Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale

HORNADY Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale

A sleek, streamlined design and wire-free battery power supply (two AA batteries required, not included) save space on your reloading bench. 1,500-grain maximum capacity can handle any reloading application. Easy-to-read electronic display. Measuring pan and 100-grain standard calibration weight included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.147 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
61 out of 75(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Review 1 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2015

Poor accuracy

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I would not recommend this unit for reloading accuracy. I've had this unit for just over a year and after seeing some odd velocities, I compared it to another scale and even after the calibration says it is ok, it was reading 3-4 grains heavier. Even after calibration, I couldn't get the calibration weight to give the same reading twice in a row.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2015

Worked okay for about 3 months and thats it.

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I really really wanted to like this scale. I normally love Hornady products and have never done me wrong in terms of cases, bullets, case lube, etc. I bought this when shopping at the Cabelas Nevada store and figured why not. Got it home powered it up and calibrated it and it worked okay for a couple weeks. Then I started to notice that even sitting on a flat surface that the scale would be off anywhere from .02-.10 going up or down. Recalibrating it would stop it for a short while, but it always came back to doing that. I'm pretty sure the weights could be off too since I had a couple of very hot .38's work their way in with the relatively mild load I was working up.
Then one night into reloading a batch of .38 Special it just turned off. Changed the batteries and still no power, put in another pair and no avail, then switched to higher end Lithium batteries and still nothing. After which I pulled the batteries out and they weren't just warm, they were scorching hot! This scale has immediately found its way to my trash can and do not recommend it to anyone else. It's a shame Hornady put their name on this piece of junk.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2014

QUIT WORKING AFTER 6 MONTHS!

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Scales are too cheap and flimsy. You have to treat it like it's made out of glass. You can't even trickle the powder into the pan while it's on the scale. Nothing but junk in my opinion. I'm going to call Hornady and complain. Even in it's best days it constantly fluctuated. Had to calibrate constantly to keep it accurate. It finally got to where it was consistently 1.5 to 2 grains heavy. Don't waste your money!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2014

not worth the hastle

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My reloading set came with this "great" little digital scale. I thought it would be better and easier than my beam scale so I gave it a go. It worked good for the first few days but then it stopped keeping its calibration and needed recalibrated frequently (every 50 rounds or so). It would give different readings for the same charge each time I reweighed them. I trusted it and loaded up some light loads for my wife's rifle and took them out and tried them. I now have a bruise on my cheek where the rifle recoiled so hard. When I pulled the lead and reweighed the charge on my beam scale I was 8 grains heavy (past the maximum load charge by 4 grains) I was very disappointed. My wife bought me the RCBS charge master this past weekend and this cheap scale goes in the junk drawer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 23, 2013

Dangerous Junk

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Constant erratic readings of .2-.6 grains off when weighing the same item. I would weigh 1 load, pick it up then put it back on the scale and it be off from the first reading...not good. Scales need to be consistent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2013

Won't stay calibrated

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Scale jumps around with calibration one time is correct next time not then you can watch the weight drop with a charge on it this is my second one now first lasted a few months then died new one maybe two weeks used two times at the most used other item like bullet to test weight and will be way off don't waiste your money I'm calling hornady to complain
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 3, 2012

Worked for about 5 months - then quit.

By
What can I say... the title to this review says it all.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 10, 2015

Spend the money for a different scale

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had this for about 5 months. Worked very well for about 3 months and then I noticed that I needed more elevation adjustment to keep my shots on target. . Same loads, ballistic chart and conditions but the elevation needed to be on target got greater. Checked the calibration on the scale and it passed. Where I really got concerned is when I weighed some Berger 105gr bullets and they kept coming in at 110-111 gr. Purchased the Lyman 2000 and compared them. The Hornaday scale repeatedly weighed the same powder loads 2-3 grains heavier than actual. When calibrating the Hornaday says it is on but it is incorrect.
RRR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

GS 1500 Scale

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I wouldn't recommend buying this scale. It loses it calibration after 3 or 4 measurements and has to be continuously recalibrated.
If you want to spend your time recalibrating it buy it other wise find something alse.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Needs constant calibration...

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This scale needs to be calibrated constantly. It's recommended to let the scale warm up for 30 seconds before calibrating, which is fine and it seems to hold cal as long as the unit stays on. However, if the unit times out and powers itself off for a minute or two, when you turn it back on you will need to run the cal procedure again. It's really a hassle. Would not recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:June 25, 2013

had to return

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
digital readout would not zero. numbers kept fluctuating constantly. Had to return. New one working fine so far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:May 14, 2013

Display

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The numeric display is large enough but can only be read from straight on. The mode display is microscopic and difficult to make out even with a magnifier.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

info

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
hard to use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2014

ok for the price

By
works okay for the price. it need constant calibration. I have to calibrate it each time I turn it on. I would recommend it if one is not going to use it that much and would not recommend it for anyone that wants to be right on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

OK if you are quick

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Turns off after one minute. Not adjustable. Nice to protect the battery, but not at the expense of usability. Seems ok otherwise. Every time it shuts off it has be re-tared before use. Nuisance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2012

Decent unit for the money

By
Location: Canada, London, ON
Gender: Male
Presentation of the unit is as good as you can expect. As stated in other reviews it comes with a decent metallic tray, 100g calibration weight, fully backlit, and good storage case with magnetic flip lid.
I consider myself a fairly precise reloader, and I like my drops as consistant as possible. I measure every load I drop. I find this unit takes about a half hour of use to warm up before it begins to drop 'consistant' loads. Great buy for the money and I intend to keep using it. But it wasn't uncommon for me to drop 100 9mm loads then spot check a couple to find a substantial variance and then redo all my loads.
You really gotta pay attention to your initial pan weight and keep checking. Take time with this unit and not rushing the drops has been able to create very consistant ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 16, 2014

Fly Weight

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
My arrows with field tips were right on the bullseye, using my 185 lb crossbow. But when I used broadhead shafts, they were way off the mark! Both broadheads and field points are supposed to weight 100 grains. The broadhead bolts were grounders.
After purchasing a Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale, I found out that the broadheads were much lighter than the field points. Using the electronic scale changed the whole game, and provided answers to why accuracies were so much different. We got the answer we needed, to make much needed changes to accuracy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2014

Good for Quick Verification of Charge or Shot

By
Country: United States
Bought this little scale (with some doubts initially due to the low price) but due to the brand, figured it couldn't be too bad.
But I was surprised at the capability (different weight units and calibration with provided weight). Has a relatively high upper bounding limit so I can easily verify not only the powder charge in grains, but quickly switch over to oz or grams (if I want a more precise reading) to check the shot load.
Nice little scale that doesn't take up space on your loading table and can be tucked away quickly in the sturdy magnetic closure box with pan and calibration weight.
Good buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2014

Not bad for something so small

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I bought this as a back-up to my Hornady Auto Charge. It's very easy to use and it checks out perfectly with the Auto Charge weights. Not bad for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 13, 2014

Great, but Not for everyday use

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased this scale just to "check" my balance beam every now and then.
I also use it to set up my powder measure to check for consistency.
It's a great little scale but not for everyday loading use, for that I would rather recommend an electronic scale with a power supply.
This scale will eat batteries and increase your loading cost ;)
The "hunger for batteries" is the only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 75