Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.349 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(235 Reviews) 235
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 235 reviews
5 Stars
160
4 Stars
41
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
16
206 out of 235(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

Date:January 16, 2012
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

Date:January 16, 2012
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Ammo

Date:September 10, 2014
Good, inexpensive ammo for target practice. Doesn't make sense to be firing the expensive JHP rounds all the time at the range. Ammo has been reliable, no misfires, feeds well into my Springfield. No complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammunitiom

Date:September 9, 2014
this is great ammo for plinking. cycles perfectly without jamming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alternative to shooting lead bullets

Date:September 9, 2014
I shot mostly steel targets, and must use lead at our range, The Herter's TNJ handgun ammunition is a great obtion and shots well in my Glock 34.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo!

Date:September 2, 2014
I bought a couple of boxes of this ammo to try and what I found out is that this is some great stuff! Very clean all of them feed fired and ejected flawlessly in my Taurus PT 92 AF. Iam sure glad that I did not listen to what others were saying about this ammo.i highly recommended this ammunition! I will definitely be buying more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters Ammunition

Date:August 10, 2014
I fire about 800-1000 rounds a month of 9mm and 45 ACP. Ammo is to expensive so I decided to try Herters in 9mm, I used both TNJ and the steel casing made in Russia at Cabelas. I fired both through my Sig P229 and Beretta 92 FS. TheTNJ alum casing seemed to have a little more punch when fired (had a weird smell to it). I fired about 150 rounds between both and had no jams or feed problems. the rounds were clean and fairly accurate. I think they are a good value and unlike what I have been shooting, no wasted rounds because of jams. . As cleaning, they were not any worse than any other ammo I used. And I've shot lots of the most common 9mm brands. Great for target shooting and better pricing than the others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dirty Ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
Was not pleased. Very Dirty with many jams and miss-fires.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TMJ as Practice Ammo

Date:July 29, 2014
I recently purchased a new pistol, a Smith & Wesson 1911 SC e in .45 ACP. Reviews praised the pistol but claimed it needed 200 rounds or so to break in. I purchased 50 rounds of the TNJ ammo and a box of "white box" from another manufacturer. The indoor range where I shoot requires no lead exposed in practice ammo. I shot 100 rounds of the white box and it left my gun quite dirty. It left powder residue streaks along along the muzzle and left residue all over the inside of my pistol and magazine. It also produced a noticeable smoke from each shot. I cleaned the gun thoroughly and fired 50 rounds of TNJ. It left the gun much cleaner and my perception is that it shot more consistently. I did not see any smoke from powder residue. It may have been that the pistol was benefiting from the first 100 rounds or it may be that the TNJ was just more consistent and much cleaner. Scientifically, I cannot prove either hypothesis. However, my impression was that the TNJ shot more consistently, gave me a better group and was clearly much cleaner than a competitor (the white box). I was pleased with the performance of the TNJ and now intend to make it my practice ammo generally speaking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional Ammo

Date:July 19, 2014
I have avoided aluminum casings historically and the nylon jacket was unfamiliar territory for me. I noticed the high rating and thought I'd give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by its accuracy and reliability. Clean shooting too. I have only shot 2 boxes of .45 ACP, but my pistol loved it. No failures of any kind. I will be buying it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TNJ Ammo

Date:July 14, 2014
I have expended about 350 rounds of 9mm & 45ACP TNJ ammo with excellent results. I did not have any anomalies with these rounds. Also, they are about 10-15% cheaper than other ammo with brass casings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells for Target Shooting

Date:July 9, 2014
Good for target shooting. My Glock recycles fine with out any hang-ups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Date:July 9, 2014
I have been using these shells at the range for over six months at least one a week. After all this time I have never had a jam or misfire. That is my shell of choice for my 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value.

Date:July 9, 2014
Really good disposable ammo. I like it for practice in my autos because I don't have to worry about finding my empties when finished.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good range ammo

Date:June 25, 2014
I put 500 rds through my 995TS without a problem. All were shot at an indoor range (25 yd max) so I can't speak for anything beyond that. I'll keep buying this for my range time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so good..

Date:June 11, 2014
Yea. Weird ammo. It went boom with a few exceptions. I'm not one to blame accuracy on ammo, but these were different. VERY dirty and strange jamming 10 times out of the 2 boxes I bought. Spend an extra buck and get a better bullet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:June 11, 2014
Really pleased with this ammunition. I had no feeding issues and found these to be very accurate rounds. No complaints at all.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Alternative and works great

Date:June 11, 2014
Product is an excellent alternative to more expensive brass ammo and the Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) is a bonus to boot ! After firing hundreds of rounds in my weapons, I have not found any deviation to results of my target shooting and have also found that my weapons are much cleaner as well. The barrels display very little of the debris found when shooting copper or lead projectiles and results in a much easier cleaning routine at the end of the day. I definitely would recommend this product. The only down-side I can find is that I wish they had this product in more calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems

Date:June 9, 2014
Inexpensive ammo with no problems. I've purchased the .45 and the 9mm and have had absolutely no problems at all shooting them out of Glocks and Beretta's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable ammo

Date:June 3, 2014
Good ammo for a good value. No problems feeding and no leading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 235