Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

Do some long-distance turkey slamming at a fraction of the cost of most popular heavier-than-lead loads. Winchester Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells drop old tom at distances beyond 40 yds. Thanks to Shot-Lok™ Technology, your shot is protected during in-bore acceleration, launching the round in a near-perfect circle for hard-hitting and extremely tight long-range patterns. The results – 10% greater penetration over standard lead loads beyond 50 yds and twice the number of pellets in a 10" circle out to 60 yds. Per 10 .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.824 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(91 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 91 reviews
5 Stars
81
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
90 out of 91(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Review 1 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2016

Turkey Turkey Thumper !

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Long Beard Ammo & Carlson,s Long Beard Choke Gave me the best pattern I have ever shot from my 1187 & I,ve & tried a lot of different Chokes & brands of Ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016

Winchester got this one right

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
One of the best factory turkey loads on the market. For the price they can't be beat. Have tried them in several guns and choke tubes. Will on average put more shot in 10 @ 40, then most loads. Now just waiting on the 20ga load..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2016

Deadly at 50+ yards

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I took my first ever turkey this morning during Spring Gobbler season in Virginia. My setup is a Benelli SBE-II 12-ga with a Carlson's Long Beard .665" choke tube and Winchester Long Beard XR 3in/1200fps/1 3/4oz/#4 shot shells.
Long story short, the tom crossed quickly about 50 yards in front of me left-to-right, kept his distance for several minutes about 80 yards away, then reversed course in response to some gobble and hen calls. I shot him when he came back into view at 52 yards.
I don't have any points of comparison with other ammo, but he went straight down hard and succumbed within 2 minutes. Maybe it was a lucky shot, but count me as a big fan of Long Beard XR!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Great long range shell

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Great load for longer ranges. It is nice to know that if you misjudge the range these give you a little room for error. On the flip side the pattern was about the size of my fist at 25 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Beak busting ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These shells pattern and perform amazingly well. I paired it with a Carlson XR choke and was amazed at the patterns at 40 yards and beyond.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2016

60 yard pattern And pellet count says it all

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Remington 870 super Mag Turkey Special
+
Kick's Gobbin' Thunder .660" Choke Tube
+
Winchester Long Beard XR 12 ga. 3 1/2" #6
= Big Tom Down at 60 yards and beyond. Thanks Winchester!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

Very tight pattern

By
Coupled this load with a Carlson Long Beard choke for amazingly tight patterns. Look out Mr Gobbler!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

look out turkeys

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
great patterns and knock down power crushed 2 longbeards with these last season.Have patterned with many loads and choke tubes these shoot the best bar none
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2016

Best Turkey Load

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
By far the best turkey load out there. I've tried many different load/choke combinations out of my Remington 870 Express. Works best with the Carlson Long Beard ported choke tube. Shot good with other choke tubes as well. Photo is a 50yd shot out of the 870 with the Carlson.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Best on the shelf

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've been using Remington nitro turkey for years and swore by It! I was in our local store looking for a choke to improve my patterns, when an employee suggested Winchester XR for turkey. I made an argument for what I know works. He assured me and convinced me to try the Carlsons long beard XR choke and win XR ammo. Am I ever glad I did! Super tight patterns out to 40 yards and beyond! Where I live turkey's often hang up by season opening. They hit ag crops and feed with hens and lookouts and won't budge. I won't have any issues reaching out for a clean kill this year. Make no mistake sight your gun in and make sure it's accurate because a close range pass will have to be dead on! But if u make contact he won't have a head! I've got all pellets in less than 4" at 25 yards. At least 180 pellets in 8" at 40yards and just short of 150 pellets in 10" at 50yards. Try it out!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Long Beard

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Best patterning turkey load yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Unbelievable

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Patterned the #5 3.5 shells 267 pellets in 8" circle 835 with carlson choke same gun and choke with federal #5 3.5 161 pellets this was at 30 yds wow at 50 yds had 40 pellets in head and spine this is unreal try you will be glad you did only down fall is patern at 20 is about the size of softball
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

Shoots a tight deadly pattern

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used these for several years they have always killed on first shot. I load my gun with 3" # 6, then 3"# 5 and last 3.5" #4. The first shot has always killed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

