Customer Reviews for CAJUN ARCHERY Plucker Kit and Accessories

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CAJUN ARCHERY Plucker Kit and Accessories

Don't spend hours plucking your waterfowl or game birds, when you can get the job done in just minutes using the Plucker. Plucked birds are tastier, juicier and easier to cook than skinned birds. The Plucker takes only 2 to 3 minutes to pluck a large mallard, including pesky pin feathers. Plucks all domestic and game birds. It's fast, easy and it really works. Drill not included. Available: Plucker Kit Extra Fingers (Per 16).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.476 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 42 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
32 out of 42(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Review 1 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:October 29, 2013
Just returned from a week of hunting ducks in North Dakota and got to use the Plucker several times. I found it to work well for removing feathers including pin feathers. It is a two man job in order to keep the feathers cycling into a plastic bag to reduce clean up. I could not make a dent on the feathers of a Canadian Goose however. I am not sure if the feathers were just too thick or wet, but I could not get the feathers off the old bird.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:August 30, 2013
I see there are mixed reviews on the Plucker. I personally think it is a fantastic product which greatly reduces the amount of time required to pick waterfowl.
For starters, avoid using with a handheld drill. It is much easier to mount on a drill press and use a minimum of 2000 rpm. I always leave any ducks over night prior to picking which makes life much easier and of course always start from the head and work towards the feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice and quick

Date:January 15, 2013
plucked all the feathers out with no problem, the duck was even a little wet. Had to put a rubber band on the drill trigger and mount it in a vise so it would be easier to move the duck around the plucker. Plucked everything within a couple minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:December 27, 2012
Good quality and machined very well. The biggest problem I foresee is my ability to shoot more ducks or geese to fully test the plucker.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Timesaver

Date:January 16, 2012
So glad we bought this item. After years of plucking ducks after a long day in the wetlands, the plucker has made life so much easier. It works well and hasn't had any mechanical problems. My husband set it up in a vise on the back of his truck, so he doesn't have to hold the drill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth Having

Date:January 11, 2012
Bought this and used it several times. Easier if you have help , one person holds bird and other runs plucker. I used it when we did large amounts, it mades it go quicker. The best part of the plucker is using it on drill outside . Keeps mess out of garage!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: hunting with spinone in North Carolina and VA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I like it

Date:January 9, 2012
I like to use the whole bird and I love to cook with the skin on. However, when I had more than a couple birds to clean, I ended up breasting because I did not have the time to pluck a bunch of birds. The Plucker solved this problem.
I mounted mine on a old, 110V,reversible electric drill I had in the garage. One that had a trigger that locks on. I build a wooden holder for the drill I can clamp on to a table or saw horse outside. It works fine that way. I can set up a garbage can with a backstop to catch the feathers.
I think the fingers wear out a bit too fast. Maybe it is the way I am using the tool. Plucking 2 chukar, teal, a shoveler and 6 wood ducks has worn out the original fingers, which showed significant wear after the first two birds. Since Cabela's was sold out, I had to order replacement fingers from another source.
I have found that wet, matted, bloody feathers are harder to remove. The tool seems to remove feathers around wounds very well for me. I directions say to pluck the duck as soon as possible, and I do think the Plucker works best on birds that are not refrigerated overnight.
I'd give four or five stars if one did not have to build a mount for one's drill and the rubber fingers lasted longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough to operate but cheap solution

Date:January 9, 2012
As my title reads, this is a cheap alternative to the freestanding pluckers but it is difficult to use with any cleanliness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: cowansville, québec, canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I would recommend this product to a friend

Date:October 10, 2011
Hello everybody this tool is easy to use I recommend to all thanks Cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great plucker

Date:July 23, 2011
Great plucker unit especially on ducks
I have mounted it on a 12v generator and it's great to use out in the field with heaps of power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

missleading picture

Date:June 20, 2011
This was to be a kit, the only thing it is is the rubber
fingers. Please correct the picture or the wording.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Piece of junk

Date:March 1, 2011
This unit needs a powerful drill and is not effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NM
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard to Find

Date:February 8, 2011
Have been looking for this devise for a while; finally found it on Calela's.
A great devise, but a little harsh on Pheasants, but works great on water fowl.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wasilla, AK
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Plucking...

