Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 93 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
87 out of 93(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

deformed tips

Date:October 20, 2014
Paying premium prices for premium ammo im ok with. Paying premium prices for subpar ammo is unacceptable. I bought 2 boxes of the 7mm mag 160 grain TSX. 3 out of the 40 tips were deformed. I'll keep using Federal Premium from now on. Lesson learned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Blackout Love it

Date:October 8, 2014
So far no feeding issues. Ammo seems to be on the hotter side of loads, accuracy Is very good at 150 yards out of my 16 inch barrel. Have shot the Hornady brand ammo as well but this seems to be more accurate for myself. Will be hunting Whitetail this year with the Barnes and will post back how it does. Last year hunted with Lehigh Defense ammo and was able to take 6 deer the Lehigh ammo was brutal upon impact but accuracy was not that great however I did get all 6 deer without needing a second shot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Copper is our future

Date:October 7, 2014
Shot 11rds ,6 at 100yrds,5 at 200 yards. Browning safari BAR-Leopoldo 3.5x10-40mm B&C reticle. 300WSM. I Don't consider myself a marksman but I can shoot . Staying with 150gr as my lead rds were the weapon was zeroed at 200 yrds,@ 3" high at 100. They flew and grouped well enough that no change was made windage or elevation at this time. I'm Going to shoot a couple at elevation in elk camp,but not to worried.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deadly

Date:October 7, 2014
These Barnes VOR-TX bullets get the job done as advertised. My 300 rem. ultra mag holds about an 1.5 inch groop at 200 yrds. This hunting season I took a black tail buck, and a bear with one shot each. The bullet reatained about 90% of its wait on the buck and opend perfectly. Although the bullet that took the bear came apart after penitraiting the bears shoulder bone.Still killing him very quikly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Doesn't drop game

Date:October 6, 2014
I used this ammo in my 300 ultra mag on a elk hunt, this year. My first shot was perfectly placed, the elk didn't move, it took 3 more shots before it finally fell. I don't have a explanation for why, it just didn't have the thump that a 300 um should have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes - #1

Date:September 30, 2014
My new .300 WM A-Bolt shot the Barnes better than the other two brands I tried all at the same time.... clearly Barnes was the best of the three brands and shooting very tight groups right off the bat. Very pleased. Now have 5 boxes in my gun cabinet due to a sweet Cabela's sale and Barnes rebate offer. ;-)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

It only takes one!

Date:September 23, 2014
So, I spend all that time setting things up, following deer trails, taking time off, preparing the tools for the hunt. Why would I use anything less than dead-on ammo?
I'm not even a great shot, but this Barnes solid copper ammo performs exactly the same, every round, so it helps me to do the job. I only need a single round for a very fast drop and ethical harvest.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great

Date:September 23, 2014
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Most accurate ammunition

Date:September 23, 2014
I have shot 15 different rounds through my CZ 527 Varmint which has a 1 in 9 twist and found these to be the most accurate rounds out of all tried. I was wanting something for my grandchildren to use for white tail and these are the ticket...The only thing bad about them are the PRICE!!!!
Why can't companies make a decent round so we can afford to shoot and practice with the same round without ruining the bank? The price is the only reason why I am giving it 4 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Devestating Exit Hole

Date:September 23, 2014
I took several deer last season with the Barnes Tipped Triple Shock chambered in 300WSM and was very pleased. In the previous season I tried the conventional Barnes 165gr bullet (100% copper) and judging by the exit hole it appeared to not open on a 10 pt at 230 yds. I then switched to the triple shock bullet. These tipped triple shocks were used to shoot several does and one buck at various yardages and all had devastating exit holes. I definitely recommend the 165 gr for whitetails..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

shoots great

Date:September 17, 2014
I purchased the 165 grain TTSX for a 300 WSM. Accuracy was good and I was getting the listed velocity of 3130 fps. This was good considering I have a 23 inch barrel. I love the performance of the Barnes bullet - I use it in my 7mm-08, 30-06, 25-06 and 300 WSM. Shoots great and punches completely through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hunting ammo

Date:September 16, 2014
I am a big fan of Barnes bullets and normally have to load my own. When I found this ammo at Cabelas I had to give it a try. Works great, best hunting ammo I have found.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stuff

Date:September 9, 2014
400 yards 3 in. group speaks for itself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300 Win Mag

Date:September 3, 2014
I bought my first couple boxes of 300 Win Mag 180 grain for an Elk hunt in Colorado a couple years ago. I have a Browning X-bolt and zeroed these at the range at 300 yards with very tight groups. I was able to drop a bull elk with one shot. I also got two nice Michigan 8 points one at 212 yards and one at just under 400 yards also one shot each. I didn't have to chase either over 20 yards I don't consider myself a marksman at all but I am confidant with the Barnes
I just bought a couple more boxes to get ready to go after another elk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good ammo

Date:September 2, 2014
I always have at least 2 boxes on hand. I have tight groups at 100 yards and feel comfortable out to 350 yards. Almost as good as hand loads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mixed results

Date:August 26, 2014
I just used this in my .300 Win Mag on an African Plains game hunt with GREAT results. 8 one shot kills with very little trailing required. Shot excellent groups out of my Savage 111. But now with my 270 Win, the best I can get is about a 3.5" group at 100 yards. Not good so trying other ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate ammo

Date:August 5, 2014
While I have not yet harvested an animal with this ammo, I have sighted my .270 in with it and had the best groups I've ever had with all shots touching each other. I hope the knock down power is there too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Interesting, but overrated (.30-06, 180 gr)

Date:July 22, 2014
This "mono-metal" bullet is an interesting alternative to lead-alloy ones, which represents an advantage from the environmental and health points of view. This deserves FIVE STARS!
I used the 180-gr cartridge on my .30-06 Tikka T3 at the range, with fairly good results. Groupings were slightly wider and lower than in the case of its kin cartridge, the Federal Trophy Copper (180 gr). But my main criticism concerns the muzzle velocity, which according to my Chrony-F1 measurements was of 2,615 ft/s (± 45 ft/s; n = 5) instead of the announced 2,700 ft/s. Furthermore, the average measured velocity at 100 yds was of 2,393 ft/s (± 38 ft/s; n = 4), which was lower than predicted and brings into question its real ballistic coefficient that I believe to be closer to 0.380 than to the declared 0.484. This deserves TWO STARS!
Of course, I don’t think that the ballistic issue may affect the VOR-TTSX killing power, especially within a 300-yd range. In this regard, not only it has an excellent reputation, but I could also observe its very good expansion and weight retention (see attached photo of selected bullets shot against a sand dune from 100 yds). However, as I could observe at the range, its lower than expected ballistic performance certainly affects its trajectory flatness, which is an issue that should be taken into account for average to long-range hunters.
Overall, I look forward to try it at moose hunting.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality ammo

Date:June 11, 2014
Very accurate ammo, a bit more expensive than some, but you get what you pay for. You can go with a less expensive gun and scope, but it is the ammo that does the killing, use the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best hunting cartridge in my opinion

Date:May 13, 2014
Barnes triple shock must I say more. Puts game down better than any other round. Always accurate. See pic it was taken with this ammo.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 93