Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

WINCHESTER Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds

Do some long-distance turkey slamming at a fraction of the cost of most popular heavier-than-lead loads. Winchester Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells drop old tom at distances beyond 40 yds. Thanks to Shot-Lok™ Technology, your shot is protected during in-bore acceleration, launching the round in a near-perfect circle for hard-hitting and extremely tight long-range patterns. The results – 10% greater penetration over standard lead loads beyond 50 yds and twice the number of pellets in a 10" circle out to 60 yds. Per 10 .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
50 out of 50(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Review 1 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Turkey load

Date:March 17, 2015
For my 870 Supermag it is the best turkey shotshell
on the market. Tight groups with many shot in the kill
zone at 60 yards. I would recommend this for other
people to try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Beard Turkey Shotshells

Date:March 10, 2015
Using The #5 shot with Carlson's long beard choke. Excellent pattern. Had 15 pellets in head/neck area at 50 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:February 24, 2015
These shells pattern great at 40yrds. with my set-up (gun-choke). I would recommend using a scope or red dot sight for precise aiming due to a "very tight" 20 yard pattern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tight

Date:February 24, 2015
Pattern at 40 yds was the best of all the loads I tried. Will be great load if you have good sights on shotgun, I use red dot on my gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:February 24, 2015
I have not seen much change in Turkey loads until these. Last year I took my turkey at 68 yards WHICH I patterned out to 70 with solid results. Great load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pattern

Date:February 13, 2015
These throw a really good pattern out of my 870 but didn't shoot good out of two other guns using Kicks choke. Kick's chokes are awesome but don't mix with these shells IMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Totally Awesome Load

Date:January 29, 2015
I have patterned the number 6's in this shell and the patterns are awesome. Remington 870 Express 28 inch barrel with an Indian Creek Choke tube, 70 yards that right, 70 yards. Some of you guys things that is a bit far for 6's but I have taken them. I was a Winchester Xtend fan but it does not compare. We tried the same load in a Charles Daly 3 1/2 inch with a Primos Tight-Wad Choke and it performed flawlessly at you guessed it, 70 yrds. My buddy bought a case of 3 1/2 6's. I have not seen a shell perform this well chambered in a 3 1/2 inch. Similar results in a Stoeger 24 inch barrel sporting the Tight Wad choke. Basically it does not seem to matter! It's great guys. I bought a case myself of the 3 inch. Good hunting and God bless the USA and of course Winchester. Thks Cabelas, Love you guys. Waiting on Fort Mills SC store!! Yee Haa
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knocks 'em Dead:( will not fit guns limited to 3")

Date:January 16, 2015
Great turkey ammo for guns that take 3 and 1/2 inch shells. Note: these 3 inch shells are Longer than 3 inches, and will Not load in many guns, especially semi-autos that take 3 inch shells.
But, If your gun takes 3 and 1/2 inch shells Then these are the Best Bang for the Buck. And you do Not need to suffer the abuse of 3 and 1/2 inch ammo to do the job; the 3 inch shells work Just Fine. I nearly decapitated a Long Beard at 25 yards with the 3 inch shells, and they pattern better and will get you out to an effective hunting range of at least 50 yards no sweat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product

Date:January 13, 2015
It works as advertised. Tightest groups I have achieved with lead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

avid outdoorsman

Date:January 4, 2015
the ammo seems to pattern well although I have not had a kill with it yet because my new gun now takes 3 and 3 1/2 shells and this new gun is my favorite brand of gun browning the silver nwtf it seems as though Winchester ammo seems to pattern the best for me out of my browning products especially whether a sabot out of my maxus or a168 grain out of my 30-06 would definitely recommend this ammo for someone to try
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Turkey Load Ever!!

Date:December 30, 2014
I have used these on 4 Tom's this year, absolutely deadly. They will reach out 60 yards with no problem at all. The best Turkey load ever made.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great reviews

Date:December 28, 2014
havent shot yet but were available and good price so bought a box for the 2015 season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best turkey load ever

Date:September 30, 2014
Best load I have ever shot in 30 years of chasing gobblers. Holds a tight patter and lethal out to maximum range simply best ever, no more I can add. I have stocked up because of my faith in this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My New Favorite Turkey Shell

Date:August 4, 2014
I bought both 3" and 3.5" #5's to pattern. The 3" shells patterned better out of my gun, with great patterns at 40 and 50 yards. I felt confident that if I had to take a shot at just beyond 50 that I could get a clean kill. When a big gobbler was henned up and not coming to me, i decided to go to him. I got close enough to take what looked to be about a 50 yard shot (I wanted to get closer, but had no cover between me and the bird). Needless to say, I did my job and the gun/choke/shell combo did theirs, dropping that bird stone dead. Actual distance was 56 yards, but I am sure this load would be effective to 60+ yards as long as the shooter does his/her job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long Beard XR

Date:July 1, 2014
These are the best turkey loads you will find. I get great patterns out of my Rem 11-87 with 26 inch barrel .665 Haysting choke. I shot 3 toms this year between 23 and 45 yards, killing each on the spot, with zero pellets in the breast on any of the three birds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Stopped a huge tom in his tracks at 30 yards!

Date:June 17, 2014
Ok, I have many years of turkey hunting experience, and am a mentor for the Wisconsin Learn to Hunt Turkeys Program. My problem in the last few years is that I seemed to have missed a good number of spring toms. I was using old #6 3" 12 ga. shells that had done the job many times (I bought them when I first started hunting turkeys in southwest Wisconsin). When I saw the add for the Winchester Long Beard XR, I thought I would give them a try. And the result: a 25+# tom with 11" of long beard, and 1 3/8" spurs. Yes, I missed again at 20 feet, but killed the big boy at 30 yards--dead in his tracks! Thanks Cabela's and Winchester! My confidence is back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:May 27, 2014
These loads performed flawlessly, the patterned well from my wad wizard choke tube out to 60 yrds. I was able to bag a gobbler at 50 yards using number 4s. You cant go wrong with these loads for turkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Long beard xr

Date:May 23, 2014
Worked as expected. Worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

50 yard shot

Date:May 20, 2014
I shot a 3.5 year old Tom with 3 beards at 50 yards in an area of a tree cluster. The pellets would never have kept a tight pattern threw the trees for the kill-head shot without Long Beard XR 3 1/2 " shells. They are all I will use in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® Long Beard XR Turkey Shotshells ™ Per 10 Rounds
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbeatable Turkey Rounds!

Date:May 13, 2014
Dropped my western Illinois gobbler with a Browning BPS Hunter 12 gauge with Carlson Turkey Choke tube 3.5" shell #5. One shot and one downed bird at 63 yards. After patterning felt confident taking that shot if I had to. Birds stubbornly hung up in the field.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 50