Customer Reviews for FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition

FEDERAL PREMIUM Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition

Tipped bullet cavities offer consistent expansion across a broad range of velocities for devastating downrange performance. Grooved shanks increase accuracy in a wider range of firearms. Polymer tips and boattails increase ballistic coefficient for higher velocity, energy and less drop. The copper-alloy design achieves up to 99% weight retention even after deep, aggressive penetration and expansion. Nickel-plated cases prevent corrosion and aid in easier, faster extraction. Made in USA .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD GROUPS

Date:September 16, 2014
Very pleased with sub 1/2" groups at 100 yds. out of a factory rifle. Will definitely use it this deer season. The only negative is some of the casing have tiny dents, does not effect function but top quality ammo shouldn't have cosmetic issuses
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

California legal for big game and high velocity

Date:April 22, 2014
I chronograph my ammo prior to hunting. This ammo is has uniform velosity and is about 20 fps higher velocity than advertised. Sub 3/4 inch accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy Copper

Date:March 5, 2014
This is a very accurate bullet. I was able to switch to this from lead without even adjusting my scope. Shoots better than lead all day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Groups with knockdown power.

Date:January 14, 2014
Sub MOA 3 shot groups in my Winchester model 70 300 WSM. Deep penetration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and Deadly

Date:December 1, 2013
Chambered this in my 300 WSM for my first elk hunt. Dropped a bull at 420 yds. Passed through both lungs and exited out the front shoulder. The elk staggered for about 10 feet and dropped. Will be using this in the future in other calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Highly performing & environmentally friendly

Date:November 30, 2013
I used 180 gr Federal Trophy Copper on my .30-06 Tikka T3 Laminated Stainless and was impressed with its performance. In sighting target shooting I was able to group bullets within 1 inch at 100 yds, and 2.5 inches at 200 yds (~4 inch drop, with rifle zeroed at 100 yds and 1.5 inch high).
At moose hunting, I instantly dropped a ~700-lbs (whole body) individual at 120 yds, with one bullet at the nape of the neck. The bullet went through the skull and lodged in the upper part of the jaw (this is what the butcher told me). It’s difficult to say what the weigh retention was, as I couldn’t recover the bullet. However, it certainly went through at least 10 inches of thick skin, neck muscles, a vertebra, and very hard head-bones, thereby suggesting both, high weigh retention and deep penetration power.
In equal circumstances, a Federal Nosler Partition bullet would have most likely provided a performance similar to the Trophy Copper’s. However, I prefer the latter for it does not have a lead core, which raises human health and environmental concerns. Moreover, according to Federal’s Web site, the Trophy Copper has slightly better ballistics at long range shooting (e.g. velocity and energy conservation, and trajectory).
This will certainly be my first choice bullet in the future, for large (180 gr) and medium (165 gr) game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate Hunting Cartridges

Date:May 13, 2013
I bought the Trophy Copper for my .300 win mag with the 180 grain bullets. I was able to shoot better groups
with this ammo than any other that I have tried. The specs on these cartridges are pretty impressive and they are reasonably priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300WSM 180 Grain Trophy Copper

Date:February 19, 2013
Definite five stars for accuracy. Tried it in 3 different rifles so far. Shoots MOA or better in all 3.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:February 19, 2013
The loads were very accurate and I can't wait to see their performance on game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:February 5, 2013
This ammo is potent and reliable.I have shot many rounds and the price makes it hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Premium Trophy Coopper

Date:January 29, 2013
Deer don't stand a chance with this load..Best of the best..Give it a try..will be your AMMO of choice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

New Favorite ammo

Date:January 28, 2013
I used the Federal Trophy Copper Ammo in my 25-06 this year on 6 big game animals (4 deer 2 antelope). 5 were one shot kills. Three dropped in their tracks. The other two went maybe 30 yards before expiring. A doe antelope in Wyoming required two shots but I can't fault the ammo for poor shot placement (approx 350 yards first shot). The antelope only went 20 yards and bedded down where I was able to dispatch it after stalking closer. Devastating results with complete penetration. Really impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Trophy Copper

Date:January 2, 2013
Normally I shoot Federal Premium TSX ammunition, the trophy copper shot just as well, 1/4 inch group at 100 yards with my 300 WSM.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard Hitting!

Date:December 28, 2012
very accurate out of my 270wsm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a new benchmark in ammo business

Date:November 26, 2012
Precision of 1 ' groupe at 200M and a devastating impact.
aim at a non valuable part of your targeted animal like the neck because the damages made by this bullet is incredible...i dropped down a deer at 200M with a 300WSM, i shoot in the neck and dropped it down on its feet and twisted the neck 360° ...scary how efficient it is...and super precise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best ammo I have used

Date:November 20, 2012
Most accurate and hard hitting ammo I have ever used with single 30-06 180 gr shot at 510 yards stopping my bull elk this year in the Bob Marshall Wilderness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality every time.

Date:November 19, 2012
You can trust your hunt to this ammo. why spend all your time and trust YOUR HUNT TO A LESSER AMMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Premium® Vital Shok® Trophy Copper Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very happy

Date:November 19, 2012
Did the trick for me. Couldnt have asked for better. Dropped on the spot. Good accuracy.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.