Date:February 1, 2011
I had been using the old fashioned way of plucking ducks by hand...but with the rubber finigers on the attachment, it makes it ALOT easier to remove even the smallest feathers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bow island Alberta Canada
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

time saver

Date:January 18, 2011
spend a day hunting fill your bag then the real work starts. but this plucker will make a 3hr job take 1hr so verry happy with the purchase. the only thing is i had to grind a flat spot in the shaft so the chuck on my drill would grip it. also try not to press to hard with the bird because the skin will come off. you also should mount the drill on a table with a garbage bag under the plucker to cut down on the clean up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: kinsgson, ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

PLUCKER

Date:January 13, 2011
It works okay, but it needs to used by two people. It should be mounted solid on a mandrel or something like that so one person could use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ocala, FL.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dry ducks???Really??

Date:February 18, 2010
I don't know where everyone elses ducks fall but mine tend to hit the water,so by the time I get home they're still pretty damp.If you try to hold a drill w/one hand and duck w/ the other it gets a bit tricky.Also if you're not carefull the rubber fingers will tear thru the skin and if you hit a shot hole forget it.Maybe if this unit were mounted it would work better but I did try using two people ,one holding duck one holding drill.It just didn't rermove the feathers well at all.Good idea but this product is not worth buying,,I'm sending mine back today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Houston, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plucker Kit and Accessories

Date:January 12, 2010
I've used the Duck Plucker head with fingers for over 10 years and have used it extensively though not solely, I mostly breast. The product does work and it works very well. I've read some comments and can offer some tips that may help. Best if feathers are dry, dry wipe, especially blood soaked areas. Use low speed on hand held drill and go with the direction of the feathers, too much pressure will tear the skin. Feed the duck into the Duck Plucker instead of moving the Duck Plucker about the duck. Pin feathers will have to be removed by hand.
It really does work, and is far quicker and easier than plucking by hand. "Take 'em"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

amazing

Date:November 3, 2009
the duck plucker I purchased is AMAZING on marsh ducks, divers and brant geese.
I would have given it 5 stars, however, it is not very good on canada geese.
But any ducks I've used it on is AMAZING.
Highly recomended for "duck" hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Plucker Kit and Accessories
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: NorCal
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Extremely disappointing…

Date:February 1, 2009
Extremely disappointing…
I gave this thing a more then fair shot at proving itself to me and can honestly say, beware.
I bought the Deluxe Plucker Pack ( 12 volt motor, car power jack complete with extra AC inverter so you could use it at home and the wooden platform ) after doing a fair amount of research online. I also read some of these Cabela’s reviews that looked mixed. After I saw a few YouTube video’s of people using the thing ( one particular on a widgeon) it looked like it worked great so I went for it. I could hardly wait to use it. I’m sorry that I bought it.
I have tried to use it on Widgeon, Sprig, Mallard, Teal, Gadwall, Ringneck ducks and geese. Each time it was a complete and utter failure either not working at all or me leaning on it and ending up grinding into the duck flesh and fat with no feathers removed. At first I thought it as due to the fact that the rubber fingers were too cold and as such did not have good gripping ability. I then tried to toss the wheel with the fingers on the dashboard of my car and turned on the defrost to heat them up prior to use. No help. Then I tried different ways going with the grain then against the grain then cross grain, all no help. I then went back to YouTube and paid closer attention the video’s that I had seen.
As far as I can tell, the biggest difference between what I had seen online and experienced personally was that the ducks that I saw successfully plucked online using the Plucker were dry. BONE DRY. My birds were not. Its not like my birds were laying in the bottom of an ice chest soaked or anything, just not bone dry. They do call them waterfowl for a reason you know…I tried to towel dry them to give the Plucker another shot and felt the birds I tried were pretty darn dry. Unfortunately, they were not bone dry, so it still did not work right. Now, I suppose if I had hung them for a few days in the garage next to the dryer, or hit them with a hair dryer prior to plucking it would have worked. You may even want to throw them into the drier if your wife is not looking and blame it on the kids. Perhaps you have a clubhouse you could hang them at and pluck them in a few days. I pluck my birds the same day I shoot and don’t have a clubhouse in the field so that would not work for me…
I hunt waterfowl in the marsh with decoys and the birds I shoot typically land in the water. I retrieve them right away and strap em up but they are damp. I guess if you hunt dry fields or do a fair amount of pass shooting from a road someplace you may shoot a bone dry duck. I never have.
Even if you try it on a dry duck I can’t guarantee you that it will work …. I have never tried it on a bone dry duck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 42