Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
31 out of 35(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOA in my Tikka T3

Date:April 1, 2014
Tikka T3 with Nikon Prostaff consistently shoots 3/4" at 100 yds with Hornady Whitetail ammo. I now own 3 dofferent rifles (Tikka, Marlin, Ruger) that all shoot sub MOA with Hornady ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:March 19, 2014
Great groups at 100 yards. Just as good as custom reloads. Worked great in my .308. The 8 point buck had a different opinion. But he made a few good meals.
I was so impressed with the .308 ammo I bought 100 rounds for my .243.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice shooting ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
nice ammo shoots well didnt try it out on whitetail yet but im sure it will work great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:March 18, 2014
The product is excellent, performs as expected. Shopping at Cabelas is soo easy, great on line service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hunting Round

Date:January 31, 2014
I bought this round for my Savage 270 and couldn't believe the damage it did to a whitetail at about 75 yards. The buck dropped in its tracks. The bullet didn't pass all the way through, but found it in the skin layer on the opposite side. The mushroomed size was a little less than the diameter of a dime. Between the bullet and the bone fragments from the ribs, the lungs and heart were unrecognizable.
Hunting this round in the future, I'm only going to shoot neck or head shots to save meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST IN 40+ YEARS

Date:January 19, 2014
I have been shooting Federal rifle shells for over 40 years and never had a problem until the last two years and said it was time for a change and am I glad I did. Had .75" group at 100 yards and went into the field last season with confidence. Fired 3 shoots and killed 3 deer. Two of them dropped in their tracks, the other went 30 yards and fell dead. I will not shoot another shell other then Hornady. Buy them and you will not be sorry. The rounds were no problem going through my Savage 30-06.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady fan

Date:January 14, 2014
Performs well in a RemSS 30.06
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
I bought this ammo in 30-06. It is excellent quality and extremely accurate. Average group at 100 yards was .25 inches. Hard to take the time to hand load when factory ammo is this good!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly Accurate!!!!

Date:November 22, 2013
I shot a nice 7 pointer at 150 yards, it was a easy track it only went 50 yards. This is great ammo for the price you cant go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good value

Date:November 19, 2013
grouped nice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not consistent when shooting multiple rounds

Date:November 19, 2013
Not consistent when shooting multiple rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
I use the .270 130 grain version and really like it. Though this ammo is cheaper at other stores.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

misfires

Date:November 17, 2013
Had bought a box in 308.
Had 5 out of 7 misfires while at the range to check grouping.The shells looked great but maybe there was a bad batch of primers.Did not try any more and finished with a box of reloads.Very disappointed.
Have used other Hornaday ammo with no problems
in my 30-06.
Will write Hornady about the problem I experienced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ammunitoin results for my browning bar 7mm

Date:November 17, 2013
went to the range with American white tail 7mm mag and my browning bar safari ll at 100 yards put three rounds down range 1 inch high bench shooting could almost cover all three shots with a dime this is my new go to ammunition now I am ready to go to the Wisconsin north woods and hopefully bag a buck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Whitetail Ammunition

Date:November 5, 2013
Shoots very well out of my .243...Groups well and the price is right..Have not yet had a chance to try them on a whitetail...Thats the only reason that I gave it 4 stars. This ammo should do the job....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate.....

Date:November 5, 2013
Shooting the 6mm rem ammunition in my Rem model 788. She returned 1/8 MOA consistently at the range. And stopped a New Mexico antelope in his tracks at 180 yards. Great ammo. I hope I can find more.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Ammo wouldn't group for me

Date:October 29, 2013
Could not get this ammo to group out of my Browning A-bolt. Wound up settling on an alternate brand that grouped excellent. Different rifles like different ammo, and you have to play around with several types to see what they like. When you find the right stuff, stick with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Must be dreamin'

Date:October 26, 2013
This ammo is a dream to shoot. I'm an average shooter and my best group was 0.75" @ 100 yards. That's sub MOA quality ammo that costs as much as remington's cheap stuff but performs as well as the 50 dollar Hornady super performance gmx 150 gr. round. I tested this ammo in my new weatherby vanguard S2 300 win. mag. that I'll be using for my rifle hunt in Kentucky in November for whitetail. I'm buying 3 more boxes before Hornady wises up and jacks the price up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hunting round for my .30-06

Date:October 24, 2013
Can't say enough good things about this round. I have killed 7 hogs this year and the bullet performs perfectly. None of the animals took a step, nice/clean/ethical kill and deadly accurate in my .30-06 with 150gr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo

Date:October 20, 2013
I originally intended to go with Federal Fusion's for my .308 but Cabela's was all out with almost all .308 except a large stack of the American Whitetail so I bought two boxes. Went to sight-in and it shot excellent out of my Custom .308 Mauser. I took it out Mule Deer hunting and dropped a nice fork horn in his tracks at 225 yards. Bullet didn't exit but did it's job putting meat in the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35