Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition

HORNADY Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition

Lock ’n load with Zombie Max. From Hornady’s Z-Max "Zombie" green-tip bullets to the "zombie-apocalypse survival tips" on the box, this ammo is sure to start fun conversations. Even better, its top-quality Hornady components ensure accuracy and smooth cycling through semiautomatic firearms.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 45 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
43 out of 45(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy Them !

Date:June 10, 2014
They wok great in my AR-15. No misfeeds or problems of any kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Defence

Date:May 1, 2014
Good self protection ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Collectable

Date:November 12, 2013
While the ammunition is excellent and I do use the regular bullets for my CCW I bought these to hold on to. They are so unique that I want to save them so that some day way down the road my kids will find them and get a kick out of the find.
And if the zombies do come, I'm ready.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Funny Marketing Approach

Date:October 29, 2013
This ammo is basically repackaged critical defense ammo from Hornady a highly rated self defense round. Bought for amusing stocking stuffer for Christmas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Collectible antique

Date:June 28, 2013
I purchase this ammunition because fact is Hornady Zombie Max live ammo is TRUE unique novelty . In the future Zombie Max will be antique. The perfect specimen to light up the room with, conversation... I personally collect this ammo, have not run this ammo through any of my firearms. Would give 5 stars~~> my opinion defiantly could use $light price adjustment...Cabelas thank you for outstanding customer service!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

test

Date:June 25, 2013
got a box just to try out. less recoil then you will think shots good self defense rounds costly for target rounds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo, same as critical defense

Date:June 25, 2013
Great stuff!! Its basically the same ammo as the C>D. except it has brass, not nickle plated casings, and a green polymer insert instead of a red insert. But its 1-3 dollars cheaper per box.Dont steer away from this quality jhp just because the cover looks cartoon like. GOOD STUFF
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Stuff

Date:May 7, 2013
No problems with the Zombie Max. Worked great in my Glock. Laid the boxes out on the bench at the range and had many comments. Good conversation starter. Zombies didn't stand a chance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

performs as advertised

Date:April 23, 2013
Zombie Max seems to be the same as the Critical Defense 9mm without the nickel plating. Fires fine in my LC9 and FNS-9. Wish I had gotten more while it was available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THE REAL DEAL

Date:April 2, 2013
ammo was above my expectation, very accurate, great expansion. shot well in my fnx .40
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zombie Max

Date:April 2, 2013
This is Hornady's critical defense round with green plastic instead of pink. Works well and a great conversation piece.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9mm Zombie Max w/ Sig P250C

Date:March 15, 2013
Tested this Zombie Max round with my Sig and had no issues with jams or accuracy. Put 100 rounds through and was pleased with the performance and would definitely use these rounds if zombies showed up at my front door.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

40 S&W

Date:March 12, 2013
As always Hornady makes an excellent ammo with quite a humorous twist. Even so, the same type of quality is there in every round and it shows.
Cycles flawlessly through my my FNS-40 but Is mainly for novelty use. In a pickle though, this ammo will function exceptionally well.
Well done Hornady!
Those who have jams with this ammo should chalk it up to having a dirty gun and/or poor maintenance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Zombie Max takes a deer

Date:February 20, 2013
I took a deer this year with my Springfield XD .45 and a Zombie Max at 25 yards. Deer went about 20 yards and dropped. I defiantly recommend these!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.380 Zombie Max

Date:February 12, 2013
No problems with these,They feed well in LCP and are as accurate as you are.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not the best

Date:January 29, 2013
After firing about 100 rounds in my ruger LC9 i would not recommend this ammo.It jammed 5 or 6 times and would not eject. I used Speer Gold Dot and had not problems with them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Zombie Max

Date:January 29, 2013
Shoots well in my Springfield 45. Wish would have bought more becasue I can't find any more and Cabela's website has "sold out" and usually it is backorderable. Guess have to slow down on my shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo same as Critical Defense

Date:January 22, 2013
Great defense ammo and I like the green zombie tips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great service

Date:January 22, 2013
Have ordered various types & calibers of ammo from cabelas,always prompt service & best prices anywhere.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® Zombie Max Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

If You Want to Kill Zombie's....

Date:January 2, 2013
this is for you. No, this is great ammo. I have never had a jam or problem with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 45