Customer Reviews for TRADITIONS Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black

TRADITIONS Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black

From stalking in dense brush to long shots in open fields, the compact and maneuverable Traditions Buckstalker .50-Caliber Muzzleloader does it all at a value-packed price. All of Traditions most popular features are built in. Speed Load System improves loading times and accuracy. Accelerator Breech Plug removes in three full rotations and requires no tools. 1-in-28" rate-of-twist blued barrel. LT-1 alloy frame. Dual safety system. Solid-aluminum ramrod. 209 shotshell primer ignition Barrel length: 24". Overall length: 40". Weight: 6 lbs.  Finish: Blued/Black.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.647 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Review 1 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Rifle

Date:November 18, 2014
This a very good gun for the price, lighter weight and comfortable shooting it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

centerfire

Date:October 14, 2014
Am very pleased with this gun, I was use to the old style and had not shot a center fire till now, its very easy to clean and load and was a snap to sight in only took 4 shots and its dead on. Very please
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!!

Date:November 5, 2013
Took this straight out of the box to the stand and dropped one. Best muzzloader I've ever shot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Value Black Powder Rifle Ever

Date:September 27, 2013
My father and I bought our rifles 2 years ago. They are both very accurate out to 150 yards. Both came with with scopes and starter its. This past season I was hunting in the mountains of VA and dispatched a 4pt buck @ 100 yards and the shot hit right where I was aiming. The day before I took a turkey from the same stand. I thoroughly love this gun and highly recommend it to all my friends. You won't be disappointed if you purchase one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun, Great value!

Date:July 8, 2013
Took the Buckstalker up on Mauna Kea in Hawaii for a couple of pig hunts. Two hunts, two shots, two pigs down! Both shots were at 100 yards in steep, rough terrain and dropped the hogs in their tracks. I added a cheap Traditions 3-9x40 scope and sighted in at 100 yards with Hornady 250 grain bullets and 110 grains of Triple Se7en powder. This combo seems to work well with this gun. 1" groups at 100 yards! I'll be buying a second Buckstalker for my son.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

1st muzzleloader - Traditions Buckstalker

Date:April 2, 2013
I recently purchased my first muzzleloader and really enjoyed my first time out with it. It's a whole new science and I really appreciate all of the expert assistance from Neil at the Glendale Cabela's store. He really knows his stuff and I recommend talking to him before you make a purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Exceeded my expectations

Date:December 6, 2012
I purchase this muzzleloader due to the low price and the good reviews. Being the season is short here in WI I didn't want to get anything expensive, but was nervous buying this entry level gun. The first time I shot the gun was opening day at a deer 70 yds away and it fell within 4 steps. The second time I shot the gun was this evening at the close of the season at the largest doe I have ever bagged, at 50yds, and it fell right where it was standing. The gun is extremely easy to clean and has been and absolute riot to shoot!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Muzzle Loader

Date:November 26, 2012
I purchased a Traditions Buck Stalker 50 Cal. Also purchased a Redfield Revenge 3x9x42 Sabot ML Accurange Scope to mount on it. The Buck Stalker was on sale and Redfield was offering a rebate on the scope, otherwise the scope would have cost as much as the gun.
I mounted the scope, bore sighted it with my laser bore sighter (purchased years ago from Cabelas). I took 6 shots (100 grains of Triple 7 pellets and the CVA Powebelt 295 grain hollow point bullet) and never had to touch the scope (I was either lucky and/or good in mounting and bore sighting the scope).
The Illinois Deer firearm season for 2012 was the weekend before Thanksgiving. Fired two shots with my Buck Stalker and two deer down (8 point buck and a really large doe).
I am happy with the Buckstalker as it hits where you aim. It is a lot easier to clean than my old 50 cal Traditions Lightning Bolt. The breech plug is easy to remove with your hand (3 full turns and no tool required).
So far, I am impressed with the gun, but I have only put 8 rounds through it (6 to check my scope mounting and laser bore sighting and 2 to harvest 2 deer).
The new accelerator breech plug uses an o-ring. I do not know how long it will last, so I purchased a spare breech plug from Cabelas as they had the best price. I also purchased a package of spare o rings. No one seems to stock the o-rings except the manufacturer (Traditions) so I had went to them to purchase the o-rings. I believe the breech plug and o-rings are the same as used on the Traditions Pursuit II rifle. I just prefer to have spare parts in the event I have a problem with an o-ring or the breech plug. The fact that the o-rings are not not readily stocked by Cabelas or any other fire arms dealers indicates perhaps the o-rings will last a long time if you keep them properly lubricated.
The ramrod is aluminum, which is a plus (I dislike the flex in the composite or fiberglass ram rods). The ramrod requires you unscrew and reverse the tip to extend the length of it in order to make it long enough to load a round with it. Not a big problem unless you happen to drop the short piece of it while you are up in a tree stand, so I suggest you take your time while you do your reload if you are in an elevated shooting stand without a solid floor underneath you.
I guess I am used to my single full length ramrod which came with my Traditions Lightning Bolt.
In summary the gun is easy to clean as well as easy to shoot and worth more than the price I paid for it. Again, I have not fired many rounds through it, but it performed the task at hand when I did use it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Accurate

