Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
36 out of 41(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady American Whitetail Ammo

Date:August 12, 2014
Shoot well in my .308
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Can't Go Wrong

Date:July 15, 2014
Good quality - great accuracy! Performance on deer is outstanding.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

model 94 30-30 great ammo

Date:July 11, 2014
Shot over 5 boxes 30 -30 Winchester in my model 94. Tight groups 50 and 100 yards great ammo no problems will use for hunting also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Value

Date:July 9, 2014
I have yet to test this ammo in the field but it shot well from the bench and it a genuine value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not good for hunting

Date:July 7, 2014
I thought I would try this ammo sense Hornady is known for making good ammo. i sighted my gun in with the ammo (marlin xl-7 270) it it shot great groups at 150 yds. On one of the first days of open gun season in NC I shot about a 100 lb doe she immediately dropped to the ground but in about 15 seconds the got back up and went into some brush, I then waited a bit, then started tracking her there was no blood any where . I looked in the woods all night and into the early morning with no luck, from no on I just shoot federal 150 grain and have never had to track a deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very consistant

Date:May 13, 2014
Purchased these in 270 and 243 for hog hunting. They group very well for the price. I will also use these next dear season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOA in my Tikka T3

Date:April 1, 2014
Tikka T3 with Nikon Prostaff consistently shoots 3/4" at 100 yds with Hornady Whitetail ammo. I now own 3 dofferent rifles (Tikka, Marlin, Ruger) that all shoot sub MOA with Hornady ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:March 19, 2014
Great groups at 100 yards. Just as good as custom reloads. Worked great in my .308. The 8 point buck had a different opinion. But he made a few good meals.
I was so impressed with the .308 ammo I bought 100 rounds for my .243.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice shooting ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
nice ammo shoots well didnt try it out on whitetail yet but im sure it will work great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 18, 2014
The product is excellent, performs as expected. Shopping at Cabelas is soo easy, great on line service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Round

Date:January 31, 2014
I bought this round for my Savage 270 and couldn't believe the damage it did to a whitetail at about 75 yards. The buck dropped in its tracks. The bullet didn't pass all the way through, but found it in the skin layer on the opposite side. The mushroomed size was a little less than the diameter of a dime. Between the bullet and the bone fragments from the ribs, the lungs and heart were unrecognizable.
Hunting this round in the future, I'm only going to shoot neck or head shots to save meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST IN 40+ YEARS

Date:January 19, 2014
I have been shooting Federal rifle shells for over 40 years and never had a problem until the last two years and said it was time for a change and am I glad I did. Had .75" group at 100 yards and went into the field last season with confidence. Fired 3 shoots and killed 3 deer. Two of them dropped in their tracks, the other went 30 yards and fell dead. I will not shoot another shell other then Hornady. Buy them and you will not be sorry. The rounds were no problem going through my Savage 30-06.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady fan

Date:January 14, 2014
Performs well in a RemSS 30.06
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
I bought this ammo in 30-06. It is excellent quality and extremely accurate. Average group at 100 yards was .25 inches. Hard to take the time to hand load when factory ammo is this good!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Accurate!!!!

Date:November 22, 2013
I shot a nice 7 pointer at 150 yards, it was a easy track it only went 50 yards. This is great ammo for the price you cant go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:November 19, 2013
grouped nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not consistent when shooting multiple rounds

Date:November 19, 2013
Not consistent when shooting multiple rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
I use the .270 130 grain version and really like it. Though this ammo is cheaper at other stores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misfires

Date:November 17, 2013
Had bought a box in 308.
Had 5 out of 7 misfires while at the range to check grouping.The shells looked great but maybe there was a bad batch of primers.Did not try any more and finished with a box of reloads.Very disappointed.
Have used other Hornaday ammo with no problems
in my 30-06.
Will write Hornady about the problem I experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ammunitoin results for my browning bar 7mm

Date:November 17, 2013
went to the range with American white tail 7mm mag and my browning bar safari ll at 100 yards put three rounds down range 1 inch high bench shooting could almost cover all three shots with a dime this is my new go to ammunition now I am ready to go to the Wisconsin north woods and hopefully bag a buck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 41