Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition

Herter’s ammunition is right on target for performance, reliability and low prices. Loaded by Russia’s premier ammunition maker to precise C.I.P. standards, all Herter’s ammunition is noncorrosive and has smooth-cycling, polymer-coated steel cases. 150-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.38 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
10
1 Star
15
45 out of 71(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2014

duds

By
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
bought a box to use for sighting in my rifle before the season.. literally half of the bullets did not fire. I would never count on these in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2014

Cheap shooting

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Not the cleanest ammo in the world but works good for me. Great for plinking bowling pins and keeping the eye on target.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2014

not great but certainly not bad for the price

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I decided to buy this brand of ammo to try out as a potential alternative to the more expensive ammo that I usually shoot, with the hope of trying to save a little money while plinking.
In all honesty, these are just fine for plinking. You can expect relatively fine accuracy, although I would argue that if you are looking to get sub-moa groups every time, you should probably look elsewhere. With that being said, these are great plinking rounds and have relatively fine accuracy. The accuracy is good enough that I felt confident using them against the massive amounts of coyotes that routinely destroy my land, and my neighbors livestock.
The ammo is magnetic, so if you routinely visit a range that checks your ammo I would once again urge you to look at another brand of ammo. In addition to magnetism, I found these rounds to be extremely dirty...I mean after 40 rounds I had visible clumps in my barrel. For some people thats not a problem, however for me it is. Another draw back is the steel casings really cannot be reloaded very easily, I was able to reload one but it took alot more effort compared to brass.
Overall, I would certainly recommend this ammo to anyone who wants a cheap alternative for plinking and doesn't mind a super dirty barrel when finished. I'll still use them to get rid of the coyotes and other varmints, but I think for other applications, I'll just stick to PMC or my handloads.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2014

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Very reliable in my Remington 783, shot 40 rounds of the .308 ammo so far no misfires. I will be buying this as my go to target ammo.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 2, 2014

Good ammo for plinking/steel shooting

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tried out 2 boxes initially and they work fine in both of my Ruger gunsight rifles, have since bought up and shot hundreds of rounds plus what I keep on hand, will continue to buy and use this at a good price point. Great for rifle practice just do not expect MOA. Have shot it out to 300yds with decent results. Regards and good luck.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 25, 2014

Good Buy in Hindsight

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This ammo features a great price and acceptable accuracy. I've fired about 60 rounds from my DPMS LR-308 (AR-10) and experienced no problems cycling or misfires. The only drawback I see is the steel case can not be used for hand-loading, but the price certainly out weighs this drawback.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 11, 2014

308 ammo

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Good product,excellent price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2014

Great Round

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
TIS IS NOT A BOLT ACTION OR PRECISION RIFLE ROUND. That being said it functions perfect in my PTR. Shoots more accurate than M80 brass or Prvi brass. Out of 500 rounds 0 failures of any kind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2014

used in a 1958 L1A1

By
Well, I bought it because it's cheap. Intended for a battle rifle semi auto L1A1 so we're not talking sniper rifle here. Aside from the first round not feeding in a full mag, the other 19 fed no problem and fired no problem. I need to cycle some more to check for consistency and grouping, but so far for the money, can't complain.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Excellent value

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The service is impeccable as usual. The quality of the ammo is exactly what you would want to have for your personal firearm. No issues with any function of semi autos or extraction with bolt actions! Top grade ammo and less costly!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2014

Do Not Buy If...

By
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Seems that higher end rifles and semi autos do not like this ammo. Not knowing the reviews I bought it in store and drove 400 miles home to try it. 8 rounds in my FNAR and all 8 primers were struck, some 3 times, and not a single round lit up! (Primer is recessed slightly more than most)
Called Cabelas and was given full refund. Love Cabelas-hate the ammo!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2014

Beware of your weapon's preferences before buying

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
That being said this stuff is fantastic for guns "that you can clean with a water hose". Aside from that you might run into issues. I'm reading alot of negative reviews on it but I'm gathering that people are ignoring the preferences of their rifle.
I have an AR in .308 and would never dream of trying to feed it anything but decent brass. It's a precision firearm that needs the best to function properly If you read the owners manual I can guarantee it probably has a disclaimer about shooting anything other than American made brass. It functions well with brass but it's expensive to shoot.
I bought a VEPR Tactical AK in .308 SIMPLY for the fact that I wanted to buy more ammo and something that would be able to use it. I can buy twice as much ammo and pay far less than I did for the AR. I bought this ammo to go with it and they are a great team. That is where this stuff belongs, in a rugged and mechanically simple gun. Accuracy is fair for the price of the ammo, but I'm not looking to shoot a nickle off of cow's head at 500 yards. It serves the purpose of what I need it for. Reliable and relatively accurate grab and go ammo that I can buy in more bulk to go with my grab and go gun.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

308 AMMO

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
MOST GUNS DO NOT LIKE THIS AMMO IN 308 THATS FOR SHURE. SO SPEND A LITTLE MOORE MONEY AND GET SOMETHING THATS WORKS GOOD FOR YOU. YOU WONT BE SORRY. I DONT KNOW WHY I EVEN GAVE IT 2 STARS.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Great product,very fair price, fast affordable shipping
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2013

Best BANG for the buck

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
If you have some bolt action type rifle that is picky about its food this may not be the ammo for you. But if you have some bad to the bone, military style weapon like an
M1A by Springfield you will love this ammo. Don't be scared of the steel casing - my m1a eats it up. Never a failure to feed or eject, and never a failure fire. Smoking 300 yard gong all day with iron sights. Just clean your rifle like you should every time using it and you'll be fine.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 14, 2013

Worked for me.

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Ran just fine through my FAL with an Imbel chrome lined barrel. Judging by the other reviews it doesn't agree with precision rifles.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2013

Shoots, but...

By
They started getting stuck in my Ruger American. At first they were fine, but later in the session is when they started to be difficult to extract. I don't know if it was the heat in the barrel, or fouling.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 10, 2013

Case separation

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Use this ammo for trigger time practice. I have shot five or six boxes of this ammo through my bolt gun. Friday at the range I had a partial case separation on one case. No injury or visible chamber damage. Just a hard to disengage bolt, and a ricochet off the gravel about 50 yards down range. Stopped using that box, and switched to another with a different lot and all 20 shot fine...just a heads up
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2013

Great value

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Works fine in my Ruger Gunsite Scout 308 rifle. I have only, this far, used it at the range.
Cheap, you bet, effective you bet!
I'll buy more
Mark
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 4, 2013

Steel Cases STUCK in chamber 5 out of 7 times

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I purchased 4 boxes of Herter's .308 Winchester ammo to save myself some money zero'ing and shooting my new barrel. For my rifle (T/C Encore Pro Hunter) it stuck in the chamber on almost every shot and required a cleaning rod to push the case free.
I gave away the three unopened boxes and rest of the unfired box to the range as I was concerned this might damage my rifle.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 71