Customer Reviews for CVA CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

CVA CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock

The evolution of CVA’s popular Accura is packed with features that deliver accuracy and performance unsurpassed by any other break-action in-line rifle. It sports a fluted 416-grade stainless steel Bergara barrel, recognized as one of the most accurate production muzzleloader barrels in the world. It’s 27", 1-in-28"-twist barrel and Bullet Guiding Muzzle™ deliver optimal balance, maneuverability, powder-burning efficiency and bullet stabilization. CVA’s (QRBP) quick-release breech plug is the only plug of its kind that can be removed easily with your fingers, even after repeated firings. No tools required. Stock and forend have a Soft-Touch coating and rubber grip panels to ensure a firm hold in any weather condition. Ambidextrous stock. Includes DuraSight® Dead On one-piece scope mount, CrushZone™ recoil pad, Quake® Claw® contour sling and aluminum extendable Palm Saver ramrod. Caliber: .50 Barrel length: 27". - fluted Bergara barrel. Overall length: 42". Weight: 7.25 lbs. Finish: Stainless/ Realtree APG™ .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Review 1 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a rifle!!

Date:January 12, 2014
CVA makes one great gun! My hunting buddy and I both bought one of these, and man have we had fun shooting them! We bought Cabela's powderhorn scopes for them. Very accurate and a smooth shooting gun also. We are shooting 3 to 4 inch groups at 150 yards. Not bad for two old blind guys! This rifle is at the top of my list ! Definitely my favorite gun to shoot at the range!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura V2 - This Is Fun!

Date:December 9, 2013
I am new to muzzleloading, so I spent a ton of time reading reviews and trying to better understand how to minimize my start up time and to eliminate alot of early mistakes.
With that being said, I selected PowerBelt 245 grain Aero Tip bullets, Blackhorn 209 powder, and Federal 209A primers. My original muzzleloader choice was the Thompson Center Bone Collector!
After additional research and having the opportunity to 'play' with the many options on the market, I changed my mind and selected the CVA Accura V2.
Prior to heading to the range, I mounted my Leupold scope without bore sighting it. In addition, I weighed enough Blackhorn 209 powder to create loads for (6) shots.
At the range, I set targets at (50) years and (100) yards. My first shot, at (50) yards, was approximately (1) inch low and (4) inches to the right. Remember, I did not bore sight the scope!
After a few adjustments, I was shooting approximately 1" groups at (100) yards. If I had more than (6) charges, I would have also tried to shoot at (200) yards.
In summary, the CVA Accura is really fun to shoot, and I am looking forward to my next trip to the range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just doesnt get any better!!

Date:December 4, 2013
I've owned T/C and two other CVA's and this is simply the best smoke pole you can buy. Out of the box had it @ 2" groups at 100 yards in 3 groups of 3 Last three you can see in the photo below. I highly recommend 100 gr of Blackhorn 209 with CCI primers and I used the Harvester Crushed rib sabots with 250 Gr Hornady SST's. The trigger is lite & crisp- No delay like so many others. The breach plug easily removes for cleaning and the feel of the gun is just about perfect from a weight to length perspective. CVA and the Begarra barrel are hard to beat!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product; Just as Advertised

Date:November 29, 2013
I recently purchased the Accura V2 combo with the Konus 3-10x44 Illuminated scope and case.
My particular gun seemed to have a problem in that the hammer was extremely hard to cock at times and wouldn't cock at all other times. I struggled with this at the range during my first shooting session. I also had a few misfires.
I determined that the misfires resulted from my not seating the primers properly. The firing pin nudged the primer forward without hitting it hard enough to fire the primer. Once I figured that out, I had no further misfires. I also figured out that the reason the hammer wouldn't cock was that the action needed to be closed with more force than I applied. By doing this I was able to continue with my range session. Afterwards, I broke the gun down and thoroughly cleaned and lubricated all contact points with synthetic gun grease. That seemed to cure the problem and I've had no difficulty in cocking the hammer since. Nor do I have to close the action with much force at all.
At the range I shot 100 g of Triple 7 pellets under a 250 grain Barnes Expander MZ hollow point bullet. The first 3 shots hit 3 inches low and 1 inch left of center in a 1.5 inch group at 100 yards. A minor adjustment brought the group to 2.5 inches high at 100 yards, again in a very tight group. It certainly is as accurate as advertised and is more accurate than I can shoot it. Note that I wasn't using a very solid rest and still got great groups. Cleaning the barrel after every 3 or 4 shots eased bullet loading even though the Barnes Expander MZ is designed to fit tight.
I like the thumbhole stock quite a bit and the soft texture with the rubber inserts can't be beat. I was actually going to buy an Optima, but I liked the Accura's stock so much more, along with the Bergara barrel that I bought it instead. My son was at the range with me, and we were so impressed with the accuracy and slight recoil (yes the combination of the weight and recoil pad really soak up any recoil) that I'll probably buy another one for him.
I can't wait to use it on deer and, in fact, I'll carry this in our upcoming shotgun season and let my son use the shotgun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA "Accurate" V2

Date:November 19, 2013
Very accurate out of the box after bore sighting scope,(two touching at 100 yards one inch above center). The Quick Release Breech Plug makes for the easiest cleaning ever! Looks great with thumbhole stock. Have used two other brand names in the past and until now have never achieved this kind of accuracy or ease of cleaning!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Stay far, far away from this!!

