Customer Reviews for FEDERAL Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

FEDERAL Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can

Stock up now for high-volume shooting with 2,100 rounds of .22 long rifle ammunition from Federal. Ideal for small-game shooters, the 36-grain copper-plated hollow point bullet with a muzzle velocity of 1,260 fps provides reliable performance and accuracy. Includes a mil-spec metal ammo can (a $20 value) for storage, organization and transportation to the range. Per 2,100. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.774 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(124 Reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
104
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
121 out of 124(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Review 1 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Federal Champion is NO WINNER!

Date:June 5, 2012
I bought this ammo to use for target shooting using my Ruger 10/22 and Ruger Mark III pistols. The ammo is very inconsistent with many rounds which hardly ignite. The ammo lacks the power to cycle either pistol, perhaps 4 out of 10 hardly ignite. This ammo maybe OK in a revolver or bolt action weapon but not in a semi auto loading weapon. I tried several different boxes with the same result. I appreciate Customer Service taking care of my problem. Thank You.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Blythe, Ca.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Good

Date:October 19, 2011
Bought this ammo to plink with. Ammo will fail to feed and will not eject properly (stove pipe jam). Problem is not my gun. Loaded same clips, (OEM Ruger 10 round) with CCI (that I bought at Cabela’s) and the weapon functions properly. Cabela’s store policy is “no refunds on ammo”. May be I just got a bad box, but do you want to roll the dice? You buy it and the ammo does not work in you gun…you are stuck with 2100 rounds. On an odd note, the ammo has good accuracy. Was shooting at a 2x3 metal spin target and was hitting it at 100 yards shot after shot (when it did not jam).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Lower Power Ammo

Date:February 5, 2013
The price and delivery were fine, however this ammo lacks the necessary power to function properly in semi-automatic pistols and rifles. It continually jams. If you are using a revolver, lever or bolt action firearm it would be fine. Sorry I bought this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Federal Bulk has never failed me

Date:November 5, 2013
When it comes to plinking and letting my boys just rip thru the rimfire, the Federal red and blue box bulk has never let me down. Getting 2100+ rounds with a .50 ammo can was just the cherry on top. Wish this was available more often, I'd buy more!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent Bulk Ammo

Date:November 5, 2013
I like this ammo a lot. It has some drawbacks, but generally it works well. For a rifle it's great, though you may find 10 bad rounds per box. Never tried it through a pistol.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Plink Away!

Date:October 29, 2013
Good ammo for plinking with the kids. It is not match ammo but works just fine and is relatively clean for rimfire. In today's rimfire market this bulk can allowed for a couple weekends of fun without breaking the bank.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great 22lr ammo

Date:October 29, 2013
Good ammo at a great price, when instock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great to find

Date:May 21, 2013
In this season of 22RF rarity, this is a great find
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deal on ammo during lean times.

Date:February 5, 2013
Cabelas have done good with this deal. You get great ammo at a not to shabby price and a new steel ammo box to keep it in. Overall a good deal as times are so hard regarding buying ammo of any calibre.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Service good product

Date:February 5, 2013
Great service, only couple FTE on my 10/22 on around 100 rds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

affordable ammo with bonus ammo can

Date:February 5, 2013
Good purchase considering the extra ammo can. With all the problems going on in our county this time, it is the only ammo you can afford and enjoy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best deal on .22 ammo

Date:January 2, 2013
Definitely the best bang for your buck. It's the cheapest .22 ammo and it comes with a free mil spec metal ammo can. It's not the cleanest but at half the price of the expensive stuff. Who cares? Just clean your gun more often. Don't have any problems with it in my semi autos. Very few failure to feed or eject. Maybe 2 or 3 out of a thousand. That's less than 1%
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:December 18, 2012
Great and affordable container of FUN!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not match quality but excellent for plinking.

Date:December 18, 2012
I've gone through several thousand rounds of this stuff and while it is not match quality ammunition, it suits my needs perfectly.
In over 8000 rounds I have not had a single jam or failure in a CMMG .22 A rifle notorious for being picky about what it likes.
The M2A1 .50 cal. ammo can is a nice bonus as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang for your buck!

Date:November 27, 2012
I was pleased at the performance pertaing to that my weapon after 250 rds was surprising clean. In the past I have used other brands and was not happy with the accuracy and excess powder residue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I'd buy it again.

Date:November 26, 2012
I put about 150 rounds through my Savage Rascal .22LR
Of all the rounds about 10 didn't fire, and of those only 2 did not fire on a second try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ammo

Date:November 19, 2012
great ammo at a great price. The box is a plus that is really convenient for storing. If you get them on sale even better deal. Accuracy is good for my use (mostly hand gun target shooting and plinking). Lot of fun. Might have one or two round with uneven primer in a box, but that's expected from 22lr.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cheap but good

Date:November 8, 2012
if you are plinking or target shooting for fun you can't go wrong with this ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ammo

Date:October 22, 2012
Good ammo, works and fired every time so for in my Henry .22 LR Lever. As for shooting out of a Ruger SR22, not bad. Probably 1 out of 10 would either not cycle the slide/lock the slide back. Love the metal ammo box.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Federal Champion .22 LR Ammunition with Ammo Can
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ammo and Ammo Can

Date:September 17, 2012
Product was as described - no surprises.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 124