Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 83 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
1
77 out of 83(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good so far

Date:June 2, 2015
Only shot one box of this in my 308 and was impressed. Little dirty but not horrible by any means. But 3/4" groups at 100 yards. And cheap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

150gr 300 Win Mag

Date:May 16, 2015
I zero it at 100 yds... No problem. At 200 yds, it's pretty sensitive to temp change. At 70 degress i can predicted were it hit. At 75 degrees, it was a spread of 3"? I rather buy PPU ammo, it's more predictable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great load

Date:February 5, 2015
Bought 2 boxes of Hornady American Whitetail and 3 PPU for my new Ruger American 7mm-08. sighted it in with the PPU and got a 2 inch group at 100 yds. tried the Hornady and got 3/4 inch with 2 in the same hole. This rifle likes the Hornady.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:January 29, 2015
Nice accurate low cost ammo. Lowest priced 7mm-08 in cabelas next to ppu. Recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:January 21, 2015
I bought this because I have not been able to find 7mm-08 brass cases for reloading and I am quite satisfied with these factory loads. Decently accurate in my Savage Axis II rifle. Have not tried them in game but this weekend I will see how they perform in feral hogs and axis deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Box, Trusted Name, Right Price

Date:January 20, 2015
Outdoor Life shot 1/2" Groups with this so it should put the bullet where it matters. Came in a pretty box, haven't shot, so what more can I say?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

group good

Date:January 13, 2015
the only reason I gave them a 4 star is I have not killed an animal with these loads yet very good groups on paper and the price is right
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:January 13, 2015
Looking around and comparing ammo for my .243 had me purchasing multiple brands of ammo. The knockdown power and consistency with this ammo was top notch. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

quality ammo

Date:January 6, 2015
Bullets group nicely. Harvested 6 deer so far this season with this ammo, no problems. Excellent performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredibly Impressed

Date:January 4, 2015
Hi guys,
I had to write this review after going out to the range over the season and out to the lease. First of all, rifles shoot different with different manufacturers and product lines - mine likes 150 gr Interlock out of Remington 700 LSS 300 Win Mag with a Leupold VXII 6-18x40.
I previously zeroed my rifle with the Superformance line of ammo but at 50% more expensive I thought I'd try this stuff out.
Impressed.
Got 1 MOA groups (1 inch at 100 yards, 2 inches at 200 yards 3 inches at 300 yards) when I did my part.
This is a fantastic value and I've tried a LOT of bullets. The Interlock is a great bullet and is essentially the same bullet design as Hornady's SST minus the red plastic tip.
Give it a try - you won't be disappointed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Whitetail ammo

Date:December 30, 2014
I own a number of different whitetail rifles but never owned anything in a 7mm-08 till this year, I bought a Ruger American in 7mm-08 at Cabelas, Great rifle by the way, very accurate and light. Its my new deer hammer. Hornady's Whitetail ammo in 7-08 feeds well, burns clean, and is consistent from shot to shot, averaging one inch groups at 100 yrds. I don't buy anything else. Shot two bucks and two does this year with this rifle/ammo in Nebraska. Three dropped within 50 feet. A big buck made it about 150 feet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best deer cartridges on the shelf !

Date:December 30, 2014
I purchased these when I couldn't get the brand I normally shoot in my weight , right out of the box t keyholes my group a 50 yrds and held a 1 1/2 " group at 100 yrds do yourself a favor and give these a try I did and had meat in the truck the first weekend !!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not for a Marlin

Date:December 16, 2014
Good, reliable ammunition. I do not recommend for a Marlin 336 as it sticks hard in the chamber after discharge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate !!

Date:December 4, 2014
savage 25-06 , bought these to try out because price was great. shots were touching each other at 100 yrd . cant beat that.. absolutely great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Quality

Date:December 2, 2014
For lower end ammo, these seem to have good quality control, unlike some of the other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent product

Date:November 25, 2014
Love my 7mm but to big for whitetails, till now! 139 grain bullet was Awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

More Than I Expected...!!!

Date:November 25, 2014
Made my 7mm-08 a one-shot take-down machine...
First four shots, four take-downs...Two Boar Hogs, Two Whitetail Bucks...Ranges 60 to 120 yards..
I expected Hornady performance, but this ammo exceeded my expectations..!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:November 25, 2014
Hornady makes good ammo and this is no exception. Very happy with the purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Bang for the Buck

Date:November 19, 2014
Took a 90 yard shot through the brush with my .30-06 and dropped an 8 point, DRT. Hit him in the neck and he just piled up, not even one step. Good pass through with an exit hole about the size of a golf ball. I checked the ballistics and figured at 90 yards the bullet was traveling approx. 2,650 ft/sec and hit him with 2,350 ft/lbs of pressure.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:November 18, 2014
This ammo is very accurate in my 243 out to about 200 yards. This is my comfortable shooting distance. I shot a doe today at 100 yards and it was a pass thru but I didn't find any blood for 50 or so yards. It was specs of blood in the snow. I don't know if it's the ammo or the small Caliber of the rifle. This was the first time deer hunting with it. This rifle is usually my choice for woodchucks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 83