Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 141
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 141 reviews
5 Stars
111
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
130 out of 141(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Flat out deadly

Date:February 2, 2016
This ammo is great!
It is accurate in all three of my 45/70's, one CVA single shot, my Henry lever action and one Siamese Mauser bolt action. I use it for deer, black bear and hogs. It brings the thunder.
Barnes bullets are my choice for all of my centerfire and black powder hunting.
I also shoot Vor-Tx in .243, 270 and 308 with similar results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3 Pigs, one shot

Date:January 30, 2016
I used a 300 Win Mag to kill 3 pigs with one shot using these Barnes bullets, 180 grain. My first shot went through the pigs skull as intended (100#), dropping him. Then the bullet traveled across the upper back of another pig (70#), shearing the spinal column. The bullet continued by hitting a small pig (25#) in the heart area, killing it too. The bullet was found in the last pig. Perfectly mushroomed, with what looked like full weight retention. A great bullet for wild boar or larger game like Elk or bear. I do not think it will mushroom enough hitting vitals on a deer though - this is just based on how much it mushroomed going through skull, spinal column and the side of a pig. Accuracy was dead on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Performance

Date:January 26, 2016
I had a custom rifle built in .338 win mag for my elk hunt last fall in Utah. The only ammo I considered to shoot was Barnes in 210 grain. At the range I was getting 4 inch groups at 550 yards. I harvested a bull elk at 402 yards. One shot and the bull fell over and did not move. We recovered the bullet while skinning and it performed exactly like Barnes said it should. The bullet is hanging from the rack of my bull elk in my office. This ammo is it for me. No reason to buy any other brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Tight Groups

Date:January 5, 2016
Tested with my Weatherby 7mm mag and held very tight groups at 100 yds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Prefer "lead free" rounds

Date:January 5, 2016
Just an average hunter. I like being able to go "lead free" for consumption purposes of harvested meat and what remains for scavengers in the field. A personal choice as well as one that will keep me in compliance with regulations in some specified "lead free" areas. Barnes makes a product that I enjoy using.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A+ Accuracy

Date:December 27, 2015
I was having trouble getting consistent groups with my Bushmaster AR 5.56/.223 with a Redfield scope until I shot these Barnes Bullets in .223. Fantastic. Once sighted in I switched to Remington PSP for pig hunting. Obviously you don't shoot them at paper at their price-point, but they are consistent when needed and worth the money. Took a Central TX whitetail this year with them also from the above mentioned rifle. One shoulder shot and a 25 yard run and I had meat in the freezer. I used a Herter's bench and a Lead Sled DFT when sighting in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My go to ammo

Date:December 22, 2015
I have tried LOTS of brands and these seem to be the best grouping for most of my rifles. Shot a few deer and hogs with great results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammunition

Date:December 8, 2015
Used ammo on a resent whitertail hunt in Canada. Took two huge whitetail deer. 1 shot each, they never moved
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst performance of any round ...

Date:December 6, 2015
@ 100 yards of any ammo put through my firearm in the year I have owned it!
Actually would have given it 2 stars except for the fact that it DID realize potential as a hog killer at 50 yards. I think it is fantastic at that range out of my Model 8TL, with a 1/9 16" chrome-lined barrel. 1.25 in group, some touching, off a steady sand bag. Should xlate to under 3" @ 100 yds. But does not!
But with a rebate, I thought it was worth a try.
@ 100 yards -- 2-3in high and 6 MOA! That's pure garbage and a totally unreliable round as far as I am concerned for a charging wild pig.
Maybe this says something about a solid copper round in general over traditional in some guns. I don't think I should have needed to clean my rifle after 10 rounds just to move out to 100 yds from 50, just go get accuracy. I doubt if this round is a boat tail. And I wonder if it needs more stabilization of a 1/8 or 1/7 barrel? 55gr is not suppose to need that, but maybe copper does. Or, maybe a 20" barrel? In any case I am not likely to find out first hand.
If there is a packaged 62 gr Barnes out there somewhere, I might try it in the future (I don't reload 5.56), and typically use factory on potentially dangerous game.
Was a not too costly experiment. Hope others have more luck. I may call Barnes about this to see what they say. I have always heard good things about there products. So this is a big disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sturdy and Dependable

Date:December 1, 2015
The Barnes VOR-TX cartridge is my go-to ammo for elk hunting and has been for several years. In its 180 gr version, with good shot placement, it negates the requirement for tracking. (I'm old and I don't like to have to track.) This bullet is always dependable even out to 350+ yd shots and has never let me down even with the biggest bull. My Tikka 3, 300 win mag loves it and so do I. Never plan to use anything else for this combination.Thanks Barnes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

deer hunting

Date:December 1, 2015
one shot one kill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good ammo

Date:November 10, 2015
I've been using it for a few years. For deer sized game, I feel you must hit them in the front shoulder, or it will zip right thru the animal and not do much damage. I think it is better suited for game like moose and elk. I like the fact that it is lead free and safe for my family to eat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dropped right where he Stood

Date:November 5, 2015
These grouped very well during my pre-hunting sight-in trip to the range. And finally, on 11-1-2015 I saw and shot the first Buck I've ever seen in person since I began this pursuit last Season in 2014. The shot was at 30 yards. He got knocked sideways like a foot or so and he dropped right where he stood, and obviously the shot was a complete pass-thru. The exit wound was like size of a 50-cent piece or a little bigger than that.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Some of the best rifle ammo

Date:October 13, 2015
Barnes VOR-TX is some of the best rifle ammunition out there! Definitely one of the top contenders! I just recently started shooting this ammunition, and am impressed with its accuracy, and the tight groups that I am seeing thus far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate, Powerful

Date:October 6, 2015
Shot a 1" 3 shot group at 300yds using a Rem 700 rifle.
Best I have ever seen from a hunting rifle. Barnes TTSX bullets will handle any game.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moose Medicine

Date:October 2, 2015
I bought some of this Vor-Tx ammo after receiving a solid recommendation from a friend who writes for hunting magazines. I tested it out at the range and it was right on the money out of my Cooper .30-06. It put down a big BC bull moose at 286 yds. with one double-lung shot. Recovered the 180 gr. bullet just under the hide on the far side. Weighed the bullet when I got home right at 178 grains. Excellent accuracy and terminal knock-down power. It is a bit pricey, but worth it for a quick and humane kill.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great deer round for 22-250

Date:September 30, 2015
Very accurate in 14 twist Tikka 22-250 Very deadly on whitetails -Barnes bullets give great penetration and destruction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Loose in casing and not accurate

Date:August 10, 2015
I bought these for elk and caribou hunting. I couldn't figure out why I could shoot my other bullets dead-eye bullseye almost every shot. I would put these in and shoot high right by 2-3" and then let barrel cool off and then shoot again and it would be low left 2-3". Let it cool off again, and shoot one of the core-lokt or super x winchester and it would be bullseye again. I started feeling around on the bullets and ALL OF THEM WERE LOOSE!! No wonder I was all over the board with these. I called Barnes to ask them how to make it right and I have heard nothing back. Very disappointed on the quality, price and customer service. I will stick with the old faithful and not try and get cute anymore with all of these "special loads".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.243 Win

Date:May 26, 2015
Out of my Remington 700 BDL with the 80 gr. bullet I am getting 1.5" five shot groups @ 100 yds. The VORTX bullets are unbelievable on deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

.338 Excellent for Elk

Date:May 25, 2015
Practice shows great grouping. Chronograph shows very tight spread on velocity.
250 yds. in the field, reproduces success on the range.
Excellent product at a good price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 141