Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.355 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(228 Reviews) 228
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 228 reviews
5 Stars
156
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
15
200 out of 228(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

Date:January 16, 2012
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

Date:January 16, 2012
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceptional Ammo

Date:July 19, 2014
I have avoided aluminum casings historically and the nylon jacket was unfamiliar territory for me. I noticed the high rating and thought I'd give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised by its accuracy and reliability. Clean shooting too. I have only shot 2 boxes of .45 ACP, but my pistol loved it. No failures of any kind. I will be buying it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TNJ Ammo

Date:July 14, 2014
I have expended about 350 rounds of 9mm & 45ACP TNJ ammo with excellent results. I did not have any anomalies with these rounds. Also, they are about 10-15% cheaper than other ammo with brass casings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Shells for Target Shooting

Date:July 9, 2014
Good for target shooting. My Glock recycles fine with out any hang-ups.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Date:July 9, 2014
I have been using these shells at the range for over six months at least one a week. After all this time I have never had a jam or misfire. That is my shell of choice for my 9mm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value.

Date:July 9, 2014
Really good disposable ammo. I like it for practice in my autos because I don't have to worry about finding my empties when finished.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good range ammo

Date:June 25, 2014
I put 500 rds through my 995TS without a problem. All were shot at an indoor range (25 yd max) so I can't speak for anything beyond that. I'll keep buying this for my range time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not so good..

Date:June 11, 2014
Yea. Weird ammo. It went boom with a few exceptions. I'm not one to blame accuracy on ammo, but these were different. VERY dirty and strange jamming 10 times out of the 2 boxes I bought. Spend an extra buck and get a better bullet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:June 11, 2014
Really pleased with this ammunition. I had no feeding issues and found these to be very accurate rounds. No complaints at all.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Alternative and works great

Date:June 11, 2014
Product is an excellent alternative to more expensive brass ammo and the Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) is a bonus to boot ! After firing hundreds of rounds in my weapons, I have not found any deviation to results of my target shooting and have also found that my weapons are much cleaner as well. The barrels display very little of the debris found when shooting copper or lead projectiles and results in a much easier cleaning routine at the end of the day. I definitely would recommend this product. The only down-side I can find is that I wish they had this product in more calibers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No problems

Date:June 9, 2014
Inexpensive ammo with no problems. I've purchased the .45 and the 9mm and have had absolutely no problems at all shooting them out of Glocks and Beretta's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reliable ammo

Date:June 3, 2014
Good ammo for a good value. No problems feeding and no leading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good, clean, but expensive

Date:June 3, 2014
I use this for target shooting and have no issues with cycling through my Glock 9mm. I really don't like spending a lot of money to shoot at targets, but untill they get more 9mm ammo in stock, it's not a bad choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding Ammo

Date:May 27, 2014
This ammunition always goes into battery. The powder burns cleanly. Pistol cleaning is much, much easier having fired the TNJ rather than the brass jacketed rounds. Only once has a cartridge failed to fire: after trigger pull and firing pin striking, cartridge was manually ejected, examined and the primer indicated a shallow firing pin strike. All other cartridges in the same magazine fired as expected. Replaced the once struck cartridge into another magazine with unfired cartridges. All rounds fired as expected with the exception of the one that had already failed. Upon examination and comparison with spent cartridges, it was determined that a second firing pin strike was evident upon the primer. Both strikes were shallow compared to the casings that had fired. This is a great practice round.
Five Stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

45 auto Herter's with TNJ

Date:May 25, 2014
Best deal you can buy if on sell. This ammo is Total Nylon Jacket and more cleaner then or FMJ and same accurate shoot . This ammo is post to bring the cost down but it more by $ 2.00. If like to try it buy it on sell like would with any ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor accuracy

Date:May 13, 2014
Took two boxes of the .40 cal to the range on two different visits. Both times, the accuracy was really terrible. I don't normally write reviews, but felt I had to warn others about this. I gave two stars only because there were no FTF or FTE out of the 100 rounds fired.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Range Ammo

Date:May 13, 2014
Simply put I love this ammo. The sales pitch includes the fact that it shoots clean. I can verify that, I shot the ammo in my M&P .40, M&P .45 and Ruger SR9 without malfunction and afterwards when I ran patches thought my barrels they were clean.
The ammo is lighter to carry to the range, I typically shoot 100-200 rounds through my .40 and 50 through my .45 per week. Price is competitive with my bulk reloads. and it's much cleaner. The groups are tighter than the reloads and consistent with the Winchester I have been using as my action shooting competition baseline.
I wish they came in a hollow point defense version. Now that I can carry concealed, I would love the weight reduction. Three mags of .40 can get heavy, and of course .45 is heavier. The aluminum case and nylon jacketing result in lighter weight round with excellent performance characteristics.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible Ammo!!!!!

Date:May 1, 2014
Today I went out and shot a box out of my CZ 75B and had two FTE. The Remington and PMC I shot worked flawlessly.
Glad I only bought one box. Would NEVER buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:April 22, 2014
I purchased this just to give it a try. Iwas well pleased with product. Functioned well through my Taurus pt940. Price was good product was good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 228