Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

HERTER'S Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition

Feed your pistol clean, reliable Herter's Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition and you'll immediately see the difference. Sized to incredibly precise tolerances, the nonreloadable, aircraft-grade aluminum cases cycle smoothly. Premium-quality round-nose lead bullets are coated with a Total Nylon Jacket (TNJ) that replaces traditional copper jackets. Our TNJ bullets are inherently accurate, and cycle fluidly through semiautomatics. As an added benefit, TNJ bullets eliminate hard-to-remove copper and lead fouling to keep your pistol performing at its best.  Made in USA. Per 50.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(266 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 266 reviews
5 Stars
178
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
12
1 Star
19
234 out of 266(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Good No-Nonsense Ammo

By
Location: Lincoln,Ne
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Picked up a box of the 9mm and 40 S&W on a lark. Used ammo in a Witness 40 & a Taurus 99 9mm. Ammo fed well, no surprises,no duds. Went bang like its supposed to. Very happy with this ammo, price excellent, and clean. Went back after range time and bought 2 more boxes. Highly recommend.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Herter's 9mm (Blazer) 115 gr TNJ

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I picked up a box today on the way to the range to check it out, having seen that this is now a new product for 2012, per Cabela's web site. I've never used any nylon jacketed bullets but having now shot this box, I was completely satisfied with the performance. Out of my 4" XD9, the velocity was 1167 FPS with a SD of just 8.6 FPS (10 shot average). Accuracy was very good with POI matching POA. A quick field strip at the end of the shooting session showed no build up of the nylon jacket material in the barrel. I also tried it in my XD9 sub-compact and found the performance to be very good there, with just a 76 FPS drop in velocity for the 3" barrel. I'll be using this at some of my upcoming training classes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

TNJ Handgun Ammunition

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great for indoor range that will not allow FMJ. Clean, no misfires, no jams. I will buy again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

Good cheap ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Good cheap target ammo. Worked every time I pulled the trigger. No FTF or FTE in my CZ75. I will buy it again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 25, 2016

Dirty and inaccurate

By
As others have reported, these bullets are dirty and inaccurate. These left my gun absolutely filthy after only 100rnds, it seemed extra smokey, and stunk like burning plastic (well that's obvious). I could be mistaken, but I did not seem to have the accuracy that I normally do. I did not have any feed issues, but I did have one FTE and a couple FTFs. After trying some other plastic coated ammo that's cleaner, more accurate, and doesn't stink, I will not buy these again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2016

Shoots n cycles well

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Went through 250 rnds of 9mm and 100 rnds of 40S&W.
Shoots well and very affordable, I already ordered more. Seems to be a very economical and clean ammo.
They do seem a bit snug n my 40 magazines however cycled perfectly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 20, 2016

Heavy Muzzle Flash from XdS

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Bought 2 boxes, one for my Ruger P89 9mm 4.5" and XDS 45 3.3"barrel to try them out. Shot 50 through my P89 without any problems, smooth, good recoil and no jamming. Shot through my XDS and had to take a step back....Big balls of flames, looked more like i had a lighter and can of hairspray than a XDS 45. Other than that, the rounds performed well. Followed up with 100 rnds of Winchester fmj's in each gun without any problems. Very clean, no heavy residue. These may not be the optimal choice for a 3.3" barrel but would buy again on sale but not at regular price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2016

Good practice ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Ran 100 rounds through my m&p 40 with no problems. Seemed accurate, good practice rounds!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2016

Good cheap clean

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I decided to try this because it was inexpensive and the reviews I saw sounded good. I ran it through my CZ 75, and my S&W Shield with no issues at all. I compared it to some American Eagle ammo, also 115G. The Herter's felt a little "snappier
' in my Shield, but that is just my subjective feeling about it. All in all though, it was reliable, seemed clean and was about a dollar or so cheaper per box. Now that I'm retired, I shoot about once a week with a friend, so over time, it will definitely end up being a good choice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2016

Shoots geat and price is very good

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have S&W M&P Shield .40 S&W - and the 180g
Rounds create a good kick, I bought these rounds which had 165g figuring they would kick less but still have punch.
The rounds fired very nice and less kick than 180g rounds. I was
Able to get a better grouping in less time.
I would use these rounds again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2016

Great range ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Shot through 100 rounds of this ammo in a Glock 26. It cycled and shot flawlessly.
This is a quality, USA made (CCI) round that is inexpensive enough to have a lot of fun with.
I will be buying more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Not bad for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this case to use at the range with my S&W shield .40 and they shoot well and with out any problem what so ever. the one thing I did not like was the fact that the projective was cover in blue pain for some reason. other than that they work great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

good range ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Good range ammo. Burns clean and accurate.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

good ammo

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
never had any problems with this ammunition. I enjoy using when I'm not in the mood to pick-up brass.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Goes bang

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Cheapest 9mm I have found. Shot a couple boxes. No issues
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2016

Herters TNJ 165 gr. 40 S&W

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Good target load for the money. I had put 100 rounds through my Smith and Wesson M&P 40 and had no problems whatsoever. No failures to feed, chamber, or fire. I have compared to various different types of ammo and the TNJ held up just as well as any other brand I have tried.
I recently purchased another 150 rounds of Herters TNJ and I will continue buying as long as it remains at its current price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

200 rounds shot today

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I just put through 200 rounds of this through 4 different handguns and can say this is great stuff. I really like how these shoot. They have a nice kick to them, they feel hotter than most other range ammo I've used and burn very fast and clean. I then cleaned all 4 guns later today and can say that they were much cleaner than the brass herters I usually use. I also really enjoy that these are american made by CCI, the same company that makes most of federals 9mm for them, hence why CCI blazer brass are identical to federals 9mm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2015

very dirty!

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I would not recommend this for a carbine unless you like cleaning your weapon. Currently I'm about 3 hours in to cleaning my .45 carbine and I'm still pulling blue stuff out of my barrel. It may be different in a pistol but I'm going to try and trade the other two boxes I purchased to avoid the same hassle. I will not buy this product again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2015

Good and Reliable

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I shoot Herters Nylon in both my Sig and my XDM. I shoot frequently and with a lot of different ammo, but I particularly like the nylon....seems to have more pop ! I highly recommend it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® Select-Grade TNJ Handgun Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

Used this Ammo Before

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
A few years back I used this ammo, and I bought it again recently. I was very impressed the first time I used it and continue to be impressed. All rounds fired nicely and I need to buy more. Yep, I recommend to all my friends and family.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 266