Customer Reviews for TRADITIONS Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo

TRADITIONS Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo

An easy-to-use design renowned for consistent performance. Break-open action primes quickly, reduces cleaning time and ensures a seal for reliable 209 primer ignition in any weather. Double safety system includes a cross-block trigger safety in the trigger guard and a hammer safety keeps the gun from firing if the trigger isn’t pulled. Speed Load System enhances consistent accuracy by aligning projectiles perfectly with rifling and ensures consistency with various charges and projectiles. Ambidextrous hammer spur for cocking with a mounted scope. 26", 1-in-28"-twist, nickel barrel. Includes factory-installed and boresighted 3-9x40 scope with rangefinding reticle. Sling swivel studs. Aluminum ramrod. Reaper Buck Camo stock. Available: .50 caliber. Barrel length: 26". Overall length: 42". Weight: 6.75 lbs. Finish: Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Review 1 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 29, 2013

Traditions Pursuit

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This gun is a blast to shoot. Works like a charm and is pretty accurate for a muzzle loader. It was fun to show my boys how to load and shoot a traditional rifle.
Love the finish and the balance is right on. Only downside would be the cheap scope, but still worth the price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

jury still out

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Overall I like the gun but the scope was no good and hand to put a one on from another gun. It was not bore sighted because the scope was junk!!! Also the ram rod is to short and I had to buy an extender.
I just recieved the new scope scope to replace the one that came with it hopefully it will sight in!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2013

Nice Muzzleloader

By
Very good muzzleloader for the price
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2013

Traditions,Persuit,Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope combo

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I am new to hunting with muzzleloadeer. Got it for Christmas. Took it to the range.. Let me tell you , this is eazy rifle to use , easy to clean and price .... well it is the est buy one can ever make .You must check for scope mounts , most likely they will be loose . After a slight adjustment to the scope I was amezed with accuracy of this rifle. Shooting 100 grains of triple 7 powder and 300 grain Hornady SST-MU sabots all seven shots in the center . WOW !!!! . Just a great gun , love it and recommend it to anyone who wants to shot black powder rifles . Thanks
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013

Trigger

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After shooting this gun I returned it, and got a CVA Optima. My biggest complaint was the trigger. It was not light and had the worst creep of any gun i have ever owned (I've owned dozens). The Scope is junk and ran out of vertical adjustment. Also the scope was supposed to be Bullet drop compensating, however the instructions were minimal, and gave no idea where to start and at what yardages the comp was for. The O-ring in the breech plug was chewed up after being removed 3 times. Only reason I gave it a fair rating is that it did shoot 3 shots MOA at 100 yards...not near the bullseye but decent placement regardless. My friends shoot the vortek and love it. So either spend more money on a "better" traditions or go w the Optima. Optima has great trigger and groups wonderful. Must also state that Cabela's customer service is 2nd to none...They had my optima to me the very next day after I complained about the Pursuit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013

Good Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
After reading several reviews and researching many muzzle loaders I decided to get the Traditions Pusuit Ambush because of the price and it already had a bore-sighted scope mounted. I checked to make sure the scope mounts were tight before sighting it in. My first three shots were 2 inches right and 1 inch high at 50 yards. Then the shots started going everywhere. I rechecked the scope mounts and they were loose. As I tightened them down, one of the screw heads pulled through the top scope mount. I have already replaced the mounts and the gun sighted in perfectly at 50yds, 100yds, and 150 yds using the scope reticles and 100 grains of Triple 7 poweder and 245 grain hornaday sabots.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013

Nice Gun

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Great gun for getting started in Black Powder. Open breach and breach plug makes it easy to load and clean. Used 209 primer caps and triple 7 pellets with .50 cal sabots. A little high out of the box but a few shots got 'er dialed in good. Love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2013

Great Buy!

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Purchased for my son as a Christmas present, After having to snug up the scope mounts took my son out to shoot his present. 2 shots and a little adjustment he was in the bulls eye. Very easy to clean and fun to shoot. I am going to purchase one for myself before our December muzzle loading season in Vermont.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2012

Not a bargain

By
I bought this combo on sale with intentions on using it on a upcoming hunt. Although I did not expect steller optics , I was hoping for a year or two of service, untill my budget allowed an upgrade. Scope was very loose when I recieved it so the boresight is a joke . But once reinstalled properly and at the range it took three shots to destroy the scope. It would not hold zerro at all. The gun was very solid and nice but for the price of the package with the junk scope and cheap rings You can get a better gun and install a dependable scope for just a little more.. Which is what I did .Stainless CVA Optima with a bushnell DOA250 muzzleloading scope and no regrets.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Very impressed!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great buy! This gun was on target right out of the box!. Only the slightest bit of adjustment was needed to fine tune it.
My first morning out I passed on a forkhorn chasing a big doe. But soon when a little doe cam racing past me for no aparent reason I figured that another buck was chasing her. Before I had time to think a beautiful 10 point buck was standing about 40 yards away. The gun functioned flawlessly and the buck was quickly dispatched. I really like this gun and can't wait to take it again later this year.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

The best buy you will ever make

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was new to hunting with a muzzleloader. I purchased this gun earlier this year driving 2 hours out to Cabelas to get it. I also purchased powerbelt 295 grain hollow points using 100 grain triple 7. When I was sighting this in, and after getting the shot on the paper, the gun and the scope that came with the gun, sighted in great and I was amazed on the accuracy as far out as 150 yards. After 3 shots you will have to brush out the gun. You will not be able to get a 4th loaded. That was ok with me because I figured only one shot in the field is all you will get.Well I hunted with the gun for the first time today and at 70 yards, I dropped a dear and right in the vitals. You can thread a needle with this muzzleloader. This price will be the best buy you will ever make. The gun is also a breeze to clean. This deer ran about 25 yards before dropping. The 295 grain hollow point powerbelt shot is the way to go. No need to spend a fortune on anything else. I can't stress enough to BUY THIS GUN!! You will not be disappointed. It was worth my 2 hour drive and will be worth yours too!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2012

Good purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
very easy to clean, nice to shoot was already sited in when I got it. I would recommend this muzzleloader to anyone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2012

fantastic accuracy

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I got this gun for Christmas last year and it shoots fantastic and accurate. Shoots just like guns that are three times the price. A big thumbs up.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2012

Great Gun For The Money

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
First shot was about 8 inches high at 100 yards. Not bad for a bore sighted gun. 1 adjustment and next 3 shots in the bullseye... Shooting 100 grains of 777 and a 240 grain sabot... Easiest Black Powder gun to clean I have seen. Black Powder season opens Saturday and I can not wait to have it in the woods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Traditions™ Pursuit™ Ambush with 3-9x40 Scope Combo ™ Nickel/Reaper Buck Camo
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2012

like it

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
i bought mine when it was known as the Ambush II just a mo. ago. It is accurate. After three shots to tune in,it made one big hole at a hundred yrds. It is a breeze to clean. I wanted stainless but nickle seems much better than blueing. Trigger is smooth and crisp. I would say breaks at 5 to 6 pounds. only thing for me was scope is to far forward and cant get back to have good eye relief because mount is as far back as it will go. Only solution would be to shorten stock which for me seems a little long anyway. My 2 friends say it fits them just fine so i guess I have a short pull. I dont think you can go wrong on this one. It does everything the average hunter needs and wants.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.