Customer Reviews for HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

HERTER'S Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition

Herter’s ammunition is right on target for performance, reliability and low prices. Loaded by Russia’s premier ammunition maker to precise C.I.P. standards, all Herter’s ammunition is noncorrosive and has smooth-cycling, polymer-coated steel cases. 150-grain FMJ bullets. 20 rounds per box. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.391 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
10
1 Star
14
44 out of 69(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Review 1 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not great but certainly not bad for the price

Date:May 16, 2014
I decided to buy this brand of ammo to try out as a potential alternative to the more expensive ammo that I usually shoot, with the hope of trying to save a little money while plinking.
In all honesty, these are just fine for plinking. You can expect relatively fine accuracy, although I would argue that if you are looking to get sub-moa groups every time, you should probably look elsewhere. With that being said, these are great plinking rounds and have relatively fine accuracy. The accuracy is good enough that I felt confident using them against the massive amounts of coyotes that routinely destroy my land, and my neighbors livestock.
The ammo is magnetic, so if you routinely visit a range that checks your ammo I would once again urge you to look at another brand of ammo. In addition to magnetism, I found these rounds to be extremely dirty...I mean after 40 rounds I had visible clumps in my barrel. For some people thats not a problem, however for me it is. Another draw back is the steel casings really cannot be reloaded very easily, I was able to reload one but it took alot more effort compared to brass.
Overall, I would certainly recommend this ammo to anyone who wants a cheap alternative for plinking and doesn't mind a super dirty barrel when finished. I'll still use them to get rid of the coyotes and other varmints, but I think for other applications, I'll just stick to PMC or my handloads.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:April 8, 2014
Very reliable in my Remington 783, shot 40 rounds of the .308 ammo so far no misfires. I will be buying this as my go to target ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good ammo for plinking/steel shooting

Date:April 2, 2014
Tried out 2 boxes initially and they work fine in both of my Ruger gunsight rifles, have since bought up and shot hundreds of rounds plus what I keep on hand, will continue to buy and use this at a good price point. Great for rifle practice just do not expect MOA. Have shot it out to 300yds with decent results. Regards and good luck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy in Hindsight

Date:March 25, 2014
This ammo features a great price and acceptable accuracy. I've fired about 60 rounds from my DPMS LR-308 (AR-10) and experienced no problems cycling or misfires. The only drawback I see is the steel case can not be used for hand-loading, but the price certainly out weighs this drawback.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

308 ammo

Date:March 11, 2014
Good product,excellent price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Round

Date:March 8, 2014
TIS IS NOT A BOLT ACTION OR PRECISION RIFLE ROUND. That being said it functions perfect in my PTR. Shoots more accurate than M80 brass or Prvi brass. Out of 500 rounds 0 failures of any kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

used in a 1958 L1A1

Date:January 27, 2014
Well, I bought it because it's cheap. Intended for a battle rifle semi auto L1A1 so we're not talking sniper rifle here. Aside from the first round not feeding in a full mag, the other 19 fed no problem and fired no problem. I need to cycle some more to check for consistency and grouping, but so far for the money, can't complain.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value

Date:January 14, 2014
The service is impeccable as usual. The quality of the ammo is exactly what you would want to have for your personal firearm. No issues with any function of semi autos or extraction with bolt actions! Top grade ammo and less costly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do Not Buy If...

Date:January 12, 2014
Seems that higher end rifles and semi autos do not like this ammo. Not knowing the reviews I bought it in store and drove 400 miles home to try it. 8 rounds in my FNAR and all 8 primers were struck, some 3 times, and not a single round lit up! (Primer is recessed slightly more than most)
Called Cabelas and was given full refund. Love Cabelas-hate the ammo!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Beware of your weapon's preferences before buying

