Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

Do some long-distance turkey slamming at a fraction of the cost of most popular heavier-than-lead loads. Winchester Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells drop old tom at distances beyond 40 yds. Thanks to Shot-Lok™ Technology, your shot is protected during in-bore acceleration, launching the round in a near-perfect circle for hard-hitting and extremely tight long-range patterns. The results – 10% greater penetration over standard lead loads beyond 50 yds and twice the number of pellets in a 10" circle out to 60 yds. Per 10 .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.807 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
49
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
57 out of 57(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Review 1 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Noticeable differance

Date:April 14, 2015
Bought this round after looking at the reviews. I shot multiple rounds with different chokes. This round was always the best pattern. You can't beat it for only a few bucks more than the cheapest loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Turkey Ammo ever

Date:April 14, 2015
I've always used the very expensive extended range 3 1/2" #5 shells. This spring I bought some xt range same shot and patterned my gun with both shells, at 40 yards they were about the same. When we backed up to 50, 60 and even 70 yards the long beard was hands down better. At 70 yards I had 10 bb's in the turkey's head, the extended range which is twice the price had 1.
I've shot them all when it comes to turkey loads and this is the best ammo I've ever seen!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beyond expectation

Date:April 13, 2015
For as long as I can remember I ran Winchester supreme turkey no. 5 through my SX2. At 40 yards easily 100 pellets in a 10" target. I tried these new Longbeards no. 4 same distance and nearly all pellets in a 10" target. I am impressed and never thought to see that big of a difference. I can't wait a few more days to knock a longbeard over! Another reason why Winchester is the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Biggest bang for your buck.

Date:April 10, 2015
Excellent shot. Its just that simple. I have been patterning shotguns for over 15 years and hands down the best shell for the cost. 60 yards with 3" shell i consistantly have 20 hits in the vitals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight shot

Date:April 7, 2015
Using a Winchester X2 12 gauge with extra full choke and a 3in Winchester long beard #6 shot. The impact area on the turkey's neck was about a 2 in circle. my range finder put the distance at 44.6 yards. Now that is impressive. Wonder what a 3 1/2 shell would do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turkey loads

Date:April 1, 2015
Long beards hold a good tight pattern. Can't wait till turkey season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Bee's Knees

Date:April 1, 2015
I used the 3" loads with #5 shot on a recent turkey hunt in South Texas, when matched with Carlson's Longbeard XR choke tube, this stuff was bad to the bone!!!!! It definantly performs as advertised!!!!! Super tight patterns out to 60 yards. 2 shots, 3 birds!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turkey load

Date:March 17, 2015
For my 870 Supermag it is the best turkey shotshell
on the market. Tight groups with many shot in the kill
zone at 60 yards. I would recommend this for other
people to try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Beard Turkey Shotshells

Date:March 10, 2015
Using The #5 shot with Carlson's long beard choke. Excellent pattern. Had 15 pellets in head/neck area at 50 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:February 24, 2015
These shells pattern great at 40yrds. with my set-up (gun-choke). I would recommend using a scope or red dot sight for precise aiming due to a "very tight" 20 yard pattern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight

Date:February 24, 2015
Pattern at 40 yds was the best of all the loads I tried. Will be great load if you have good sights on shotgun, I use red dot on my gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:February 24, 2015
I have not seen much change in Turkey loads until these. Last year I took my turkey at 68 yards WHICH I patterned out to 70 with solid results. Great load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pattern

Date:February 13, 2015
These throw a really good pattern out of my 870 but didn't shoot good out of two other guns using Kicks choke. Kick's chokes are awesome but don't mix with these shells IMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Totally Awesome Load

Date:January 29, 2015
I have patterned the number 6's in this shell and the patterns are awesome. Remington 870 Express 28 inch barrel with an Indian Creek Choke tube, 70 yards that right, 70 yards. Some of you guys things that is a bit far for 6's but I have taken them. I was a Winchester Xtend fan but it does not compare. We tried the same load in a Charles Daly 3 1/2 inch with a Primos Tight-Wad Choke and it performed flawlessly at you guessed it, 70 yrds. My buddy bought a case of 3 1/2 6's. I have not seen a shell perform this well chambered in a 3 1/2 inch. Similar results in a Stoeger 24 inch barrel sporting the Tight Wad choke. Basically it does not seem to matter! It's great guys. I bought a case myself of the 3 inch. Good hunting and God bless the USA and of course Winchester. Thks Cabelas, Love you guys. Waiting on Fort Mills SC store!! Yee Haa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:January 13, 2015
It works as advertised. Tightest groups I have achieved with lead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

avid outdoorsman

Date:January 4, 2015
the ammo seems to pattern well although I have not had a kill with it yet because my new gun now takes 3 and 3 1/2 shells and this new gun is my favorite brand of gun browning the silver nwtf it seems as though Winchester ammo seems to pattern the best for me out of my browning products especially whether a sabot out of my maxus or a168 grain out of my 30-06 would definitely recommend this ammo for someone to try
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Turkey Load Ever!!

Date:December 30, 2014
I have used these on 4 Tom's this year, absolutely deadly. They will reach out 60 yards with no problem at all. The best Turkey load ever made.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best turkey load ever

Date:September 30, 2014
Best load I have ever shot in 30 years of chasing gobblers. Holds a tight patter and lethal out to maximum range simply best ever, no more I can add. I have stocked up because of my faith in this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My New Favorite Turkey Shell

Date:August 4, 2014
I bought both 3" and 3.5" #5's to pattern. The 3" shells patterned better out of my gun, with great patterns at 40 and 50 yards. I felt confident that if I had to take a shot at just beyond 50 that I could get a clean kill. When a big gobbler was henned up and not coming to me, i decided to go to him. I got close enough to take what looked to be about a 50 yard shot (I wanted to get closer, but had no cover between me and the bird). Needless to say, I did my job and the gun/choke/shell combo did theirs, dropping that bird stone dead. Actual distance was 56 yards, but I am sure this load would be effective to 60+ yards as long as the shooter does his/her job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Beard XR

Date:July 1, 2014
These are the best turkey loads you will find. I get great patterns out of my Rem 11-87 with 26 inch barrel .665 Haysting choke. I shot 3 toms this year between 23 and 45 yards, killing each on the spot, with zero pellets in the breast on any of the three birds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 57