Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(235 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 235 reviews
5 Stars
160
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
206 out of 235(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
This ammo functions perfectly and leave no nylon residue. Use it in Glock and Beretta without problem. Great price for a great ammo !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy with my Ammo purchase

Date:January 7, 2014
Ammo showed up in time promised
very satisfied
I know ammo is hard to find and purchase these days and without getting into the reasons for the ammo shortage I would sure like to see Cabelas find a way to offer 22 long rifle ammo to its customers at a reasonable price.The cost of ammo has made it to expensive to do any recreational shooting .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Ammo

Date:January 7, 2014
Herter's is great ammo for th price. realiable on the range and accurate. I believe Federal makes it but whatever you can't beat it for the price! Of cource it is not reloadable in any case other than brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Date:January 7, 2014
Great ammo. Have used it to sight-in my handguns. Works very good in my pistols. No misfires or rounds left in chamber. Recommend to all pistol users.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hereter's Ammunition

Date:December 31, 2013
You can not beat this ammunition for the price. I have had no problems with it and it is very clean. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great target ammo at a great price. I only hope is that the store can keep a the shelves stocked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GOOD, AVAILABLE AND CHEAP

Date:December 24, 2013
Never had a jam in my Glock 17. Seem as clean as other more expensive ammo. No problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable ny-clad

Date:December 24, 2013
Shot 300 rounds of this out of my sig at the range. I found it to be very accurate and I had absolutely no issues with reliability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good round

Date:December 24, 2013
good practice round function fine in Sig 226
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammunition

Date:December 17, 2013
Very reasonably priced and reliable Always shop cabelas for ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

practice ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
Great for plinkingG. No problem, no failures to fire or feed. Good price for shooting paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9MM Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
Rebranded CCI Blazer ammo
Using the NYCLAD boolit
Not a bad plinking round
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1 Bad bullet

Date:November 12, 2013
1 Out of 50 had no rim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45 ACP good ammo deal

Date:November 8, 2013
I got a few boxes for my new Ruger SR1911 CMD and it cycled without any problems. Will get more of this ammo in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad to find more

Date:October 26, 2013
I am so glad the ammo hoarders haven't gotten to this yet,I've managed to buy some online on 2 separate nights and even saw some at the Wheeling store tonite, If I can get back there in a couple of days and there's still some left I just might buy it all.It's that good.I shoot a Shield 9MM and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent range ammo

Date:October 25, 2013
This is pretty much my favorite range ammo. It's cheap, and I've never had it misfire. What more could you want for target practice? I've heard of people getting nylon buildup in their barrels, which makes a certain amount of intuitive sense, but it hasn't yet been an issue with my Beretta PX4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo if not reloading

Date:October 22, 2013
I like the Herter's TNJ (total nylon jacket) ammo with non-brass casing. Zero issues in my Springfield .40 cal. XDM handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not shooting this again

Date:October 22, 2013
I purchased some of this ammo during the panic, as I needed some ammo to shoot.
It works fine if you are interested in a cheap trip to the range. The TNJ, however, causes problems.
I was shooting a steel match, and after the second stage could not hit the targets for my life. I was watching my misses and there was no consistency. Misses were all over the place.
After the third stage, I disassembled my pistol (92FS) and looked down the barrel. It looked like someone had melted a candle in there.
I gave the barrel a cleaning with a brass brush and patches.
Switched to another ammo and was fine for the rest of the day.
I wanted to be sure of my findings and went to the range the following week. After 50 rounds or so, the same issues arose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:October 15, 2013
200 rounds nothing to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too many Failure To Feed (FTF's)

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought a box of these for my Sig Sauer P250C .45ACP because they were on sale. Went out to the range today and had 3 FTF's in 50 rounds. That's too many for my taste. Other than with some re-loads from the range, I've never had any FTF's or FTE's with any other ammo that I've put through my Sig. I've used Winchester, Federal, PMC, CCI and American Eagle without any issues. I would caution people to try a box first to see if it works for your gun before buying a big quantity. Maybe it just doesn't work well with my specific firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent practice ammo

Date:October 5, 2013
Great value. Shot problem-free in my pistol and 9mm carbine. Only a single FTF, which was ~the 20th round breaking in a new previously unfired handgun. These are also fairly clean burning. I just ordered more for my next outing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 235