Customer Reviews for RCBS RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner

RCBS RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner

Powerful 60-watt transducer, 100-watt ceramic heater and 36kHz ultrasonic frequency along with a degas function improve cleaning efficiency. Durable stainless steel tank. User-friendly control panel. Five temperature settings from 104ºF-140ºF. Timer settings from one to 30 minutes. Manual drain valve with hose. Sensor alerts you when it's time to change solution. Sturdy plastic basket. Ultrasonic Cleaning Solution sold separately. Tank capacity: 3.2 quarts.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
17 out of 18(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Review 1 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

good for cleaning

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Operated as expected, works good at getting brass clean inside and out. It may take a few cycles to get primer pockets completely clean. This will NOT polish your brass. I ran my brass through the tumbler to polish it up after ultrasonic cleaning. Using different solutions, one can use this cleaner for smaller gun and automotive parts. Satisfied with the product so far. RCBS always seems to make decent equipment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2015

Defective out of the box

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Drove 50 miles round trip to purchase the RCBS Ultrasonic Case Cleaner only to discover the electronics were defective right out of the box. Plan to have a closer look at Lyman and Hornady...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 15, 2015

like clean brass?

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
will get primer pocket clean. inside of brass much better than vibrator cleaner. I run real dirty brass in vibrator first. if you clean brass soon after shooting, the cleanup is very good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2015

Good Cleaning But!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The case cleaner does an overall good job in a relatively short period of time. The brass comes out nice with good shine; more than with dry media such as walnut shells using brass polish. The negatives are that it takes the unit quite a while to warm up to the specified temperature, before starting the cleaning process. Also, the primer pockets must still be cleaned/reamed. And some residue remains on the case neck, usually the dirtiest part of the case exterior.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2015

Fast cleaning

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Looks like I have a new cleaning sys.
You need to resize and decape before cleaning. after 30 min. Thay look new inside and ouside.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014

Too soon

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I really can't make any judgement calls for the Ultrasonic Case Cleaner as I haven't used it yet. I looked it over real good and expect it will perform as advertised and in true RCBS fashion. I bought the cleaner unit and a bottle of the RCBS cleaner solution as well as a steel cleaner from another manufacturer. I'll write a better review in a few weeks or as the need to use the unit presents itself. The quality, fit and finish looks like it will perform and the Cabela's price was reasonable. Also, RCBS has a rebate program going on until the end of the year which is why I made the purchase now along with a new Rock Chucker loading press.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 17, 2014

Must have for Suppressors

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this to clean suppressors after spending over 4 hours just scrubbing one suppressor and never getting it even close to removing all the carbon build up. I had heard ultrasonic cleaners were the way to go, so I gave this one a shot. And I was more than impressed after only a few cycles my suppressor was almost as clean as new, a feat I had previously thought unachievable. With RCBS's ultrasonic cleaner and solution I was more than just impressed, I swear but its ability to clean with absolutely no elbow grease.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

time saver

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I still have to tumble my brass but for only a couple hours vs a couple days. I cleaned some really old dirty 30-06 mil brass in about 20 minutes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Husband simply loves it. Was a great addition to his reloading bench.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014

Works very well!

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased a RCBS ultrasonic cleaner for myself for Christmas. I also purchased the Frankford Arsenal brass and metal cleaner solutions while they were on sale. After a thorough reading of the manual / instructions I proceeded to clean 350 /400 rounds of .223 in two separate batches. I preheated distilled water to 130 degrees on my stove and then added the recommended amount of brass solution to the water. Preheating the water eliminates the units heater from having to preheat the water. Saves about a 1/2 hour. After 30 minutes in the cleaner I rinsed the casings with distilled water and placed them on a cookie sheet in a 200 degree oven for 20 minutes. Afterwards I swabbed the inside to see how clean they were. To my surprise the very bottom of 80% of the cases still had some residual residue from the primers (I presume). The rest of the case was very clean inside and out. I like the units tank capacity and the overall design is top notch. It's not hard to program the unit for whatever temperature and time duration one wants. It's not very loud either. Just a humming / buzzing from the brass being shaken. The cover eliminates most of that sound. I'm hoping this unit will do a great job on my 10/22 receiver parts and some of my pistols. For a first time user I am impressed with the RCBS ultrasonic cleaner and the job it does. I would recommend this to anyone who is serious about getting brass and other metal parts clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Very happy with product,

