Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can

FEDERAL Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can

A production overrun by a legendary ammunition manufacturer offers us a one-of-a-kind opportunity to provide you the same 5.56x45 ammunition that’s standard issue for the United States military. Manufactured by Lake City arsenal, this noncorrosive, steel-core FMJ ammunition comes on 10-round stripper clips packaged in 30-round fast-load cardboard boxes (420 rounds total). An included stripper-clip guide makes loading standard AR-15 magazines fast and nearly effortless. It’s all packaged in a brand-new, watertight, gasket-sealed .30-cal. ammunition can (10"L x 3"W x 6-7/8"H), a $19.99 value.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.649 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
35 out of 37(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Review 1 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Clean, great shooting ammo

By
Location: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased 1 box last week and shot the whole thing in one day at the range with my LMT 15. Rounds are clean, load fairly smoothly with the stripper clip and shoot straight and true...better than range ammo at 2X the price. I just ordered 2 more boxes. Stock up while it lasts....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2016

Good Practice ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great Ammo good price and a Storage can to boot. The price is good and when you tie it in with reduced shipping cost it cant be beat !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2016

Federal 5.56 62 Grain Green Tip

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Wow love this stuff. Simply the best bang for the buc. It shoots straight and it fires clean. After serving 20 years in the service; federal is still my choice. Good enough for my country.......good enough for my home.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
these ammo shoots cycles very well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Fire as expected

By
I'm about halfway through the case. No ftf. they seem to be nice ans consistent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Good target ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
No issues running 200 plus rounds. Good target loads
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

Ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This my favorite ammo. Catch it on sale, stripper clips, ammo can is a bonus. Not match grade but good shooting, no problems, goes bang every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2015

Very good at 200 yards but not beyond

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
When components for match ammunition were in short supply a couple of years ago I bought this ammunition for practice and brass. At 200 yards it easily holds the 10 ring on an SR target with a good X count. At 300 yards the best you can say is that it holds black and most shots are near the center; group is too strong a word. It burns clean and shoots about a minute flatter than my 69 grain HPBT loads at 200 yards. I have fired 2,400+ rounds with no problems. The cases are crimped, and they stretch enough on firing that every one has to be trimmed before reloading. Both my 1-8 and 1-7, 20" barrels deliver identical results. For a competitive shooter who fires half his shots at 200 yards, the difference in cost between this and reloads is more than compensated for by its convenience.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 26, 2015

Lickadee Split

By
Easy loading and consistent fire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

plinking

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Gift to daughter and son-in-law inexpensive ammo
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 22, 2015

Excellent Ammo and fast shipping.

By
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
A great deal on fresh 5.56 XM855LC1 in a brand new .30 Cal. ammo can.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2014

BEST BANG 4 THE BUCK

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
THIS WAS MADE FOR THE BEST BY THE BEST
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 23, 2011

Flawless

By
Location: Napa, CA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Ammo arrived quick. My Ruger Mini-14 has no problem at all chewing up this ammo. Put over 150 rounds through with out a single issue!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2011

Excellent ammo

By
I recently shot 300rds of this ammo in a tactical carbine class last weekend. No issues and worked great in my Bushmaster. It is reloads though. The ad does not say it. However, you are getting XM855 for close to the price of russian steel case ammo. It's a great buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 16, 2011

great ammo

By
Location: Nv
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Just received mine in the mail. Put a quick 50 through my M&P. no probs what so-ever, Ammo was in very good condition.. Ordering another......
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 10, 2011

nice ammo, great groups.

By
Location: apache junction, az
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This ammo is NOT reloads, this is some of the best shooting ammo I have bought, nice groups at 100, 300, and 600 yards, my bushmaster DCM eats this stuff up, my wifes custom built AR-15 can't get enough of it, both AR's have a 1-9 twist barrels 20" long, the only way you will only get better ammo is to load it your self, I will buy more next payday.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011

Great Ammo, excellent value!!!

By
Location: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Just bought 2 tins of this 1 month ago. Every round I tried fired from my AR either slow or rapid fire. Looking to buy more for my stockpile. I love the ammo tin, the stipper clips and the guide, all of which are very handy. This costs a little more than other brands but you won't get the watertight .30 cal can or the stripper clips.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2011

Good Buy Quick Delivery. Will do business again

By
Location: California
This stuff is new. It is over run. As the war is dwindling down and troops are beginning to slowly pull out LC has a surplus of this ammo. If they were reloads they would be marked "not for duty use" and I dont remember Lake City or federal selling reloads. All the rounds I received in my tin were NOT MARKED "not for duty use" and were beautiful with no dings or dent. I think people will look for any excuse to try and knock this ammo due to the price and the fact that a letter X is on the label. Cabelas would state if these are reloads or not Im sure and besides I contacted ATK and they said that they don not reload the ammo packed in these tins. The tins marked "Not for duty use" are simply rejected due to dings or dents and have not passed mil spec. The tins I receive from cabelas are always fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 13, 2011

Good ammo but a little surprised

By
Location: dallas, tx
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Didn't notice that it was reloads in the ad, but several dented shells later...Nevertheless, it shoots very well, no problems, love the stripper clips and BTW...this is light armor piercing ammo; also not in the ad...but dummy me didn't know what green tipped mil spec was. I do now.
go figure.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal® 5.56 NATO Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011

Great value!

By
Location: Colorado
As advertised. Federal is top quality ammo. Can't find anything better for the price. This is an Excellent value that only Cabelas could come up with!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 37