Customer Reviews for LIBERTY AMMUNITION Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20

LIBERTY AMMUNITION Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20

Liberty Ammunition's Civil Defense Handgun Ammo boasts a dramatically reduced felt recoil that allows for quick follow-up shots. Lighter, faster and ideal for close-combat situations, these powerful rounds even deliver an extended range that goes beyond the traditional 10 to 15-meter mark. These monolithic, lead-free, hollow-point rounds offer significantly improved accuracy, stopping power and fragmentation of up to seven pieces on impact. Per 20. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Review 1 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good ammo

Date:May 6, 2014
This ammo was designed to produce the same, or better, penetration, knockdown and accuracy with a much lighter weight bullet and much less recoil. In .45 cal., a 90 grain bullet will produce the same power as a 230 grain. I don't believe this will replace heavier projectiles but, for personal carry and women that do not like the recoil, very good ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ammo

Date:February 15, 2014
this ammo has a little feeding problem thare is a lot better ammo out thare, i tryed it but i dont thaink i will buy it again. but if it works for you buy it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Liberty ammo

Date:December 31, 2013
Bought the 9mm first to see if it would function my handguns as its so lite. It worked three of my nines with no problem so I'll use it in my normal carry nine and will buy more 9mm as well as 40s&w and 45acp. It was recommended by my nephew a gunsmith so I'll trust he knows what he's talking about.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SUPERLIGHT CARRY & DEVASTATING ROUND!!

Date:December 28, 2013
Purchased this yesterday at the Scarborough Maine store. This round is amazing. Shot 10 rounds thru my Kimber and the results were nothing short of spectacular. Superfast, super accurate and very low recoil. Functioned perfectly in my pistol and my wife's Kimber Ultra CDP II with 3" barrel. Shaved a full 2 ounces off the total carry weight of my Kimber Super Carry Pro with 4" barrel. Have both pistols loaded with this round and will carry with confidence. Fantastic round Liberty. Now I'll try the 40 caliber in my Glock 27! Highly recommend!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love these light weight rounds!

Date:December 1, 2013
I wanted to try these rounds because their high speed gives them some of the highest terminal velocity of any self defense ammo. I'm glad I did.
I have been shooting these 9s in both my Ruger LCP and SIG 2022 without incident. They are very easy to shoot due to the minimal recoil; definitely easier to hold tight groups at 20 yards.
Most of my friends are switching to these; and now I cant wait to try the 45 cal in my 1911 when the Dundee. store has them in stock!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No Feed in Beretta 92FS

Date:September 15, 2013
Tried to shoot 10 rounds in the wife's Beretta 92FS 9mm. 4 fail to feeds and 2 fail to ejects. Never got 2 shots off in a row. May work fine in other guns, but not hers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Liberty 9mm

Date:September 13, 2013
cycles well through my XDm 5.25 except for the one round where the case was beveled around the projectile not allowing the bullet to fully engaged in the fireing chamber but all rounds which chambered did well. The other rounds were tested by cycling the slide by hand and no other issues noted.. accuracy was great. recoil minimal. had to raise point of aim to meet point of impact due to decreased recoil but no big deal. tested in water jugs the bullet mainly shattered on impact and the bottom 30grains fo the was the only part of the projectile intact. This is ideal for self defense in populated areas if needed, as reliability tolerates. I shot a large bird off my roof in the neck and it left a nice hole. no corosion on any rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Defense Round

Date:September 2, 2013
This ammo is rather bizarre because it is such a light round with very high pressure. In other words, there is hardly any recoil whatsoever, but it is LOUD. I shot a box through my full size 9mm and it shoots well, although I found that it shot low at 10' compared to other ammo used earlier in the same range outing. My only concern with using it as a carry round is shooting it without ear protection. It could be extremely disorienting. By comparison, on the same day, I had shot a .45 ACP, .40 cal, several 9mm and .380 rounds and the Civil Defense 9mm+P was considerably louder than every other round. Other than that, it feeds well, shoots clean, and goes BANG!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Purchase

Date:August 25, 2013
Absolutely smashing, highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Liberty Ammunition Civil Defense Handgun Ammo – Per 20
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gimmic Ammo

Date:August 18, 2013
This ammo, while light recoiling and very fast, has minimal impact on soft tissue. Please watch ballistic testing for this ammo before purchasing. Liberty used to be called "Halo Points" before legal action was taken, search both names and make a choice. For me, I''ll stick with my Gold Dots and HSTs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.