Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.618 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 144 reviews
5 Stars
114
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
133 out of 144(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2016

Very consistent ammunition!

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was turned onto this ammo by a friend, as I was getting ready for a trip to Colorado elk hunting. I had just finished a custom built .338 Win Mag. and was looking for a good round to put down range and down field. Really like the idea of lead free ammunition due to meat contamination and some restricted hunting areas. Every round shoots consistently and group very well between 100-200 yards. Feel very comfortable taking clean kill shots out around 400 yards with this ammo. Never been one to take chances with cheap ammunition on game animals. I have come to respect the Barnes Vor-tx ammunition so much I only hunt with this ammo in all of my rifles for any and all large and medium game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 19, 2016

Barnes Bullets

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Shooting 180 grain 30.06 I shot 6 Big game animals in South Africa. 3 were pass through, the other 3 were perfectly mushroomed and appeared to be retaining most or all of the original weight. Definitely would recommend them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2016

Happy

By
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
accurate
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Flat out deadly

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This ammo is great!
It is accurate in all three of my 45/70's, one CVA single shot, my Henry lever action and one Siamese Mauser bolt action. I use it for deer, black bear and hogs. It brings the thunder.
Barnes bullets are my choice for all of my centerfire and black powder hunting.
I also shoot Vor-Tx in .243, 270 and 308 with similar results.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2016

3 Pigs, one shot

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I used a 300 Win Mag to kill 3 pigs with one shot using these Barnes bullets, 180 grain. My first shot went through the pigs skull as intended (100#), dropping him. Then the bullet traveled across the upper back of another pig (70#), shearing the spinal column. The bullet continued by hitting a small pig (25#) in the heart area, killing it too. The bullet was found in the last pig. Perfectly mushroomed, with what looked like full weight retention. A great bullet for wild boar or larger game like Elk or bear. I do not think it will mushroom enough hitting vitals on a deer though - this is just based on how much it mushroomed going through skull, spinal column and the side of a pig. Accuracy was dead on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

Awesome Performance

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I had a custom rifle built in .338 win mag for my elk hunt last fall in Utah. The only ammo I considered to shoot was Barnes in 210 grain. At the range I was getting 4 inch groups at 550 yards. I harvested a bull elk at 402 yards. One shot and the bull fell over and did not move. We recovered the bullet while skinning and it performed exactly like Barnes said it should. The bullet is hanging from the rack of my bull elk in my office. This ammo is it for me. No reason to buy any other brand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Very Tight Groups

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Tested with my Weatherby 7mm mag and held very tight groups at 100 yds.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 5, 2016

Prefer "lead free" rounds

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Just an average hunter. I like being able to go "lead free" for consumption purposes of harvested meat and what remains for scavengers in the field. A personal choice as well as one that will keep me in compliance with regulations in some specified "lead free" areas. Barnes makes a product that I enjoy using.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 27, 2015

A+ Accuracy

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I was having trouble getting consistent groups with my Bushmaster AR 5.56/.223 with a Redfield scope until I shot these Barnes Bullets in .223. Fantastic. Once sighted in I switched to Remington PSP for pig hunting. Obviously you don't shoot them at paper at their price-point, but they are consistent when needed and worth the money. Took a Central TX whitetail this year with them also from the above mentioned rifle. One shoulder shot and a 25 yard run and I had meat in the freezer. I used a Herter's bench and a Lead Sled DFT when sighting in.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 22, 2015

My go to ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have tried LOTS of brands and these seem to be the best grouping for most of my rifles. Shot a few deer and hogs with great results
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2015

Great Ammunition

By
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used ammo on a resent whitertail hunt in Canada. Took two huge whitetail deer. 1 shot each, they never moved
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 6, 2015

Worst performance of any round ...

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
@ 100 yards of any ammo put through my firearm in the year I have owned it!
Actually would have given it 2 stars except for the fact that it DID realize potential as a hog killer at 50 yards. I think it is fantastic at that range out of my Model 8TL, with a 1/9 16" chrome-lined barrel. 1.25 in group, some touching, off a steady sand bag. Should xlate to under 3" @ 100 yds. But does not!
But with a rebate, I thought it was worth a try.
@ 100 yards -- 2-3in high and 6 MOA! That's pure garbage and a totally unreliable round as far as I am concerned for a charging wild pig.
Maybe this says something about a solid copper round in general over traditional in some guns. I don't think I should have needed to clean my rifle after 10 rounds just to move out to 100 yds from 50, just go get accuracy. I doubt if this round is a boat tail. And I wonder if it needs more stabilization of a 1/8 or 1/7 barrel? 55gr is not suppose to need that, but maybe copper does. Or, maybe a 20" barrel? In any case I am not likely to find out first hand.
If there is a packaged 62 gr Barnes out there somewhere, I might try it in the future (I don't reload 5.56), and typically use factory on potentially dangerous game.
Was a not too costly experiment. Hope others have more luck. I may call Barnes about this to see what they say. I have always heard good things about there products. So this is a big disappointment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Sturdy and Dependable

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
The Barnes VOR-TX cartridge is my go-to ammo for elk hunting and has been for several years. In its 180 gr version, with good shot placement, it negates the requirement for tracking. (I'm old and I don't like to have to track.) This bullet is always dependable even out to 350+ yd shots and has never let me down even with the biggest bull. My Tikka 3, 300 win mag loves it and so do I. Never plan to use anything else for this combination.Thanks Barnes.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

deer hunting

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
one shot one kill
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2015

good ammo

By
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've been using it for a few years. For deer sized game, I feel you must hit them in the front shoulder, or it will zip right thru the animal and not do much damage. I think it is better suited for game like moose and elk. I like the fact that it is lead free and safe for my family to eat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2015

Dropped right where he Stood

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
These grouped very well during my pre-hunting sight-in trip to the range. And finally, on 11-1-2015 I saw and shot the first Buck I've ever seen in person since I began this pursuit last Season in 2014. The shot was at 30 yards. He got knocked sideways like a foot or so and he dropped right where he stood, and obviously the shot was a complete pass-thru. The exit wound was like size of a 50-cent piece or a little bigger than that.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2015

Some of the best rifle ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Barnes VOR-TX is some of the best rifle ammunition out there! Definitely one of the top contenders! I just recently started shooting this ammunition, and am impressed with its accuracy, and the tight groups that I am seeing thus far.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 6, 2015

Accurate, Powerful

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Shot a 1" 3 shot group at 300yds using a Rem 700 rifle.
Best I have ever seen from a hunting rifle. Barnes TTSX bullets will handle any game.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2015

Moose Medicine

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought some of this Vor-Tx ammo after receiving a solid recommendation from a friend who writes for hunting magazines. I tested it out at the range and it was right on the money out of my Cooper .30-06. It put down a big BC bull moose at 286 yds. with one double-lung shot. Recovered the 180 gr. bullet just under the hide on the far side. Weighed the bullet when I got home right at 178 grains. Excellent accuracy and terminal knock-down power. It is a bit pricey, but worth it for a quick and humane kill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 30, 2015

Great deer round for 22-250

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very accurate in 14 twist Tikka 22-250 Very deadly on whitetails -Barnes bullets give great penetration and destruction
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 144