Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.352 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(256 Reviews) 256
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 256 reviews
5 Stars
174
4 Stars
46
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
18
225 out of 256(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

Date:January 16, 2012
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

Date:January 16, 2012
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good range ammo

Date:January 26, 2016
Good range ammo. Burns clean and accurate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:January 19, 2016
never had any problems with this ammunition. I enjoy using when I'm not in the mood to pick-up brass.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Goes bang

Date:January 19, 2016
Cheapest 9mm I have found. Shot a couple boxes. No issues
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters TNJ 165 gr. 40 S&W

Date:January 6, 2016
Good target load for the money. I had put 100 rounds through my Smith and Wesson M&P 40 and had no problems whatsoever. No failures to feed, chamber, or fire. I have compared to various different types of ammo and the TNJ held up just as well as any other brand I have tried.
I recently purchased another 150 rounds of Herters TNJ and I will continue buying as long as it remains at its current price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

200 rounds shot today

Date:January 5, 2016
I just put through 200 rounds of this through 4 different handguns and can say this is great stuff. I really like how these shoot. They have a nice kick to them, they feel hotter than most other range ammo I've used and burn very fast and clean. I then cleaned all 4 guns later today and can say that they were much cleaner than the brass herters I usually use. I also really enjoy that these are american made by CCI, the same company that makes most of federals 9mm for them, hence why CCI blazer brass are identical to federals 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very dirty!

Date:December 30, 2015
I would not recommend this for a carbine unless you like cleaning your weapon. Currently I'm about 3 hours in to cleaning my .45 carbine and I'm still pulling blue stuff out of my barrel. It may be different in a pistol but I'm going to try and trade the other two boxes I purchased to avoid the same hassle. I will not buy this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good and Reliable

Date:November 17, 2015
I shoot Herters Nylon in both my Sig and my XDM. I shoot frequently and with a lot of different ammo, but I particularly like the nylon....seems to have more pop ! I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Used this Ammo Before

Date:November 10, 2015
A few years back I used this ammo, and I bought it again recently. I was very impressed the first time I used it and continue to be impressed. All rounds fired nicely and I need to buy more. Yep, I recommend to all my friends and family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WISH CABELA'S WOULD GET .45 BACK IN THE STORES!!

Date:August 14, 2015
This has got to be the best ammo we have ever put through our guns. We make an hour trip one way just to get it.
Very disappointed that they don't make it in a .380 but EVEN MORE DISAPPOINTED that we have not been able to get the .45 in the stores for almost a year now!!! Luckily the 9mm is still coming in regularly!!!
Despite repeated requests... still no .40 or .45 and no replies except "let customer service know".
We watched the .45 online for quite some time and it always showed (and still does) on BACKORDER. Recently it showed AVAILABLE so we ordered 5 boxes. 4 came in two weeks and we are STILL waiting on the 5th!
We have called in to customer service and talked to the store but still no luck in getting .45 ammo readily available in the store, and it seems to be a Cabela's exclusive :(
We brag and brag on this ammo and send people to Cabela's all the time to get it... LISTEN to your customers... PLEASE restock this in.40 BUT ESPECIALLY in .45!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's Blazin' aluminum nylon jacketed 9 mm ammo

Date:May 5, 2015
I've used this ammo in all four of my 9mm pistols and it works great! I've got a Sig SP2022, a Glock 19 Gen. 4, a Beretta M9 and an Arcus 98DA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters TNJ 9mm Amunition

Date:April 20, 2015
I am using this in my Ruger SR9 and it shoots great. I have run probably 600 rounds thru this gun without even one jam. Gun cleaning is easier because the barrel does not get real dirty even after 50 rounds. I am very happy with it and the price is still low compared to many other brands.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herters 9mm FMJ

Date:February 24, 2015
Great price, shot over 1000rds of this stuff with no problems at all. Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good...

Date:December 24, 2014
very reliable ammo and a very affordable price... highly recommend...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great in S&W M&P

Date:December 23, 2014
This ammo works flawlessly in my M&P 9mm, both full size and compact versions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

practice ammo

Date:November 12, 2014
god inexpensive practice ammo, just don't use in a pistol with a ported barrel
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Remarkable Ammo

Date:November 9, 2014
Just gotta say I bought this ammo with 4 other brands to find best suited for my Ruger and it was the only ammo of the 5 brands that cycled fully and fired all 100 rounds without a single jam!
My over all rating is 4.5 stars out of 5
The only flaw I found is you can really smell the after burn from the powder!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome product

Date:October 28, 2014
you can't go wrong with this ammunition at all just the only thing I don't know is if you can reload these rounds or not but the accuracy is amazing there is no lock up no misfires every round was perfect I highly recommend anything by herters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Usefull

Date:October 24, 2014
Great ammo for the range, no hiccups through two boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 256