Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition

Tipped bullet cavities offer consistent expansion across a broad range of velocities for devastating downrange performance. Grooved shanks increase accuracy in a wider range of firearms. Polymer tips and boattails increase ballistic coefficient for higher velocity, energy and less drop. The copper-alloy design achieves up to 99% weight retention even after deep, aggressive penetration and expansion. Nickel-plated cases prevent corrosion and aid in easier, faster extraction. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
89 out of 91(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

Nice bullet

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I shoot a 180 gr bullet, 3006. First deer I shot this Fall with a different brand, did not leave a blood trail, but the deer only went 50 yards. So I switched to the Federal 180 gr After the switch I have shot two deer and two bears, all with a great blood trail, but one just dropped. I plan to stick with the Federal...
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2015

Still Accurate and Dependable

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I first reviewed this load a couple of years ago when I was looking for a substitute for the discontinued Barnes TSX Federal load. These 300 Win Mag rounds group great at 200 yards with my Blaser R93 and have taken moose, caribou and elk with no problem. Living in California having a quality copper load from Federal is great!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2015

Amazing ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This bullet far exceeds my expectation. My .300 wsm was already a tac driver. With these bullets I have hit the same hole at 100 yards.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2015

Awesome Bullet

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Was shooting E-Tip and changed over to Federal. Sighted gun W/ 7mm 150grn. Shot five rounds and all money. Great non-lead round!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Great ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very tight groups with this ammo in 3 different guns. Have not shot an animal yet but expecting good things
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2014

copper bullets the only way to go!

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I tried three brands of "standard" ammo in my 300WSM and all three failed miserably. The lead core disintegrated on impact (on bear and elk) and All I found was the copper jacket. Penetration was very poor even at close range. I switched to copper bullets and have been very impresses with the performance on big game. Penetration has been great with 5 of 6 shots going clear through and anchoring the bear or elk. Only one shot on large bull elk was bullet
captured by the hide on far side of animal. Copper bullets penetrate well, retain all or nearly all there weight, provide plenty of shock and damage to produce quick kills, and will not poison you and your family with lead. In my opinion copper bullets are the only way to go especially with modern high speed calibers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

Great factory ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Used this in my Sako 300 win mag and this is great factory ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2014

always available

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought this in 300 win mag after having trouble finding any other premium ammo. This one is always available and easy to find. Plus side was I was able to get fairly decent groups with it (1.5 inches)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2014

I buy them because they do the job !!

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Federal Premium Vital Shok ammo puts big Elk on the ground and keeps them there. Sometimes hard to kill, but with good shot placement and the quality of Federal Premium Vital Shok will put meat in the freezer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 16, 2014

GOOD GROUPS

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very pleased with sub 1/2" groups at 100 yds. out of a factory rifle. Will definitely use it this deer season. The only negative is some of the casing have tiny dents, does not effect function but top quality ammo shouldn't have cosmetic issuses
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 22, 2014

California legal for big game and high velocity

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I chronograph my ammo prior to hunting. This ammo is has uniform velosity and is about 20 fps higher velocity than advertised. Sub 3/4 inch accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

Trophy Copper

By
This is a very accurate bullet. I was able to switch to this from lead without even adjusting my scope. Shoots better than lead all day.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Great Groups with knockdown power.

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Sub MOA 3 shot groups in my Winchester model 70 300 WSM. Deep penetration.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2013

Accurate and Deadly

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Chambered this in my 300 WSM for my first elk hunt. Dropped a bull at 420 yds. Passed through both lungs and exited out the front shoulder. The elk staggered for about 10 feet and dropped. Will be using this in the future in other calibers.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013

Highly performing & environmentally friendly

By
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I used 180 gr Federal Trophy Copper on my .30-06 Tikka T3 Laminated Stainless and was impressed with its performance. In sighting target shooting I was able to group bullets within 1 inch at 100 yds, and 2.5 inches at 200 yds (~4 inch drop, with rifle zeroed at 100 yds and 1.5 inch high).
At moose hunting, I instantly dropped a ~700-lbs (whole body) individual at 120 yds, with one bullet at the nape of the neck. The bullet went through the skull and lodged in the upper part of the jaw (this is what the butcher told me). It’s difficult to say what the weigh retention was, as I couldn’t recover the bullet. However, it certainly went through at least 10 inches of thick skin, neck muscles, a vertebra, and very hard head-bones, thereby suggesting both, high weigh retention and deep penetration power.
In equal circumstances, a Federal Nosler Partition bullet would have most likely provided a performance similar to the Trophy Copper’s. However, I prefer the latter for it does not have a lead core, which raises human health and environmental concerns. Moreover, according to Federal’s Web site, the Trophy Copper has slightly better ballistics at long range shooting (e.g. velocity and energy conservation, and trajectory).
This will certainly be my first choice bullet in the future, for large (180 gr) and medium (165 gr) game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2013

Accurate Hunting Cartridges

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought the Trophy Copper for my .300 win mag with the 180 grain bullets. I was able to shoot better groups
with this ammo than any other that I have tried. The specs on these cartridges are pretty impressive and they are reasonably priced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

300WSM 180 Grain Trophy Copper

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Definite five stars for accuracy. Tried it in 3 different rifles so far. Shoots MOA or better in all 3.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

Very Accurate

By
The loads were very accurate and I can't wait to see their performance on game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2013

Good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This ammo is potent and reliable.I have shot many rounds and the price makes it hard to beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 29, 2013

Federal Premium Trophy Coopper

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Deer don't stand a chance with this load..Best of the best..Give it a try..will be your AMMO of choice
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 28