Customer Reviews for LYMAN Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale

LYMAN Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale

Easy-to-use touch screen delivers the perfect load every time. Anti-drift technology ensures +⁄- 0.1-grain accuracy. Extra-large display is efficient and easy to read. Fold-down dust cover protects the scale when not in use. Grain or gram mode. 115/230-volt or battery operation. Each scale includes calibration weight, universal power adapter and cleaning brush. Extra-large 2,000-grain capacity. Ambidextrous powder trickler can be mounted for left- or right-handed users. Convenient pop-out tray stores accessories. Powered by the included AC adapter or a 9-volt battery (not included).
Overall Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
21 out of 23(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Review 1 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

Good scale at reasonable price

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have had the scale a few weeks now and it has worked well. No issues, easy to calibrate and clear instructions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2016

Good scale

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Great purchase. Not too cheap but is absolutely worth it. I have no problems with this scale, it works very well for me - fast and reliable. The only disadvantage comparing to a beam scale is that due to its digital nature it has to round the readings up to 0.1gr, so if it shows say 6.0gr in actuality it can be anywhere between 5.95 and 6.04gr. Which may not be terribly important but bothers my OCD. What I do is weight a triple charge and check if it reads 18.0gr even, and then I know that I am off by no more than 0.01gr. The trickler works, although kind of slow, you may want to get one of those powder measures that drop charge by volume. As for the drifting, about which some of the reviews complaining here... I haven't seen any. Maybe it has to do with how you set it up. Lyman recommends using this scale on some other surface rather than the reloading bench to avoid vibrations that could affect the readings. Makes sense to me...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2016

Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale

By
I like this scale alot, i check it with a Franklin digital scale and its pretty accurate, the attached powder trickler works excellent, i'd buy another
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 24, 2015

Good Consistent Scale

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have had an earlier version of one of these scales for 4 or 5 years and have used it to load several thousand rounds. Chrono velocities have been quite consistent. I am buying another one only because the 110V charger died and the batteries don't work quite as well. I can always use the old one as a backup. A few pointers I am sure others have pointed out as well: As with all testing equipment, it MUST be calibrated as recommended, at least with each use. You must develop "your" technique and stick to it to get consistent results. Let it warm up 30 min. or so before using or you will notice some "wandering" of zero. Re-zero the tare (pan) weight often. Don't let a cell phone anywhere near it when using. Takes 3 to 5 sec. to settle on the final weight. Keep it level. By doing these things my results have stayed w/i 0.1 gr. The attached powder trickler is a nice touch. Very happy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2015

A wise purchase on my part

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale is doing a great job
helping me with my reloading. my old style balance beam scale has been put away forever. I heard this type of scale would be a real asset in my reloading. I went to my nearby Cabelas store and looked at the different scales on display, Lyman is a good name in reloading so I picked this one. it is very accurate and speeds up my reloading time. it is very important to have accurate gunpowder loads and this scale really does the job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2015

Scale

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I did a lot of research before settling on this scale. some people like the balance beams because of EMP proof etc. and I agree with that 100%. This scale works great every time and if the power goes away, it will run on batteries. Some of the reviews say that it is finicky about temperature and level and everything else and here is my experience with that: When I first got it and brought it in the house from cold to warm it was not happy. Once it reached an even temp it was fine.
I use it in me garage in colorado at 8400 ft. and the shop temp is around 55 degrees in the winter until I turn on the heater. I have it on a 12 piece of tile on the bench. It works fine and fast. If I had to wait for a balance beam for every load I would probably loose my mind. Having said that, I will be getting a back up balance beam with the intent of never opening the box until the EMP's hit. Also to built in trickle is nice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Good for the price!

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a good scale. It is accurate and easy to set up. The only problem that I have found with this product is that it does lose "zero" quickly, sometimes before I can dispense a load from my powder measure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

Finally One That Works......

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It is a challenge (or nearly impossible) to find a scale that actually works consistently and is accurate to the tenth of a grain time after time for us "perfectionist" reloaders, and I have purchased, tried, and re-sold or discarded just about every brand and model on the market. I researched the Lyman Accu Touch 2000 and decided to give it a try, and to my amazement, I finally found one I am satisfied with. If you follow the setup directions to a "T", let it warm up, set it on a perfectly level surface, and keep any electronics away from it, it does what it is suppose to without all the resets and irritation. Powder measuring is a satisfying step in the process again! I can't stress enough to do the setup correctly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014

Wonderfully simple

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this scale after getting back into reloading after a 20 yr absence, the scale is easy to calibrate, holds its calibration and the built in dribbler makes it that much easier to get the load that I want to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014

Very good! I would recommend this scale.

