Customer Reviews for HORNADY Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale

HORNADY Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale

A sleek, streamlined design and wire-free battery power supply (two AA batteries required, not included) save space on your reloading bench. 1,500-grain maximum capacity can handle any reloading application. Easy-to-read electronic display. Measuring pan and 100-grain standard calibration weight included.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.219 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
54 out of 64(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Review 1 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

QUIT WORKING AFTER 6 MONTHS!

Date:October 3, 2014
Scales are too cheap and flimsy. You have to treat it like it's made out of glass. You can't even trickle the powder into the pan while it's on the scale. Nothing but junk in my opinion. I'm going to call Hornady and complain. Even in it's best days it constantly fluctuated. Had to calibrate constantly to keep it accurate. It finally got to where it was consistently 1.5 to 2 grains heavy. Don't waste your money!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth the hastle

Date:April 7, 2014
My reloading set came with this "great" little digital scale. I thought it would be better and easier than my beam scale so I gave it a go. It worked good for the first few days but then it stopped keeping its calibration and needed recalibrated frequently (every 50 rounds or so). It would give different readings for the same charge each time I reweighed them. I trusted it and loaded up some light loads for my wife's rifle and took them out and tried them. I now have a bruise on my cheek where the rifle recoiled so hard. When I pulled the lead and reweighed the charge on my beam scale I was 8 grains heavy (past the maximum load charge by 4 grains) I was very disappointed. My wife bought me the RCBS charge master this past weekend and this cheap scale goes in the junk drawer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dangerous Junk

Date:March 23, 2013
Constant erratic readings of .2-.6 grains off when weighing the same item. I would weigh 1 load, pick it up then put it back on the scale and it be off from the first reading...not good. Scales need to be consistent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Won't stay calibrated

Date:January 12, 2013
Scale jumps around with calibration one time is correct next time not then you can watch the weight drop with a charge on it this is my second one now first lasted a few months then died new one maybe two weeks used two times at the most used other item like bullet to test weight and will be way off don't waiste your money I'm calling hornady to complain
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worked for about 5 months - then quit.

Date:April 3, 2012
What can I say... the title to this review says it all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Needs constant calibration...

Date:November 5, 2013
This scale needs to be calibrated constantly. It's recommended to let the scale warm up for 30 seconds before calibrating, which is fine and it seems to hold cal as long as the unit stays on. However, if the unit times out and powers itself off for a minute or two, when you turn it back on you will need to run the cal procedure again. It's really a hassle. Would not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

had to return

Date:June 25, 2013
digital readout would not zero. numbers kept fluctuating constantly. Had to return. New one working fine so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Display

Date:May 14, 2013
The numeric display is large enough but can only be read from straight on. The mode display is microscopic and difficult to make out even with a magnifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

info

Date:March 12, 2013
hard to use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ok for the price

Date:January 1, 2014
works okay for the price. it need constant calibration. I have to calibrate it each time I turn it on. I would recommend it if one is not going to use it that much and would not recommend it for anyone that wants to be right on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK if you are quick

Date:December 5, 2012
Turns off after one minute. Not adjustable. Nice to protect the battery, but not at the expense of usability. Seems ok otherwise. Every time it shuts off it has be re-tared before use. Nuisance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Canada, London, ON
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent unit for the money

Date:January 31, 2012
Presentation of the unit is as good as you can expect. As stated in other reviews it comes with a decent metallic tray, 100g calibration weight, fully backlit, and good storage case with magnetic flip lid.
I consider myself a fairly precise reloader, and I like my drops as consistant as possible. I measure every load I drop. I find this unit takes about a half hour of use to warm up before it begins to drop 'consistant' loads. Great buy for the money and I intend to keep using it. But it wasn't uncommon for me to drop 100 9mm loads then spot check a couple to find a substantial variance and then redo all my loads.
You really gotta pay attention to your initial pan weight and keep checking. Take time with this unit and not rushing the drops has been able to create very consistant ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fly Weight

Date:December 16, 2014
My arrows with field tips were right on the bullseye, using my 185 lb crossbow. But when I used broadhead shafts, they were way off the mark! Both broadheads and field points are supposed to weight 100 grains. The broadhead bolts were grounders.
After purchasing a Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale, I found out that the broadheads were much lighter than the field points. Using the electronic scale changed the whole game, and provided answers to why accuracies were so much different. We got the answer we needed, to make much needed changes to accuracy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for Quick Verification of Charge or Shot

Date:August 26, 2014
Bought this little scale (with some doubts initially due to the low price) but due to the brand, figured it couldn't be too bad.
But I was surprised at the capability (different weight units and calibration with provided weight). Has a relatively high upper bounding limit so I can easily verify not only the powder charge in grains, but quickly switch over to oz or grams (if I want a more precise reading) to check the shot load.
Nice little scale that doesn't take up space on your loading table and can be tucked away quickly in the sturdy magnetic closure box with pan and calibration weight.
Good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not bad for something so small

Date:August 5, 2014
I bought this as a back-up to my Hornady Auto Charge. It's very easy to use and it checks out perfectly with the Auto Charge weights. Not bad for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great, but Not for everyday use

Date:May 13, 2014
I purchased this scale just to "check" my balance beam every now and then.
I also use it to set up my powder measure to check for consistency.
It's a great little scale but not for everyday loading use, for that I would rather recommend an electronic scale with a power supply.
This scale will eat batteries and increase your loading cost ;)
The "hunger for batteries" is the only reason I did not give it a 5 star rating.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hornady Scale

Date:April 17, 2014
I bought this for black powder hunting. I have not used it yet, bad weather. I know it is not the most precise put I think it will do the job for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Backup

Date:February 12, 2013
I purchased this as a backup because my reloading equipment was in storage. It's a good secondary scale.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great starter scale

Date:December 19, 2012
this scaler is accurate enough for plinking, i load 9mm and its accurate +-0.1 grains... i am able to trickle with this scale i know some have said they cant but i have trickeled with it and then removes and re-zero the scale then put the same load back on and it reads the trickle amount. great little scale for 28.00... digital scales are finicky and could go either way but mine has done me great for 4.3 grains of 9mm rounds. its always nice to have a reliable backup beam scale to verify though
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hornady® GS-1500 Electronic Scale
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Time is of the essence...

Date:December 8, 2012
This is a pretty neat little electronic scale. It works as described. However, as another Reviewer stated you gotta be quick or else the auto-shutdown feature will leave you with having to re-tare the scale once you turn it back on. A bit annoying, but I figured out that if you set a rhythm you can get it to stay on while you work.
I use it with a Classic Lee Loader (7.62x54r) and do my reloads in batches (inspect, de-cap, clean, inspect, prime, Weigh & Pour Powder - immediately seat bullet, inspect).
As I am at the point for weighing/pouring powder for the batch, I pour powder into the shell, set the powder pan next to the scale, seat the bullet, put the powder pan back on the scale, inspect the round, pour powder on the pan for the next shell, repeat the above. This will keep my scale "active" enough to prevent the auto-shutdown.
It is quite accurate as I have poured a sample on to the pan and re-weighed it over and over and it always measured the same, not even a difference of 0.1 grain. Of course, one should place the powder pan as close to the middle of the scale surface as possible and not at a corner.
If you don't mind the mild inconvenience of a short "on" time, this is a good portable scale and I find it worth the price. I recommend it for those on a budget who do light reloading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 64