Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

FEDERAL Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can

A production overrun by a legendary ammunition manufacturer offers us a one-of-a-kind opportunity to provide you the same 5.56x45 ammunition that’s standard issue for the United States military. Manufactured by Lake City arsenal, this noncorrosive, steel-core FMJ ammunition comes on 10-round stripper clips packaged in 30-round fast-load cardboard boxes (420 rounds total). An included stripper-clip guide makes loading standard AR-15 magazines fast and nearly effortless. It’s all packaged in a brand-new, watertight, gasket-sealed .30-cal. ammunition can (10"L x 3"W x 6-7/8"H), a $19.99 value.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
32 out of 34(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Review 1 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Clean, great shooting ammo

Date:September 19, 2011
I purchased 1 box last week and shot the whole thing in one day at the range with my LMT 15. Rounds are clean, load fairly smoothly with the stripper clip and shoot straight and true...better than range ammo at 2X the price. I just ordered 2 more boxes. Stock up while it lasts....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fire as expected

Date:December 29, 2015
I'm about halfway through the case. No ftf. they seem to be nice ans consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good target ammo

Date:December 29, 2015
No issues running 200 plus rounds. Good target loads
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo

Date:November 24, 2015
This my favorite ammo. Catch it on sale, stripper clips, ammo can is a bonus. Not match grade but good shooting, no problems, goes bang every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good at 200 yards but not beyond

Date:October 15, 2015
When components for match ammunition were in short supply a couple of years ago I bought this ammunition for practice and brass. At 200 yards it easily holds the 10 ring on an SR target with a good X count. At 300 yards the best you can say is that it holds black and most shots are near the center; group is too strong a word. It burns clean and shoots about a minute flatter than my 69 grain HPBT loads at 200 yards. I have fired 2,400+ rounds with no problems. The cases are crimped, and they stretch enough on firing that every one has to be trimmed before reloading. Both my 1-8 and 1-7, 20" barrels deliver identical results. For a competitive shooter who fires half his shots at 200 yards, the difference in cost between this and reloads is more than compensated for by its convenience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Lickadee Split

Date:May 26, 2015
Easy loading and consistent fire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

plinking

Date:January 27, 2015
Gift to daughter and son-in-law inexpensive ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ammo and fast shipping.

Date:January 22, 2015
A great deal on fresh 5.56 XM855LC1 in a brand new .30 Cal. ammo can.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST BANG 4 THE BUCK

Date:December 17, 2014
THIS WAS MADE FOR THE BEST BY THE BEST
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Napa, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flawless

Date:November 23, 2011
Ammo arrived quick. My Ruger Mini-14 has no problem at all chewing up this ammo. Put over 150 rounds through with out a single issue!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent ammo

Date:August 20, 2011
I recently shot 300rds of this ammo in a tactical carbine class last weekend. No issues and worked great in my Bushmaster. It is reloads though. The ad does not say it. However, you are getting XM855 for close to the price of russian steel case ammo. It's a great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nv
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:August 16, 2011
Just received mine in the mail. Put a quick 50 through my M&P. no probs what so-ever, Ammo was in very good condition.. Ordering another......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: apache junction, az
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice ammo, great groups.

Date:August 10, 2011
This ammo is NOT reloads, this is some of the best shooting ammo I have bought, nice groups at 100, 300, and 600 yards, my bushmaster DCM eats this stuff up, my wifes custom built AR-15 can't get enough of it, both AR's have a 1-9 twist barrels 20" long, the only way you will only get better ammo is to load it your self, I will buy more next payday.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo, excellent value!!!

Date:July 21, 2011
Just bought 2 tins of this 1 month ago. Every round I tried fired from my AR either slow or rapid fire. Looking to buy more for my stockpile. I love the ammo tin, the stipper clips and the guide, all of which are very handy. This costs a little more than other brands but you won't get the watertight .30 cal can or the stripper clips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy Quick Delivery. Will do business again

Date:July 15, 2011
This stuff is new. It is over run. As the war is dwindling down and troops are beginning to slowly pull out LC has a surplus of this ammo. If they were reloads they would be marked "not for duty use" and I dont remember Lake City or federal selling reloads. All the rounds I received in my tin were NOT MARKED "not for duty use" and were beautiful with no dings or dent. I think people will look for any excuse to try and knock this ammo due to the price and the fact that a letter X is on the label. Cabelas would state if these are reloads or not Im sure and besides I contacted ATK and they said that they don not reload the ammo packed in these tins. The tins marked "Not for duty use" are simply rejected due to dings or dents and have not passed mil spec. The tins I receive from cabelas are always fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: dallas, tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo but a little surprised

Date:July 13, 2011
Didn't notice that it was reloads in the ad, but several dented shells later...Nevertheless, it shoots very well, no problems, love the stripper clips and BTW...this is light armor piercing ammo; also not in the ad...but dummy me didn't know what green tipped mil spec was. I do now.
go figure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value!

Date:July 12, 2011
As advertised. Federal is top quality ammo. Can't find anything better for the price. This is an Excellent value that only Cabelas could come up with!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome buy

Date:July 4, 2011
Buy this ammo while you can, shoots great, plus you cant beat the price of this 5.56 ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo, great deal

Date:June 30, 2011
Great overall package on this ammo. Upon careful inspection I found no dings or miscrimps on my rounds. This ammo is ideal for storage as it comes in a waterproof can and is safely stored on stripper clips.
A+ Cabelas, this is the kind of quality I have come to expect from you
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lakewood, WA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very reliable ammo!

Date:June 22, 2011
I have fired hundreds of rounds of LC M855 ammo through my Colt AR-15, and never had a failure to fire. This stuff fires straight and true every time, and this is a smoking deal with the ammo can and the stripper clips.
It has already been stated, but this stuff is NOT for sporter .223 chambered rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 34