Date:November 19, 2012
Because my muzzleloader hunting is somewhat limited I didn't want to spent alot of money. This one sure fits the bill, reasonable low cost, and very accurate with the open fiber opic sights, 5 shot group of 4 inches at 100 yards. Very happy and would recommend to anyone.
Thanks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Rifle

Date:November 14, 2012
I recently purchased the Traditions 50 Caliber Buck Stalker Muzzleloader rifle, in October 2012.
Accuracy at the range, and in the field was excellent at 200 yards with open sites. Used two 50 cal. White Hots propellants and 245 grain powerbelt bullets for deer.
Rifle is light weight, and very manuveralbe. Easy to clean, and did not require cleaning after every shot. I was able to shoot seven (7) shots before I experienced a hang fire, at the range.
For the money, you can't go wrong, and it is an excellent beginners muzzelloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great gun

Date:May 18, 2012
I actually have two of these guns One blued one nickel both have nikon scopes. If you put a quality scope on, this gun will drive tacks,.@ 50 yards I can have shot groups touching @ 100 the size of a 1/2 dollar Simple to clean simple to use. A great treestand gun
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Monroe, MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Gun for a Great Price!

Date:November 20, 2011
Never owning a black powder gun, I was unsure what to buy. This was a great price and easy to clean. I purchased a Cabela's PowderHorn scope and shot hole for hole and 50 yards (245grain). I have been hunting poor property for 10years and yet have got a buck. With luck and a great gun, I got 2 bucks on the same day. 40yds and 20yds. The shots were right on! I will be buying this gun for my father for christmas this year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: bugtussle, kentucky
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best gun for any price period!

Date:October 12, 2011
i just got this gun and let me tell you it is great, the breech plug removes without tools. it shoulders like a centerfire rifle, and the sights are great. and cabela's got it to me fast, i ordered on a sunday and got it wednesday and thats with a holiday on monday WOW! i fired 10 shots to set sights with blackhorn 209 and a 295 grain powerbelt. at 75yds with open sights i got my last three shots within 2inches. i can't wait to scope it, but with my early season 2 days away i had to just use the sights for now. but thats ok the fiber optic sights do their job, thanks cabela's for selling an affordable gun that i'd put against any other muzzleloader out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buckmaster Front Loader

Date:December 6, 2012
I purchased this gun a week before our muzzleloader season. I normally do not hunt muzzleloader, but a lack of archery deer this year forced me to buy one. Straight out of the box, with open sights this gun shot 3" Groups at 95 yards off of a railing. In the woods, it proved to be a reliable gun. 3 Shots = 3 kills. All were inside 50 yards, and all went less than 20. I am extremely pleased with this well handling muzzleloader.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My 1st and only.

Date:June 21, 2012
This muzzleloader is worth more than your going to pay for it. I picked mine up along with some triple7 powder and 295 grain powerbelt hollowpoints. So far she's turning out to be wonderful. id say 85 grains of powder or 2 pellets is plenty in this gun at 125 yards with a good shooter. Where I hunt optics aren't aloud. So the iron sites had to be reasonable. So far they are sub par but that's because I prefer a different style. If your in a treestand or in a ground blind this guns an awesome deer killer. Just remember to keep the barrel outside of the blind when ya turn to shoot. This gun was shorter than I thought.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:September 27, 2013
Lots of scratches in the bluing, dents in the end of the barrel from two days of hunting, I can see it's not going to hold up forever, but got the job done and I'm sure it will in the future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Traditions™ Buckstalker Muzzleloader – Blued/Black
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a good utility shooter

Date:November 19, 2012
I purchased a Hawkins , muzzel loader and found it was, just too pretty to use constantly. so I purchased the buckstalker to use as a everyday shooter .
I do not have to worry about scratches and such.the buckstalker, is a utility muzzel loader ,, strong and efficient. I'd recomend it for the novice,
and the daily shooter ..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.