Date:October 16, 2013
Anyone who believes they got a bargain when they bought this rifle is only kidding themselves. Misfires are very routine and the accuracy is lame with proven components. There are other inlines available that are much better for comparable cost. I've had similar experiences with other CVA products but am not biased against the brand. I only like guns that work and CVA doesn't make them. Spend your money on another brand instead of rolling the dice in hoping you bought the one they managed to get right!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great inline!

Date:August 28, 2013
My first muzzleloader was the CVA Accura Stainless/Realtree APG with Thumbhole Stock.....bought it the year right before they came out with the V2, I should've waited. I paired my Accura with a Nikon Omega and I'm shooting 100 grains Triple 777 pellets with 245 graind HP Powerbelts. This year I'm switching to 295 grain HP Powerbelts.
Only down fall is the ambidextrous thumbhole stock, it’s not comfortable at all. I prefer the non-thumbhole stock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best inline muzzleloader

Date:March 5, 2013
I purchased the thumbhole stock model. Minnesota does not allow scopes for deer hunting, therefore I purchased the tru-glo ghost ring irons. The gun is very accurate and ergonomic. The only thing that I do not like is the extension for the ramrod, it should be attached to the stock somehow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice rifle

Date:February 12, 2013
Very nice rifle, I am well pleased with all the features on this rifle. Thought I would be changing the sling out,but this sling is as excellent at the rifle is. Very accurate gun, I would recommend this gun even though it is a little more expensive than some, it is worth the investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura

Date:December 21, 2012
I now own two CVA Accura's! One with open sights and one with a 4x12 set up to hunt states that allow scopes. I have been muzzleloading since WV first allowed a seperate season,,,I belive 1977. The CVA Accura is the best inline I have ever used. It will shot rings around my TC Pro Hunter,,so much so the TC is now on the trading block! I shoot Powerbelts, 100 grs of powder (Pellets)and it is deadly on deer out to 200yds! Their customer service makes TC look pale in comparsion!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accura V2/without scope

Date:October 31, 2012
It is everything I had hoped for, but was of no use to me until I received my front and rear sights. By not ordering the scope shown online which does not require mounted sights, I was at a stalemate until receiving them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BREECH PLUG AND POWDER

Date:October 24, 2012
The CVA Accura comes with a breech plug that is design to shoot pellets NOT loose powder. Went to range shooting Black Horn 209 and with in five shots, breech plug was hit had to leave range. Breech plug was so dirty and foul gun mis fired . If u want to shoot black horn or loose powder u have to order the loose powder breech plug from CVA. Cost 20 bucks plus shipping.This breech plug has a loose powder pocket.and much shorter fire wall. Went back to range with new breech plug, black horn 209,CCI 209m primers and Hornady sst 250 grain was shooting 1 inch groups off gun vice at 100yds 110 grains of black horn powder seem to shoot very well . Set up at 150 yds two inches low 2inch groups This is a great gun ! and will shoot great after home work is done! Thanks CVA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CVA Accura

Date:September 11, 2012
I am very, very pleased with this rifle. A three shot sight-in group was one holed. I have shot two 5 shot groups under 2" at 100. I am currently looking for a longer shooting range to try it out at 2 and 3 hundred yards. It has the smoothest off the shelf trigger of any gun I have handled. The finger tight breech plug is just that. Finger tight when you tighten it and finger tight 20 shots later when you clean your gun. And very little blow back pass the promer.
Have I said how much I like this gun?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for CVA Accura® V2 Muzzleloader-Stainless/ Realtree APC with Thumbhole Stock
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Western,PA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Fine MuzzleLoader

Date:December 25, 2011
I spent a lot of time trying to set up another brand of muzzleloader and finally gave up. I found that the CVA Accura V2 was highly recommended and the recommendations all proved true. I set the gun up with a Leupold Ultimate Slam Scope, 110grains Blackhorn powder and Hornady 240 grain xtps. it didn't take long till I had a nice group at 100 yards. crosshairs dead on at 100, first dot down good at 150 and lowest dot good at 200. If you're looking for a muzzleloader that shoots great out of the box, just get this one, look no further.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.