Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.681 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 72 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
68 out of 72(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great non-lead option

Date:April 8, 2014
My wife took a whitetail buck with her .270 win and a barnes xbullet at about 40 yards. It went about 3 leaps before piling up. She shot it broadside through the lungs. We switched to barnes bullets a couple of years ago because we did not want to eat any more lead. You can find it on sale if you search.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big pig medicine for California

Date:March 25, 2014
I strictly use the TTSX in 180 gr out of my .300 win mag. It is such an authoritative round and I have such a high confidence level with it, it's my go to tool of choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Power and accuracy.

Date:March 6, 2014
Barnes has probably made one of the best bullets ever for the AR platform. Accurate with great penetration and a devastating wound channel. Used on tough skinned hogs in Georgia.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Performed Well

Date:February 28, 2014
I used the .270 130 grain TTSX on my deer and elk this last fall. I hit the deer a little back and had to track him a couple hundred yards. Can't really blame the bullet for sub par shot placement. I shot a nice bull the next morning through both shoulders and found the bullet intact just below the hide of the opposite shoulder. Bull took a few steps away from me and I put another one in him. Also Found that bullet fully intact as well. Great penetration and weight retention!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:January 28, 2014
"I used the 180 gr in my Tikka T3 Lite 30.06. Shot 200 yds at the range and bullet holes touched. I shot an elk at 190 yds right in the shoulder, barely quartering to, and the bullet penetrated just inside the entry shoulder. I tracked him in the snow with absolutely no blood just tracks, up the mountain approx 300 yds and caught up with him where he appeared wounded. I was able to finish him off with a 100 yd shot, quartering away, that went in the ribs and lodged on the inside of the opposite shoulder. It appears the first shot was a dud shell, which is hard for me to comprehend, but buddy I was hunting with said the 2nd shot was definitely louder than the first. Not sure what to make of this but I do like the accuracy and the reviews of it's penetrating power.
Buddy of mine shooting exact same bullet 180 gr 30.06, different box, shot an elk at 290 yds right behind shoulder, bullet lodged on inside of opposite shoulder. The bull went 10 steps and then went down."
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Enough Energy Transfer

Date:January 11, 2014
168 gr, .308 - Shot 5 deers this year ranging from 75 to 347 yds. All 5 times bullet went straight through with a pencil size exit wound. All 5 deers ran and NONE of them left any significant blood trail. The round just does not transfer enough energy to the game before passing through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

KNOCK DOWN

Date:January 7, 2014
Out of my 300 win dropped on the spot at 400 yards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible

Date:January 2, 2014
First off let me say WOW! I was looking for ammo to take on an Elk hunt in Colorado. Had fired several different brands of ammo thru my .338 Win Mag and by far this is the best ammo for my gun and my needs. As always Cabelas had shells in-stock, fair price and fast shipping. I have shot two boxes of 225 gr. tipped TSX rounds down range at 200yrds. This is were the WOW comes in. I can cover three round groups with a quarter from my pocket. Bull Elk Beware!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only ammunition I will use to hunt

Date:December 2, 2013
"Took a nice Arizona bull elk in the late hunt this past week. Ranged the bull at 321 yards. A perfect heart shot with the Barnes Vor-tx 30.06, 150 grain bullet put him down five steps from where he stood. Excellent penetration. Minimal loss of meat. In preparation for the hunt, I practiced at the range this year with four other brand name cartridges. My 30-year old Weatherby Vanguard VGX can shoot sub-MOA with all of them. I chose the Barnes Vor-tx because it not only produced consistent sub-MOA patterns but it did much more damage to a variety of targets. Very confident with my choice. Hoping availability will improve.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Vortex Ammo

Date:November 19, 2013
Excellent accuracy. I use the .308 167 gr. ammo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Vor-Tx 35 whelen Ammo

Date:November 13, 2013
Shoots the best in my rifle. I have tried several brands with poor results but with the Barnes Ammo it shoots where you aim. I have had nothing but positive results on Whitetail Deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TTSX KILLER

Date:November 7, 2013
I JUST HAD A CHANCE TO SIGHT IN MY AR 10 CMMG 308 THIS MORNING WITH 168 GRAIN TTSX. I GOT HALF INCH GROUP AT 200 YARDS. I DON'T THINK ANY HAND LOAD OR FACTORY AMMO CAN BEAT THAT. I KNOW THIS AMMO WILL PERFORM WELL ON GAME BECAUSE I USED THIS TTSX ON MY 270 WSM IN THE PAST (NOT MUCH DAMAGE ON THE MEAT BUT IT CREATE LOTS OF KILLING PRESSURE ON GAME). I WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE WHOSE LOOKING FOR ACCURACY AND NON-LEAD AMMO.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Down and In the Freezer

Date:October 22, 2013
Expensive, but good knock down power. Used in Cow Elk hunt this fall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo. Baf or AR-10

Date:October 11, 2013
Shot 1 box through a AR-10 and experienced very poor patterns. have researched and know bullet will take out just about anything as long as you hit it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate

Date:October 6, 2013
I zeroed in at 300 yards and had a very close group. Dropped a 5x5 bull elk in Colorado and an 8 point whitetail buck in Michigan. Adds confidence to your shooting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Bullets, Not just for CA

Date:September 27, 2013
Barnes makes a great product in numerous calibers which are worth the cost difference. Very reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

300WSM

Date:September 18, 2013
This ammo in 150grain TSX Tipped is the most accurate factory ammo I have ever shot. I broke in a brand new Tikka T3 Lite using another factory brand and got it sighted in as close as I could in an effort to save a little $$. I then switched to these and fine tuned everything. 4 shot sub MOA group @ 100yds, followed by 3 shot 1.25" group @ 200yds, followed by 3 shot 1.5" group @ 300yds. I have yet to use it on any animal as the rifle is brand new, but hopefully within a few weeks, that is going to take place. Outstanding accuracy!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160gr TSX = Perfection

Date:August 4, 2013
This ammo proved perfect in my Sako 85 7MM Rem Magnum. 3 shot group was .380" at 100 yards. That'll do nicely for sure.
Highly recommendable from my experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo - SHOT PLACEMENT is key

Date:July 21, 2013
I've shot this ammo and killed 6 elk and 1 Bison from 75-450 yards in the last three years. I use a 7MM Rem mag in 160 TSX, KEY = If you shot the animal in the boiler room from short range just plan on poking holes and testing your tracking skills, they will die and don't give up. If you shoot at longer distances it allows the bullet to expand and they only go about 30 yards. If you want the animal to hit the ground aim at the front shoulder, you will not loose but a couple pounds of meat and the animal won't get back to the herd. I did this to my bison at 150 yards only lost about 5 lbs of meat. I've lost way more with lead bullets due to the bullet fragmenting and blood shot. Hope your gun likes these bullets because there aren't many options for lead free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

African Plains Game

Date:July 18, 2013
I took a 308 and a 30/06 to South Africa on a Plains Game hunt last month. Shot 180 gr Vor-TX bullets in the 30/06 and harvested 8 animals. On Kudu and Gemsbok and all the smaller animals, it was a complete shoulder to shoulder pass through. Kudu are BIG animals and a complete pass through was shocking. Same with the Gemsbok.. Two bullets were recovered. One from a Blue Wildebeest which was a standing quartering shot and the other from a warthog which was a frontal lobotomy into the body and they have thick skulls. All the bullets performed superbly. One could not ask for more. While I would have liked to have used the 308, it was a backup gun and never got to the dance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 72