 1/2 oz. State-of-the-art circuitry includes a safety shut-off device that compresses amplification at 107 decibels so gunshots and other loud noises won't cause hearing damage. Adjustable volume control lets you adjust to your comfort level. Operates on a 1.4-volt button-cell battery (included). Comes with carrying case. Average battery life on this device is 100 hours, depending on volume. Available: Game Ear I.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
46 out of 54(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Review 41 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker Game Ear II

Date:November 24, 2006
After finding that in-the-ear models of sound enhancers did not work for me, because of fitting problems, I decided to try the Walker product.
I found it works quite well, and allows me to hear those long gone high frequencies. I can't wait to try it for turkey season!
I can not imagine a better solution for stand hunting
Tips: In noisy environments, like high winds, or crunchy snow, or?- you may want to turn it down or off, or tune it to enhance a less prevalent frequency. If you move around much your confidence in your sneaking ability will suffer!
Getting a perfect fit on the sound tube takes a few minutes of fitting.
Keep the unit in a warm inside pocket prior to using it so the foam ear piece molds to your ear easier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: St Paul, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Game Ear - Shooting ear piece

Date:November 23, 2006
This device was more expensive than I really wanted to pay, but I had tried a cheaper one first. However this one really works. Has good muzzle blast compensator. And amplification is crisp and clear with minimal background noise. The only problem is now I need a 2nd one for the other ear.
My use is pretty much every day as I have some hearing loss in one ear and this device helps me in my day to day life as well as hunting and shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hearing aid

Date:November 22, 2006
My wife uses it in place of a hearing aid. It works better than the one she bought from the hearing aid place! Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Vacaville, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Walker's Game Ear I

Date:November 21, 2006
I purchased these with the intent to use for upland, big game, and waterfowl hunting. I had tried a cheaper pair sold by Cabela's in the past that did not last very long but worked fine. I was looking to invest in a better, longer lasting product with better performance. The performance was absolutely no different betweeen the two.
I tested the Walker's Game Ear I (WGE) for several hunting trips putting it to several tests. I hunted with one in my left ear, one in my right ear, and one in each ear. I pretty much lost all directional discernment of sounds no matter what I did. I also heard a group of hen turkeys coming off the roost one morning before shooting time and coudl hear them putting and chirping quietly as the walked away from me through some dry leaves. I could hear them just fine without the WGE, but thought this would be a perfect time to test the amplification of these classic game sounds. The sounds were not amplified as much as I had hoped, and were actually drowned out by the over amplification of crickets, and other background noises. I repeated this sort of test on mutliple occasions in different situations, and the result was pretty much the same.
I promptly returned these to Cabela's for a full refund. The product works just fine for general sound amplification and great for gunshot dampening. The problem is that they don't work any better than the cheaper off brand versions that are 1/6 the cost. I also had one fall out into the water while duck hunting, which, had I not found it, would have made a very expensive hunting trip. Though it did still working after being submerged for 5 minutes or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: New Ipswich, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walker's Game Ear

Date:November 21, 2006
I enjoyed using the Walker Game Ear. The one fault that I found with it is that I couldn't wear a hat to stay warm as it interrupted the working of the game ear. I found that the game ear quality is very good, however a found it to be expensive for what you get.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Walker's game ear

Date:November 21, 2006
At times this device worked fine.. but on windy days the NOISE
was so bad I chose to stop using them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hearing everything

Date:November 21, 2006
Excellent product! can hear them coming now! no more surprises..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kemah, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ever hearing

Date:November 21, 2006
I have been hunting for years with little ability to use my hearing to its advantage. Now I use the game ear 11 and can hear everything from birds flushing to turkey's walking!! Its wonderful to have such a product while protecting my hearing...
I recommend to everyone I know at the ranges or in the fields
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wilmington, North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walkerd game ear

Date:November 20, 2006
I have purchased, and used, several of the walkers game ear hearing enhancers and have found them to be a very good product. They are a big help in hunting, or just hearing in general, especially to people who have some hearing loss already.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Re-entry!

Date:November 20, 2006
A Walkers Game Ear II was purchased several months ago for my left ear. My hearing has suffered since youth due to fireworks too close, and in recent years my overall hearing has declined steadily. I have had expensive in the ear hearing aids but these recently gave out and could not be repaired. I heard about Walker's Game Ear 1 from a family member. With the Game Ear II I can effectively tune to the frequency most needed. A month ago I ordered a second Game Ear II for the other ear. I have tried hearing aids that cost thousands and these are every bit as effective and clear. The earpiece is far more comfortable than the molded one that costs $50-100. I trimmed it down to fit better using sharp nail scissors to round off the edges and colored it with my wife's makeup to make it nearly invisible when in the ear. I am now back in the "Game" of life again! I call it "re-entry" into the human social and work scene. I no longer ask folks to repeat their words or just smile and look foolish!
P.S. I can also hunt again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Now I Can Hear The Deer

Date:November 20, 2006
The frequency adjust function comes in handy in near suburb areas, you can tune out lower frequencies such as traffic in the background and concentrate on the deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Salem NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

walkers game ear

Date:November 20, 2006
I recieved the game ear as a birthday gift from my wife. I have been hunting all my life and just in the past 3 or 4 years i have noticed difficulty in hearing the animals. while sceptical about the game ear, i gave it a try this bow season at my camp in the country. My first morning out i got in my tree stand and put the piece in my ear, to my amazement within seconds i heard birds and a squirrel just 2 trees over from me. After about an hour or so of watching and waiting i finally heard what i came out hunting for. about 50 yards away was a beautiful doe with a little skipper still in spots. I no if i didn't have the game ear in i would not have seen them as quick as i did. It was great to here them crunching on the acorns and walking toward me. I did not take a shot at the doe, but just enjoyed listening and watching them for about an hour. I would recomend the game ear to anyone who has a hearing impairment.
thank you cabela's for letting hear again!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bionic ear

Date:October 31, 2006
Love this !! started using it 2 weeks ago. I can hear them coming from 75 yards out in thick woods. Plan on buying one more for my left ear. Don't know how I kept track of all the deer in my area before I had this! now I know why so many snuck up on me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Walker's Game Ear Series Sound Enhancer
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Walkers Game Ear

Date:October 24, 2006
A buddy of mine bought a Game Ear years ago and was always telling me how great it was. I am skeptical of the lastest gadgets the manufacturers try to sell us so I did not buy one for several years. A while back my wife started noticing that I was getting hard of hearing in my left ear, I am right handed. So I bought he Game Ear to see if it would really work and protect my left ear when I shoot my rifle Deer hunting. I always wear ear protection at the range, but I want to be able to hear when I am hunting, and this was when the damage to my ears was taken place. I finally purchased a Game Ear and started using it. At first I was very impressed with how good I could now hear noises in teh woods that I have never heard before, but the real test was to see if it would protect me when I shot my rifle at a Deer. After a week or two I shot my first Deer while hunting with the Game Ear and I was truly amazed. I did not even hear the rifle fire in my left ear and being right handed my right ear is turned away from the muzzle blast. What a great product that actually does what it advertises. I have owned my now for about 6 years and it has proven to be durable as well. I would recommend the Game Ear for everyone, do not go in the woods without it, your hearing needs to be protected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-54 of 54