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
It does exactly as advertised, cleans the shell casings inside and out. You may have to play with temperature and time a little but when you get it right the casings are nice and shiny and clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 14, 2013

Nice BIG UNIT

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Cleaner works well.BUT does not REPLACE a tumbler.Very well made and easy to use.Fantastic drain option.Use it a few times before you talk about it as the first time I used it I wasn't sure.Now I would not be without it.Also the box it comes in is nice for storing the unit when not using.Also a tip for ya is save a windshield solvent bottle and drain the cleaner through a coffee filter in a funnel.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2013

Awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have never used a sonic cleaner before, always just used a tumbler. A buddy of mine has the Hornady Hot tub and after I saw how clean his brass was, I decided to try one. I went with RCBS due to size, cost, and everything I have is RCBS. I just ran my first batch of 100+ pieces of 308 brass. It took 32 minutes to heat up to 131 degrees. To me, that isn't a big deal. I ran it for 30 minutes and the brass looks new. I was shocked. I'm tumbling it right now for a few minutes, but I don't hink it is really needed. I ran it with distiller water and RCBS solution. No spots, I didn't dry them in the oven. I just dropped them out of the basket onto a towel and dried them off. For the money, this thing is great. Oh yeah, I accidentally put too much solution in, but the drain plug and hose made it so easy to take some out. I can't imagine having one of these cleaners without that feature. Runs very quiet and plenty big for me. Another quality RCBS product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2013

RCBS Sonic Cleaner

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this cleaner about 1 month ago and have used it 4 times. It works very well and cleans the brass inside and out, even primer pockets. I do go ahead and tumble the cases in corn media because I like that high shine. If you use tap water don't dry the cases out in the sunlight because they will spot. One lesson I learned after using it the first time.
I chose the RCBS over the other brands because of the drain valve. So little difference in price that the RCBS just made more sense in the chore of cleaning the unit. I use RCBS dies and equipment exclusively and have never been disappointed in their products.
I would recommend this unit if you are seriously considering a sonic cleaner.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2013

Finally a sonic cleaner that works.

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have been monitoring the development of the sonic case cleaner for some time. The reviews on all of the first entries were very disappointing. Hence I did not purchase a sonic cleaner, that is until I saw that RCBS entered the market. Because of their reputation for quality and the reviews already given, I made the purchase.
I am very pleased with the results. I cleaned 308, 22-250 and 9mm brass, coming out like I had just purchased new brass. It also maintained a high polish appearance so no need to place them in another media to get the shine.
Great product RCBS, thanks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2013

Decent product, gets the job done

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The unit gets the job done quite efficiently. It seems well built and is easy to use. My cases come out very clean inside and out including primer pockets with no case lube residue( using RCBS case cleaner solution) . It works best if you load it up just over half capacity. I would have given 5 stars but my unit was delivered with a defective power cord that after a call to RCBS, was replaced free of charge. Just a note, the unit is made in China if that matters to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2013

RCBS does it again

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was a little skeptical at first but I am a bargain hunter. At this price, and knowing that it's from RCBS, there was nothing to hold me back. My friend have the rival brand but I was disappointed by the lack of volume( despite 3.2QT size). This unit have almost twice the volume( despite same capacity 3.2QT) and the top cover goes over the unit and it makes less noise than my friend's unit. The best part has to be the drainage plug! Just when I thought that RCBS 3-way trim pro was the company's innovation of the 21st century and this... RCBS does it again!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RCBS® Ultrasonic Case Cleaner
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2013

Doies the Job

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Used vibration tumble for years and curious on the Ultrasonic cleaners. RCBS jumped into the many offerings and deceided to purchase this one. Very large capacity, didn't count them but 3-400 40 cal brass. Worked very good cleaning the inside and the primer pocket. I would recommend to run for one cycle stir the brass and run for one more cycle.
I used the RCBS brand of cleaner, purchased a gallon of distilled water and mixed the gallon with recommended ratio. Takes about 1/2 a gallon. (place your brass in the basket in the Ultrasonic then pour the cleaner). I would recomend it, it is a cleaner but not a complete polisher like a tumbler. But it did clean iinside very well took some tarnish off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.