By
Easy to use! Good value for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 29, 2014

Lasted two weeks

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I bought this scale and immediately noticed an issue with the on/off switch. After two weeks, it would turn on, but not off. To turn it off I had to unplug the power cable.
Took it back to Cabela's and they were prompt and professional in reversing the charges.
I can't recommend this scale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

Good scale, not perfect.

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Scale works well most of the time. Once in a while it screws up by switching to grams from grains. Also it will lose it's zero, and cause a mismeasure of .1 or .2 grains over. This is very disconcerting, and so I have to keep a mechanical scale and spot check every 4th or 5th round. I have dicussed this with a rep from Cabelas and they have offered to switch or trade it. I believe the problem is static electricity, and seams to be under control by using a ground wire for static discharge and a rubber insulating mat under the scale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2013

Wonderful scale

By
Country: Mexico
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I did weigh bullets and brass several times, and the accuracy of this scale is impressive, always did repeat the same reading, the scale, only a time was calibrate, thi is a scale very reliable,but, it is necessary, follow the instructions for best results,great scale, it is a Lyman.
Thanks to the people of cabela's, your international service is exellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 9, 2013

Accurate - if you know its quirks

By
I read all of the reviews at Cabela's site and was on the fence about it. Picked it up anyway since I figured it would be easy to return if it wasn't reliable.
At first, I was unhappy! I let it warm up, I calibrated it, I made sure it was level. But after an hour of testing using an empty cartridge, a quarter, a pencil, and the calibration weights, it still drifted - A LOT! So much for "Anti-drift". And the directions are the reason it only gets 4 stars instead of 5, they are, IMHO, lacking.
Then a few days later I had a second thought, maybe I was doing something wrong. So I unpacked it again, and sat down to give it a second try, I'm glad I did!
It is very accurate, if you know its quirks!
First Quirk - the scale pad is magnetic sensitive. If you hold your hand over it, and you have a static charge, you will effect the reading.
Second quirk - IT IS VERY SENSITIVE! Blowing on it will register a weight value. Vibrations will register a weight value (I discovered this as my wife walked by).
Third Quirk - The scale pad likes to be "LEVEL"! After I leveled it, during my tests, I decided to try it "unleveled", it made a big difference! Also, this quirk pertains to where you place whatever it is to be weighed. At the front, things are lighter, at the back, things are heavier, UNLESS, you pay attention to the fourth quirk.
The Fourth (and most important) quirk - Let it settle between weightings! When you weigh something, after it has determined it has reached the exact value for that object, the Grain/Gram symbol will blink once. This goes for when you place something on it, AND when you remove something from it, and it returns to Zero. If you try and weigh different things quickly, it doesn't like it! I believe it has to do with it determining if the scale arm (under the pad) is finished moving. So, let it settle, and watch for the blink! And I noticed the more I used it, the more reliable it became. Maybe the arm needed to be "Broke in".
After the 2 hour test, after I found its quirks, I was able to get the exact same results, time after time, with the Quarter, the Pencil, and the empty cartridge, even after I unplugged it, moved it, leveled it, and calibrated it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 19, 2013

Accurate and NO drift - FINALLY!

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Picked this up yesterday when I happened to be in Reno. This unit replaces an XT1500 that wouldn't hold zero. I've been weighing an re-weighing different bullets and powder charges all morning. No drift, and accurate to 1/10 grain as advertised. I've not recalibrated it all morning and my beam scale (M5) says it's dead on. Good buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 17, 2013

Good Scale

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is a great scale. It's easy to set up and very accurate. The powder trickler is also a nice feature. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new digital scale.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013

lyman accu touch 2000

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Love it. repeats to the grain everytime.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013

Excellent Back-up

By
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Wanted to speed up my loading time and the bathroom scale was slowing me down. So after a little research I picked this Lyman Accu Touch and it was amazing right out of the box. Well built and really like the powder trickle that attaches right to the scale..5 thumbs up
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2013

No better than the cheap digital scales

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Easy to use? Yes. Do I trust it? Heck no. Even with the proper calibrating and zero'ing, the reading on the pan would vary by +/- 0.1 grains, and just by hovering the pan 1/4" to 1/2" above the scale, it would add another 0.2-0.3 grains. So, without actually putting anything on the scale, the reading would vary by up to 0.6 grains. Not exactly what I would call "The Rolls Royce of Reloading Scales" (Lyman's words). It's no better than my cheap digital scale that I hate using because of it's poor accuracy. (Except I spent a lot more for even worse accuracy.) It's going back, and I'm done with digital scales.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lyman Accu Touch 2000 Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 4, 2013

ACCUE TOUCH

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
VERY GOOD SCALE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 23