Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

By replacing costly brass cases and copper jackets with aluminum and nylon, USA-made Herter’s aluminum-case handgun ammunition keeps cost down while preserving clean-shooting reliability and accuracy. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality, round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) to replace expensive copper jackets. TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.359 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 209 reviews
5 Stars
142
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
11
1 Star
13
184 out of 209(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

Date:January 16, 2012
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

Date:January 16, 2012
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT AMMO!

Date:April 15, 2014
Shoots clean and the BEST PART.... VERY INEXPENSIVE! Ordered another case.... on backorder. Apparently more feel the same way I do!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent for gun training in Las Vegas

Date:April 9, 2014
Concentrating on the front sight in March I completed a 4 day handgun class. I purchase this ammo to shoot 700 rounds in the 4 day class. Lots of fun and this ammo performed flawlessly. Aluminum case with nylon coated bullets. Sounds bad but when u look at fmj rounds in copper, build up in the barrel can b a problem. With the nylon it doesn't stick to the barrel and seems to kind of lubricate it as u fire it. Feeding in both s&w m&p and glock 17 all in 9mm was no issue. No feed or extraction issues. Was very good. Was worried they wouldn't let me use it, rules say copper fmj but they didn't say anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It go's bang every time

Date:April 8, 2014
200 rounds. Zero issues. Fantastic low-cost ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not too shabby at all

Date:April 8, 2014
I bought this, as most would, for a cheaper alternative but also to check how nasty these cheaper round would make my handgun for cleaning compared to my regular purchases.
After a small dose of 150 rounds (100x 9mm and 50x 40S&W) we only had one miss-feed and that was in a mix-magazine of these TNJ and some other basic plinking rounds. Halfway through one of these didn't feed thoroughly or quickly enough. Racked it and was good to go.
Grouping was as average as ever, but I wouldn't put my "skill" as a review template for any round. At a mere 10 yards 3-round groups were within a dip can.
Herter's pricing and functionality for a cheap plinking round combined with Cabela's quick shipping, definitely hard to beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo.

Date:April 1, 2014
Excellent product. Good value. Not one misfire......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Relatively inexpensive ammo for the range

Date:April 1, 2014
It is as cheap as I've been able to find and my S&W Shield 40 has no problem digesting and ejecting the casings.
I will continue to use it until I find something as good cheaper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great budget ammo!

Date:March 30, 2014
I've previously fired the .40 S&W in my hi-point pistol and carbine, and more recently I picked up several boxes of 9mm TNJ to shoot through my hi-point 995 carbine and PF9. I've always had good luck with this ammunition, never an issue. Sure it's a little dirty, but for the price, you won't hear me complaining!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

IT Works!

Date:March 25, 2014
Good ammo for the price!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value, Great price

Date:March 23, 2014
My fellow marksman have been looking forward to this ammo. Other calibers available would be great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good product for the price

Date:March 21, 2014
My Zastava CZ 99 loves it, hates other cheaper ammo. I bought the gun used, and was regretting it until i used this ammo. Cheap gun, cheap ammo, who could ask for anything more?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo!

Date:March 18, 2014
Clean, inexpensive and reliable. I have shot
Thousands of these rounds through my 9mm
H&K USP and never had a jam or misfire. Dandy
Ammunition for the money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:March 18, 2014
This is good value ammo for punching paper and various targets at the farm. In the past few months I have burned through 300 rounds of 9mm without a single misfire or jam. The ammo worked flawlessly through both my Glock G19 and Kahr CM9.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammunition

Date:March 18, 2014
Trouble free 9mm ammunition. Burns clean and very reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value

Date:March 18, 2014
Accurate, goes bang every time and no fails to feed in Walther PPQ. Lightweight aluminum cases and poly jacket allow one to carry more rounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Practice Ammo

Date:March 18, 2014
Fantastic price for range ammo, these days!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Good

Date:March 16, 2014
The 9mm caused multiple failures. I went through 4 boxes and couldn't get through a magazine at least half of the time. It wouldn't always return to battery. Switched back to brass/copper...problem solved. No way I would ever buy it again. I've never had a malfunction before using this ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good deal

Date:March 15, 2014
Picked up a few boxes of the 9mm to try out. Ran 100 rounds through a GLOCK 17 and had no problems (not surprising because it is a GLOCK after all...). Acceptable accuracy. I'm a fan, and will be buying more for indoor range use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Would use it every time

Date:March 12, 2014
Purchased this ammo for target practice fed well with no hangups, fired it in my hi point 9mm carbine and my Smith&Wesson sw9ve and it worked really well. Would definitely recommend this product as well as use it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 209