Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition

Developed specifically for deer hunters, this ammunition is designed to drop big bucks in their tracks. Ledgendary InterLock® bullets and optimized loads create a specialized cartridge that delivers maximum terminal effect. High-grade components ensure pinpoint accuracy and consistent performance. Made in USA. Per 20.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
82
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
3
99 out of 107(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2016

Good Accuracy

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have found this ammunition performs well in my rifles. I get good accuracy from the loads. It doesn't hurt that it is relatively inexpensive.
I've yet to try it on deer and antelope, but I think it will provide yeoman service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2016

great ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
very accurate and hard hitting for deer. reasonably priced. As always Cabelas has good customer service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Great for the price

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Have had no failures to fire. Ammo goes bang and deer hit the ground. Bought it for the price and name brand. Does what I need it to.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Hornaday American Hunter

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Amazing ammo for the price! shoot 1 inch grouping every single time. Drops em where they stand. Great performance for the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Great bullet!

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I shoot a 7mm mag for whitetail and have been playing around with different rounds for awhile now. Shot two deer with this round (139 grain) this year and both did not go far. Very controlled expansion at all distances. Recommend this round to anyone shooting high caliber for whitetail.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

great performance

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased this ammo for my Granddaughter to shoot from her 7mm.08 and .243. She has taken two deer with this ammo both at +75 yards dropping one in its tracks and the other traveled only 15 yards. Since we do our own butchering we get to see the performance. In both cases it was impressive. Great ammo for deer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

HORNADY WHITETAIL AMMO

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I BOUGHT THIS AMMO IN 7MM-08 FOR A NEW MOSSBERG PATRIOT YOUTH RIFLE.
AWESOME. A FEW SHOTS AND IT WAS SHOOTING TIGHT GROUPS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

Great buy

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent price for Hornady ammo. I have ran about 30 rounds through my Savage 7mm-08 and love the tight patterns this ammo produces. I have not had the opportunity to see how this ammo expands on game. Up next is my Remington 270. Should be a good comparison. The Hornady Preformance ammo has always patterned well and taken many whitetails. Hoping for similar results so I can reduce my costs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

Great Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've always had good luck with Hornandy products whether reloading supplies or ammo off the shelf. Shot a deer this fall and it drop in its tracks can't ask for more than that!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 15, 2015

Some of the best

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Excellent round for whitetail, great expansion, along with accuracy out of my model 7 Remington. 7-08. I had forgotten how much I loved this gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

Good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have used a lot of different factory loads over the years. My experience with this ammo shows it to be pretty consistent shot over shot. Hand loads are always better, but this is pretty good factory ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Perfect for whitetail deer

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Sighting in with this ammo was easy. Less than three shots with three different calibers... all within a half an inch at 100yds. .243, .25-06 and .30-06 all shot perfectly. My wife harvested her very first deer last weekend with the .25-06. excellent shot placement and expansion was as desired. This has been perfectly suited for whitetail, but I suspect that it would do equally as well on pronghorn, maybe even hogs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2015

quality ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
shoots tight groups, excellent value/quality
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 13, 2015

May NOT work in SAVAGE 99C

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I tried to shoot these out of my Savage 99C and they would not eject.
The "claw" extractor could not slide down the taper below the rim to grab the rim to eject the shell. There seems to be less taper on this brand than any other.
On a bright note; I did continue to shoot a few more rounds through it, while popping the shell out each time and at 200 yards sight in, it grouped 1" moa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2015

Great ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Used this ammo on a Utah mule deer hunt. Shot my deer at 280 yards, one shot kill. Very, very accurate out of a Tikka .308 compact rifle. Great ammo at a great price. One inch groups at 200 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2015

May NOT work in SAVAGE 99C

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I went to the range yesterday, loaded the clip, fired and realized that once I tried to eject the shell..... The shell was stuck in the chamber. The ejector "claw" could not latch on to the rim because below the rim is not tapered enough. I fished it out and tried again with the next shot. Same result.
I have never had a problem with any other .308 Win shells made by Hornady or other companies.
If you own this brand in .308 Win, please compare with other types. The rim taper is shorter with these. On a bright note, I did give it 3 stars due that it did shoot EXTREMELY accurate at 200 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

Great ammo

By
I really like the american whitetail ammo have killed many deer with it. Will continue to buy hornady ammo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 3, 2015

Very Accurate, especially for the $

By
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Purchased 4 boxes and the ammo is consistent and accurate from box to box. Didnt really experience any flyers and the value for this being a Hornady brand is amazing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2015

Bad Ammo for a 30-06

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I tested this ammo off the bench at 100, 150, and 200 yards. At 100 yards, the rounds were 7 inches high, at 150 yards they were off by over 12 inches, and at 200 yards the rounds did not hit the target. Other ammo that I was using at the same time, in the same gun, where within 1 inch of dead-center at both 100 and 150 yards and within 2 inches at 200 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® American Whitetail Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2015

good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
shoot's well with my 270
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 107