Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

Do some long-distance turkey slamming at a fraction of the cost of most popular heavier-than-lead loads. Winchester Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells drop old tom at distances beyond 40 yds. Thanks to Shot-Lok™ Technology, your shot is protected during in-bore acceleration, launching the round in a near-perfect circle for hard-hitting and extremely tight long-range patterns. The results – 10% greater penetration over standard lead loads beyond 50 yds and twice the number of pellets in a 10" circle out to 60 yds. Per 10 .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Review 1 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My New Favorite Turkey Shell

Date:August 4, 2014
I bought both 3" and 3.5" #5's to pattern. The 3" shells patterned better out of my gun, with great patterns at 40 and 50 yards. I felt confident that if I had to take a shot at just beyond 50 that I could get a clean kill. When a big gobbler was henned up and not coming to me, i decided to go to him. I got close enough to take what looked to be about a 50 yard shot (I wanted to get closer, but had no cover between me and the bird). Needless to say, I did my job and the gun/choke/shell combo did theirs, dropping that bird stone dead. Actual distance was 56 yards, but I am sure this load would be effective to 60+ yards as long as the shooter does his/her job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Beard XR

Date:July 1, 2014
These are the best turkey loads you will find. I get great patterns out of my Rem 11-87 with 26 inch barrel .665 Haysting choke. I shot 3 toms this year between 23 and 45 yards, killing each on the spot, with zero pellets in the breast on any of the three birds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stopped a huge tom in his tracks at 30 yards!

Date:June 17, 2014
Ok, I have many years of turkey hunting experience, and am a mentor for the Wisconsin Learn to Hunt Turkeys Program. My problem in the last few years is that I seemed to have missed a good number of spring toms. I was using old #6 3" 12 ga. shells that had done the job many times (I bought them when I first started hunting turkeys in southwest Wisconsin). When I saw the add for the Winchester Long Beard XR, I thought I would give them a try. And the result: a 25+# tom with 11" of long beard, and 1 3/8" spurs. Yes, I missed again at 20 feet, but killed the big boy at 30 yards--dead in his tracks! Thanks Cabela's and Winchester! My confidence is back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:May 27, 2014
These loads performed flawlessly, the patterned well from my wad wizard choke tube out to 60 yrds. I was able to bag a gobbler at 50 yards using number 4s. You cant go wrong with these loads for turkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long beard xr

Date:May 23, 2014
Worked as expected. Worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

50 yard shot

Date:May 20, 2014
I shot a 3.5 year old Tom with 3 beards at 50 yards in an area of a tree cluster. The pellets would never have kept a tight pattern threw the trees for the kill-head shot without Long Beard XR 3 1/2 " shells. They are all I will use in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbeatable Turkey Rounds!

Date:May 13, 2014
Dropped my western Illinois gobbler with a Browning BPS Hunter 12 gauge with Carlson Turkey Choke tube 3.5" shell #5. One shot and one downed bird at 63 yards. After patterning felt confident taking that shot if I had to. Birds stubbornly hung up in the field.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best groups ever

Date:May 6, 2014
I had a 24" group at 50 yards with my Mossburg 835 with a turkey choke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Long Range Turkey Shells Ever

Date:May 6, 2014
These are as advertised. I dropped a gobbler in his tracks at 65 yards last week.. Measured it with my range finder. I wouldn't have shot if I'd known he was that far. I have been using Winchester Xtended Range which are very good, but these were clearly better on the patterning board. Unbelievable in fact. Believe the hype on this one. I'm sold on them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unreal patterns!

Date:May 5, 2014
Couldn't wait to get my hands on these shells ever since they hit the market this year. Ended up pairing the 3.5" #6's with an Indian Creek Black Diamond Strike choke in my Benelli SBE. Unreal...290+ pellets at 40yds in a 10" circle and I'm confident out past 60yds easy. BOOM!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does what they say

Date:May 3, 2014
Have been using winchester extended range since they came out. Tried the Long Beards this year. Same results for half the price. Took a hung up tom to day that my range finder said was at 63 yards. Dropped him like a rock
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LongBeard Turkey Loads

Date:April 29, 2014
These are the best turkey loads I have ever shot. I have turkey hunted for over thirty years and have tried just about every load offered, however, these loads hold the best patterns when shot from my Browning auto loader with a Jelly Head Choke. Give them a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The only turkey shot I'll ever use

Date:April 28, 2014
Gun: Mossberg 535 w/ 22" barrel
Chokes: factory XX (.670) and Gobblin Thunder (.665)
I tried 4 different shells, #5 and #6 pellets, and ran them through two different chokes. I got decent results on my selected combination. (119 pellets in a 10" circle at 35 yard. 3" #5 Remington High Vel.)
Then, I bought a box of XR's in the recommended 3 1/2" #5 combo. Recommended by Kick's for their .665 Gobblin Thunder choke, that is. Otherwise I wouldn't should a 3 1/2 inch shell if I could help it. (I'm aware they also list 3" with #4 shot too, but I didn't buy my XR's by mail order. The seller only had the combo above.) Before trying the XR's, I couldn't get the kind of results that Kick's promised from their choke. No shells--even in the recommended sizes--seemed to do any better than the factory choke. But with the XR's, the Gobblin Thunder finally started to out-perform the factory choke. I got a conservative count of 229 pellets in 10" at 35 yards. Picture is below. The 30 yard pattern (not pictured) looked like something you'd see at 20 yards--like a softball-sized blast.
I'm a believer. This shell also shined with the factory choke and is better by 100+ pellets than any other 3" or 3 1/2" shell I tried through either choke tube. Would you pay $1.00 more per shell to add 100 extra pellets to a 10" circle? Heck yes, you would. So do it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LBXR

Date:April 26, 2014
Best patterning lead load I have ever seen.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best turkey load ever

Date:April 25, 2014
These are the best turkey loads I have ever used. They out performed any shell by far. I shot 50 yards using a 870 with a kicks choke - 3-1/2" #4 shot a placed 21 pellets in the head and neck, #5 32 pellets in the head and neck! I WAS using Winchester turkey loads (the red shell) 3-1/2" with 2-1/4 onces of shot #4, out of the same gun and choke and would put 5 or 6 pellets in the head and neck at 50 yards. They are better then advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Potential !!

Date:April 22, 2014
Just patterned a .665 Turkey Choke at a paper turkey head target at a distance longer than I would be inclined to normally shoot (50 paces) and counted 28 pellets in the kill zone......three targets; three shots......very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lives Up to the Hype

Date:April 12, 2014
Took this ammo out for the first time, and shot a gobbler at 55 yards. I wouldn't have attempted this with my old ammo. I'm a believer. I used the #4s.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best turkey loads you can buy!

Date:April 8, 2014
I am an avid turkey hunter. I've killed many many turkeys over the years and I've used all the loads. These are hands down the best loads around. They put birds down at far greater distances. I have no reservations about shooting birds between 50 and 60 yards with these loads. When you shoot a bird with longbeard XR they hardly even twitch. I will be a customer for life!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

true performance

Date:April 8, 2014
Longbeard XR extended the range of my 25 y/o 12 gauge (with a ported barrel) by 15 yards without changing anything. I recommended them to anyone using old gear that would like to extend their range without spending more $ for a new gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Turkey Round

Date:April 6, 2014
I went to the range the other to check on the pattern of these rounds. These are one the best pattern turkey loads I have ever shot!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 37