Date:January 11, 2014
That being said this stuff is fantastic for guns "that you can clean with a water hose". Aside from that you might run into issues. I'm reading alot of negative reviews on it but I'm gathering that people are ignoring the preferences of their rifle.
I have an AR in .308 and would never dream of trying to feed it anything but decent brass. It's a precision firearm that needs the best to function properly If you read the owners manual I can guarantee it probably has a disclaimer about shooting anything other than American made brass. It functions well with brass but it's expensive to shoot.
I bought a VEPR Tactical AK in .308 SIMPLY for the fact that I wanted to buy more ammo and something that would be able to use it. I can buy twice as much ammo and pay far less than I did for the AR. I bought this ammo to go with it and they are a great team. That is where this stuff belongs, in a rugged and mechanically simple gun. Accuracy is fair for the price of the ammo, but I'm not looking to shoot a nickle off of cow's head at 500 yards. It serves the purpose of what I need it for. Reliable and relatively accurate grab and go ammo that I can buy in more bulk to go with my grab and go gun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

308 AMMO

Date:January 6, 2014
MOST GUNS DO NOT LIKE THIS AMMO IN 308 THATS FOR SHURE. SO SPEND A LITTLE MOORE MONEY AND GET SOMETHING THATS WORKS GOOD FOR YOU. YOU WONT BE SORRY. I DONT KNOW WHY I EVEN GAVE IT 2 STARS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:November 19, 2013
Great product,very fair price, fast affordable shipping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best BANG for the buck

Date:November 19, 2013
If you have some bolt action type rifle that is picky about its food this may not be the ammo for you. But if you have some bad to the bone, military style weapon like an
M1A by Springfield you will love this ammo. Don't be scared of the steel casing - my m1a eats it up. Never a failure to feed or eject, and never a failure fire. Smoking 300 yard gong all day with iron sights. Just clean your rifle like you should every time using it and you'll be fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worked for me.

Date:November 14, 2013
Ran just fine through my FAL with an Imbel chrome lined barrel. Judging by the other reviews it doesn't agree with precision rifles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Shoots, but...

Date:November 12, 2013
They started getting stuck in my Ruger American. At first they were fine, but later in the session is when they started to be difficult to extract. I don't know if it was the heat in the barrel, or fouling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Case separation

Date:November 10, 2013
Use this ammo for trigger time practice. I have shot five or six boxes of this ammo through my bolt gun. Friday at the range I had a partial case separation on one case. No injury or visible chamber damage. Just a hard to disengage bolt, and a ricochet off the gravel about 50 yards down range. Stopped using that box, and switched to another with a different lot and all 20 shot fine...just a heads up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great value

Date:November 5, 2013
Works fine in my Ruger Gunsite Scout 308 rifle. I have only, this far, used it at the range.
Cheap, you bet, effective you bet!
I'll buy more
Mark
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Steel Cases STUCK in chamber 5 out of 7 times

Date:November 4, 2013
I purchased 4 boxes of Herter's .308 Winchester ammo to save myself some money zero'ing and shooting my new barrel. For my rifle (T/C Encore Pro Hunter) it stuck in the chamber on almost every shot and required a cleaning rod to push the case free.
I gave away the three unopened boxes and rest of the unfired box to the range as I was concerned this might damage my rifle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I give it 5 stars - my LR308 platform loves it!!

Date:October 30, 2013
I see a ton of bad reviews here for Herter's 308, if your running an AR10 style rifle with 2 stage or match fire control group, it isn't going to work out for you. A single stage FCG & a JP reliability spring kit will give you 100% ignition. My BM ORC punches decent 1-1/4" groups all day long with any steel case 308 ammo & I love the smell of former eastern block cordite in the morning.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Herter's® .308 Winchester® Ammunition
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great rounds

Date:October 22, 2013
I've probably shot about 80 rounds of this stuff and it's been great. No malfunctions of any kind. This is all through a PTR-91 GI model. Based on some of the reviews here, I think there may be guns that don't like this stuff. There's a fella here that says PTRs/HKs and anything with a hard pin will get these rounds to fire... and all of these have fired. No ejection or extraction issues but, again, YMMV. Looks like a lot of folks with bolt guns are having issues. As to accuracy - it's fair, but hey, at this price, I can't complain. It's great target/plinking ammo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 69