Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs

Enjoy outstanding accuracy, optimal trajectory and devastating terminal performance from a sabot copper slug that incorporates some of the most advanced technology in the ammunition industry. The slug is externally skived and sports a polymer tip, resulting in excellent penetration and lethal expansion across a wide range of velocities. Its sleek profile gives an increased ballistic coefficient for flatter trajectories and longer effective range. Per 5.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
16 out of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing slug accuracy

Date:December 9, 2014
Shooting these sabot slugs out of my mossberg 695 is just incredible, the consistency of slugs passing through the same target hole I haven't seen from any other slug. My Ohio deer hunt this year was one shot one kill as a result. The terminal performance of these is second to none other hunters in camp firing 2 and 3 slugs, I truly only needed one. Highly recommend these and will use them for the foreseeable future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.20 gauge gave good groups

Date:November 3, 2014
The rounds performed well in my Savage Model 220 slug gun . At 100 yds., best 3-shot group was 1.2 inches. Unlike some other manufacturers of slug rounds, these chronographed close to the stated muzzle velocity on the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Fit for the Savage 220

Date:September 16, 2014
I tried the 2 3/4" trophy coppers and the remington accutips but these were the truest shooting and most accurate. Took out an apple at 100yrds on the 1st shot with them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent - in my shotgun

Date:January 22, 2014
Consistently accurate in my shotgun. Make sure you test them first in your gun before heading to the field. Late season deer simply folded and dropped in place at about 90 yards. Impressed with accuracy in field as well as on paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Slugs

Date:December 24, 2013
These slugs perform well in the field and on the range.
i would recommend to anyone. We are shooting them out of a Keystone Arms 20 gauge slug gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome slugs

Date:November 13, 2013
In the past I shot tipped barnes expanders out of my 12G mossberg with rifled barrel. That gun grouped very well but I wanted to try a 20 gauge. I bought a Savage 220F bolt, tried the accutips everyone recommends but was not impressed. These Trophy coppers shot well for me (I liked the 2 3/4" better than 3"). Got to test it out last weekend. The slug went in behind the front shoulder and came out the other front shoulder, stopped by the hide. Perfectly mushroomed, and did a lot of damage. Great blood trail and the buck didn't even make it 20 yards. Glad I have a bunch of them, thinking about picking up even more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes replacement

Date:November 12, 2013
I used the Federal Barnes for years and was very pleased . So this is the replacement it shoot well I can split holes at 100 yds. with my A Bolt Browning. I will see how it will do on deer this season
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Performance

Date:February 4, 2013
I selected the Federal Trophy Copper slugs out of a field of 5 competitors after firing them in my Hastings barrel for accuracy. I was pleased with 2" groups (3 shot) at 50 yds. I used them on a hunt in Ohio and dropped a 134 in. buck @ 100+ yds with one shot. Expansion was perfect, with approx. 1" exit hole.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great terminal performance

Date:December 21, 2012
1 shot, one kill. 158 yds with the range finder back to the deer stand.
buck never moved.
groups were over 2inches with sight in, but no rest just from the sitting and natural arm rest with sling.
3" magnums lots of power and perfect mushroom as the hit entered the back left and ended up passing through the far shoulder stopped by the hide...
great price with the rebate, with this performance id be willing to pay more
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellence on the range and on game

Date:December 4, 2012
Chose to use these slugs in 3" after trying 8 other slugs, including Remington, Winchester, and Hornaday. These were very accurate, although the 3" Remingtons were also very good accuracy. The Federals were best through the chronograph--others were supposed to be 1850, but were only 1500 fps. 3" Federal TCs were advertised 1900, they chronographed 1850. Chronograph your slugs! First doe I shot was a pass through at 40 yds and she ran 50 ft. Second was a buck at same range, bang flop. My gun is a new Ithaca Deerslayer 3. Buying 10 yr supply of Federals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Trophy Copper Slug

Date:November 14, 2012
I used this 20ga slug on a large Minnesota doe last week and the slug did amazing. My rangefinder read 98 yards shortly before I squeezed the trigger. The slug entered right behind shoulder on the near side, and broke the opposite shoulder passing completely through. I didn't think the 20ga had that kind of power. I tried the 2 3/4 and 3" TC slugs in my Savage 220F and the 3" shot better by a wide margin. Try them both and shoot whatever groups better for you. Paired with the Savage, these are a very deadly combo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Slug Performance

Date:November 8, 2012
I purchased seven different ammo types/loads to pattern my new Savage 220. While the Accutips were capable of a sub 2" group at 100 yards I was able to consistently put a 1"group at 100 yards and a 1.25" group at 150 yards with the 20 gauge 3 inch loads. This was performed utilizing a caldwell dft lead sled, but showes the potential these slugs have in the right barrel. I was somewhat concerned about using a 1900fps slug out of a 1:36" twist rate barrel, however the Savage 220 with the new sabot design of the trophy copper had excellent results. Federal copper loads are devastating on deer and you won't find me in the woods without them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Group

