Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

Do some long-distance turkey slamming at a fraction of the cost of most popular heavier-than-lead loads. Winchester Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells drop old tom at distances beyond 40 yds. Thanks to Shot-Lok™ Technology, your shot is protected during in-bore acceleration, launching the round in a near-perfect circle for hard-hitting and extremely tight long-range patterns. The results – 10% greater penetration over standard lead loads beyond 50 yds and twice the number of pellets in a 10" circle out to 60 yds. Per 10 .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.832 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
100 out of 101(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Review 1 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2016

2 for 2

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
2 turkeys with 2 shots. 1 at 25 yards,the other at 40 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2016

Awesome Load

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Using a 12 gauge Franchi 912 Variomax with an H.S. Strut Undertaker turkey choke which has a .665 constriction, I dropped a tom in his tracks at 52 yards with Longbeard 3" 1 3/4 oz. #6 shot. The bird never knew what hit him. This combination patterns unbelievably well. I usually don't shoot this far, but after patterning the gun with this load, I did not hesitate. I have patterned #5 shot and #6 shot. Both have great patterns, but I prefer #6 because of more pellets in the load.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

Big beard down

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used the 3" 1 3/4 oz #5 with the carlsons long beard choke tube and totally out performed any of the 3 1/2" I've used in the past! I'm not sure I would try to take a bird at 70 yds. But after shooting at paper with a couple of boxes I'd feel confident taking a bird out at 50 yds
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

Awsome

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This product is awesome patterns really good out to 60 yards in my gun tagged out this year
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 10, 2016

Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the tightest patterning shell I have found. I killed 2 birds with this ammo this spring and the shells worked flawlessly. The patterns are almost to tight as I nearly missed a turkey at 15 yards. My 20 yard pattern isn't much bigger than a baseball!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2016

Long Beard XR

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Best turkey load on the market. Paired 3.5" #5s with Carlson's Long Beard XR choke tube, killed birds out to 61 yards. Have witnessed others using same product killing birds out to 55 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2016

Great patterns, but 2-1/8 oz. load isn't worth it!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Coupled with a Trulock 0.660 Precision Hunter choke tube and 3-1/2" #6 2 oz. Winchester Longbeards, my Stoeger M3500 put 294 pellets in a 10" circle at 40 yards. All I have to say? PHENOMENAL. I tried the 3-1/2" #5 2-1/8 oz. loads, and I was less impressed (174 pellets in a 10" circle at 40 yards). Comparing that to the 204 pellets in a 10" circle at 40 yards from the 3-1/2" #5 2 oz. loads, I would personally stick with the 2 oz. loads. They carry more energy and produce better patterns.
DON'T drop these shells on anything hard when you're unloading your cannon. The ends aren't crimped like normal shotshells. Instead, there is some sort of frangible disk that caps the load. It's not a big deal. Just be mindful as you're unloading.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2016

PA Hunter

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Just finished mounting a scope on my 11-87 and took 3" loads of #5 and #6, to the range. After sighting in with some cheaper loads, I set up targets at 40 yards. After shooting, I couldn't believe my eyes. Had 100 holes in a 10" circle with the 5's. Had 145 holes in a 10" circle with the 6's. Both were shot with a factory remington turkey super full at .666. Shot the same loads from my Stoger with only half the pellet performance with a carlson turkey choke at .650. Needless to say, this load in 6's along with my 11-87 will be my companion, starting tomorrow morning. I read a few forums about this load. Don't be fooled with super tight chokes. You can over choke it. You gotta give these loads a try.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

Great Pattern

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very dense pattern from the 3.5 inch Long Beard with #4 shot at 40 yards. Absolutely the best performing out of my Mossberg 835 Ulti-mag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 21, 2016

Turkey Turkey Thumper !

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Long Beard Ammo & Carlson,s Long Beard Choke Gave me the best pattern I have ever shot from my 1187 & I,ve & tried a lot of different Chokes & brands of Ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 19, 2016

Winchester got this one right

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
One of the best factory turkey loads on the market. For the price they can't be beat. Have tried them in several guns and choke tubes. Will on average put more shot in 10 @ 40, then most loads. Now just waiting on the 20ga load..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 13, 2016

Deadly at 50+ yards

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I took my first ever turkey this morning during Spring Gobbler season in Virginia. My setup is a Benelli SBE-II 12-ga with a Carlson's Long Beard .665" choke tube and Winchester Long Beard XR 3in/1200fps/1 3/4oz/#4 shot shells.
Long story short, the tom crossed quickly about 50 yards in front of me left-to-right, kept his distance for several minutes about 80 yards away, then reversed course in response to some gobble and hen calls. I shot him when he came back into view at 52 yards.
I don't have any points of comparison with other ammo, but he went straight down hard and succumbed within 2 minutes. Maybe it was a lucky shot, but count me as a big fan of Long Beard XR!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Great long range shell

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Great load for longer ranges. It is nice to know that if you misjudge the range these give you a little room for error. On the flip side the pattern was about the size of my fist at 25 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2016

Beak busting ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These shells pattern and perform amazingly well. I paired it with a Carlson XR choke and was amazed at the patterns at 40 yards and beyond.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 6, 2016

60 yard pattern And pellet count says it all

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Remington 870 super Mag Turkey Special
+
Kick's Gobbin' Thunder .660" Choke Tube
+
Winchester Long Beard XR 12 ga. 3 1/2" #6
= Big Tom Down at 60 yards and beyond. Thanks Winchester!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

Very tight pattern

By
Coupled this load with a Carlson Long Beard choke for amazingly tight patterns. Look out Mr Gobbler!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 5, 2016

look out turkeys

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
great patterns and knock down power crushed 2 longbeards with these last season.Have patterned with many loads and choke tubes these shoot the best bar none
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2016

Best Turkey Load

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
By far the best turkey load out there. I've tried many different load/choke combinations out of my Remington 870 Express. Works best with the Carlson Long Beard ported choke tube. Shot good with other choke tubes as well. Photo is a 50yd shot out of the 870 with the Carlson.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Best on the shelf

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've been using Remington nitro turkey for years and swore by It! I was in our local store looking for a choke to improve my patterns, when an employee suggested Winchester XR for turkey. I made an argument for what I know works. He assured me and convinced me to try the Carlsons long beard XR choke and win XR ammo. Am I ever glad I did! Super tight patterns out to 40 yards and beyond! Where I live turkey's often hang up by season opening. They hit ag crops and feed with hens and lookouts and won't budge. I won't have any issues reaching out for a clean kill this year. Make no mistake sight your gun in and make sure it's accurate because a close range pass will have to be dead on! But if u make contact he won't have a head! I've got all pellets in less than 4" at 25 yards. At least 180 pellets in 8" at 40yards and just short of 150 pellets in 10" at 50yards. Try it out!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2016

Long Beard

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Best patterning turkey load yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 101