Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 228 reviews
5 Stars
156
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
15
200 out of 228(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 61 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good round

Date:December 24, 2013
good practice round function fine in Sig 226
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammunition

Date:December 17, 2013
Very reasonably priced and reliable Always shop cabelas for ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

practice ammo

Date:December 17, 2013
Great for plinkingG. No problem, no failures to fire or feed. Good price for shooting paper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

9MM Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
Rebranded CCI Blazer ammo
Using the NYCLAD boolit
Not a bad plinking round
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1 Bad bullet

Date:November 12, 2013
1 Out of 50 had no rim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45 ACP good ammo deal

Date:November 8, 2013
I got a few boxes for my new Ruger SR1911 CMD and it cycled without any problems. Will get more of this ammo in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Glad to find more

Date:October 26, 2013
I am so glad the ammo hoarders haven't gotten to this yet,I've managed to buy some online on 2 separate nights and even saw some at the Wheeling store tonite, If I can get back there in a couple of days and there's still some left I just might buy it all.It's that good.I shoot a Shield 9MM and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent range ammo

Date:October 25, 2013
This is pretty much my favorite range ammo. It's cheap, and I've never had it misfire. What more could you want for target practice? I've heard of people getting nylon buildup in their barrels, which makes a certain amount of intuitive sense, but it hasn't yet been an issue with my Beretta PX4.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo if not reloading

Date:October 22, 2013
I like the Herter's TNJ (total nylon jacket) ammo with non-brass casing. Zero issues in my Springfield .40 cal. XDM handgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not shooting this again

Date:October 22, 2013
I purchased some of this ammo during the panic, as I needed some ammo to shoot.
It works fine if you are interested in a cheap trip to the range. The TNJ, however, causes problems.
I was shooting a steel match, and after the second stage could not hit the targets for my life. I was watching my misses and there was no consistency. Misses were all over the place.
After the third stage, I disassembled my pistol (92FS) and looked down the barrel. It looked like someone had melted a candle in there.
I gave the barrel a cleaning with a brass brush and patches.
Switched to another ammo and was fine for the rest of the day.
I wanted to be sure of my findings and went to the range the following week. After 50 rounds or so, the same issues arose.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Deal

Date:October 15, 2013
200 rounds nothing to clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too many Failure To Feed (FTF's)

Date:October 5, 2013
I bought a box of these for my Sig Sauer P250C .45ACP because they were on sale. Went out to the range today and had 3 FTF's in 50 rounds. That's too many for my taste. Other than with some re-loads from the range, I've never had any FTF's or FTE's with any other ammo that I've put through my Sig. I've used Winchester, Federal, PMC, CCI and American Eagle without any issues. I would caution people to try a box first to see if it works for your gun before buying a big quantity. Maybe it just doesn't work well with my specific firearm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent practice ammo

Date:October 5, 2013
Great value. Shot problem-free in my pistol and 9mm carbine. Only a single FTF, which was ~the 20th round breaking in a new previously unfired handgun. These are also fairly clean burning. I just ordered more for my next outing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Won't buy again

Date:October 2, 2013
Bought 300 rounds, figured my new XDM would eat anything. Shot 150 rounds had at least 10 Failure to fires. They fed fine and all ejected fine, just had several clicks and no bangs. Primers had clear indentations. Previously shot 200 fiocchi, no problems, even shot varied self defense ammo and no issues, this was the only ammo that had any issues.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worthy

Date:September 27, 2013
Super ammo. Non-fouling. Great price. If you don't re-load and can live without having the spent cases, this is the stuff to stockpile. I'll keep getting it as long as its available.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's TNJ Ammo is excellent ammo!

Date:September 17, 2013
Saw this ammo in the catalog, sounded interesting, so I purchased some for my .45's. I am very pleased with the performance and accuracy of this ammo. Shoots very well in my Glock 36, my 1911, and my Ruger P345. No misfires or misfeeds in any of my firearms. Left my guns very clean after firing it. I will purchase more of this ammo. I also intend to purchase some of the 9mm when available to try it in my 9's. I would recommend this ammo to anyone....and have, to my friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quality ammo at an affordable price.

Date:September 14, 2013
I bought these and shot through 2 cases (100rds) and had no problems, misfires or other problems. They performed just as I expected. I will definately buy again at this price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not what you think

Date:September 11, 2013
This is a terrible product. In there video they showed after shooting the two same model SIgs that the barrels weight differently, right. But Herters leads you to believe that the barrel will not have any carbon deposits, which is true, no carbon. but it does leave nylon in your bore along with GP (gunpowder). Which both are weightless in small amounts.
The only plus to this product is it is light and it is cheap. I would not use this product again due to the fact that nylon buildup could cause a issue down the road.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good range ammo

Date:September 10, 2013
This ammo ran fine through my XDs 45acp. Not one problem what so ever. I would use this ammo again for practice. It 's price is competitive with other ammo's of this type. Happy with the purchase!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's - Inexpensive Excellent Choice

Date:September 10, 2013
I purchased Herter's Select-Grade TNJ for my 9mm Sig Sauer P250SC. At the time it was the only 9mm ammo I could find. I was a little leery of using the alum case ammo in my pistol for competition shooting, however I can say that after firing over 150 rounds in three sessions I must admit that the ammo performed extremely well and I would rate it as EXCELLENT. No misfires or misfeeds. I intend to buy it again and use it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 228