Date:November 7, 2012
I have been shooting the Federal with the barnes expander and have been very satified with it but thought I would try the Trophy
Shot only one 2 shot group at 100 yds with my scoped and rifled barreled Mossberg 500 group was under 1 inch.
Shot two deer one at 103 and one at 105 yards both deer dropped instantly.
Recovered both slugs that had pedal out exactly alike and were still in one piece.
I do like the copper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Seems like good ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
I only rated this 4 stars because I have not yet shot any of it, but the price was good and they ammo had some good stats.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First shooting with 20 gauge 2 3/4

Date:October 18, 2012
Finally got 4 boxes that were back ordered and I will be hunting with these this season. I got about a 3" group at 100 yards with my 1187 slug gun with a scope off the bench. this is better than any other slugs tried and I like the solid copper for deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Two hits, no blood

Date:November 19, 2012
First off I am writing about this slugs performance IN the field not on the range like most people seem to do. To me saying how accurate a slug is out of your specific gun/scope is almost useless information because every gun shoots slugs differently even in the same gun. I will say they did shoot well for me so I decided to try them.
Now to the good part. Opening day had a 7 point buck chasing a few doe. Doe walked by my shooting lane and I knew that spelled disaster for the buck as I knew he would follow in her path. Took the shot at about 50 yards and utterly dropped him in his tracks. He started thrashing around on the ground it was a done deal or so I thought... About half a minute later to my shock he somehow got back up and started running towards the woods. Took 2 more shots at him on the run and thought I completely missed as he didn't flinch. Waited 30 mins and looked for blood and found NOTHING I could not believe my eyes I thought my vision was going. Looked for at least a half hour for any sign of blood and called it a night. Next day found his tracks leading towards the woods and sure enough there he was laying on the edge of the woods no more than 40 yards from where I dropped him. Shot him twice, one hit dead center and the other above his front right leg in the shoulder. Shot in center passed right through him but I recovered the shoulder shot and the slug was perfectly mushroomed like you see in the pictures. So in the end there were 3 holes and NO blood. Even where he died there was no blood. I'm almost certain that if I had not hit him a second time we would not have found him as he would have made it into the woods with no blood trail to follow.
Bottom line in my opinion these 300 grain slugs just aren't big enough and don't create big enough holes or damage. I've used the 300 grain Hornaday SST's with the same results. I'm going to be switching to a bigger slug like Lightfields (546 grain) before I lose some buck of a lifetime.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

May be better in yours

Date:November 19, 2012
20 ga 3" used in Savage 220F at 100 yds 3 inch groups. I only have limited experiance as another brand and the discontinued Barnes Expanders go into 1 inch groups with this firearm. Worth a try as all slug guns are different, but would not stock up until I had tried them. Wish Federal would publish stats in real life slug barrel lenghs vs the 30 inch they provide data from.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Trophy Copper Sabot Slugs
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

DONT BUY THESE

Date:November 9, 2014
If you buy these, you run the risk of being extremely disappointed. I read the reviews of those who were happy and that is the luck of the draw. The quality control standards that went into making these shells is pitifully poor. I understand extremely well that every gun likes different rounds and brands so you all can save that speech. I have an Ulta Slug gun that I have spent nearly $300 over the years to find out what it likes and how it shoots what it likes and what it doesn't like. The rounds that it likes are the Barnes Expander Tipped that Federal discontinued. I shot sub 1" 3 shots groups with those and have the target to prove it. Now that they are gone I tried these Trophy coppers, because they appeared to be the answer to the discontinued Barnes Expander. I shot 5 rounds at 100 yds, and they were within 1" of each other regarding windage, but an 8" spread vertically. What this means is they are flying very straight, except with different muzzle velocities. My guns loves these, except the muzzle velocity in the box is strongly suspected to be all over the place which tells me that there was a screw up in how much powder went into each round.....within the same lot number. I expect different lot numbers with any manufactured to vary by 100fps as was told by a Hornady rep. You always want to get the same lot number. If the windage had been inconsistent as well as the elevation then I would know that my gun did not like these for whatever reason. When you can literally lay a 1 foot school type ruler over the rounds and cover them all, you know they are shooting straight, but the velocity is screwed up which is a issue with inconsistency in the manufacturing process. Again, for those that got a good group, wait until you open a box that is all over the place and you miss a nice buck at 200 yards because of the variation from one box to the next and even within the same box as mine were. My elevation on 5 shots spread over 8 inches but less than 1 inch wide and I was locked down in a led sled. No vertical movement at all while shooting. This is the same process I used to shoot 1" groups with the Barnes expander. An 8" spread turns into a 16" spread at 200 yards. I need my gun to shoot 200 yards. With an 8 inch spread, I am ethically limited to very close shots. What a waste of time and money. Now for those that think it is simply my gun that doesn't like these, please spare me any commentary. Buyer beware. Just bring back the quality of the Barnes Expander and I will try them again....maybe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.