Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(246 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 246 reviews
5 Stars
167
4 Stars
44
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
17
216 out of 246(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

Date:January 16, 2012
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

Date:January 16, 2012
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters TNJ 9mm Amunition

Date:April 20, 2015
I am using this in my Ruger SR9 and it shoots great. I have run probably 600 rounds thru this gun without even one jam. Gun cleaning is easier because the barrel does not get real dirty even after 50 rounds. I am very happy with it and the price is still low compared to many other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 9mm FMJ

Date:February 24, 2015
Great price, shot over 1000rds of this stuff with no problems at all. Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good...

Date:December 24, 2014
very reliable ammo and a very affordable price... highly recommend...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great in S&W M&P

Date:December 23, 2014
This ammo works flawlessly in my M&P 9mm, both full size and compact versions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

practice ammo

Date:November 12, 2014
god inexpensive practice ammo, just don't use in a pistol with a ported barrel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remarkable Ammo

Date:November 9, 2014
Just gotta say I bought this ammo with 4 other brands to find best suited for my Ruger and it was the only ammo of the 5 brands that cycled fully and fired all 100 rounds without a single jam!
My over all rating is 4.5 stars out of 5
The only flaw I found is you can really smell the after burn from the powder!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:October 28, 2014
you can't go wrong with this ammunition at all just the only thing I don't know is if you can reload these rounds or not but the accuracy is amazing there is no lock up no misfires every round was perfect I highly recommend anything by herters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Usefull

Date:October 24, 2014
Great ammo for the range, no hiccups through two boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice!

Date:October 21, 2014
This is good clean reliable ammo. I shoot this almost exclusively through a post war Husquevarna 9mm Lahti with no feeding or firing issues what so ever. I have used a few hundred rounds through an XD .40 also w/ good results but have started reloading for that caliber. Owning mostly older guns, I'm pretty diligent about cleaning, and really appreciate the lack of copper fouling, and clean burning, especially when compared to other non re-loadable ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:October 7, 2014
I bought this so I wouldn't have to pick up my brass all the time. I will be buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Jams

Date:September 25, 2014
This ammo will not cycle properly in my 1911 .45.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Ammo

Date:September 10, 2014
Good, inexpensive ammo for target practice. Doesn't make sense to be firing the expensive JHP rounds all the time at the range. Ammo has been reliable, no misfires, feeds well into my Springfield. No complaints.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammunitiom

Date:September 9, 2014
this is great ammo for plinking. cycles perfectly without jamming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alternative to shooting lead bullets

Date:September 9, 2014
I shot mostly steel targets, and must use lead at our range, The Herter's TNJ handgun ammunition is a great obtion and shots well in my Glock 34.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent ammo!

Date:September 2, 2014
I bought a couple of boxes of this ammo to try and what I found out is that this is some great stuff! Very clean all of them feed fired and ejected flawlessly in my Taurus PT 92 AF. Iam sure glad that I did not listen to what others were saying about this ammo.i highly recommended this ammunition! I will definitely be buying more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters Ammunition

Date:August 10, 2014
I fire about 800-1000 rounds a month of 9mm and 45 ACP. Ammo is to expensive so I decided to try Herters in 9mm, I used both TNJ and the steel casing made in Russia at Cabelas. I fired both through my Sig P229 and Beretta 92 FS. TheTNJ alum casing seemed to have a little more punch when fired (had a weird smell to it). I fired about 150 rounds between both and had no jams or feed problems. the rounds were clean and fairly accurate. I think they are a good value and unlike what I have been shooting, no wasted rounds because of jams. . As cleaning, they were not any worse than any other ammo I used. And I've shot lots of the most common 9mm brands. Great for target shooting and better pricing than the others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dirty Ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
Was not pleased. Very Dirty with many jams and miss-fires.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TMJ as Practice Ammo

Date:July 29, 2014
I recently purchased a new pistol, a Smith & Wesson 1911 SC e in .45 ACP. Reviews praised the pistol but claimed it needed 200 rounds or so to break in. I purchased 50 rounds of the TNJ ammo and a box of "white box" from another manufacturer. The indoor range where I shoot requires no lead exposed in practice ammo. I shot 100 rounds of the white box and it left my gun quite dirty. It left powder residue streaks along along the muzzle and left residue all over the inside of my pistol and magazine. It also produced a noticeable smoke from each shot. I cleaned the gun thoroughly and fired 50 rounds of TNJ. It left the gun much cleaner and my perception is that it shot more consistently. I did not see any smoke from powder residue. It may have been that the pistol was benefiting from the first 100 rounds or it may be that the TNJ was just more consistent and much cleaner. Scientifically, I cannot prove either hypothesis. However, my impression was that the TNJ shot more consistently, gave me a better group and was clearly much cleaner than a competitor (the white box). I was pleased with the performance of the TNJ and now intend to make it my practice ammo generally speaking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 246