Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
45 out of 50(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for hunting or target practice

Date:September 23, 2014
These are good consistent shells. I use them for target practice in 30.06 up to 1000 yds and for whitetail hunting. Never failed me! It would get a 5 star rating if they would package them in larger boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable

Date:September 23, 2014
It's hard to believe my Mohawk shoots this 50 gr ammo at less than 5/8 in group at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:September 23, 2014
Top of the line ammo from a dependable seller.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady whitetail ammo

Date:September 17, 2014
The ammo shoots great. I shot an entire box with no jamming or misfires. Accuracy when shooting my .270 at 100 yards is as good as expected from any rifle round. Good bang for your buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:September 17, 2014
I purchased .300 win mag 150 grain. Awesome ammo flys flat and true. Hornady can't go wrong also great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.308 Hunting ammo

Date:September 9, 2014
My BLR loves the American Whitetail by Hornady in .308 cal. over the competition. My groups are tighter plus the price is lower.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornaday

Date:September 2, 2014
Hornaday is the only ammo I put through my rifles. It is the best ammo on the market.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome load

Date:August 28, 2014
I switched to the American Whitetail load on my .308 for a few reasons. it's readily available almost anywhere, its fairly inexpensive and it's actually a really great cartridge. I'm double-hole grouping at 100yrds, thats insane! love this round, I'm buying a ton of it! I've gotten three deer on nuisance permits with it already this summer (200+ yds)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Ammo

Date:August 26, 2014
Good hunting ammo and good price ! Won't let you down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady American Whitetail Ammo

Date:August 12, 2014
Shoot well in my .308
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't Go Wrong

Date:July 15, 2014
Good quality - great accuracy! Performance on deer is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

model 94 30-30 great ammo

Date:July 11, 2014
Shot over 5 boxes 30 -30 Winchester in my model 94. Tight groups 50 and 100 yards great ammo no problems will use for hunting also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Value

Date:July 9, 2014
I have yet to test this ammo in the field but it shot well from the bench and it a genuine value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not good for hunting

Date:July 7, 2014
I thought I would try this ammo sense Hornady is known for making good ammo. i sighted my gun in with the ammo (marlin xl-7 270) it it shot great groups at 150 yds. On one of the first days of open gun season in NC I shot about a 100 lb doe she immediately dropped to the ground but in about 15 seconds the got back up and went into some brush, I then waited a bit, then started tracking her there was no blood any where . I looked in the woods all night and into the early morning with no luck, from no on I just shoot federal 150 grain and have never had to track a deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very consistant

Date:May 13, 2014
Purchased these in 270 and 243 for hog hunting. They group very well for the price. I will also use these next dear season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOA in my Tikka T3

Date:April 1, 2014
Tikka T3 with Nikon Prostaff consistently shoots 3/4" at 100 yds with Hornady Whitetail ammo. I now own 3 dofferent rifles (Tikka, Marlin, Ruger) that all shoot sub MOA with Hornady ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:March 19, 2014
Great groups at 100 yards. Just as good as custom reloads. Worked great in my .308. The 8 point buck had a different opinion. But he made a few good meals.
I was so impressed with the .308 ammo I bought 100 rounds for my .243.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice shooting ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
nice ammo shoots well didnt try it out on whitetail yet but im sure it will work great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 18, 2014
The product is excellent, performs as expected. Shopping at Cabelas is soo easy, great on line service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Round

Date:January 31, 2014
I bought this round for my Savage 270 and couldn't believe the damage it did to a whitetail at about 75 yards. The buck dropped in its tracks. The bullet didn't pass all the way through, but found it in the skin layer on the opposite side. The mushroomed size was a little less than the diameter of a dime. Between the bullet and the bone fragments from the ribs, the lungs and heart were unrecognizable.
Hunting this round in the future, I'm only going to shoot neck or head shots to save meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 50