Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.638 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
84
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
98 out of 105(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo!!

Date:November 18, 2014
Great fast round out of my .243. Devastating impact but knowing your rifle and comfort level of shot placement is key. Only recovered one bullet from one of the two deer I've shot in northern MN. Lost two petals but it was a straight on shot at the lower chest. Ended under the skin of the rear quarter. Broke bones and split the heart. Both deer ran a total of about 70 yards (both heart shots). Would recommend to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo on the Market

Date:November 18, 2014
Bought this in .223 for hogs and deer. Have not taken any game with it but the accuracy is the best that I have found in hunting ammo. Will always have a few boxes on hand. Very happy with the product and with Cabelas. Will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Laser Beams

Date:November 18, 2014
This is very nice ammo that shoots submoa out of my .300 Win Mag Savage 110 Long Range Hunter. At 400 yards I was shooting less than 3 inch groups. With the excellent accuracy and Barnes Bullets proven performance, i would recommend the 150 grain TTSX to any long range hunter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quality bullet

Date:November 18, 2014
What else do you expect from Barnes. This is a good quality, accurate bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Big Game Load

Date:November 11, 2014
The Barnes VOR-TX is a good whitetail round for the AR-15. Great penetration, bullet retention and knock down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and dependable

Date:November 11, 2014
Have shot these in my 300WSM for 3 years now. Consistent and excellent expansion. And every year they have the Barnes Fall promo and its like Christmas comes early. 3 boxes for the price of 2. Also a very clean shooting round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No scent Hunting clothing

Date:November 4, 2014
I found the clothing to be as described. The sizing worked pretty well, I increased the size by one size. The clothes fit well and the quality met my expectations - comfortable and constructed very well. Scent control worked very well for entire hunt which took place in Colorado for elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes VOR TX

Date:November 4, 2014
Great ammo. I recently switched ammo due to the ammo i used was discontinued. The Barnes VOR TX Ammo did its job on a large bull elk at 300 yards in the New Mexico Gila National forest.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent results!

Date:November 3, 2014
I was looking for a hard hitting bullet for a Moose hunt. A friend insisted that I try your bullet. I used the 165 grain for my 300 WSM Rifle, having great results. Excellent Bullet. Will buy them for all my Rifles!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love It

Date:October 28, 2014
This is my favorite round so far. I took a nice 8 point last year with this round at 100 yards. Awesome blood trail, went maybe 30 yards before hitting a tree. I killed a 50 pound boar recently as well right behind the front shoulder. The exit wound was the size of a tangerine with just a 50 yard shot. The hog automatically hit the ground, rolled around & didn't even make it to the treeline. If you got the cash, Barnes is the way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:October 28, 2014
excellent quality , very consistent ...and accurate for factory ammo...American made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

4" Groups

Date:October 25, 2014
I’ve used many 160gr 7mm Rem Mag loads over the last 25 years, few were as difficult to group as these Barnes were. For whatever reason they grouped well at sea level, 3.4" group, but at 6,000’ could barely get a 4” @ 100 yards. I bought them for an elk Trophy Elk hunt….got the Elk ok but after missing a 7x7 @400yds with Barnes used Win Ballistic Tips to get the job done....330" bull @ 387yds.
Obviously Barnes makes a great product just didn’t work in my Ruger as well as Winchester 160gr Ballistic Tips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

deformed tips

Date:October 20, 2014
Paying premium prices for premium ammo im ok with. Paying premium prices for subpar ammo is unacceptable. I bought 2 boxes of the 7mm mag 160 grain TSX. 3 out of the 40 tips were deformed. I'll keep using Federal Premium from now on. Lesson learned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Blackout Love it

Date:October 8, 2014
So far no feeding issues. Ammo seems to be on the hotter side of loads, accuracy Is very good at 150 yards out of my 16 inch barrel. Have shot the Hornady brand ammo as well but this seems to be more accurate for myself. Will be hunting Whitetail this year with the Barnes and will post back how it does. Last year hunted with Lehigh Defense ammo and was able to take 6 deer the Lehigh ammo was brutal upon impact but accuracy was not that great however I did get all 6 deer without needing a second shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Copper is our future

Date:October 7, 2014
Shot 11rds ,6 at 100yrds,5 at 200 yards. Browning safari BAR-Leopoldo 3.5x10-40mm B&C reticle. 300WSM. I Don't consider myself a marksman but I can shoot . Staying with 150gr as my lead rds were the weapon was zeroed at 200 yrds,@ 3" high at 100. They flew and grouped well enough that no change was made windage or elevation at this time. I'm Going to shoot a couple at elevation in elk camp,but not to worried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly

Date:October 7, 2014
These Barnes VOR-TX bullets get the job done as advertised. My 300 rem. ultra mag holds about an 1.5 inch groop at 200 yrds. This hunting season I took a black tail buck, and a bear with one shot each. The bullet reatained about 90% of its wait on the buck and opend perfectly. Although the bullet that took the bear came apart after penitraiting the bears shoulder bone.Still killing him very quikly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Doesn't drop game

Date:October 6, 2014
I used this ammo in my 300 ultra mag on a elk hunt, this year. My first shot was perfectly placed, the elk didn't move, it took 3 more shots before it finally fell. I don't have a explanation for why, it just didn't have the thump that a 300 um should have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes - #1

Date:September 30, 2014
My new .300 WM A-Bolt shot the Barnes better than the other two brands I tried all at the same time.... clearly Barnes was the best of the three brands and shooting very tight groups right off the bat. Very pleased. Now have 5 boxes in my gun cabinet due to a sweet Cabela's sale and Barnes rebate offer. ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It only takes one!

Date:September 23, 2014
So, I spend all that time setting things up, following deer trails, taking time off, preparing the tools for the hunt. Why would I use anything less than dead-on ammo?
I'm not even a great shot, but this Barnes solid copper ammo performs exactly the same, every round, so it helps me to do the job. I only need a single round for a very fast drop and ethical harvest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:September 23, 2014
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 105