Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
178
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
234 out of 266(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 9, 2014

Excellent for gun training in Las Vegas

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Concentrating on the front sight in March I completed a 4 day handgun class. I purchase this ammo to shoot 700 rounds in the 4 day class. Lots of fun and this ammo performed flawlessly. Aluminum case with nylon coated bullets. Sounds bad but when u look at fmj rounds in copper, build up in the barrel can b a problem. With the nylon it doesn't stick to the barrel and seems to kind of lubricate it as u fire it. Feeding in both s&w m&p and glock 17 all in 9mm was no issue. No feed or extraction issues. Was very good. Was worried they wouldn't let me use it, rules say copper fmj but they didn't say anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

It go's bang every time

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
200 rounds. Zero issues. Fantastic low-cost ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

Not too shabby at all

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought this, as most would, for a cheaper alternative but also to check how nasty these cheaper round would make my handgun for cleaning compared to my regular purchases.
After a small dose of 150 rounds (100x 9mm and 50x 40S&W) we only had one miss-feed and that was in a mix-magazine of these TNJ and some other basic plinking rounds. Halfway through one of these didn't feed thoroughly or quickly enough. Racked it and was good to go.
Grouping was as average as ever, but I wouldn't put my "skill" as a review template for any round. At a mere 10 yards 3-round groups were within a dip can.
Herter's pricing and functionality for a cheap plinking round combined with Cabela's quick shipping, definitely hard to beat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Good ammo.

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Excellent product. Good value. Not one misfire......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Relatively inexpensive ammo for the range

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It is as cheap as I've been able to find and my S&W Shield 40 has no problem digesting and ejecting the casings.
I will continue to use it until I find something as good cheaper.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 30, 2014

Great budget ammo!

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've previously fired the .40 S&W in my hi-point pistol and carbine, and more recently I picked up several boxes of 9mm TNJ to shoot through my hi-point 995 carbine and PF9. I've always had good luck with this ammunition, never an issue. Sure it's a little dirty, but for the price, you won't hear me complaining!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

IT Works!

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Good ammo for the price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2014

Great value, Great price

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My fellow marksman have been looking forward to this ammo. Other calibers available would be great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2014

Good product for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My Zastava CZ 99 loves it, hates other cheaper ammo. I bought the gun used, and was regretting it until i used this ammo. Cheap gun, cheap ammo, who could ask for anything more?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Great Ammo!

By
Clean, inexpensive and reliable. I have shot
Thousands of these rounds through my 9mm
H&K USP and never had a jam or misfire. Dandy
Ammunition for the money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Good Value

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is good value ammo for punching paper and various targets at the farm. In the past few months I have burned through 300 rounds of 9mm without a single misfire or jam. The ammo worked flawlessly through both my Glock G19 and Kahr CM9.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Great Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Trouble free 9mm ammunition. Burns clean and very reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Good value

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Accurate, goes bang every time and no fails to feed in Walther PPQ. Lightweight aluminum cases and poly jacket allow one to carry more rounds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 18, 2014

Practice Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Fantastic price for range ammo, these days!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014

Not Good

By
The 9mm caused multiple failures. I went through 4 boxes and couldn't get through a magazine at least half of the time. It wouldn't always return to battery. Switched back to brass/copper...problem solved. No way I would ever buy it again. I've never had a malfunction before using this ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2014

Good deal

By
Picked up a few boxes of the 9mm to try out. Ran 100 rounds through a GLOCK 17 and had no problems (not surprising because it is a GLOCK after all...). Acceptable accuracy. I'm a fan, and will be buying more for indoor range use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2014

Would use it every time

By
Purchased this ammo for target practice fed well with no hangups, fired it in my hi point 9mm carbine and my Smith&Wesson sw9ve and it worked really well. Would definitely recommend this product as well as use it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014

Great practice ammo!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I'll take this over Winchester white box any day (which has a higher average rating here on the Cabela's website).. this ammo is cheaper AND cleaner shooting in my experience. I've never had a single FTF and I've shot several hundred rounds through my Springfield XD-S. I highly recommend giving them a try.. obviously you can't reload these, but for great practice ammo you won't be at all disappointed!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

Works

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Good price, goes bang, no issues with 200 rds, and is fairly accurate. It's perfect for range use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 4, 2014

nice ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I did not have any problems with this ammo worked great. wish I had more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 61-80 of 266