Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
59 out of 65(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bang for the Buck

Date:November 19, 2014
Took a 90 yard shot through the brush with my .30-06 and dropped an 8 point, DRT. Hit him in the neck and he just piled up, not even one step. Good pass through with an exit hole about the size of a golf ball. I checked the ballistics and figured at 90 yards the bullet was traveling approx. 2,650 ft/sec and hit him with 2,350 ft/lbs of pressure.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:November 18, 2014
This ammo is very accurate in my 243 out to about 200 yards. This is my comfortable shooting distance. I shot a doe today at 100 yards and it was a pass thru but I didn't find any blood for 50 or so yards. It was specs of blood in the snow. I don't know if it's the ammo or the small Caliber of the rifle. This was the first time deer hunting with it. This rifle is usually my choice for woodchucks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo

Date:November 18, 2014
just shot 2 whitetails, one was about 100 yards and the other about 150 yards with 30 06 150 grain american whitetail ammo,,,both went down at once and didnt move....great ammunition....buy some...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great price, great accuracy

Date:November 18, 2014
I was able to hold a 1 inch group at 100 yards with this ammo. Taking this in consideration with the price, I know what I will be shooting in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 18, 2014
Another great bullet! Super accurate!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best bang for the buck

Date:November 15, 2014
What a another great load by hornady. These group nice and my dad shot a buck with the 270 130gr he jumped three times and dropped dead. They also group tight also
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very accurate ammo

Date:November 14, 2014
I bought this ammo for my Tikka T3 270 Win. Sub 2" groups at 200 yards. I don't shoot a lot with my rifle so the ammo is probably better than that. Very happy with the accuracy, still have to see performance on deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo

Date:November 11, 2014
On 11/9/14 this ammo shot back to back 3 shot groups that were sub 0.5 inches outside to outside at 100 yards from my A-bolt 308 Win. I put the remaining 14 rounds away for deer season. This is excellent ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoots straight

Date:November 5, 2014
hits where you point it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not just for Whitetail

Date:November 2, 2014
These bullets are great! My 130 grain .270 ammo that I bought groups nicely with my Ruger American Rifle and Leupold 3x9. I haven't hunted Whitetail with these, but I know for a fact they will do the job. One round dropped an elk dead in his tracks. Whitetail should be a cakewalk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Consistant, shoots well.

Date:October 21, 2014
Very happy with how this Hornady ammunition groups out of my 336 Marlin. This was first time I tried this ammunition and compared it against the other brands I've used and decided this ammunition is what I'm sighted-in with and will use this November in Wisconsin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super Accurate!

Date:October 18, 2014
Wow, very happy with these Hornady rounds. Sub-MOA out of my Savage 110 at 100 yards. I used these on opening day and took two deer with two shots. Both were clean one-shot kills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy Camper

Date:October 15, 2014
I fire American Whitetail through my my .308 TIKKA T3 LITE. I'm simply amazed at the groupings. Not only that; after firing 20 rounds my shoulder isn't ground hamburger. Then there's the wonderful price. I don't know how they did it, but they done it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quality ammo

Date:October 14, 2014
This is a very good ammo and priced well also. I get the same results as with the high dollar performance ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bullet

Date:October 7, 2014
Very impressed with the accuracy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for hunting or target practice

Date:September 23, 2014
These are good consistent shells. I use them for target practice in 30.06 up to 1000 yds and for whitetail hunting. Never failed me! It would get a 5 star rating if they would package them in larger boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unbelievable

Date:September 23, 2014
It's hard to believe my Mohawk shoots this 50 gr ammo at less than 5/8 in group at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:September 23, 2014
Top of the line ammo from a dependable seller.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady whitetail ammo

Date:September 17, 2014
The ammo shoots great. I shot an entire box with no jamming or misfires. Accuracy when shooting my .270 at 100 yards is as good as expected from any rifle round. Good bang for your buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:September 17, 2014
I purchased .300 win mag 150 grain. Awesome ammo flys flat and true. Hornady can't go wrong also great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 65