Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.612 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 121 reviews
5 Stars
95
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
112 out of 121(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good if you like it hot

Date:April 7, 2015
If you're into HOT loads you'll like these. They chronographed out of my Ruger M77 Mark II at around 3300-3400 fps, a couple 100 fps faster than what it said on the box. And as such kicked like a mule. You might want to throw a log over the top of your rifle before you shoot it in the field so you don't have to get the scope surgically removed from your forehead after you kill your elk. Or just leave the scope and rifle in your head and that way you will have your hands free. Me, I like a more comfortable 300WMS load in the 3000-3100 fps range.
The grouped very well, were consistent and will certainly pack a lot of punch, even at long ranges which is what the 300WSM's are all about. Cases showed no signs of excessive pressure. They are also very spendy $$$ so either save up, mortgage your house or don't waste too many rounds practicing at the range.
But Long Story Short: these round will definitely git er done, just hang onto your rifle REALLY TIGHT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good performance

Date:March 25, 2015
I used these bullets for the first time on a Wyoming antelope hunt last fall. They group as well as my best hand loads using my favorite lead core bullets. On the hunt it seemed like they hit harder than my regular loads and did a superb job. I filled three tags with three shots between 100 and 220 yards. I cannot comment on bullet expansion or weight retention because I did not recover any of the bullets. I only know they perform way better than standard factory loads and as good or better than my hand loads. I intend to use them for the rest of hunting career. For the first time in 35years my family will eat lead free meat, and other wildlife will not be unintentionally harmed. There is no down side to using these cartridges.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barnes Vor-TX

Date:February 23, 2015
The Barnes regular old style X bullets for close range deer hunting were great. You would get complete penetration on deer at ranges from point blank to 75 yards, normal woods hunting ranges. This new Vor-Tx bullet is made more for long range hunting like 200 to 300 yards. At woods ranges closer it doesn't penetrate very well especially on shoulder shots. The polmer tip, tapered base, and large hollow point opens up too much and doesn't penetrate very well at close ranges. I wish I could get the old regular X bullet loaded ammo with the flat base and smaller hollow point. I was using a .243 rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo for Pigs

Date:February 17, 2015
I bought this ammo because we have a serious problem with pigs. FMJ 300 BLK ammo is good for brain shots or several body shots. But the expansion of these rounds is devastating in vital areas.
My only complaint is the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:February 17, 2015
I used to shoot Federal Premium Vital-Shock with the Barnes TSX bullet but Federal quit loading Barnes Bullets so I had to find a replacement. I tried the Barnes VOR-TX in 165 gr TTSX BT for my Kimber 8400 WSM in 300 WSM and my gun loves them. I was shooting 1/2 MOA groups at 100 yards. I had already taken elk, mule deer, whitetail and coyotes with this bullet so I was already sold on the terminal ballistics. I will be stocking up on this ammo for my Alaska Caribou and wolf hunt in August.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes rifle ammo

Date:January 20, 2015
This ammo is great. Shot a pig the bullet dropped the pig immediately and humanely. Great product. This is what I shoot from now on while big game hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate

Date:January 20, 2015
What else to say but this is the most accurate ammo i have ever shot. have not used on game yet so no comment there but others have liked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME

Date:January 15, 2015
Excellent accuracy as well as great terminal performance on whitetail deer. Shot 3/4" groups at 100 yards first time out, then complete penetration on a deer the next hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sold on copper bullet ammo

Date:January 1, 2015
After 40 years of hunting with various kinds of lead core bullets I switched over to copper bullet ammo for my 300WSM a few years ago. I get better penetration and clean kills with this ammo. Because the bullets don't come apart I can use lighter bullets and still get good penetration. This gives me flatter trajectory and less recoil. Another big plus is that I am no longer feeding lead tainted meat to my family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:December 30, 2014
I've tried several other brands of ammo in my 35 Whelen, but the Barnes is the only one to give me consistent groupings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Blam

Date:December 23, 2014
I shoot the Barnes TSX 160 BT in my 7mm Rem mag. This is the first year I ever shot these bullets and the results were bad to the bone. First of all the grouping was great! Second, I shot three different mature bucks at 3 different angles - broad side, base of the neck, and quartering away. All three bucks never moved. Penetration was good and expansion was not an issue. Exit holes on these deer were 1" to 2" in diameter. I believe you can make a bad shot with these bullets and get away with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deoendable Ammunition

Date:December 16, 2014
I have found that the 100 grain TTSX bullet shoots lights out in my Sako 25-06 and I haven't noticed any change in accuracy from box to box. The bullet performs well on the whitetail deer I hunt with it. I would definitely recommend giving this ammunition a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
Good ammo for the price. I used the 223 ammo and it was very accurate. I don't know how the expansion is but out to 400 yards I was keeping my group very tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang=flop

Date:December 9, 2014
Took a 40 yard shot on a doe (with a 30.06) and it dropped in its tracks. Looking at the wound it was clear this bullet expanded despite the short range shot.
Copper bullets are great- no worries about lead in my kid's dinner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst bullet I have shot, it exploded upon impact!

Date:November 26, 2014
Shooting with a 300 rum, I have had very good luck with other bullets. While I did get my elk this year, it took two shots, and both exploded upon impact. I believe it was due to the speed. I shot threw a chronograph this year while at the shooting range, and right out of the box, it was on average 4425 fps. Fast to say the least.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:November 25, 2014
Excellent terminal performance on Kentucky elk and Pennsylvania black bear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo!!

Date:November 18, 2014
Great fast round out of my .243. Devastating impact but knowing your rifle and comfort level of shot placement is key. Only recovered one bullet from one of the two deer I've shot in northern MN. Lost two petals but it was a straight on shot at the lower chest. Ended under the skin of the rear quarter. Broke bones and split the heart. Both deer ran a total of about 70 yards (both heart shots). Would recommend to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo on the Market

Date:November 18, 2014
Bought this in .223 for hogs and deer. Have not taken any game with it but the accuracy is the best that I have found in hunting ammo. Will always have a few boxes on hand. Very happy with the product and with Cabelas. Will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Laser Beams

Date:November 18, 2014
This is very nice ammo that shoots submoa out of my .300 Win Mag Savage 110 Long Range Hunter. At 400 yards I was shooting less than 3 inch groups. With the excellent accuracy and Barnes Bullets proven performance, i would recommend the 150 grain TTSX to any long range hunter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quality bullet

Date:November 18, 2014
What else do you expect from Barnes. This is a good quality, accurate bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 121