Customer Reviews for HAYDEL'S GAME CALLS Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HAYDEL'S GAME CALLS Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call

Everything a novice or veteran caller needs is in this call. A non-porous waterproof construction eliminates swelling and reed sticking. The double-reed design produces an excellent tone. This is Haydel's No. 1 selling duck call.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
38 out of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Review 1 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use - great buy!

Date:March 25, 2012
This call is so easy to blow that you almost can't get it wrong. As a novice caller I quickly gained confidence in changing pitches, volume and trying out new sounds. When working on close birds, it can also be used no handed, keeping you ready to shoot. I even use this call for feeding sounds when greylag geese are closing in on my spread. In wet conditions moisture can build up inside the call distorting the first tone when you have not used it for a while, this is simply avoided by turning it around and giving it one reverse blow (does not make a sound). Having used this call for two-three years, build quality seems superb, and at a relatively low price, I find the Haydel's DR-85 a really great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Call

Date:June 27, 2014
I have had three of these calls and two of them are still in operation, with the newest one being 7 or 8 years old. This call has a very good tone and although not my only calls, I use one of these on almost every hunt. I get a lot of spit in a call, so just sling it out after working birds and you're ready to go for the next bunch. It will lock up in cold weather after not blowing for a little bit, but just blow on it a few seconds and back in business. Another thing I like is that there is a huge range to tune this call so you can get it to suit your style. When you crack one, just wrap it in electrical tape and keep calling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not too bad

Date:May 14, 2014
Its a good call for the money and the call I first learned how to use. I've found that the feeding chuckle is a bit more difficult on this call than others I've found. After blowing in it for a while it starts to stick a bit. Overall, a good cheap call that sounds ducky. Can't ask for much more than that.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Quality Call

Date:November 12, 2013
I'm not going to say this call makes the best sounds in the world because I'm new to waterfowl. However, this call was recommended as a great call for beginners and it is! You can make all the duck sounds you need to make and it's a great quality call. My last hunt I went on it was below twenty degrees out and two other higher priced calls froze up while this call worked perfect the entire hunt! Great call!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Turkey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a great

Date:January 3, 2013
a great call
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Russia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good call

Date:November 26, 2012
which is always a good call on the cord when hunting ducks!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Engels, Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good duck call

Date:April 21, 2012
Good duck call, but it is necessary to learn to them to operate correctly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Average at Best

Date:October 10, 2011
This call sounds okay for the new duck caller but after using a few good calls you won't come back to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call

Date:February 8, 2011
I have used them all and keep coming back to this call....I have spent big bucks but never found a better call for the $$$$.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Turkey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good duck call

Date:February 1, 2011
I can easily make a feeding or greeting call with dr85. You can fool ducks with this call..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New to Calling but Sound Like a Pro

Date:January 18, 2011
Bought this call when I first started out and after a little practice, I was able to call ducks right in. Blows wet, and sounds great. It looks and feels cheap but it is cheap and works great! Isn't that what everyone is looking for, a deal that pays off?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Romania-Europe
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call

Date:January 14, 2011
It's a verry good duck call.Verry efective and easy to use.
I turned beck many duck's with it and it's easy to learn how to "sing" for deceive the birds.
I give five stars and recomand it for all waterfowlers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Twin falls, ID
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing!!

Date:November 24, 2010
I have used this call for 3 seasons now, and each year, I have hunting buddies commenting on how good the call sounds!! I have used many other, more expensive calls, and none of them compare to this baby!! Just yesterday, we were hunting in a blizzard, and both my goose call and my pintail whistle froze over. However, the DR did not skip a beat! I would not hesitate to recommended this product to you!!! Give it a try, you will not regret it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Was NE now KY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't buy one, Buy two.

Date:July 28, 2010
I bought one of these way back when they first came out,....still have it, I need another just incase something happens to the first. IT SOUNDS AWESOME and it's even easy for young people to start on. It blows the same wet or dry just as promoted, cleans easy so you can use it as a loaner too,.....but I'm too protective of my Haydel calls to loan them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good call

Date:February 27, 2010
its very good for money and for beginners don't get red-legs not very good had it for week and sounds weird this call is great though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: west tennessee
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sounds good

Date:January 11, 2010
i got this call cause i heard it was good. ive used it all year and it sounds good. ducks respond to it and that pays for itself. i can do it all on this call. in cold weather it freezes pretty bad though just cause the plastic is thin. for the money its worth every buck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: South ARK. you cant call you can't hang.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

only good one

Date:December 23, 2009
this is the only haydel i would have on my lanyard. I normally would say a double reed is nothin but a handicap for a bad caller but this little call is not bad and great for a beginner. I got this as a gift and will say i has sat ducks down for me. Its a little med. volume all round call. For the money its the best you can get at its range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mississippi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it's my Favorite

Date:December 21, 2009
easy to blow even for a deaf tone no calling bad shot like me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good

Date:August 24, 2009
Sound good. Quality you get what you pay for cheap plastic. It will break first year if you try to change anything with call.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Haydel's DR-85 Deceiver Duck Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most realistic duck talk ever!

Date:August 14, 2009
This call is a hen mallard or black. Go to the marsh, listen to real ducks, and then blow the call. It's not hard to figure out they sound the same! I don't know about meat calling or contests, but I do know how to kill ducks and this call helps alot! I've got an old one and a new one. They sound different from one being broken in and the other not, but they are great realistic calls that draw in the birds! DR-85 is the best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 40