Customer Reviews for WINCHESTER Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000

WINCHESTER Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000

Designed specifically for the high-volume shooter using high-capacity magazines. These 40-grain, blackened, round-nose bullets are highly accurate, plated for reduced fouling and enhanced function, and they maintain reliable feeding in high-capacity magazines. Clean burning powder produces consistent chamber pressure and delivers a 1,255 fps muzzle velocity. Noncorrosive primers for consistent, sure-fire ignition. Made in USA. Per 1,000.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
59 out of 65(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Review 1 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2013

Problem Feeding

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
First time trying the M22s. Didn't like Ruger 10/22, didn't like Sig Mosquito, had a litle better luck in a Beretta Neos but not much better. Hopefully they will feed in my son's Marlin.
The Ruger and the Sig are well broken in and usually eat any high velocity ammo. Not only would it not feed, but the bullet would actually bend when it was caught by the slide on the Sig. The bullet would come loose from the shell and the shell would have a big dent in it. (I have never seen a .22lr do this before). This was fairly easy to clear from the Sig, the Ruger a bit more difficult.
The bullets are supposed to be jacketed with "black copper". It really just looks like a lead roundnose bullet except that it's not as messy. I think the jacket has something to do with the feed problems. The "black copper" is not smooth and doesn't seem very thick when you compare it to Super X, Golden Bullets, or Mini Mags.
You might have better luck, but I won't buy these again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 26, 2012

I cannot recommend.

By
Country: United States
Bought a 1000rd pack and after shooting the first 100 or so, I am getting rid of it. I have had failure to extract problems on my Sig Mosquito and Henry lever. They are also tight extracting on my Ruger Single 10. I have had failure to eject on the Sig with some other ammo, but I have never had to dig the brass out with a pocket knife like I have to with this stuff. Guns are clean and do not have problems with other ammo I had at the time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2012

Just plain dirty

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I really liked the look of this ammo. And the quality seemed very good for a rimfire cartridge. They're not the cheapest rounds to fire, so I thought they'd be good for my 22/45 LITE. The first 500 I fired were ok. Dirty at first, but not over the top. I cleaned it but after the second 500, it was keyholing. I put a brass brush through and found lead lodged 3/4 through the bore. After cleaning and firing another 200, it keyholed again. Lead and a lot of soot in the bore again. This didn't happened with Winchester or Federal bulk ammo. They always had 1 failure to fire every 20 rounds or so and kept getting jammed, 1 per 20. I'll stick to Federal bulk
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2012

No good for 10/22

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
After reading the product claims for this ammo I thought it would be perfect for running through my 10/22. I put in a clip of 10 rounds and it jammed 3 times. This ammo also produced heavy soot and left the action grimy; remember this was all after 10 shots. I definately would not recomment this to anyone. The shots that did fire were not producing consistent groups at 50yds. I will be staying commited to Winchester Wildcats.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2012

Not a very good lot

By
I've been shooting for more than 30 years and I bought a box of this ammo based on good reviews. I have a very reliable Remington Speedmaster and was trying to sight in a new scope. The tube magazine holds 15 rounds. Using a bench rest at 50 yards, accuracy sometimes varied 2 to 3 inches shot to shot. Sometimes a few shots would be on top of each other, sometimes a few inches over. I ended up plinking about 100 rounds and I had at least one failure to fire out of every 15 shots loaded. All had strong primer hits so I'm not sure about the cause other than the ammo. No problems with feeding or extractions and the carbon build up was very mild compared to some other brands in the past. I wanted full copper coated rounds to reduce lead build up in the bore but these have too many quality inconsistencies for me to buy any more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

A little pricey but it was available

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is "decent" ammo. It shoots well in semi, bolt and revolvers. Not too dirty and I had zero ftf/fte with this batch. The price was average but in the current market it is difficult to be picky. I would recommend it for those that need 22LR at this time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

OK

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I typically shoot remington golden bullet for a bargain ammo. I tried this because it was available and remington was not. I had more fail to load and fail to fire than anything but federal bulk. I use the ammo in Sig mosquito ,mp15-22, and walther p22. I put no in the choice box because it didn't work well for me. Everyone has their preference on ammo,but, you just have to try them all and see what works for you. I would not buy these again unless I couldn't get anything else.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Great value

By
With .22 lr being hard to get and a lot of "dirty" ammo out there, this ammo is a great deal. It shoots well and does not jam or gum up the action. I only wish there wasn't a quantity limit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2013

Great Ammo Great Price

By
Scored this ammo at 4.5 cents a round with shipping and it kicks butt for target shooting. Shoots great through my MP15 22 custom with no failures in the first 500 rounds so far. Will grab some more when it becomes available again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 30, 2013

Winchester M22 .22LR Ammo (1000)

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Good ammo for plinking but not as accurate as some other brands. It was an excellent price for the ammo since 22lr has become difficult/impossible to find at a reasonable price. It was backordered but did come to me in the timeframe Cabelas promised.
I would recommend to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

goes bang every time I pulled the trigger

By
And not bad as far as accuracy goes either
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

Good ammo, not perfect

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I'm happy with the ammo. Had a few stove pipes and inconsistent ejects, but that could be the rifle as well. Overall, I'm happy to have a big box of rounds to go through in an afternoon.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2013

22 LR Ammo

By
Merchandise has arrived on time tho alittle lengthy on the backorder but product was as described and in excellent condition. I would Cabelas again. The shortage of ammo has caused the expected delay.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

Great Deal

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Decided to try this ammo. One can't be particular with the current ammo situation! It shoots Great out of my Ruger Mark III . Will definately buy again when it is available!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 2, 2013

Fairly inexpensive, fairly accurate

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This round feeds well and groups from my Kimber conversion at approx. 2 inches at 75ft.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Winchester M22

By
This is good ammo if you have guns that lead-up quickly with non-plated ammo and aren't reliable with the cheaper plated ammo. My P22, which is very fussy, works well with this ammo. This ammo is reliable and accurate, and it won't "break the bank".
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2012

good bulk ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Worked well in my semi-auto pistol not CCI good but for plinking ammo they work very well
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

Good product for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I'm a handgun shooter. This ammo works well in my Kimber .22 - cycles well and groups well too. Not as accurate in my gun as Remington 36g HP, but that might be a quirk of my handgun. Clean and well made, a good round for casual plinking or small game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2016

works as well as cci ar

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought it to try in my M&P 15-22 as most ammo doesn't work that well (exc CCI AR & mini-mags).
The M22 (copper) works just as well as the CCI AR and at a much lower cost per round.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Winchester® M22 .22LR Ammunition – Per 1,000
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 24, 2014

Great ammo

By
I bought a 1000 round brick of this and it has turned out to be just about the best 22 ammo I have ever bought. I have run about 700 rounds of it through my S&W MP 15-22 without a single misfire or FTE. It burns reasonably clean and has proven to be repeatably reliable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 65