Gobbler Stopper for sure

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The Winchester LongBeard XR shells coupled with the recommended LongBeard XR choke will bring home your Gobbler. At 35 yards #5 shot had more pellets in head and neck area than I could count. At 50 yards had 27 pellets in neck and head. I'm sure at 60 yards it would kill also
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2016

Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Awesome stuff. Shot quite a few other brands averaging 50-60 pellets in a 8" circle @ 40 yards. I shoot a SBE II with 26" barrel with Hevi 13 choke. Shooting 3" mag #6's with 1 3/4 oz shot with all loads used and with these I was able to put 179 pellets in a 8" circle @ 40 yards and if u want to go ahead and say a 10" circle count was 225. That's the best pattern I have ever gotten so I think I'm gonna give these a try this year. Very happy with the results.
Happy hunting!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2016

Speechless

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have turkey hunted since I was 8 and have kill quite a few in the past 26 years. I have shot winchester supreme #6's for a long time that would give me an average of 52 pellets in a turkey head @ 40 yards. When I was at work my buddies were talking about making them some tungsten shot for turkeys and how awesome the research they found on it was. The set back was the overall price of making these awesome shots. So I got curious to find out exactly what my gun could do with different brands and sizes. I shoot a Benelli SBE II 12 ga. with a 26" barrel and a Hevi Shot Turkey Choke that is .662. All the shots I used were 12 ga. 3" mag with 1 3/4 oz. shot. Before I start I am not knocking any ammo brands or guns, this is just my experience with my gear. I first tried the Federal 3rd Degree (#5, 6, 7's) with a Full, Patternmaster XT and my Hevi. I did get the best results using the full and may have gotten better with the mod, but didn't try. With the Full and Patternmaster I was able to get 52 pellets in a 8" circle which is what I averaged with the Winchester Supreme at the same distance. Next I shot the the Federal Turkey Thugs #6's with the Hevi Shot choke. My average was around 43 pellets in a 8" circle, but the shot was so scattered. The next brand I tried was the Hevi Shot Triple Beard (#5, 6, 7's) with the Hevi Shot choke. The best I got was 60 pellets in a 8" circle which I could live with and excited about since 50 yards is the farthest I have ever had to shoot at a turkey. After reading reviews on the Winchester Long Beard XR's I was quite impressed and decided to give those a try to see the outcome of it. I got the #6's since they are my favorite and set up my target @ 40 and gave her a shot. As I got closer to the target the bigger my eyes got. I put 179 pellets into the 8" circle with the Hevi Shot choke. I am going to test @ 20 yards to see how much a crack shot I'll have to be, but I think I will give these a try this year. Looks like I almost put the whole shot into that 12 1/4"X12 1/4" paper target. This left me speechless. Now this is a backwoods country boy that did this with the gear I have. Like I said before, I'm not saying that any of the ammo or guns could not do any better with the other brands. This is just what I experienced doing this myself with my ole Benelli.
Happy Hunting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2016

Thunder load

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Patterned this past weekend with Indian Creek choke. Shot Nitro 4's and 6s as well as Heavyshot Magnum blend 4,5,7. Hands down, longbeard XR 3.5 inch, 5 shot was the ticket. Fantastic pattern at 40 yards. Easily will hold pattern out to 50+ without problem. Very pleased with this round and will be getting another box or two to keep on hand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2016

63 Yard Rookie

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Brought a buddy of mine to Kansas for his first turkey hunt, first hunt ever as a matter of fact. Had a tom backdoor us was telling my friend to shoot but he had brush in his view. When the tom cleared he shot 1 round of 3" 4 shot and this tom dropped like a stone. Not bad for a rookie, walked it off 63 yards give or take. This stuff hits hard!!! I went out and bought 5 more boxes just in case they ever decide to stop making the BEST turkey load to date!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2016

Amazing

By
Country: United States
State: New York
I used Federal's before I found these, couldn't ignore the great reviews. Bought a couple boxes and the patterns were night and day compared to the Federal's. Try 'em!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2016

Phenomenal Performance

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Revolutionary in every aspect. Almost unbelievable results at an affordable price. Rifle like precision and devastating on-target, terminal performance. This load combined with the correct choke will out preform all other copper plated lead loads, as well as rival their non-toxic contenders. If seeing is believing, purchase a box and experience the beauty for yourself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 91