Customer Reviews for BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

BARNES Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition

Flawless big-game performance with the accuracy and precision of handloaded rounds. These polymer-tipped TTSX bullets deliver 99% to 100% weight retention on impact for superior energy transfer and trophy-dropping penetration. A specially engineered nose cavity provides near-instant expansion, splitting into four razor-sharp petals and doubling the original bullet diameter. Lead-free, 100% copper bullets. Grooved shanks for lower pressures. Polymer tips for competition-grade, long-range ballistics. Each round is hand-inspected for quality. 20 rounds per box.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(119 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 119 reviews
5 Stars
94
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
110 out of 119(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Review 1 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Barnes Vor-TX

Date:February 23, 2015
The Barnes regular old style X bullets for close range deer hunting were great. You would get complete penetration on deer at ranges from point blank to 75 yards, normal woods hunting ranges. This new Vor-Tx bullet is made more for long range hunting like 200 to 300 yards. At woods ranges closer it doesn't penetrate very well especially on shoulder shots. The polmer tip, tapered base, and large hollow point opens up too much and doesn't penetrate very well at close ranges. I wish I could get the old regular X bullet loaded ammo with the flat base and smaller hollow point. I was using a .243 rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Ammo for Pigs

Date:February 17, 2015
I bought this ammo because we have a serious problem with pigs. FMJ 300 BLK ammo is good for brain shots or several body shots. But the expansion of these rounds is devastating in vital areas.
My only complaint is the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bullet

Date:February 17, 2015
I used to shoot Federal Premium Vital-Shock with the Barnes TSX bullet but Federal quit loading Barnes Bullets so I had to find a replacement. I tried the Barnes VOR-TX in 165 gr TTSX BT for my Kimber 8400 WSM in 300 WSM and my gun loves them. I was shooting 1/2 MOA groups at 100 yards. I had already taken elk, mule deer, whitetail and coyotes with this bullet so I was already sold on the terminal ballistics. I will be stocking up on this ammo for my Alaska Caribou and wolf hunt in August.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes rifle ammo

Date:January 20, 2015
This ammo is great. Shot a pig the bullet dropped the pig immediately and humanely. Great product. This is what I shoot from now on while big game hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

accurate

Date:January 20, 2015
What else to say but this is the most accurate ammo i have ever shot. have not used on game yet so no comment there but others have liked.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME

Date:January 15, 2015
Excellent accuracy as well as great terminal performance on whitetail deer. Shot 3/4" groups at 100 yards first time out, then complete penetration on a deer the next hunt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sold on copper bullet ammo

Date:January 1, 2015
After 40 years of hunting with various kinds of lead core bullets I switched over to copper bullet ammo for my 300WSM a few years ago. I get better penetration and clean kills with this ammo. Because the bullets don't come apart I can use lighter bullets and still get good penetration. This gives me flatter trajectory and less recoil. Another big plus is that I am no longer feeding lead tainted meat to my family.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo

Date:December 30, 2014
I've tried several other brands of ammo in my 35 Whelen, but the Barnes is the only one to give me consistent groupings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnes Blam

Date:December 23, 2014
I shoot the Barnes TSX 160 BT in my 7mm Rem mag. This is the first year I ever shot these bullets and the results were bad to the bone. First of all the grouping was great! Second, I shot three different mature bucks at 3 different angles - broad side, base of the neck, and quartering away. All three bucks never moved. Penetration was good and expansion was not an issue. Exit holes on these deer were 1" to 2" in diameter. I believe you can make a bad shot with these bullets and get away with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deoendable Ammunition

Date:December 16, 2014
I have found that the 100 grain TTSX bullet shoots lights out in my Sako 25-06 and I haven't noticed any change in accuracy from box to box. The bullet performs well on the whitetail deer I hunt with it. I would definitely recommend giving this ammunition a try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo

Date:December 16, 2014
Good ammo for the price. I used the 223 ammo and it was very accurate. I don't know how the expansion is but out to 400 yards I was keeping my group very tight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bang=flop

Date:December 9, 2014
Took a 40 yard shot on a doe (with a 30.06) and it dropped in its tracks. Looking at the wound it was clear this bullet expanded despite the short range shot.
Copper bullets are great- no worries about lead in my kid's dinner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worst bullet I have shot, it exploded upon impact!

Date:November 26, 2014
Shooting with a 300 rum, I have had very good luck with other bullets. While I did get my elk this year, it took two shots, and both exploded upon impact. I believe it was due to the speed. I shot threw a chronograph this year while at the shooting range, and right out of the box, it was on average 4425 fps. Fast to say the least.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent performance

Date:November 25, 2014
Excellent terminal performance on Kentucky elk and Pennsylvania black bear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great ammo!!

Date:November 18, 2014
Great fast round out of my .243. Devastating impact but knowing your rifle and comfort level of shot placement is key. Only recovered one bullet from one of the two deer I've shot in northern MN. Lost two petals but it was a straight on shot at the lower chest. Ended under the skin of the rear quarter. Broke bones and split the heart. Both deer ran a total of about 70 yards (both heart shots). Would recommend to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Ammo on the Market

Date:November 18, 2014
Bought this in .223 for hogs and deer. Have not taken any game with it but the accuracy is the best that I have found in hunting ammo. Will always have a few boxes on hand. Very happy with the product and with Cabelas. Will purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Laser Beams

Date:November 18, 2014
This is very nice ammo that shoots submoa out of my .300 Win Mag Savage 110 Long Range Hunter. At 400 yards I was shooting less than 3 inch groups. With the excellent accuracy and Barnes Bullets proven performance, i would recommend the 150 grain TTSX to any long range hunter!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good quality bullet

Date:November 18, 2014
What else do you expect from Barnes. This is a good quality, accurate bullet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Big Game Load

Date:November 11, 2014
The Barnes VOR-TX is a good whitetail round for the AR-15. Great penetration, bullet retention and knock down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Barnes® VOR-TX™ Rifle Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Accurate and dependable

Date:November 11, 2014
Have shot these in my 300WSM for 3 years now. Consistent and excellent expansion. And every year they have the Barnes Fall promo and its like Christmas comes early. 3 boxes for the price of 2. Also a very clean shooting round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 119