Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.679 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
65
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
77 out of 81(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stuff

Date:September 9, 2014
400 yards 3 in. group speaks for itself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Win Mag

Date:September 3, 2014
I bought my first couple boxes of 300 Win Mag 180 grain for an Elk hunt in Colorado a couple years ago. I have a Browning X-bolt and zeroed these at the range at 300 yards with very tight groups. I was able to drop a bull elk with one shot. I also got two nice Michigan 8 points one at 212 yards and one at just under 400 yards also one shot each. I didn't have to chase either over 20 yards I don't consider myself a marksman at all but I am confidant with the Barnes
I just bought a couple more boxes to get ready to go after another elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good ammo

Date:September 2, 2014
I always have at least 2 boxes on hand. I have tight groups at 100 yards and feel comfortable out to 350 yards. Almost as good as hand loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed results

Date:August 26, 2014
I just used this in my .300 Win Mag on an African Plains game hunt with GREAT results. 8 one shot kills with very little trailing required. Shot excellent groups out of my Savage 111. But now with my 270 Win, the best I can get is about a 3.5" group at 100 yards. Not good so trying other ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
While I have not yet harvested an animal with this ammo, I have sighted my .270 in with it and had the best groups I've ever had with all shots touching each other. I hope the knock down power is there too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interesting, but overrated (.30-06, 180 gr)

Date:July 22, 2014
This "mono-metal" bullet is an interesting alternative to lead-alloy ones, which represents an advantage from the environmental and health points of view. This deserves FIVE STARS!
I used the 180-gr cartridge on my .30-06 Tikka T3 at the range, with fairly good results. Groupings were slightly wider and lower than in the case of its kin cartridge, the Federal Trophy Copper (180 gr). But my main criticism concerns the muzzle velocity, which according to my Chrony-F1 measurements was of 2,615 ft/s (± 45 ft/s; n = 5) instead of the announced 2,700 ft/s. Furthermore, the average measured velocity at 100 yds was of 2,393 ft/s (± 38 ft/s; n = 4), which was lower than predicted and brings into question its real ballistic coefficient that I believe to be closer to 0.380 than to the declared 0.484. This deserves TWO STARS!
Of course, I don’t think that the ballistic issue may affect the VOR-TTSX killing power, especially within a 300-yd range. In this regard, not only it has an excellent reputation, but I could also observe its very good expansion and weight retention (see attached photo of selected bullets shot against a sand dune from 100 yds). However, as I could observe at the range, its lower than expected ballistic performance certainly affects its trajectory flatness, which is an issue that should be taken into account for average to long-range hunters.
Overall, I look forward to try it at moose hunting.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality ammo

Date:June 11, 2014
Very accurate ammo, a bit more expensive than some, but you get what you pay for. You can go with a less expensive gun and scope, but it is the ammo that does the killing, use the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best hunting cartridge in my opinion

Date:May 13, 2014
Barnes triple shock must I say more. Puts game down better than any other round. Always accurate. See pic it was taken with this ammo.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

extremely accurate and extremely lethal

Date:April 23, 2014
This ammo in 180 grain .300 Winchester mag has the absolute best terminal performance I have seen for elk. In the past couple years I have watched elk literally collapse in their tracks at ranges from just under 100 yards to a ranged shot at 411 yards on a mature 7x7 bull.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great non-lead option

Date:April 8, 2014
My wife took a whitetail buck with her .270 win and a barnes xbullet at about 40 yards. It went about 3 leaps before piling up. She shot it broadside through the lungs. We switched to barnes bullets a couple of years ago because we did not want to eat any more lead. You can find it on sale if you search.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big pig medicine for California

Date:March 25, 2014
I strictly use the TTSX in 180 gr out of my .300 win mag. It is such an authoritative round and I have such a high confidence level with it, it's my go to tool of choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power and accuracy.

Date:March 6, 2014
Barnes has probably made one of the best bullets ever for the AR platform. Accurate with great penetration and a devastating wound channel. Used on tough skinned hogs in Georgia.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performed Well

Date:February 28, 2014
I used the .270 130 grain TTSX on my deer and elk this last fall. I hit the deer a little back and had to track him a couple hundred yards. Can't really blame the bullet for sub par shot placement. I shot a nice bull the next morning through both shoulders and found the bullet intact just below the hide of the opposite shoulder. Bull took a few steps away from me and I put another one in him. Also Found that bullet fully intact as well. Great penetration and weight retention!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:January 28, 2014
"I used the 180 gr in my Tikka T3 Lite 30.06. Shot 200 yds at the range and bullet holes touched. I shot an elk at 190 yds right in the shoulder, barely quartering to, and the bullet penetrated just inside the entry shoulder. I tracked him in the snow with absolutely no blood just tracks, up the mountain approx 300 yds and caught up with him where he appeared wounded. I was able to finish him off with a 100 yd shot, quartering away, that went in the ribs and lodged on the inside of the opposite shoulder. It appears the first shot was a dud shell, which is hard for me to comprehend, but buddy I was hunting with said the 2nd shot was definitely louder than the first. Not sure what to make of this but I do like the accuracy and the reviews of it's penetrating power.
Buddy of mine shooting exact same bullet 180 gr 30.06, different box, shot an elk at 290 yds right behind shoulder, bullet lodged on inside of opposite shoulder. The bull went 10 steps and then went down."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Enough Energy Transfer

Date:January 11, 2014
168 gr, .308 - Shot 5 deers this year ranging from 75 to 347 yds. All 5 times bullet went straight through with a pencil size exit wound. All 5 deers ran and NONE of them left any significant blood trail. The round just does not transfer enough energy to the game before passing through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

KNOCK DOWN

Date:January 7, 2014
Out of my 300 win dropped on the spot at 400 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible

Date:January 2, 2014
First off let me say WOW! I was looking for ammo to take on an Elk hunt in Colorado. Had fired several different brands of ammo thru my .338 Win Mag and by far this is the best ammo for my gun and my needs. As always Cabelas had shells in-stock, fair price and fast shipping. I have shot two boxes of 225 gr. tipped TSX rounds down range at 200yrds. This is were the WOW comes in. I can cover three round groups with a quarter from my pocket. Bull Elk Beware!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only ammunition I will use to hunt

Date:December 2, 2013
"Took a nice Arizona bull elk in the late hunt this past week. Ranged the bull at 321 yards. A perfect heart shot with the Barnes Vor-tx 30.06, 150 grain bullet put him down five steps from where he stood. Excellent penetration. Minimal loss of meat. In preparation for the hunt, I practiced at the range this year with four other brand name cartridges. My 30-year old Weatherby Vanguard VGX can shoot sub-MOA with all of them. I chose the Barnes Vor-tx because it not only produced consistent sub-MOA patterns but it did much more damage to a variety of targets. Very confident with my choice. Hoping availability will improve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
Excellent accuracy. I use the .308 167 gr. ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Vor-Tx 35 whelen Ammo

Date:November 13, 2013
Shoots the best in my rifle. I have tried several brands with poor results but with the Barnes Ammo it shoots where you aim. I have had nothing but positive results on Whitetail Deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 81