Customer Reviews for LIBERTY AMMUNITION Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20

LIBERTY AMMUNITION Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20

Liberty Ammunition's Civil Defense Handgun Ammo boasts a dramatically reduced felt recoil that allows for quick follow-up shots. Lighter, faster and ideal for close-combat situations, these powerful rounds even deliver an extended range that goes beyond the traditional 10 to 15-meter mark. These monolithic, lead-free, hollow-point rounds offer significantly improved accuracy, stopping power and fragmentation of up to seven pieces on impact. Per 20. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
3.688 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
12 out of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Review 1 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2015

Don't bet your life on it

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Very hot rounds that went where they were supposed to--butt-- 3 out of 10 rounds failed to extract from my Glock 26 Gen IV. One was still in the chamber and 2 were loose in the breach. The following mixed lot of 75 factory and reload HP and FMJ all fired and extracted with no failures in the same gun. It does not mean that the Civil Defense 9mm ammo is bad. It means that it is not a personal defense load for my Glock 26 and I have not tried it in my other 9mm's. Be careful where you use it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2015

Will Buy More

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Received the ammo quickly from Cabelas after my order, and the ammo is worth every penny: its clean, reliable, and fast with less recoil than other + p ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2015

.40 S&W vs. 9mm

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
bought these on advice of local gunsmith and dealer. The Beretta Storm PX4 .40 cal group @ 10 yds was the best free-hand grouping I have ever shot. Not so with the S&W Shield 9mm, which was more varied. They both obliterated a musk melon impressively at the same distance. These loads do seem to have less recoil, but that is not part of my decision making in a defense round. And yes, with the .40 there is a noticeable weight difference with a full mag. Bottom line, I will use for my .40 given the accuracy and weight advantages for personal protection.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 9, 2014

Works with Tannerite

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
2,000 fps is unusually high for 9mm, and is also the recommended minimum velocity for igniting Tannerite explosive targets. I've tried regular 9mm bullets from a rifle and the Tannerite just sits there.
This goes boom. Very fun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2014

Good Ammo!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Flies like an FMJ, huge expansion, low recoil. What more could you want?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 21, 2014

380 ,, 45 LIBERTY

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
HERES MY 2ND ATTEMPT TO REVIEW THESE PRICEY WEIRDO SAFETY RDS....SEE U TUBE 380 LIB FAILURE TEST, APPARENTLY THEY USE THE 50 GRAIN, 9MM PROJECTILE THAT WORKS/ FRAGS AT 2000FPS IN THE 380 AT 1300FPS OUT SHORT BARREL GUNS, IT TUMBLES IN GEL TARGET...BUT THE 45 OVERALL WORKS GOOD WITH POWER...SIDE PETALS UNDER PENETRATE AT 7 INCH DEEP!! BASE IN TWICE AS DEEP ...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 6, 2014

Very good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This ammo was designed to produce the same, or better, penetration, knockdown and accuracy with a much lighter weight bullet and much less recoil. In .45 cal., a 90 grain bullet will produce the same power as a 230 grain. I don't believe this will replace heavier projectiles but, for personal carry and women that do not like the recoil, very good ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2014

ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
this ammo has a little feeding problem thare is a lot better ammo out thare, i tryed it but i dont thaink i will buy it again. but if it works for you buy it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Liberty ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought the 9mm first to see if it would function my handguns as its so lite. It worked three of my nines with no problem so I'll use it in my normal carry nine and will buy more 9mm as well as 40s&w and 45acp. It was recommended by my nephew a gunsmith so I'll trust he knows what he's talking about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 28, 2013

SUPERLIGHT CARRY & DEVASTATING ROUND!!

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Purchased this yesterday at the Scarborough Maine store. This round is amazing. Shot 10 rounds thru my Kimber and the results were nothing short of spectacular. Superfast, super accurate and very low recoil. Functioned perfectly in my pistol and my wife's Kimber Ultra CDP II with 3" barrel. Shaved a full 2 ounces off the total carry weight of my Kimber Super Carry Pro with 4" barrel. Have both pistols loaded with this round and will carry with confidence. Fantastic round Liberty. Now I'll try the 40 caliber in my Glock 27! Highly recommend!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013

Love these light weight rounds!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I wanted to try these rounds because their high speed gives them some of the highest terminal velocity of any self defense ammo. I'm glad I did.
I have been shooting these 9s in both my Ruger LCP and SIG 2022 without incident. They are very easy to shoot due to the minimal recoil; definitely easier to hold tight groups at 20 yards.
Most of my friends are switching to these; and now I cant wait to try the 45 cal in my 1911 when the Dundee. store has them in stock!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2013

No Feed in Beretta 92FS

By
Tried to shoot 10 rounds in the wife's Beretta 92FS 9mm. 4 fail to feeds and 2 fail to ejects. Never got 2 shots off in a row. May work fine in other guns, but not hers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2013

Liberty 9mm

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
cycles well through my XDm 5.25 except for the one round where the case was beveled around the projectile not allowing the bullet to fully engaged in the fireing chamber but all rounds which chambered did well. The other rounds were tested by cycling the slide by hand and no other issues noted.. accuracy was great. recoil minimal. had to raise point of aim to meet point of impact due to decreased recoil but no big deal. tested in water jugs the bullet mainly shattered on impact and the bottom 30grains fo the was the only part of the projectile intact. This is ideal for self defense in populated areas if needed, as reliability tolerates. I shot a large bird off my roof in the neck and it left a nice hole. no corosion on any rounds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2013

Good Defense Round

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This ammo is rather bizarre because it is such a light round with very high pressure. In other words, there is hardly any recoil whatsoever, but it is LOUD. I shot a box through my full size 9mm and it shoots well, although I found that it shot low at 10' compared to other ammo used earlier in the same range outing. My only concern with using it as a carry round is shooting it without ear protection. It could be extremely disorienting. By comparison, on the same day, I had shot a .45 ACP, .40 cal, several 9mm and .380 rounds and the Civil Defense 9mm+P was considerably louder than every other round. Other than that, it feeds well, shoots clean, and goes BANG!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2013

Excellent Purchase

By
Absolutely smashing, highly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2013

Gimmic Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This ammo, while light recoiling and very fast, has minimal impact on soft tissue. Please watch ballistic testing for this ammo before purchasing. Liberty used to be called "Halo Points" before legal action was taken, search both names and make a choice. For me, I''ll stick with my Gold Dots and HSTs
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.